Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenrose 3 stars

Obermarkt 1, 82481 Mittenwald, Germany

#9 of 13 B&Bs and Inns in Mittenwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, traditional guesthouse atmosphere and a very generous room with a balcony. The free car park was a bonus as well. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this venue to friends and anyone visiting Mittenwald.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaurant I’m the hotel was closed the evening I arrived so I had to go out again to eat. On the bright side I found a wonderful small restaurant very close which was very good. Had an excellent meal accompanied by Mittenwalder Beer. It’s called the Der Kleine Kartoffelsack - highly recommended but advance reservation essential as only 5/6 tables. I was just lucky ! Will be returning to Mittenwald next June with friends and the it will be our first stop.

    Great breakfast. Wonderful beer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was abrupt and unprofessional and constantly unmanned so we had to go to the bar for assistance. Room had not been cleaned, dirty towels and glass and bed slept in. Dirty linen in breakfast room from previous customers. The building reeked of food and other smells. Furniture is so dated and mismatched. No apology from manageress for the appalling state of the bedroom ( a waitress dealt with this and relocated me to a better room although the heated towel rail didn't work there and no safety deposit box or hair dryer were available and the room was freezing ).

    Nothing but the location and reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady that checked us in was somewhat unfriendly. Didn't tell us about wifi, or amenities such as safe in our room which we discovered.

    Celebrated our 35th anniversary here. Very nice location with a lot of history

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a big issue, but when we received a discount card from the hotel to use for visiting places we had already visited some of the places. Would be better for customers to receive the card when they book in.

    Great location situated in the main shopping area. Lovely hotel from the outside and the inside. Breakfast was good with a fair selection. Room was clean and a fair size with a comfy bed . Friends I travelled with loved the hotel. 5 min walk from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired. There were lots of dogs staying and resident at the hotel which I didn't like. Breakfast was the poorest of our 2 week trip to the Alps.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the first floor, no lift. Rooms are a bit small, but it was ok for one night. We struggle finding the car entrance and parking, no clear signals to it. So we left our car in the public parking, which is about 400 mts from the hotel.

    I appreciated the cleanness of the room, and having a small refrigerator in the room. The location of the hotel is perfect, right at the center of the old town. The hotel is cozy, a typical family managed one. Everything is set to make you feel welcome. The property manager was very kind, by helping us with advise about our trip plans. Would come again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since this is a major restaurant as well, the staff were too busy to give the hotel guest much attention. When we handed our key in, it was left of the desk for the whole time we were out...anyone could have taken it. Since it is in the main town, the roads are narrow and difficult which makes parking tricky. As we went in peak season, the room was a little noisy, being in the middle of the town but we wanted to book that.

    This hotel is absolutely exquisite: the decor in the rooms is romantic and charming, very ould world and carefully chosen. The room was HOT and a bit snug but the ambience made up for that. Our room was on the top floor which was a bit of a climb but no hassle. The hotel is right in the middle of the town so it is prime for shopping and restaurants...a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was the worst we have had in Germany. Very small and hot.Furnishings of poor standard.Breakfast of poor quality, tinned fruit salad this in hight of summer where fresh fruit is all around.

    the area of Mittenwald and location of the village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Telling visitors what are the up coming events that are going to be taking place so they will not miss them.There was a band that played at 600am and we heard it but were not dressed to see it. And were disappointed that we missed it.

    The atmosphere was so comfortable and food was fantastic. The entertainment while we had dinner was a nice touch. The area is absolutely breath taking. The place holds much tradition which is very educational. Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot with lots of street noise. There were lots of late night parties with singing till 2 am!

    The hotel was a beautiful traditional property with excellent access to city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that the hotel is located in a pedestrian zone, with parking in a street at the back. Our GPS was very confused. We parked nearby and walked to find the hotel.

    Great location in the centre of Mittenwald. Good breakfast in the traditionally furnished dining room, and also enjoyed our evening meal (with music).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit dated and it was hard to find the enterance to the parking area.

    Good food in the hotel restaurant and helpful staff. Location was also excellent for exploring the town. Beautiful old wooden building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small for a longer stay, but overall this is an excellent choice of hotel for a stay in Mittenwald.

    Friendliness of the staff. Comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast and also our dinner there was perfect. The hotel is positioned extremely well to anything one wants to see in Mittenwald's Alt Stadt. It was a half way point for us and we loved seeing such a pretty town. Fortunately the late winter meant there was still snow on the mountain peaks, thus the views were brilliant everywhere we walked, especially at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dusty, but it's kind of expectable for an almost 7-century house... :-)

    It's a family-run business, and it has a really great history behind. You can feel the special attitude you get - you are much more a guest and not just a tourist or a visitor there. The hosts are very nice people, they were really attentive to us. Mittenwald is a great place to visit, and this hotel is a perfect choice to stay in. The restaurant on premises is very nice. Breakfast is really good too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rowdy guys drinking beer during breakfast time adjacent to breakfast room. funny for a while but detracted from the Tyrolean ambience.

    Restaurant was excellent with traditional music the night we arrived. Location was excellent for exploring the old town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on Good Friday. It was very busy and service in the restaurant was initially poor (plus I had reserved a secluded table which didn't happen). Half way through our meal, service improved and they DID find us another table. Our room was at the front of the building and there was music (including a tuba!) and singing in another building nearby till 4am.

    Great Bavarian atmosphere in all rooms and restaurant. Food excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the very heart of Mittenwald. We were very welcomed by the staff. Rooms are old style but comfortable. Very good and abundant breakfast. I suggest you dine at the hotel's restaurant. Good food at reasonable prices. Hotel's parking in garage (free of charge) is available at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told ahead of time that on our arrival night there would be no entertainmen or food at the hotel.We would have booked for the next day.the staff were having their christmas party.We missed listening to the Zither musician and the singing waitress.it was extremely dissapointing😣😣😣

    Every thing was excellent.next time we would prefer two beds and aroom with the old wardrobes and furniture.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit smokey in the common areas some nights, but with both room doors closed the room stayed fairly smoke free, enough for two smoke sensitive people to be comfortable

    Great and helpful hosts Excellent location Good restaurant with live traditional zither music

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too large, in my opinion, for the space it was located. It was close to "king size" A " queen size" which is eighteen inches narrower would have worked much better. There was less than 12 inches on each side of the bed. The lavatory in the bathroom had hard to turn on or off faucet.

    Excellent restaurant. Adequate parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi intermittent. Room a little crowded, but clean and welcoming. Staff very busy with restaurant so not as available and connected to the guests as other lodgings we used on the trip.

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was a lift to get our suitcases up the 2 floors to our room, but a very handsome porter carried them up for us.

    Wonderful full breakfast in the AM. We we owed the mountain view from our balcony, and I appreciated the free dedicated parking for my new car.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was small and difficult to get a space at certain times during the day.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and we were lucky enough to have a room with a small balcony looking at the Karwendelbahn. The Alpenrose is in a very convenient walking location to almost everything in Mittenwald.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, but not a big deal for us for one night.

    Beautiful, quaint hotel in a charming city. We loved sitting in the downstairs dining room and listening to the live music with dinner also!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not the most comfortable

    Perfect position, friendly staff and value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect picturesque place to stay with a wonderful traditional feel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cameriera antipatica verso italiani Cameriere ok

    La lacation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water temperature was not stable, room was not easily heated up, breakfast table was not that clean

    Friendly staff, dinner menu was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Room s are small.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and architecture

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and cool interior of the hotel. A good experience!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be difficult to park near the hotel.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and authentic with parking on site

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location welxoming staff and awesome food!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is in the centre of a beautiful Bavarian village, and is very traditional. Great food, great rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally no fault to be found.

    Fantastic location, wonderful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little uncomfortable

    Location was wonderful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at this hotel are quite small and the hotel could use a renovation. The restaurant, however, is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location best attribute. Room 3 over kitchen noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location to look around the heart of the city. Excellent buffet of breakfast - fresh and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly in the center, typical Bavarian style in the room and good breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late dinner menu almost exclusively pork

    Live music in the restaurant in the evenings

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alpenrose is just marvelous, you'll find the kindest people welcoming you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful street view, cozy authentic room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the location and love Mittenward.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Excellent location, good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I consider the hotel a very good bargain for the price. Saying that, some travelers may want a more upscale room. They are small, outdated and the bathrooms are sorta like a hospital bathroom. However, ours was clean and very substantial for our use. Costly renovations would be hard for these type of hotels to justify without doubling their rates.

    This is a beautiful old hotel right across the street from the church and in the heart of Mittenwald. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food was very good both for breakfast and supper. One of the highlights of our Bavarian trip was the horse drawn carriage the hotel offered. The owners have or own the carriage and horses and for $130 (euro) it seemed like a good bargain for 2 hours. The snowy ride out of town into the forest with the mountains surrounding was heavenly...seriously..like heaven.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Loved the old traditional feel of this hotel and the place felt friendly and welcoming. Excellent location and breakfast. Dinner in restaurant was the best with live music. Highly recommend staying here you won't be disappointed

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-Fi access is very poor, non-existent in rooms. Had to sit on stairs near office to get varying strength Wi-Fi connection.

    Pretty, traditional hotel in main tourist area. Rooms are small but adequate. Breakfast good, dinner excellent. Off street car parking available behind hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful old house on the Main Street of Mittenwald. The restaurant serves delicious food and breakfast was great! The staff were all lovely and the view from our room was break taking. 10 out of 10!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One room was quite small at the same price as a regular room.

    We were quite impressed with the staff at the Alpenrose. Established hotel in the center of town, a cultural experience. Very authentic German food. The staff were extremely helpful and personable. Breakfast was delicious and they offered to make us sandwiches for the journey south.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was nothing like advertised it had no ac and temperature was 36` room smelled of food from kitchen below and bells from church kept us awake all night worst hotel ever

    Parking

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not only the location was great, Mendi, a staff member welcomed us immediately and made us feel a part of the family by answering all our questions of neighboring attractions.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location. Nice building.A+

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A lift!

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I left something there and they boxed it up for me and were willing to ship it to me :)))

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location in walkable town. Traditional Bavarian hotel with delicious food and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad here.

    The location was fantastic, and the staff could not have been more friendly. The restaurant was comfortable and the food great.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms need refurbishment

    Location

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    incredibly clean older hotel in the middle of mittenwald, germany. hotel staff friendly and helpful. good value and had an incredible restaurant

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Church bells at 6AM

    staff were very friendly and helpful, restaurant was great, and rooms were comfortable and quaint

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wifi not working at all

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hot rooms in the summer. No air conditioning and rooms are small.

    Quaint hotel in darling town. Adequate facility. Outdoor music is charming.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to report

    Excellent location on the Main Street in Mittenwald Good dinner in restaurant

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the details that made us feel like we really were guests.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I will come again.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Guests also reviewed these properties: