Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhof Murnau This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Ramsachstr. 8, 82418 Murnau am Staffelsee, Germany

#4 of 9 hotels in Murnau am Staffelsee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ideally had hoped for a peaceful wellness/spa weekend but we weren’t expecting so many children in the hotel. They occupied he pool most of the time so we couldn’t swim or relax there but that said the sauna facilities were great and the outhouse offers a great area to relax away from the noise. I believe they are developing the facilities so we’re curious to see how it changes, and we will definitely go back to visit next year.

    The breakfast was amazing. Everything you could wish for. We didn’t try the restaurant in the evening but we heard some good things from the other guests who had eaten there in the evening. The room was really comfortable and clean. We slept like a dream.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction on the property and on the road in front of the hotel and it was not mentioned nor did we receive any compensations. They did move out room. The first room we were in had such a sting smell of cleaning products that we both experienced an allergic reaction. The second room the smell was better but the lights from the parking area flooded our room all night . The food was good but the evening salad bar was wilted and expensive and all we wanted was a green salad. We are underwhelmed especially since they are listed with SLH and in comparisons to the other 5 star hotels we stayed at in Germany they came in at a lower rating in our book.

    The location is wonderful with accessibility to hiking amd local restaurants. The view and the setting are magestical. The breakfasts are plentiful and sitting on the terrace is a great way to start the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of car parking and the nightly charge for our dog were higher than elsewhere on our trip.

    A really top class hotel with a great restaurant and lovely food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is now a conference hotel mainly and conference attendees understandably like to drink loudly late into the warm night outside. So hotel is far too noisy for leisure travellers expecting peaceful luxury. Found clothing from previous guest not cleared from room.

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alpenhof Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5 star hotel, the breakfast was disappointing (food had no "wow" factor") and extremely unorganized, food buffet was spread out between 2 different rooms,(also breakfast staff were not very helpful either). Additional disappointment with the restaurant that refused to setup an extra table for us to have dinner although we were hotel guests (not very kid friendly at all).

    Very well setup for travel with small children. Swimming pool and spa area super. Hotel room and extras also super.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wi-Fi didnt work great in our room, but we didn't hang out in the room much.

    The staff were extra conscientious and responsive. The facilities were amazing, including the spa area. Overall we had an amazing time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alpenhof Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very welcoming and inviting place all around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Group
    • Alpenhof Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restoran I had my denerand i got scik i womated many time it was terabul food

    Location and the view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic and treated us so well! Beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alpenhof Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just none..!

    Almost everything! Also pricewise pretty good! Wi-Fi is just excellent!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alpenhof Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Almost everything! Personnel could be more friendly..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpenhof Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Alpenhof Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a pianist who plays the piano in their lobby

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Couple

    It was very anconfortable with the repairing of reception and other parts of the building. Extremly long way from room to restaurant. About the restaurant, this is far from a Michelinstar, more than half an hour waiting for a simple starter after ordering. The food acceptable but not more.

    Nice aera, very confortable room, excellent relaxing possibilty with perfect sauna, helpful and positiv personal. Good breafast and service to this.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel does some public space renovation, year over year, but nowhere we can get awareness. Last March restaurant was closed, this winter the main lobby/reception is closed, resulting in long and strange path to the restaurant..:( Better they would close everything for 2 months and then re-open fresh. Also, double bed again wasn't a true double - two mattresses pushed together instead..

    Staff made us and our baby very welcome, the baby food was made on request quickly and tasty and at no charge! They also made room service on dinner from restaurant menu possible, which was very appreciated..! Pool is very nice and warm, nice and kid friendly breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautiful retreat with wonderful views, excellent spa facilities and high standards where-ever you seek to look . The buffet breakfast offered a huge range of wonderful treats to eat. The New Years Eve organised party in the reception foyer was highly enjoyable....all this and only 25 mins drive to the ski slopes of Garmisch P.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I had to criticise, a bit out of town

    Beautiful mountain views Big comfortable room with nice balcony Spa Very pleasant dinner in restaurant Excellent breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not much

    From my perspective this hotel starts with many advantages being in my favourite part of my favourite country in Europe and was visited in Autumn my favourite time of year. Certainly one of my ten top hotels worldwide with stunning views, grounds (the garden is perfection) and location and number one for service. Staff were courteous considerate and confident, All spoke near faultless English and there was a welcome absence of pretension and obsequiousness that one finds all too often in a hotel of this standard and is meant to pass for genuine care . Confident unstuffy German (Bavarian) correctness and hospitality at its very very best. A completely successful modern interpretation of the old formula of the fine alpine hotel to which one retreats with the certainty for a succesful rest. No prospect of disappointment by a stay here

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is doing renovation right now, probably getting ready to G8 in June. The main restaurant was closed - big miss. Breakfast and dinner were hold in meeting room instead. Not bad, but not a highlight for me. Breakfast was more less Ok, but in Sunday were so many guests that hotel was slow on service and catering. Also, one day we had a table reserved for us, but another day not.. sometimes forgetting about small asks. Not critical but kind of could benefit with consistency. Dinner was very slow, too long waiting for gourmet menu dishes. Don't know why it takes so much time (3hrs for dinner..). Food at the end was also so-so for what it claims to be.. Staff on reception & pool area very friendly, while on dinner it was pretty messy experience. Also, despite it is SLH hotel, the level of English isn't good (except receptionists). Will come later again, while summer time, to see how the renovation finished.

    Actually 2nd time here, now was with 6 months old baby. Deluxe room was still good, not as glorious as Maisonette, but high quality. Bed very comfortable, just that it was twin setup instead of queen/king as per original ask.. Amenities all there, minibar & beer included - perfect. TV with useful channels. Pool was super nice, warm water, excellent Keloo sauna.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic spa area with a Finnish Kelosauna from Kuusamo

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room service expensive and not good

    excellent restaurant, nice property, nice spa area

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar was closed and we weren't aware.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa treatments were fully booked on our arrival and for who weekend

    GreAt restaurant and views

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Just nothing

    The best hotel.ever!

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the restaurant is not as it used to be 5 years ago the staffs also

    the facilites and the locationare the best

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    This hotel it should not have a 5 star this is 3 star or 2.

    Nothing to like in this hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Family with older children

    Pricing Breakfast no variety Restaurant no pizza

    Staff Facilities

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: