Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpha This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Friesenstr. 19, Oststadt, 30161 Hannover, Germany

#13 of 119 hotels in Hannover

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 711 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    I arrived in the morning, very tired after a trans-Atlantic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived in the morning, very tired after a trans-Atlantic flight, and they got me coffee and prepared my room early so I could check in and rest. They were also very friendly throughout my stay and they have a wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.6
    Bed sucks, street lights flood the room all night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed & pillows too soft, curtains useless, furnishings dated, location in a creepy area.

    The bed was very uncomfortable - so soft that I felt like I was getting eaten alive. The pillows were also horrible, had no support and I ended up using a rolled up blanket for a pillow instead. The curtains do not block light, so the room was brightly lit all night from the orange sodium street lights outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    We had a great weekend in this little hotel with lovely staff! Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a corner room and traffic was a little noisy- new windows would help!

    Breakfast was great- huge choice of food and prosecco! Staff were very friendly and helpful Great tapas bar very close- El pais Shops nearby Short walk to centre printed my boarding passes for me

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel - book directly! - will AVOID Booking.com from now on!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We liked the lovely room, but above all, great customer service at the hotel where they are actually clever enough to know that good care customer care is a key to being successful! They are super= polite and care that you are happy with everything. In huge contrast with Booking.com that I shall avoid in future like the plague, completely devoid of any customer service or clever enough to know that it matters!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Wunderbar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    What a wonderful find the Hotel Alpha was! Only 8 mins walk from the station in a very nice area with excellent Italian restaurant opposite. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was terrific and on our arrival, our room (which had the bonus of a lovely balcony - room 204)had a gift of biscuits, chocolate and fruit . It was lovely to have a kettle for making drinks - just one word of warning, they don't refill the tea and coffee sachets after the first day so don't go mad all at once! Breakfast room and all public areas beautifully decorated for Christmas - will definitely return here on return to Hannover.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    this really is a family business.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing.

    we stayed at Hotel Alpha for one night with work colleagues. I have to say, I travel a lot for work and stayed at various types of hotels.. This is one of the best ones I have ever seen, not because they are five star but the hotel was full of thoughtful details, staff was incredibly nice & helpful and there was nothing to complain about.. Both my colleagues and I liked everything and we were really tired.. We stayed in one person room for one night which can be disappointing for many good hotels. But this was so easy and so comfortable.. There was fruit and snacks in the room. Boiler with coffee and tea.. a bottle of water.. and it was really clean. I will definitely stay there again and I recommend it to everyone. Don't be bothered by the 15 min walk to city center, it is an easy walk and hotel is really close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Just right for short look around the city of Hannover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction work but it did not cause a problem

    The bed was comfortable we had a good sleep. The hotel is well located behind the station within easy walking distance to the city centre. It will be even better when the construction work around the overpass is completed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything was great. Excellent location, accessible by car or public transportation. All staff are very kind and well-trained. Breakfast to satisfy all your desires. Welcome drink for Genius customers. Congratulations to all, and if I come back to Hanover, I'm sure to stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Very pleasant affordable hotel at walking distance to down town ( in even better neighbourhood!)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator in the building. (Though not any problem for me)

    The location close to city center and the nice neighbourhood ( better and more local then down town)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    Good choice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no Refrigerator no air conditioner

    Great location (near the city center, not far from railway station and shopping district) Free rent for bicycles Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Good choice within walking distance of the main train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zero complaints

    I had more than a passing contact with two desk clerks, a 50ish man in the late afternoon and a 30ish woman in the morning. Both went out of their way to help me get paperwork faxed to a third party, happy to be of help. The hotel is quaint, even a bit corny with the little hearts painted on doors, fake flowers on the pillow, little fake sheep in an alcove, but it was clean, quiet and comfortable, my Big Three and I was pleased to be there. Breakfast was great, nice variety of fresh fruit, eggs and sausage, cold cuts and cheese, an array of good German bread, granola/muesli, fresh fruit juice, and it was included in the modest tariff. I don't know how anybody could dis this place, but everyone's experience is different. Me, I'd stay there again without question.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Furniture is too old and noisy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture is too old and noisy ! There is no elevator to my room so I drag my bags through sters ! In the list of hotel services they mentioned that , they will take my lundary BUt they did not

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice and cosy
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the summer sometimes Hannover can be very hot and there is no air condition in the room

    . The hotel is nice and cosy Stuff is very nice and helpfull. Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Very close to the main train station, our rooms were in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very close to the main train station, our rooms were in another building near the hotel.The room facing the street is a bit noisy in the morning if you like to sleep late. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.3
    Nice but stessful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff could be more helpful, when they are asked for a small favor such as using one of the computers in the lobby in order to print out a document.

    The breakfast was nice and the bedroom was huge and clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Alpha hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small but as a compliment it was equipped with many small useful accessories.

    The hotel has its own special spirit - many small and beautiful details in every corner. The breakfast is till 11am, so you can enjoy longer in the comfy bed. The breakfast is very good too!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Perfect staying in the best place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect: friendly and welcoming staff, good location in a quiet place.The atmosphere in Alpha was fantastic, because all things in this hotel were made with love and care. Our room was nice with small kitchen and all dishes, coffee, tea, fruits etc. Bathroom was spacious & there were everything you need and even more. The breakfast was delicious. It's the best hotel in the town!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Outstandingly good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstandingly service-minded staff. Love for details. Very clean. Interior so unfashionable that it is charming and lovable again. Central location, but still very quiet. Good mattresses. If I ever have to stay overnight in Hannover again, this will be the place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Cozy Hotel near the main train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very close to the main train station. Fast check-in and check-out. The room was cozy and welcoming. Overall suited for a one night stay. PS: even with low temperatures outside the room was warm, which is important for winter stays.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the reception was polite but a bit inexperienced

    Definitely a special accomodation! Big and clean room, big and clean toilette! 3 stars superior is the right classification. Good breakfast, both salty and sweet! We just had a fast night there but we can recommend the place!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to the city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    PERFECT SHORT STOP
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast and staff attitude were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place. Extra free room services for free (tee, coffee, ...). It was really clean and the bed was comfy ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    excellent breakfast with lots of lovely details and very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my room was obviously an appartement with kitchenette BUT no fridge!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Large and beautifully decorated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite large, even with a kitchenette full of needed dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect accommodation, feel like home.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Very loud at night (busy street outside)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud at night (busy street outside)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    position and a late check out
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small quilt,widht 1 m

    position and a late check out

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a nice experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the reception and breakfast areas are I a different building.

    The friendly and cooperative staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets were too short

    Perfect location, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room size

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean , cozi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    A beautiful place with an original style
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like everything. The nice furniture complements, the welcoming and friendly staff and the care on cleaning and details.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Noise with room facing a busy street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise with room facing a busy street

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.8
    Nice room, quite area, little bit to walk. BUT dirty shared bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Different than described on the website there was a shared bathroom - quite dirty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Wished I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything about the place, It cannot be beaten.

    This I would rate as one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money, excellent location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, homey athmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.1
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread was not fresh

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Best price / value rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi was limited to only one equipment at a time.

    Staff was super friendly and always smiling. Customer focus: 5*

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice and ver hospitality people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking

    Nice and ver hospitality people

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.4
    Outrageously overpriced (even during CeBit).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outrageously overpriced (even during CeBit).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    Hotel staff and the size of the room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Blanket size was too small Doesn't have a lift to go upstairs Pillow was too soft

    Hotel staff and the size of the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.4
    Mediocre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elavator, old shower

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Alpha Hotel Hannover definite business base close to all shops
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not much

    clean and tidy , very helpfull and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location and big rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Older rooms

    Great location and big rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    Good breakfast. Great Location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet on the floors

    Good breakfast. Great Location. Helpful staff. Big room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    Almost everythng was exellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Noise. Hotel on the crossroads. Altough it's close to center(Mitte)

    Almost everythng was exellent. All staff are nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location to see sights & to reach exhibition...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to see sights & to reach exhibition centre, with easy off road parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.5
    Friendly staff, well organised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, well organised

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    I´ll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long walk up the stairs - especially after some drinks :-)

    Die Frühstück war fantastisch

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Staff were very accommodating.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows!

    Staff were very accommodating. Location was fantastic and safe.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Attractive, homely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming decor everywhere & lovely staff. Big slice of cake on arrival!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    very original composition of breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very original composition of breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location. Ten minute walk from main train station and all the shopping and restaurants are near by. Was a little high priced for what I got but no real complaints

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    3.8
    The receptionist during the day was very pleasant and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The night porter was downright rude and offensive and if he would have pushed a little more we would have ended up fighting ! Terrible man with no concept of a paying customer

    The receptionist during the day was very pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    1. Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The elevator very small, it difficult to get into with bag 2. Number of private parking places is less than guestrooms, so if you arrived late, your car be left out on the street

    1. Hospitality 2. Wonderful breakfast 3. Nice interior design 4. Comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    5.0
    I like mostly the reception and the free snacks in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't any lift inthe building, the room was quiet old and the breakfast was very expensive for a3star hotel.

    I like mostly the reception and the free snacks in the room.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    9.2
    Great location five minutes from the main train station,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location five minutes from the main train station, good service, helpfully staff, clean rooms, reasonable price and great for shot stay while on business.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.8
    Service was great and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the beds take time to get used to.

    Service was great and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    9.2
    great location, idal for both business trips and leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    experienced nothing bad

    great location, idal for both business trips and leisure. clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    9.6
    Very good location, very friendly and high expertise staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very good location, very friendly and high expertise staff. Highly recomended.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    8.3
    Extremely clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely clean. Very pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    5.4
    nice central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no elevator

    nice central location

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room is small,

    Breakfast is nice. room is clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    9.2
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was good.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Location , friendliness,comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location , friendliness,comfort.........and the ducks

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    5.8
    Silence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old hotel, no minibar, no freezer , no lift

    Silence

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.2
    Very very helpful personell.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Missed a cooler/minibar in the room

    Very very helpful personell. Super good breakfast!!! Quiet street - slept like a log!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Expensive at the time we booked

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    7.9
    cleanliness and decoration of the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no elevators.

    cleanliness and decoration of the rooms.

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: