Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpensonne This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Freihausstr. 12-14, 83707 Bad Wiessee, Germany

#20 of 24 hotels in Bad Wiessee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 677 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 217 was clean but had a very musty smell of water damage. Opened the windows and it cleared up after a few hours. Believe it was due to the bathroom shower head which had leaks that sprayed the outside of the tub enclosure. In short, the little bathroom was functional but needed a revamp.

    Very nice staff. Very nice sitting lounge with a barkeep/server that stayed open until 10pm. Quiet location on a side street but walkable to the small downtown area. Breakfast was INCREDIBLE. Almost like a feast for a small wedding. Wow!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice area to hike/bike, but I would be careful on where I stayed, this was a last minute reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room sucked, I don't know if you could have made it any smaller. No air circulation (Rm 240), we were on the third floor (2nd floor Germany). Room was quite warm, windows were just under 5 ft high from the floor and small, even leaving them open the room did not cool off until near midnight. Bathroom was a joke, when ya had to do ya business on the throne, the shower stall butted (funny) up to the toilet seat, no place to place your right leg. No vent system so showers and bathroom calls the door to the bathroom needed to be open, which made the room stink, or caused humidity even with the crappy windows fully open. One of the reasons the room smelled musty was due to the green stuff growing on the tiles....No room between bed and wall, lay out was quite poor, we thought about staying a 2nd day in the area and decided to bail, would HIGHLY recommend not getting this room as a couple or if you might have a call of nature........

    Breakfast was solid, location was good. Staff really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staf, easy finding the place, near the main road,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have acces to sauna and the pool, but they close at 20:00. Small room for the price we paid for it. Poor Wifi.

    Friendly staf, easy finding the place, near the main road, but in a quite area.Very good and variate breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient, comfortable hotel. Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Was renovating their outdoor spaces so it looked messy and created daytime noise. But we were mostly gone during the day, so it more an aesthetic issue.

    Breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Good and spacious double room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got into a stinky room and after 1 hr the woman came and told us we got an upgrade, but that is only because someone came with a dog, and we were in a dog-allowed room (that is why the smell). We told them we would take some time to pack again (it was a bit inconvenient to change as we were late, getting ready to go to a wedding), but after 5 min a cleaning man came inside the room without knocking while I was naked. For that, we got drinks for free.

    Good and spacious double room. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    the hotel just has everything you need for a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything, stuff, facilities: bike rent, sauna and pool, delicious breakfast, self-service bar 24x7, easy way to reach the hotel by public transport. I would recommend the property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.1
    Good location , perfect breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZC Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds extremely unfomfortable, as the building is quite old, one can hear all neighbors' noice. Rooms very small.

    Good location , perfect breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.8
    My stay at the Hotel Alpensonne wasn't all sunny, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room/ Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Why the facility was rather great, the employees and in particular the management was a disappointment. I mentiones already how the rooms were a bit outdated, there was an awful old radio built in the wall next to my wall, and it can't be switched off, only turned down. However, I could still hear some white noise when I went to sleep. So the next morning I asked the reception to fix it, then I went to breakfast. After the breakfast, I went back to my room and found a bit of salami on my desk (see picture). I went back to the reception to tell them what I found, but they assured me it wasn't the room service. They told me only the room service entered my room, but in fact I knew more there was someone else in my room too, because the radio was taken off the grid. So I told them the care taker must have left the salami there, if the room service hasn't done it. Suddenly the admitted another employee appart from the room service entered my room, but he too didn't leave the salami on my desk. Apparently I cat left it there, according to management. So logical default some employee must have been eating in my room and lost a piece of salami on my desk, but the management protected the violator of my private sphere. I didn't like it atl all how they handled the issue, because all they did was trying to blame me for something I haven't done. Somehow the salami got on my desk in the morning, and I am a vegetarian so I don't do buisness with salami! Instead of an apology, I got a bunch of lies from the manamgement, which did surprise a lot. Thumbs down for the management.

    My stay at the Hotel Alpensonne wasn't all sunny, but lets start with the good stuff. the Hotel is well located in Bad Wiessee, about two minutes away from the bus stop, 3 minutes from the lake. The rooms are spacious, but a bit outdated (We get to that part later, for the bad stuff). The spa area is usefull, short swimming lanes, sauna and an infrared light cabine were available. The sauna was super tiny though, only four people fit in there. It was OK for me, but I know some folks would find it creepy to sit right next to some random naked Germans. The breakfast was great, in fact is was more like a brunch. So everything was great, until I had to deal with the employees...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Family of 4 had a lovely stay at Hotel Alpensonne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location- short walk to the beautiful walk and up into the mountains and to shops, beer gardens and restaurants Nice breakfast Kids liked the pool and lollies on the pillow!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time in Alpensonne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Location excellent and the breakfast was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi

    Location excellent and the breakfast was really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location for a holiday around Tegernsee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous location for Tegernsee holiday and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely small hotel , close to lake , beautiful Bavarian town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sink in the toilet

    The room was pretty basic but comfortable , there is a lovely terrace and lounge to have a drink , breakfast was exceptional !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Location , staff , venue and especially the breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Good

    Location , staff , venue and especially the breakfast !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Polite & helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Memorable stay.

    Polite & helpful staff . Had the air of a warm family hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Good stop off on route to skiing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several of the lights didn’t work in our room

    Really excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.3
    breakfast is extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. Bathroom would need renovation.

    breakfast is extra

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unresponsive

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.8
    Expensive, rude people, but at least nice coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude

    The breakfast was nice and the honour minibar system is great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Location, breakfast, hotel bar
    • Couple
    • DZC Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connection around the hotel

    Location, breakfast, hotel bar

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    No free wifi.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DZC Double Room Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi. Pets fee high.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    already 2nd time in 1 year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DZS Double Room Standard Mini
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna/pool=Perfect Bedroom=PERFECT breakfast= no full english :( but still wonderful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.9
    Perfectly comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying extra for wifi in the room bit of a bore these days. No restaurant for dinner and probably would have preferred a proper bar rather than a help yourself honesty bar.

    Perfectly comfy room. Walking distance to local restaurants. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a great selection of nicely presented food. Help yourself honesty bar was ok Good free parking

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.5
    Variety and quality of the food available for breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Windows and shutters were old and hard to manipulate in our building. Price for an adult and a child was accounted for 2 adults although I have been asking if it was normal (is not logical to me).

    Variety and quality of the food available for breakfast was excellent. Very good location, 300m away from the town center yet quiet in this season. 500m from the lake.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    4.2
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Welcoming nature of the staff and the expression on their face was not friendly. Had the feeling that they are having burden/hardtime due to our stay there...!! Timings of the wellness area is bit annoying. (Seemed like they wanted all the hotel guests to visit the wellness area in the same time window) I wouldn't recommend/go to this hotel again.

    Breakfast was good. Pool was good for families with small kids.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is 3 minutes walking distance from the city centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The TV in the bedroom had only 10 channels available and only german speaking ones. The internet in the rooms was available for 3 Euros 2 hours, which is amazingly high. Entertaining needs to be developed!

    The hotel is 3 minutes walking distance from the city centre of Bad Wiessee. It has two buildings, a small pool and sauna. Internet is available free of charge in the lobby area only. The breakfast has a good selection of food and the smell of freshly brewed coffee was inviting.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.7
    Good location, helpful staff, very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    although I did reserved a small room, the room was really extremely small. Bathroom even smaller than small. 90 eur looks to be a great price but not for this. Rather reserve some in the renovated part.

    Good location, helpful staff, very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.1
    The hotel, spa, staff, location all were good, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we had was pretty basic. Bed was ok, but bathroom was outdated en lack of airco, did affect the comfort of the room.

    The hotel, spa, staff, location all were good, but especially the breakfast was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of air conditioning (or even fans for the rooms) made sleeping unconformable during the hot summer days when we visited.

    The hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities excellent and the breakfast fantastic. The location is perfect if you're looking for easy access to the lake, mountains or just strolling around the small town.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    5.0
    Breakfast and pool are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were coming after 20:00; the doors were closed and nobody was in to do check-in. After 20 min by my call and help of hotel guests personel gived us the worst room in a hotel , single, completely different than are in photo gallery on booking.com. Like in 1 star hotel. We wanted to cancel reservation, but Sir said that we can go out, but he dont guarantee that hotel will not charge us for that night! We were really upset about such a service.

    Breakfast and pool are very nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    5.8
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was absolutely not as on the pictures! Really tiny, with old furniture. And the manager (or the owner, no idea) refused to provide the room as it is on booking.com. Super service!

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.2
    Great scenic location and a perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception (like in many German hotels) is only open till 8pm

    Great scenic location and a perfect place to stay. Good breakfast too.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    9.6
    clean area, good pool& sauna, nice coffee and cookies...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    free wifi not available in the rooms

    clean area, good pool& sauna, nice coffee and cookies during lunch time

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast excelent.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    Breakfast especially!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast especially!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Breakfast was amazing - the best on our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was amazing - the best on our trip

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    We love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We love this place. All is accurate: place, friendly people, delicious breakfasts, rooms, atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    The best breakfast ever with plenty of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated and poor quality bedroom furniture.

    The best breakfast ever with plenty of everything. On site parking. Very nice greeting on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.9
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Breakfast and the team were Amazon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast and the team were Amazon. Property is central

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    4.2
    Tiny tiny tiny room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiny tiny tiny room. Very hot without aircon.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Good parking, Great location and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good parking, Great location and great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    9.2
    Walking distance to lake, friendly staff, nice breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Walking distance to lake, friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean & comfortable

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Lovely and quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely and quiet hotel. Very comfortable setting and extremely friendly staff. We really enjoyed having a big balcony. And breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.9
    - Good location in Bad Wiessee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Internet in rooms for a fee - Rooms were basic

    - Good location in Bad Wiessee - Very large breakfast selection - Value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.5
    Freie Parkplatz, ruhige Lage, Frühstück war i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Öffnungszeiten von Sauna und Schwimmbad Kleines Zimmer und kleines Zimmer

    Freie Parkplatz, ruhige Lage, Frühstück war i.O , Staff war freundlich ..

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    Great pool, nice room with large balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great pool, nice room with large balcony. Now has free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    Great breakfast and nice warm swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi could be better

    Great breakfast and nice warm swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old room. Walls were scratched. Could in general use at the very least a paint job. Electrical wall sockets did not work.

    Good location.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: