Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhotel Bergzauber This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Renothenweg 2, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#7 of 19 hotels in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small.

    Excellent hosts! Excellent food. Very quiet way above the valley. We had probably the worst room in the place with no view, but would still highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in a lovely setting. 8k away from "civilisation" which is both idyllic and inconvenient in equal measure. A car is a must I feel. Very handy for Berchtesgaden, The Eagles Nest, Konigssee and Salzburg. Mochael and his wife are most welcoming hosts, there are single rooms as well as the ubiquitous doubles, food is of the highest standard: breakfast is beautifully and thoughtfully presented with careful attention to detail, while dinner is both excellent and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner was rude and arrogant. I have never experience such rude and arrogant behavior when we came to hotel. The holliday was gift to my parents and that man spoiled everything. I would not recommend to go there.

    The hotel was tidy and clean. Everything worked well. Except owner, everybody was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked twin beds but apparantly the hotel doesn't have twin beds (so we got a double bed).

    There were technical problems with registering the 3rd and 4rd device on the wifi hotspot (only 4 devices are allowed by default), but the reception gave us a secondary code for the remaining devices...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    N/A

    The hotel is comfortable and very clean. The rooms are a good size and the balcony is a bonus, especially with those fabulous views of the mountains. Plenty of hot coffee at breakfast and the evening meals are varied and tasty. It's a long steep drive down the mountain if you want to eat elsewhere, but there's really no need. The terrace with its fantastic views is open for drinks from 4pm and the restaurant opens at six.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds will need updating soon.

    A very traditional and comfortable hotel the room had generous space. The beds are a little tired, but there was good storage and lighting was good for reading etc. Half pension represented great value for money. Breakfast was beautifully presented with a good choice. The evening meal was varied and again a choice was offered including vegetarian. Nothing was repeated. Hosts were helpful and warm and provided a daily advice sheet on things to do. Very knowledgeable about the area with appropriate brochures and guides.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is smaller than describe in website. I book tripe room with one double bed and one single bed, but it has sofa bed.

    The hotel locate in the top of a mountain so it is quiet but no restaurant around the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked onto floor.

    Traditional Bavarian ambiance, friendly staff, yummy breakfast included. We needed to leave a day early and Michael was able to sell our last night on Booking.com, so he refunded us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wow. There is nothing I can say about this stay that would be negative. We intended a short stay just to see the Eagles Nest but as soon as we got here we realised how beautiful an area Berchtesgaden is; the hotel is fully equipped with restaurant, bar, clean and good sized rooms. The front of house guy (Michael) could not have been more friendly or helpful and the restaurant staff were always there to assist with menu translations, local sight seeing advice and Always with a smile. We stayed in the few months you can get around without snow which made it perfect for getting around. I cannot recommend the hotel specifically and Berchtesgaden generally any higher. A MUST stay hotel and area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was standard and nothing special. Unfortunately, the Bergstadl was not open during our two days stay although it was mentioned in the announcement.

    We liked the mountain view and the atmosphere at the hotel. It was quiet and there were not too many people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a lovely family-run hotel in a breath-taking area. The staff is very nice and helpful. At the breakfast we had a wide choice (many kind of bread, cold cuts, cheese, cereals, marmelades etc.). The evening menus and the a la carte meals were also delicious. Our room was spacious with a beautiful view, the bed was good, the bathroom was well equipped. The room and the hotel itself was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was very quiet, the hosts were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. Nice sauna. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if in Berchtesgaden

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    Michael and the staff were excellent. The location was great, just a few mins from Berchtesgaden, but was up in the hills. Very scenic. Very well run, clean and the good was top notch. Everything you need is there. Food, bar, etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hosts and waitress. Beautiful location near to everything. Public transport options available. Tasty home cooked food available every evening. Cosy bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely location, only 5mins drive from main town. Beautiful views, staff were wonderful, very friendly. Food was lovely, we had evening meals there too. Would recommend this hotel it will not disappoint!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners seemed a little unfriendly at times but a young woman (waiter) was very friendly and helpful.

    Good overall. Location out of the city which for us was great. The hotel was clean and comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls meant that you wanted to spend all of your time out of the hotel instead of in it hearing your neighbours' conversations and TVs, hard to find, away from most tourist sites, hot, west facing room without fan or air con

    Stunning breakfast in beautiful room, attentive staff and spotless rooms, nice view, good parkkng

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom was a little run down, the gentlemen who owns the place was a little grudgy towards us and was openly drinking with guests on the floor which i didn't particularly like but could be some kind of tradition in the area.

    the amazing view from the terrace where we ate our dinners; the staff members, all of them were so friendly and nice, also the lady owner was very welcoming and super nice to us.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water to be available at 6 am. not at 6.30am

    Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find but worth it when u get there!

    Lovely family run hotel. Food was really good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just felt the staff was not as friendly as I expected for a small, family run business.

    Breakfast was fabulous!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom were very average.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel out of Berchtesgaden. Manager had strange sense of humor.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Awesome staff accomedations the owners were very pleasant. Plan on staying there again next year

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and access to public transportation.

    Great hotel. View was great and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A warm welcome from a very friendly host, who was also able to accommodate us for an extra night following car problems!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Michael and his wife were very helpful in providing information regarding some of the sightseeing opportunities in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Could not fault it.

    The welcome was especially warm and all the staff did everything possible to make or stay memorable. Perfect location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mountain view was beautiful. Very quiet location. The dinner and breakfast was delicious. Lovely accommodations. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view is amazing and the breakfast and dinners are lovely. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We loved staying at Alpenhotel Bergzauber! The staff were very friendly, the room was quite cozy and clean, and the restaurant had great food. The breakfast was also great and it was a wonderful view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi does not work very well, but it is questionable if it is wrong. We appreciated it in the end, because why be online during vacation :)

    Nice people, cozy, stylish hotel, very nice private sauna available on request. Very good breakfast and delicious dinner. Hotel is located a little bit far from Berchtesgaden, but if you want relaxing holiday, you do not need to stay in the city centre. It is still reachable by car or by bus in few minutes. Berchtesgaden land is absolutely wonderful area, we will definitely come back.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat difficult to find even using gps and internet maps. Somewhat remote from local villages.

    Nice view, very clean, friendly staff, great food in on-site restaurant. Good value.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are a few things to note. 1. Parking an be troublesome. The lot is not big and people are driving bigger cars these days. 2. Beds were a bit too firm for me. Pillows are feather so no support for a side sleeper. 3. It is not so easy to find without a GPS. 4. The radiator in our room, when on, sounded like a running trickle of water. It can be calming or annoying. 5. There isn't anything to do in the direct vicinity of the hotel unless you are into hiking.

    The hotel is a very nicely designed place. The breakfast was good and included in our rate. The location is good for any time of year without snow. It is in a remote area so it is quiet. The remoteness was relaxing after being a tourist all day. The hotel is not far from the city center, probably a 10 min drive down the mountain.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small disadvantage is somehow remote location which can be challenging to find but GPS will get you right there.

    Very nice hotel, perfectly maintained. Good breakfast. Restaurant on site serves good food. Staff very friendly and trying to make our stay enjoyable. Room and bed very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Places in the parking lot hardly enough for guests, bed matrasse is too soft for our taste, breakfast is limited selection

    Nice environment, possibility to buy hiking map, one of the stuff called Eva made our stay there more comfortable with her friendly behaviour

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice view and peaceful location which is 5 minutes drive to Burchestgatden town. Lovely reception and friendly hostess. We ate 2 dinner in the restaurant, the taste is matched whith the price.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautifully renovated, spotless guest house. Hosts were outstanding. Definitely one of the overall best experiences in a guest house in Germany or Austria we've ever had. Truly a class operation. Food was excellent at both dinner and breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Having to pay for Wifi

    Fantastic location. Great views of mountains. Very quiet. Good breakfast. Limited evening meal menu but very tasty. Close to Salzberg, lake Konigsee, Eagles Nest, salt mine - lots to see and do.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A refridgerator would have been nice in the room. We stayed during an unusual stretch of very hot and humid weather. With no air conditioning, we were concerned, but temperatures cooled off nicely every evening, and by opening windows and doors, we were able to cool the room. However, that meant we heard our loud neighbors' conversations, and had an unexpected visit in our room from an area cat. Due to the mountain location, Wi-Fi service, which was free, was pretty weak. It would be great if they could come up with a better solution for guests.

    The Fleischer Family, who owns and runs the hotel, and their small staff, make you feel like you are a part of the family. Their friendliness, warmth and hospitality made this our favorite of the four hotels we stayed on this trip. they seem to enjoy their guests, and not treat them as a nuisance. The rooms were clean and the hotel charming. The breakfast was excellent. The location was great and quiet. They were helpful in every way possible with sight-seeing.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely location up the mountain with beautiful views. Very relaxed atmosphere. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Spacious dining area and outdoor terrace. Great food. Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Owner and his wife were wonderful, very gracious, hospitable, and customer focused. Hotel was beautiful and charming with great view of valley below. Food and service were excellent. Great choice if staying in Berchesgaden.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in our room.

    My wife and I had some pleasant three days stay at Alpenhotel Bergzauber. A very warm welcome at arrival and the hotel mgr. spoke a very good English as well. We had planned to visit the "Eagle's Nest" as well as the Saltmine and Salzburg and this hotel is located close to all this. Besides this we were recommended some hikings in the Bavarian Alps. In the basement the very cozy Alp bar is a must see. We got to have some very nice beers as well as lovely company from the hotel mgr. and some other guests. Very recommendable :-) We would very much like to come back to the Alpenhotel Bergzauber.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owners and very helpfull staff, great hotel with beirgarten and a wonderful view of the alps from your balkony. Perfectly if you want to visit the "Eagle nest" and Bergtesgaden nearby.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad experiences, except it could use some updating. I suspect the relatively new and conscientious owners realize this and have it on their list. I still highly recommend it.

    Its location in a quaint neighborhood on the outskirts of Berchtesgaden in Oberau was beautiful and restful. The breakfasts and dinners were deliciously prepared and served with charm and grace.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi connection was sporadic. VAT form from US military was not accepted here. Very limited evening menu, so we ate elsewhere.

    Loved the location in the mountains!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We really cannot find much to complain about except that our room did not have a view but considering that we got a good value by booking early I think that shortcoming can be overlooked.

    This is a lovely small hotel with an attentive pleasant staff. The dining areas were charming both inside and out and all the service was seemingly delivered by one amazing women! The hotel afforded a quite, bucolic spot for launching your exploration of the area.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the 3 bed family bedroom the extra bed was not very comfortable for anyone other than a small child.

    The food was excellent. We loved the home made soups. Our waitress was a lovely woman who never disappointed us. And the people are all so friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is far away from the town and travelling becomes expensive, but I suppose some sacrifice must be made for the views.

    The views from the hotel are spectacular. The staff very friendly and helpful. The food was rxcellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My one minor complaint is that one of the innkeepers was less friendly/helpful than could be expected. But I would still recommend the property.

    The setting for this hotel can't be beat. It's located up a hill with the mountains as a back-drop. The view from our balcony was stunning. Still close enough to town that it was easy to drive back and forth. Also, the breakfast was amazing. Great selection and very good food.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owners were very kind and gracious.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very soft Pillows.

    It was a perfect stay

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room is a bit small

    good service

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    loved the location, the staff was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The boss and the waitress!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small but comfortable hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking a little difficult

    Quiet but a little difficult to find!!!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect

    This place was perfect

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    impossible to arrive if no GPS

    strong shower

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the quiet location and the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, always of service. Good breakfast. Beautiful Surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful place for holiday!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rita and Michael were the best hosts. Made us feel at home in a Ritz Carlton. Wanted more time, but they were sold out for the season.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of fans to cope with the heat.

    Beautiful mountain location.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    picturesque view,nice and cosy。

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Cosy, homely and very clean. Fantastic views, food and service.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent value 3-course meals.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location is convenient for exploring the area. Clean room. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room, service, food and people.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and friendliness

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about the hotel and it's staff - we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable .

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent cuisine, pleasant staff, beautiful setting, clean and attractive room

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rain haha

    Scenery lovely view from balcony

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: