Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpenstuben This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Alpseestrasse 8, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Germany

#4 of 7 hotels in Hohenschwangau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1077 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice location but would not stay more than one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room marginally small, area around hotel busy & noisy during the day. Food (dinner) more like fast food than restaurant standard. Parking for hotel not explained prior to arrival, so had to parking in general parking area, only to find hotel had parking at half the cost

    Location & room with view of castle from balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, actually almost the only place where you...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free wi-fi was jumpy, reconnecting all the time. Parking is not possible nearby the hotel without paying 6e per day, but the hotel allows to park your car at nearby (300m) Villa Ludwig so it was good benefit.

    Perfect location, actually almost the only place where you can get a dinner and breakfast in Hohenschwangau. Everything close, ticket centre, castles themselves, lake. The place was very clean, we got a room with Neuschwanstein view so it was wonderful. Personnel polite, helpful but not "overexcited" you are there. They let your dog stay, but 10e per day for a small dog is quite a lot of money for just having a dog there. Long story short, if I went to this area again, I would definitely choose this place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. You can walk to Schloss Neuschwanstein from the hotel. Ticket place is right next door. Suggest you buy you tour tickets online before you get there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel with wonderful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was somewhat smaller than other hotels I've been in.

    Overall, this hotel was very nice. The room was clean. The food was good. The best aspect about this hotel is the location! Close to shops, hiking and, of course, two castles!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Location right in the middle of things. Downstairs restaurant is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On-site parking is a little misleading; you can park overnight, but need to move your car each day. Better off just leaving the car down the street in the public lot.

    Perfect to sit on the balcony when the crowds have disappeared for the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great, very close to the ticket office for the nearby castles. the food served at the restaurant was ok, all staff spoke enough English so we had no problems with checking in. Served actual coffee and not just espresso!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reserved 2 rooms with sitting area and balcony. One room had no balcony and a small window which offered little circulation and there is no A/C. Room 2 had a door that opened to a fire escape. There were no windows so we would have had to sleep with the door open, obviously a security issue (although the staff laughed at that thought.) Both rooms were in need of a remodling. We were moved to the family suite for the night and then moved to a sister hotel down the street. This cost us 70 Euros more but we were not comfortable in the rooms we were given. I did see a few rooms that were being cleaned and they had been updated and looked nice. We arrived at breakfast about 20 minutes before closing and they wouldn't restock food since it was close to closing.

    Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    This was the perfect hotel for our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is an excellent location after hiking up to the castles. We were able to relax right in the village. The food at their restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved the proximity to the castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please note that parking is a separate charge. Shops and eating houses around there close at 18:00

    Loved the proximity to the castles. Literally walking distance. Accommodation beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. Friendly, efficient staff and luckily a great restaurant open till late. Thank you for a super stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Location is absolutely wonderful, staff is friendly and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closes too soon so if you are a late person bring your own beer

    Location is absolutely wonderful, staff is friendly and food is great !! Recommend room 2 or room 23 amazing view !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Location and its was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not. Waiter was discriminating- i gave feedback about the food that was very very very salty and he answered me maybe because i was asian! Omg! I did not even gave it back even i have all the reason not to pay for it!

    Location and its was clean. Good service for ticket reservation and check ins

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was very comfortable, the balcany with view to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not very good, actually it was the worst we had in our month long trip through Europe. There was no problem with it, it was just very, very simple.

    The room was very comfortable, the balcany with view to the castle was great. The location is perfect for people who are visiting the castles, the ticket office is less than 100 meters away and the shuttle bus stop is right next to the ticket office. The staff will tell you everything you should know befoe going to the castles and will provide you with a discount ticket as well!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A waiter outside cafe has no good attitude to put glasses roughly. Reception of hotel is hard to find, as it is located in restaurant. Parking space should have been precisely informed in advance instead of just saying public parking. Some parking spaces are not for hotel guests but for guests for day tour.

    Good location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    LOVED the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small. The receptionist not very friendly at check in.

    LOVED the location. Arrived early enough to be able to walk up to Marienbrucke in the evening. Would HIGHLY recommend it if you are able to make the hilly walk. We got to the bridge about 8:30pm and we're the only ones there to view the castle from that spectacular location. Ticket office for the castle tour and bus/carriage rides up also super conveniently located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Good but disappointing evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal. Not good value for money. Pomme fritters were re-heated and were hard with bad taste.

    Breakfast and breakfast personnel. Shower & cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Very warm and romantic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very good location and very cosy and warm feel in hotel, Dinner was excellent, however breakfast was just average and nothing special. Parking very good and wifi was good. The rooms was very big and comfortable and the outstanding point is the fact that the rooms are completely soudproof. The view from the rooms was also very nice, bathrooms was very comfortable and overall it is a beautiful hotel with a romantic feel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Nice facilities and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid extra for a room with a balcony with a view of Neuschwanstein. I sent the property a message ensuring we would have a view. As it turns out, you can only see the castle if you stand in the very corner of the balcony and look between the two chimneys (see photo). Not what we had in mind... However, we enjoyed the privacy of our balcony, so we didn't complain.

    Location was absolutely perfect. It's so close to everything – the castle ticket stand, Neuschwanstein, Hohenschwangau... Our room was big and had an enormous private balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    The beds were comfortable, I enjoyed having a tiny balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were so many flies in the restaurant area and this made it stressful to eat there as you would have to constantly fighting them off your food. The reception staff could be more knowledgeable about the public transportation options, as not all travelers are drivers...

    The beds were comfortable, I enjoyed having a tiny balcony, even if the view was not great from it (I could see the ticket office for the Neuschwanstein & Hohenschwangau castle). The breakfast option was diversified and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.1
    Mixed Feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not clean at 100% The top edge of the beds were dusty. The soap dispenser in the sower had black fungi. No guarded parking lot. The hotel building has a built-in snack restaurant and souvenir shop which attract too many tourists during the day. Mass tourism is a problem of the town, and it is undeniable that the shops and hotels try to optimize income and not quality.

    Good location next to the castles ticket center. Many rooms have a view on the Neuschwanstein castle. Beds were good. Has a own restaurant with typical bavarian food and beer. Has family rooms for up to 4 persons.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.0
    Staff was friendly and the food in the restaurant and for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a room with 2 beds and it wasn’t clear that that meant the two twin beds that were pushed together as a queen bed in the room pulled apart to make 2 beds. Not ideal for the 6’3” person I was traveling with.

    Staff was friendly and the food in the restaurant and for breakfast was great! Location was ideal for visiting the castles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay. Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin which sometimes made it feel like we had other people in our room and when you turn on the light in the bathroom it turns on a super loud fan.

    Very good location and convenient restaurant downstairs that accepts credit cards. The room was clean and quaint with a small deck. Their is free parking at the property as long as you are a guest and the ticket office for the castles is right next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great.

    The hotel is located near to the ticket center was is a very important point. They have the parking but the car can be left there only till 10 am. Just opposite there is a little parking which costs only 6 euro per day. It can be paid in the hotel as well. The staff is really very polite and always smiling. Good breakfast. After 19 pm Hohenschwangau is a very quiete palce so no issues with sleeping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel had realy stategic location between the two castels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel had realy stategic location between the two castels. Stuff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. I can fully recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have a lift, but staff were very helpful.

    German food was delicious. Staff very accommodating. We had a fabulous room with a view to Neuschwanstein Castle and also a balcony to sit and enjoy the view. Located in a great position for visiting the castles and right next door to the ticket office

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    I wanted to visit Schloss Neuschwanstein and the hotel was an excellent base for this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I suspect because of it location the hotel is able to charge a premium and I did not think it value for money compared with another traditional hotel I stayed at on thus trip. I also did not think the breakfast to be as generous as that offered by the other hotels I visited

    The hotel is well located to visit Schloss Neuschwanstein which I understand is one of Germany's most visited tourist attractions. The staff were warm and friendly and the view from the balcony in my room was outstanding. The food in the restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Close to everything;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited WiFi time (15 or 20 minutes).

    Close to everything; we were there in the off season and it was the only restaurant open....food was excellent. Staff was very helpful with great suggestions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Nice room, great location, best staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Due to some construction or repairing job at Alpenstuben, we were requested to move to Villa Ludwig. So this review is mainly on Villa Ludwig. I expected that both properties have the same owner. Villa Ludwig was one of the best stay we had for the whole trip. The room was spacious with the direct view to Neuschwanstein. The staffs are really nice and friendly. They helped book the tour to the castle and remind us to leave on time. We definitely will stay there again next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    The absolute best quality/price ratio for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only minus: Breakfast was a bit less abundant and varied than expected

    The absolute best quality/price ratio for the location. Stunningly placed structure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    If you plan to visit the castles then this is the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very limited

    If you plan to visit the castles then this is the best property around, right under both the castles with direct access to the ticketing building and horse carriage rides. Great location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a perfect stay. I came with my girlfriend to celebrate her birthday. We arrived at 12:00 pm (3 hours before the check-in time) but the room was ready and they let us check-in immediately. They prepared us a very nice romantic room with a castle view. A huge thanks to Silvia and the amazing staff there. She was very nice and to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday, as a compliment from the hotel, they prepared her a very nice letter and cake with a candle for both of us. It was a very nice gesture that made the whole trip even better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice for a short visit to the castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have had more hot options.

    Great location near the castles. Friendly staff that had our tickets waiting for us. Room was a little small for three people and breakfast was good but not great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Late arrival not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late but called hotel in advance; however when we arrived noone was at the reception. Luckily one of the guests is kind enough to let us in through the back door. At the back door there was a different phone number attached (not hotel phone number on booking.com). We called the number and they told us where our room key was. Had we not notice the phone number was different, we would not have any place to stay that night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we knew that the hotel is so good, we will stay there for more than one night! Everything was perfect, the room was really comfy with beautiful balcony and coffee maker on the table, the staff was so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Very, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of this hotel is just fantastic. It is centrally located and you can visit both castles and other attractions by foot. The hotel is Bavarian style and the staff was very friendly towards us. The breakfast was continental. The rooms very clean and sufficiently large. If you come by car, there is a public parking space just opposite of the hotel. It costs 6 EUR per day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Following Ludvig II castles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant complain any.

    Great and strategic place to visit castles. Excellent hotel and very nice staff. We have reserved standart double room and manager upgraded without asking to exclusive at same price. Hotel restaurant as well offered good variety of the food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    No Better Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator for people with disablilities

    This is right on the foot of the castle. 25 mts from where you buy the tickets. The walk to the castle is a little bit steep but not that difficult. We also took the horses carriage. Breakfast was excelent!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was nice, the view was okay, the beds were comfortable and the room was nice. I was especially happy about the water kettle + tea/coffee in the room. The only inconvenience was parking and the smell in the bathroom - I am not sure if they knew about the smell, which I think was due to a plumbing issue. But it was not nice. The food in the restaurant was good and they had pizza/pasta options, which is always nice when you're travelling with kids.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    $130 for a nice room including a nice breakfast is not bad for a tourist trap town, but no elevator!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ww got no warning when booking that there is no elevator, so we had to lug our suitcases up two flights of stairs. Also couldn't open the windows because we had already killed 4 mosquitoes that late March night (there are almost never window screens in Europe), so it got stuffy and uncomfortably warm during the night because the windows are new and well-insulated.

    The room was clean, modern, and quite quiet considering all their rooms are above the restaurant and souvenir shop right on a main street crowded with hordes of tourists. Breakfast was included in our price and was a generous, fresh buffet with high-quality German Wurst, fruit, yogurt, eggs, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Romantic and Cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved how romantic the room was set up! The beautiful balcony over looking the Castle.. The food And the staff was great too! Is you ever get a chance get the goulash!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay-close to everything. Convenient and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing-this was an ideal location in Hohenschwangau.

    Our room had recently been renovated and was all clean and new! Beautiful and extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    wonderful and would recommend to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location and view was amazing, the room itself and view from balcony were an added bonus. The food in the restaurant was lovely, they let us use the carpark and the staff were very friendly. its right by the ticket office and you get some small discount from staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The beds were comfy and the room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfy and the room was spacious. We had two small balconies and an amazing view of Neuschwanstein Castle from the room. The staff also organized for me to check in late to accommodate my plans.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    It is located well and closed to the ticket office.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view in the terrace of my room to the castle is not as good as expected. There is a tree in front of the castle in the terrace view. But the view is still good.

    It is located well and closed to the ticket office.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Location is superb, close to both Neuschwanstein Castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 3 parking lots & no elevator.

    Location is superb, close to both Neuschwanstein Castle & Hohenschwangau Castle. Balcony view is magnificent, you can see Neuschwanstein Castle very close.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    GREAT LOCATION AND NICE ROOMS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in a pay lot across the street and not included.

    I liked that it included breakfast. Also liked that it was within walking distance of the castles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Best location and close to both Neuschwanstein and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved everything. would only note to other travellers to expect a traditional cold breakfast such a cold cut meats, fresh bread etc., no eggs, toast etc.,

    Best location and close to both Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles. The rooms was wonderful with balcony view of Neuschwanstein Castle. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant had a great selection from dinner menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Loved this property and when I return I hope to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator to access top floors but not a big issue.

    Located extremely close to the castle's. Nice little balcony to watch everything on the main road. Staff got the tickets for us which saves you from standing in line forever.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    It is possible to book the visit to the Castles in the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is possible to book the visit to the Castles in the hotel, it does have an extra fee but it is quite confortable. Specially since we were not able to book it online due to high demand. The place is cozy and in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Cosy hotel, nice staff. Basic but comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to park for check in; the special New Years dinner was expensive, and although nice - I think was too expensive for what was delivered. Rooms more basic than I expected but we all slept well. No lift, so a family worth of suitcases up flights of stairs.

    The Hotel Alpenstuben had a comfy vibe and was right in the heart of the area near the Castles. Check in was confusing; but the staff were very helpful. New Years fireworks down the road were awesome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on the back side of the hotel which I did not like. Heating in the bathroom was not adequate. Did not have good option for vegetarians in the breakfast but I guess that is the problem everywhere in Europe.

    Location is very good. Room was comfortable and spacious. Ice cream was nice and enjoyed it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Beware when booking the romantic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked the romantic room. Though the description stated that not all rooms come with a balcony, it was also described as one with a direct view of the castle. There was no view, unless you stand right next to the window and look out. Also the windows were small, the room dark, small and cramped, with barely enough space between the bed and bathroom door. Two people can't walk at the same around the bed. Managed apologised saying they fully booked and unfortunately can't do much other than giving a 5€ discount.

    Absolutely great location, if you're wanting to stay near the alpsee lake and neuschwanstein castle...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking in lot across from hotel. Wasn’t much but I came in at night and got yelled at by man who manages the lot for not having a ticket on my dash. -make sure you get one! Don’t like confrontations. Coming from USA not used to parking fees I guess.

    Location, location, location, between the two famous castles of Germany. Nice room. Breakfast was good. Price for room was more than reasonably priced. Nice restaurant. Has a wonderful little shop to purchase souvenirs too. Folks are great and multi lingual.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was restricted to a certain amount of downloading....very frustrating with a family that uses a lot. They said they would look into fixing that.

    Great location. Nice staff. We would visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    The room and the view from the room was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was really bad, you had to move restaurant signs out the way to get into a space and then they make sure you are out the space really early in the morning. So it totally ruins the romantic lay in you would want and pay for as you have to move the car to another space. Small things like that can really ruin your stay in an otherwise great hotel. Also breakfast was just cold ham and cereals. But was included in the price so can't complain too much

    The room and the view from the room was amazing. Oh and in the 'lovers room' the shower was nice as it had glass walls which was fun The bed was decorated with flowers and the balcony looked right over to the castle, try and get the 'Lovers room' if you are a couple staying. They also put an ice bucket with wine in the room for me on request.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely, quiet, centrally located hotel in beautful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's not much happening in the town itself. Thankfully the hotel restaurant is the only place that stayed open past 6pm for dinner. Hotel was a bit pricey but options were limited.

    Nice hotel with a very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Very cozy stay. Sehr gemuetlich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was the option to toast breakfast breads.

    We stayed here for a weekend in order to visit the local castles and booked two rooms. The location was perfect for the purpose of the trip. The hotel staff arranged our tickets for us saving us queuing. Breakfast was very good for a cold continental with plenty of selection and was included in the room price. We had two dinners at the hotel restaurant, both times the food was very good and the staff very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    2.5
    this is the worst hotel experience i 've had!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the worst hotel i've ever lived. the staff is there so unfriendly that i won't recall it again. it is not worth being called a hotel. if you complained, you'll never be treated fairlly.

    This is the worst hotel i've ever lived. the staff is there so unfriendly that i won't recall it again. it is not worth being called a hotel. if you complained, you'll never be treated fairlly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    2.5
    this is the worst experience i ve ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the worst hotel i 've ever lived. the people are so unfriendly that i won't recall it again. it is not worth being called a hotel.

    This is the worst hotel i 've ever lived. the people are so unfriendly that i won't recall it again. it is not worth being called a hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    2.5
    Very dissapointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms above the kitchen is too bad; smells food which you cannot cope with it. The owners are not helpfull at all, they suggest as smart people to open the window to get rid of the smell as if we cannot think of. Town is very good, castles are fascinating but hate the only night we spend there because of this hotel.

    At the center, nearly the best restaurant in town. Only good thing was the nice people at the restaurant. Stay at Fusen instead, very good town, very close to the castles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Good Veiw, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Connecting to the wifi was difficult and good instructions were not available. People more than willing to help but gave conflicting instructions. I used the 192.68.1.1 universal wifi sign up site to connect.

    Close to everything. Ticket office, buses or horse rides to the castle. They also have their own parking area which is an asset.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable weekend break with friendly staff, with easy access to sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Two Bedrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One mattress with soft area Needed to use 2 pillows Tea/coffee in rooms No community area for seating in 2 bedroom unit Bad WiFi Writting desk unsuitable

    So close to both castles and ticket booth Souviner shops -lots House and carriges Restaurant options Bus option to castle Separate toilet to bathroom Balcony and view to castle excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient, Clean, and Blissfully Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a number of problems with the wifi but the staff was able to give us new access codes to help us connect. There was also some check-in confusion because the check-in time listed on booking.com was a couple hours ahead of the hotel's actual check-in.

    You can't beat the location or the view! It was also incredibly quiet at night. Having just come from a stay in the heart of Paris, the evening silence was much relished and we celebrated by leaving the window open and enjoying the cool night air. The restaurant was fairly priced and the meals were quite tasty. This hotel also can book castle tours/tickets for guests upon check-in which saved us tons of time and alleviated stress!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Really nice hotel in the centre of the action, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is unusual. From 10am until 6pm the carpark is a beer garden. At 6pm all the tables are cleared and there is free parking for five cars. You have to move your car the following morning before 10am when it becomes a beer garden again. The hotel has a deal with the next door hotel to let you park there for 6Euro for 24 hours. Not the end of the world, just unusual.

    When we first arrived and saw the crowds I thought that the stay would be hell on earth. However, by six pm they have all departed and the place becomes an oasis of calm. Lovely room and balcony with a view of the Castle. Good breakfast. Excellent restaurant. Not a cheap hotel, but it is a busy tourist spot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic Lodge with everything you need
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was excellent.

    Excellent location, balcony, beautiful views. Host helped with castle tickets and other questions. Always willing to help. Food very good. All around fantastic mountain retreat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    The location of the hotel is more than perfect, very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing related to the hotel conditions. However I didn't like the early closure working time of all other restaurants except the hotel's - up to 5-6 p.m.

    The location of the hotel is more than perfect, very close to the castles and just in front of the ticket center and the bus/horse carriage stops to the castles. We went to the castles by foot, which was also very quick as we are family with children. The conditions in the room were excellent, very clean, the beds - very comfortable, breakfast also good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    top place to start your trip to castles near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no fridge in room, no air conditioner. noisy from neighbor mother russia. internet is limited 2 Gb per night and up to 3 devices. The pillows was very tiny.

    top place to start your trip to castles near by. the stuff was frendly and helpful. the restaurant was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Had the best service from the moment we booked til the time...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the best service from the moment we booked til the time we checked out. Everything was taken care of by the staff. Things like the parking tickets, the tickets for the Castles (so we didnt have to stand in the line buying them but had them delivered during breakfast and the way they were around our dog. Sublime experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    The Perfect Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not able to identify any negative aspects about this facility for the purpose of our visit. It was perfect!

    The rooms were ready for early check in. Luggage could be stored after check out. Rooms were very clean, spacious and with balconies. Our Room #6 had a great view. Rooms were quiet. The restaurant downstairs was very convenient. The location near the tour ticket office and trails made this so convenient for us five tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Best location for German castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot so room was a bit stuffy. Room would be fine in cooler weather or a fan to draw in the night cool air.

    Very traditional German hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included was excellent continental style. Perfect location with convenient private parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Cozy with amazing views and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is pretty far away and costs 6€ a day, but wasn't a big enough deal to whine about. If you travel by bus it's not an issue.

    The room was spectacular with a comfy bed, a balcony with a table and chairs, and an amazing view of the castle. Even better was dinner! Staff was all super friendly, and we would love to stay there again. Definitely hike up the 15 min path behind the castle to the bridge for the postcard views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.1
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed very put out to find answers to questions and help us out - like they were too busy (even though there weren't many people there), even ignoring us completely twice. I can't imagine what they're like in the high season! After getting into PJs, we tried to connect to the WIFI and were told we had to go all the way down to reception for a new code, even though we were mobility impaired. Room was extremely small for 2 people and the walls were paper thin - we could hear the noisy people next door all night. Our toilet and shower made a horrible jack-hammer noise every time we used them and sometimes for no reason in the night. No lift and all rooms are above ground level. For the price, if somewhere else is available, I suggest looking elsewhere.

    The location is pretty much the closest you can get to either castle! Beautiful scenery. Room was clean and provided a TV with a list of channels in different languages. Obtaining tickets for the castles can be done by staff, but they don't tell you there's an additional price. Breakfast included had a wide range of things to eat and was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel for exploring castles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay, nothing special.

    Besides the attentive staff, we loved the balcony and the comfortable beds and the spaciousness of the room and the size of the bathroom...and the view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Friendly place with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on arrival a bit difficult due to the crowds and the car park is also an outdoor eating area, but got sorted out when we checked in

    Great location and the front room balconies look directly up to the castle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    The Alpenstube is perfect for anyone wanting to stay near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They told me to move my car in the morning as we arrived kind of late in the evening but could have been nicer about where to put it in the morning. I

    The Alpenstube is perfect for anyone wanting to stay near both the Hohenschwangau castle and the Neuschwanstein castle. It is totally Bavarian - very clean and the room we stayed had a great view of the Neuschwanstein castle. I would recommend it to anyone. Great value as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Short stay but very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything! Our room was really nice with a balcony and a view of the castle. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: