Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhotel Denninglehen

Am Priesterstein 7, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Germany

#13 of 19 hotels in Berchtesgaden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Alpine disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival you are told to order your dinner at breakfast as they only serve dinner between 6pm & 8pm. The dinner menu offers no hot meals other than soup. There is no bar area as such to sit and have a drink at night. The pool has restricted hours of use so you have to choose either dinner or swimming!!! If youve been out all day. The wifi is very unreliable and not good enough to stream anything on my ipad or phone.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious bright and clean. The views from the grounds are panoramic of the valleys surrounding the property. The breakfast was of a high quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    A great venue to explore the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing reallly. The decor of the room seemed a little dated - but that didn’t detract from a wonderful stay.

    The wonderful situation and great views from the front of the building. The helpful staff and super breakfasts. We both really enjoyed the wine when sitting on the patio after a swim in the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is truly superb, excellent for exploring the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a little old fashioned, but this did create a nice atmosphere as a result.

    The location is truly superb, excellent for exploring the surrounding area, yet peaceful too with stunning views. The room was clean and pleasant, with a good balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The best place we stayed during our trip to Germany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff was friendly, breakfast was delicious, and the location (on the side of a mountain) overlooking the city of Berchtesgaden was spectacular!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    I came alive in the mountains around Alpenhotel Denninglehen, I cannot recommend highly enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I genuinely can't think of anything. I would have liked to have stayed longer. The drive to the hotel from the village is amazing. You will need a car if you plan on exploring but that is not a negative.

    I loved everything. The location. The staff. The room. The food. The views. The pool. It was top class from beginning to end. It was so relaxing, and comfy. Ridiculously clean....even for someone with OCD. I would happily return again and again to Alpenhotel Denninglehen, from the owners to the breakfast staff...to our fab evening waitress..... they were all superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    We were very happy with our choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are clean, but the bathroom is a bit small (minor issue really)

    Nice simple hotel with friendly staff and helpful. Breakfast was good, but while we were there they did not do evening meals. This was no issue for us as we could drive to the town easily. Plenty of choice locally and varying prices to suit. Good location if you what to travel around, Austria is jut over the hill and we took the train to Saltzburg for the day, which was clean and easy to park at the station in Berchtesgaden. Would have been quicker to drive, but not so much fun. We will be using this hotel again in the future as a base to visit this part of Germany, Austria and easy to pop in to Switzerland. Very happy with the choice of hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice location but hotel needs modernising to legitimately charge the price they're asking for atm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old fashioned hotel as far as the interior design, colour scheme and furniture is concerned. You're away from most things like public transport (bus 20 Minutes walking, once every one/two hours), restaurants and viewing points. They charged us for the Kurtaxe but didn't point out that's additional costs when we check-in. All fine with paying for it when you're told beforehand

    Great view over the Berchtesgaden countryside. As long as it's not cloudy you can sit on the terrace and enjoy the view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    One of the most beautiful and peaceful hotels ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The road in is narrow and long, but worth the view.

    The staff was excellent. The views were amazing. We loved the quiet peacefulness of the hotel with only the sound of a few cow bells. The breakfast is very good. Most beautiful place ever stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Lovely peaceful area in the alpine meadows, but be prepared to walk up a hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The evening food is very basic (only worth it if it is late on arrival and raining). The bar area is nice though and we enjoyed an unhurried evening there. The main restriction for this location is the lack of buses from Berchtesgaden after 6.15pm, meaning if you eat in Berchtesgaden you need to get a taxi. This costs about 20 euros. There are more Gasthaus type restaurants on the main street in Oberau. - be prepared for a steep walk back to the hotel after eating., but there was one near the lower bus stop we used that was nice. Dinner tends to be earlier in Germany than we are used to. Preferring to walk all day we found that it was a rush to shower and then go back out again for dinner. Booking through the local information center gives much more options for stay in the Berchtesgaden area. We intended to use two centres for our holiday (four nights in Oberau and four nights somewhere else). We moved to a private pension in Schoenau that we found through the Information Centre. It was very nice and was less than half the price of Hotel Denninglehen - just a more simple breakfast. In this case the landlady only spoke German, but we knew this on booking and it gave a chance to practise. If you arrive at Berchtesgaden before the information centre closes this would be a good option for finding a room if you are travelling as a couple. They will telephone for you and book your room.

    Breakfast is nice and there is a lovely view from the large windows. Beautiful alpine meadows. The hotel is relaxing and the beds were comfortable. Rather entertaining was the disco shower! The location is very quiet and all you can hear at night are cow bells. All accommodation in Berchtesgaden give out free bus passes that also get you a discount on some other things. Note also that a DB rail "Oberbayern" ticket is amazing value and your ticket includes the buses for the day of travel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    If your looking for the perfect Bavarian experience, this is your place. 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe different chairs on balconies, they were full lounge chairs that were a little cumbersome. Maybe a few more hangers in the closet, too. Other than that I can't think of anything else.

    We had a much needed rest. Hotel was so quaint and just what we like, perfect german experience. We had rain, rain and more rain, but still had a great time. Such a charming hotel and look forward to visiting again. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    2.9
    Unhelpful, rude and blatantly lying staff. Very stuffy rooms. Stupid sauna timing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where do I start - we stayed there for three days and every day was some issue or the other. First of all, the sauna timing is 5-7pm which is utterly stupid. We went down the first day. Sauna was on and it was ok, but the pool was freezing. So we didn't go in the pool. No worries. Then later we went to eat in the restaurant - the menu is very limited and food is nothing special. We learned it's only cash payment at the restaurant (with no prior warning). That's a relatively minor issue, but still a warning would be nice. The second day, we sat on a table for breakfast and one of the staff came to tell us that table was reserved (with no sign). We moved without protest and thought maybe we can reserve a nice table for the next 2 days. We were refused - it turns out the reservation is only for special people. Later in the day after we came back from a long day, we wanted to go in the sauna at around 6pm. We went down and it was locked. We went up to the desk and the lady blatatly said she told us we have to let her know in advance if we want the sauna on (she didn't). Anyhow she turned it on and we went in for a bit. Pool was still freezing cold. On the way up we saw her again and asked if the pool supposed to be heated. She again blatantly told us that it's heated to 27C. It was NOT. Next day - surprise surprise - the pool was a LOT warmer. The heating was turned on the third day. When I mentioned it to her that the pool indeed is heated today but it was not for the last two days, all I got was "OK. I don't do it, it's the computer that does it." WOW! Nothing like taking responsibility or apologising for being so blatant. The room was very stuffy with no cross ventilation at all. The corridor stank to high heaven. Room was small and the bed was very uncomfotable. Awful room for a warm summer day. Internet is ok though.

    View is good - and that's about it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.3
    It's not worth the price at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything gives old and dirty feel inside the building. I think the photo of the room (shown on Booking.com) was taken long time ago, because in reality (nowadays) it is much older. At the first time when entered in the room, I didn't want to take off my shoes. I think you know the feeling I'm talking about. The shower cabin is extremely small. Hard to turn around and take a shower. You can hear the neighbors clearly. The neighbor's toilet flushing is guaranteed to wake you up at night. For breakfast nothing special. They just buy ready to eat things in the local shop and put on the table. Anyone can do it. The garden looks good only from the door. Just after you walk out into the garden, then can see that the grass is cutted only in 1 meter wide line. The rest of the areas are uneducated. The swimming pool (officially) opens at 7am, but we couldn't enter at 10am. The elevator only for the stuff. Conclusion: It's not worth the price at all.

    Only one positive thing: the view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Great view from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so small we had to get a second room, which the hotel handled quickly. Hotel is so far up the hill we did not want to drive again after dark so we are at hotel. Worst food on my entire six week trip. Also, since every person who comes to Bertchesgaden plans to go to a Eagles Nest, the hotel should have a printed sheet with detail directions, including exactly what the signs read, since it is NOT called Eagles Nest anywhere.

    Great view from hotel. Staff was very helpful. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our reception and the service throughout felt perfunctory rather than welcoming - all our requirements were met but we felt without any warmth. The evening meal menu was limited and orders needed to be placed at breakfast. With its position we felt this hotel had the potential to be fabulous, but we would only rate it as OK.

    Fabulous views across the valley and a superb terrace from which to enjoy them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Location is amazing and patio area is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is very outdated, all carpet needs to be replaced. Pool should be open until 9, not 7. Staff doesn't speak German or English well.

    Location is amazing and patio area is really nice. Like the opportunity to eat breakfast outside and take in the view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Stunning views and a very tranquil place to unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views from the hotels patio were absolutely stunning. With the views and the gentle sounds of cow bells (in the distance) this hotel is a great place to unwind and relax. Breakfast was wonderfully presented and delicious. The staff were attentive and were very welcoming. I just wish we would have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    The place to be if you want amazing views, wonderful staff and great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Petra was an amazing Host and made our stay much more special. The view was excellent. The breakfasts were wonderful and Barbora was very cheerful and always there with a helpful hand. The room was comfy and quiet. Everyone was so nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Spectacular view below from halfway up the Alps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner menu is limited in selections.

    Outstanding view of the Berchtesgaden valley and nice outside patio. Good breakfast (real scrambled eggs). About 10 minutes from the Eagles Nest parking lot where bus transport takes you to this historical site.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.4
    View was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed Monday and Thursday and only open limited hours rest of week. No mini bar. Dont take credit cards. Decor little strange in places. Staff reasonably pleasant but doesn't have particularly warm atmosphere.

    View was fantastic. Room very clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms and beds were a little outdated. The shower door in our room was broken and we had to lay towels down to keep water from accumulating on the floor.

    Breakfast was very good and had a lot of selection. I had the room with a very large balcony, and the view was nice from the breakfast area and back yard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value and location for a visit to the region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location and views. Very close to the historical sites in Oversaltzburg. Breakfast served at the terrace with great views of the hills. Quiet during the evening...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    A rural hotel with a fantastic view 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the hotel is rather narrow (one lane), and can be a challange with heavy snowfall and icy conditions (which we experienced). It would be a good idea if sand was applied on the road after snowfall, especially on the final 200 m leading up to the hotel.

    A nice budget and family hotel in a rural setting, above the village of Oberau and the town of Berchtesgaden. Close by is Rossfeld ski area, a bit little (four lifts only), but rather cheap and cosy skiing area without long queues. The centre of the nearby town of Berchtesgaden is a charming place, good for a day tour. The buffet breakfast was very good indeed, and dinner was sturdy Bavarian food - mostly good food though 😀 there is further a charming bar, with good local beer 🍺

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    View from balcony was spectacular- looked just like a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool water was a little chilly. No outside food or beverages allowed in public spaces.

    View from balcony was spectacular- looked just like a postcard. Breakfasts were great. Location was out of town just far enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.0
    Disappointing, expensive and poor facilitiesi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long drive we chose to have dinner in the hotel. A very limited choice with one 2 hot options. We chose 'meatloaf with salad and potato salad.' Most unappetising dish we've ever had. Potato salad thick and gluggy, meatloaf was awful - only just warm and with texture like spam. Salad consisted of 1 limp piece of lettuce and a 1/4 a tomato. Fortunately breakfast was better. However, we returned on Monday about 6 after day site seeing to find the hotel locked. No sign as to where staff was or who to contact should we need anything. We thought it was a temp closure or perhaps a family emergency. We were not planning to dine there anyway but find it strange. Used the terrace entrance we were told to use should we return late at night and went out for lovely dinner in Berchtesgaden. Returned about 9:30 and hoped to have a nightcap in the bar. . Hotel still closed. We were not pleased. On leaving Tuesday morning we were told the hotel is closed in Mondays. Completely unacceptable especially when no facilities to make tea or coffee or fridge to keep drinks cold were available to guests. Would not recommend.

    Comfortable bed and pillow

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Quiet family hotel with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was a bit too cold.

    Incredible place with great views, swimming pool and sauna. Breakfast on the terrace is outstanding as well as dinner (you can order separately).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not pleasant.not flexible with arrival time. They charge me one price and reported a lower price to booking.com. what is with that? Only accepts cash for payment.

    The food for breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Been only one night at the Alpenhotel, but I found it great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Of course the hotel is far from the actual town, but in my opinion this is a plus

    Been only one night at the Alpenhotel, but I found it great. Nice swimming pool area, great views, good breakfast, nice rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Amazing, friendly staff! Great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little further away from the center of the mountain town then we liked but overall it had an amazing view. Five-ten minute walk to town center. Also, the cable car up and down the mountain can end up being pricey.

    The staff were super friendly and very helpful with anything we needed. The breakfast included was delicious as well, I'm glad it was included :) Once getting to the hotel the view from the balcony is breathtaking. This hotel is a little more secluded on this mountain town then the others.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Quiet, comfortable hotel with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location you have to drive - which means the designated driver can't enjoy steins anywhere else and the hotel bar closes at 10.30pm - it had very little atmosphere which was a shame.

    The views are stunning, the room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and a great, powerful shower

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Better viewa than the ahwahnee and cheaper too!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scary road in, steep and only wide enough for one car (two way traffic) although it is paved. My tip, take the main road to the top of the mountain and then go down the small road to get to the place. There are signs at the top, you can't miss them. Be warned, breakfast starts at 8. Might be late for those who want to get up early and go. It's worth the wait, especially the coffee!

    World class views from both your balcony (if you choose) and definitely from the breakfast deck. Great staff, nice warm indoor pool, sauna, etc. That little fire tower thing you can see from the balcony is actually eagles nest! P.S. The yellow gausthaus at the base of the valley (visible from the hotel) has great inexpensive food and almost a 360 degree view of the mountains.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful alpine location, food and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Orange juice at breakfast tasted more like a fruit drink than 100% orange juice.

    Tastey evening meals. Plentiful breakfast. Beautiful views. Swimming pool. English speaking is no problem.Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Great place to stay. Car is a must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. Paying a little more for the balcony was more than worth it! We spent the evening sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. Breakfast was very good, we ate outside enjoying the view. The staff were friendly and helpful. English is spoken. We can't wait to go back and spend more time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool really should be heated. If it were an outdoor pool I would understand, but this one is indoors; it's just not comfortable. With so many reviews saying the same thing I would hope management would fix this soon.

    The view was amazing. Bed is comfortable and the hotel is very clean and quiet. Tip- try to get a room on the West side to enjoy the sunset view. If not available, the patio, breakfast and dinner rooms also all face the West. Breakfast tables are reserved automatically but you can sit outside if there's room. Dinner is ordered at breakfast if desired. Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Plenty of closet and shelf space in room. Would stay again!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    5.8
    Great location, that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no irons or ironing boards.my room seemed to not have any heat. So we nearly froze and the staff wasn't very friendly

    I liked the location a lot.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    6.7
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to pay with credit card. Wi-Fi quite pool. Rater old and dated rooms and in particular the bathrooms.

    Great breakfast. Wonderful surroundings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    6.3
    Lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet, restaurant closed over summer and bar closed often before 9. As it was quite far away from Berchtesgaden (taxi €10-15) it would have been nicer if there was some atomsphere.

    Lovely view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Bavaria at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Wonderful, the most romantic setting. Great staff will be back soon,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Close to Rossfeld Panorama Strasse, so you can be first to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Rossfeld Panorama Strasse, so you can be first to go there on sunrise. Great, also as a hotel view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic view especially in the sunshine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic view especially in the sunshine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views, very nice people, and very affordable. We would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Must stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Beautiful location and stunning gallery views! This hotel gives you those warm and comforting vibes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    very good breakfast, panorama
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good breakfast, panorama

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Great Views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location and view is absolutely outstanding! Gorgeous mountain views, we loved being there! Friendly and helpful staff. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    A nice quite place to stay within a 15 minute drive of Berchtesgaden. Great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful views of the mountains from the hotel. Great complimentary breakfast. Dinner offered on site.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location. It has very nice view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Spectacular alpine views from this chalet hotel above Berchtesgaden in the Obersalzburg. Great staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a few restaurants in Oberau and they are all very good. Auerwirt was our favorite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Wanted to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    Beautiful, clean and very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    5/5 Would Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is great. The view is breathtaking, and the location is to die for!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Back to nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choices are limited

    Excellent location of the property. Away from the hustle and bustle and beautiful view over the valley

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    friendly service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly service. good hardy food at good prices. the setting is world class in the Bavarian Alps.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in the Alps -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Absolutely breathtaking views of the Alps. Wonderful staff, accommodating and perfect Bavarian stay. Family König war sehr nett!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place stinks a complete rip off

    Dirty smelly horrible place avoid like the plague

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    About everything, but especially the setting/view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About everything, but especially the setting/view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    View from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Don't take card payments... Cash only

    View from the room...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Very good hotel, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    very nice, near Füssen . I will be here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Individual room decor could be updated.

    Loved the location and traditional food and restaurant decor

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.5
    Good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    too noise to sleep.

    Good view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Location, View and Balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, view and balcony. Staff were nice too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.8
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    Locatie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interieur back to the seventies.

    Locatie.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    The view is outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (Without Balcony)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    One of the staff was very nice to wait 1,5 hours extra at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the staff was very nice to wait 1,5 hours extra at friday night for us to check in because we were late due to traffic jam. Appreciated very much!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful landscapes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The signage is too small and easily missed

    Wonderful landscapes. Delicious breakfast and value for money dinner. Close to most of the scenic spots and Salzburg. Quiet . Friendly staffs

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.9
    This hotel was on top of a mountain and though I liked the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the price is higher because they specify that the breakfast is FREE when in reality, they Charge 10 to 15 Euro for each one. We stayed 3 days and were charged "inside our total price". The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Only tiny soaps were given with a small packet each of body gel. They did have a hairdryer . There was only 1 bath towel given for 2 people, 2 hand towels.

    This hotel was on top of a mountain and though I liked the location , others may not be so happy... It is very far from the town of Berchtesgaden itself. It was a 25 min drive up an entire mountainside.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Fabulous location with a view of the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small menu with no choice but what there was, was very good

    Fabulous location with a view of the mountains. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely comfortable restaurant and bar for relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.2
    The rooms are everything you could need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish the bar was open for use, disliked the rubber mattress pads_ they make me so hot.

    The rooms are everything you could need. The balcony and the view make it magical. The decor is 70s Scandinavian chic. The entire staff was spot on- with soles and warm service.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.2
    Mass of positive during 6-days stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative impressions. Perhaps the owners should add a little generosity in providing shower accessories: shampoo and body lotion.

    Mass of positive during 6-days stay! The location, magnificent views at the South Tyrolean landscape, impeccable service, friendly hosts, delicious dinners... Many thanks to Maria (speaks Russian!), Petra, Jan and others. Warning: use GPS to reach hotel!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    5.8
    View view view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Room felt college dorm like. - Get a room with a terrace. - Felt like I was staying in a strangers house, not "warm" just there - Prohibition on bringing your own wine to common terrace to enjoy the view. Place was dead by 21:00

    View view view. Staff were friendly. Outside looks great, inside a diff deal. Free parking. Wifi worked well. If you have a car, things are easy to get to.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.7
    Nice alpine setting with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not easy to find or close to anything. Driving there is an adventure. A/C seemed nonexistent during bad heat wave. Pool not heated (which was fine during a heat wave)

    Nice alpine setting with beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Stunning view from our balcony and also the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stunning view from our balcony and also the restaurant terrace down on a lovely valley with beautiful mountain backdrop. Could see Eagle's Nest. Could hear the lovely sound of distant cowbells. Great choice at breakfast. Comfortable room. Location excellent due to the view if you have your own car, since this is high up a windy quiet road.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    The location of the pension is good, almost at the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location of the pension is good, almost at the middle of the mountain and you can enjoy the mountain view everyday. The pension staffs are very nice and always with big smile! The pension is 15 minutes drive distance from the koningsee but it is fine for us as we rented a car.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.5
    The wonderful outlook and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were attracted to the hotel by the price advertised but that room was smallish and no view. We had to upgrade to get a room with a view but for €20 that was okay. The decor was still 70s but clean and tidy.. We loved the location and view.

    The wonderful outlook and view. We could see the Eagles Nest from our balcony.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    10
    We fell in love with this lovely Alpenhotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We fell in love with this lovely Alpenhotel. The views are gorgeous, it is spacious, yet cozy, the rooms are with balcony and fine for such type of hotel. The indoor swimming pool and sauna are nice for rainy days. The staff is excellent(lovely Ms. Petra speaks English very well, Mr. Jan is most attentive in the restaurant,which offers good food in a lovely atmosphere ).Our praise goes to the owner , the delightful Mrs.Koenig, who makes everyone feel welcome. We wish we could return every year. As to the location, is is outside of Berchtesgaden, away from the hub, with two bus stations close ,20 min. and 10 min.walkway away.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.6
    Family run to perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Need a GPS to navigate to, but I personally think it adds to the authenticity of the Bavarian experience.

    Family run to perfection. Their young 8 year old son was eager to practice his English and took our 5 year old around the kid friendly attractions and entertained him for an hour. The entire staff was beyond friendly. Sunset views were incredible.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: