Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alphotel Ettal This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Alte Bergstrasse 10, 82488 Ettal, Germany

#6 of 8 hotels in Ettal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    It was close to the old town and plenty of bars &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning but we are realising that a lot of hotels in Europe don’t have them as heating is generally more important. staff were extremely helpful and found us a fan to help make our stay more enjoyable

    It was close to the old town and plenty of bars & restaurants Staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    We stayed over Christmas and they had mulled wine for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was bad...like something out of school cafeteria rather than a hotel. Also our waiter was strange. We tried to place our order in English, at first he looked at us like we were from Mars and said he doesn't speak English, but then after 5 minutes came back and said - oh I forgot, I speak English. The service was very poor. They didn't bring drinks for 30 minutes. The bathroom was dirty.

    We stayed over Christmas and they had mulled wine for everyone. Overall good stay for the price. Nice view from the window.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Close to town, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are a little thin. People next door were getting up very early and were not very considerate.

    Close to town, easy to find. Staff was great. Simple, but clean, comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for the local venues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the fact that we scheduled only one night. We would have loved to stay more. There is so much to see in this area.

    The location is great if you intend to visit Oberamergau or Linderhof. Both are less than 15 minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    I enjoyed staying there despite some smallish inconveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't have the window open at night due to excessive church bell ringing during the early morning and evening. It was no problem when the window was shut. Air conditioning would have been very useful.

    Good food and attentive staff. Very quiet and private. View from room and other parts of the property is amazing. Beds were comfortable and duvets not too heavy..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    OK for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - King Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps not too much that the hotel could do, but there were so many wasps in the dining areas.... it made eating breakfast a bit of a challenge.

    Ettal is a lovely place to visit, and the hotel served our purpose, but the facilities were basic, and the property felt a bit tired. I'd be slightly reluctant to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - King Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but not what we normally have, no croissants, we bought our own from Lidl down the road

    Location of the Hotel is great, walk down into Ettal and there is a lovely Italian and a great shop with essentials and cakes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    The view is beautiful, and the breakfast had a nice variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed while we were there and the bar was only open until 9 p.m.

    The view is beautiful, and the breakfast had a nice variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    Reasonable accommodation, noisy tour buses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This seems to be a Chinese tour bus hotel. Both nights that we stayed here one or two bus loads of tourists turned up around 7pm. The tourists were very noisy, calling to each other from balconies until late in the evening, and were up slamming doors and calling to each other early in the morning.

    Good location, in a side street, just a few minutes walk to the centre of town. Nice setting with views of the mountains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - King Size Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing negative really - the only comment is that the kitchen was only really working (out of season) because they had a group coming in from outside every evening - otherwise I would have had to go out to eat (no problem, there are other places nearby, but nicer to eat in) - I would check this if planning to stay there

    beautiful garden and particularly nice staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Is just beautiful to be there and chillout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The Terrace the most the Quietness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    It was all really great.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all really great. Wifi was fine, dog friendly, really nice backyard, breakfast was ok. Thanks!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    2.9
    The hotel needs updating, needs to recruit staff to man the bar, restaurant. It needs modernising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding smelt damp, there was no bar available, the hotel looks in need of repair, the restaurant wasn’t available on arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good room, clean and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during the breakfast is unfriendly to me and seemed unhappy all the time.

    Very good room, clean and confortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    The was no pictures of the swimming pool on your web site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The was no pictures of the swimming pool on your web site. Please add it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Good stay for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi should be available all the time without additional request

    View. Small city with good restaurants witch work until 2AM.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Located in a lovely valley popular with walkers, cyclists, hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was eclectic. Attractive dining area. Good breakfast selection. Lovely view of surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - King Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    I liked the location of the hotel and the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Wifi was bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was bad

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    Solid value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking crowded. Breakfast could be better. Queen size bed was somewhat small for two person.

    Reasonable Rates. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Ok value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Queen Size Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room. Small double bed.

    Location good. Decent breakfast. Nice spa.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    hotel among nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms layout are complicated to locate

    breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Jaws dropped upon seeing the superior quality of this hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A chinese tour group was there, occupying the entire floor, it was noisy all night, with chinese chattering all night, with their room doors wide open.. I don't know if the hotel could do something about it. Same with breakfast.. They had their chattering going on all the while, ruining Bavarian peace..!!

    Jaws dropped upon seeing the superior quality of this hotel, considering how little we paid.. Great facilities, great staff, tasty fulfilling breakfast.. Will definitely visit again!!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.9
    The area is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was uncomfortable aswell as the pillows The towels were very small The staff didn't speak much English at all

    The area is stunning. The views were very nice The hotel was clean Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    It was not far from Linderhof so it made a good stop for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing we did not like; however, there was nothing outstanding about the hotel either.

    It was not far from Linderhof so it made a good stop for the night. We walked into town for dinner which was very good

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff attitude was quite cold. On top of that, the road from Garmish to the hotel closes at night, after 7 p.m. i think for renovation, and we had to made in addition approx 50km and 1 hour in order to get to the hotel from the other side. The hotel staff should have informed us about this.

    Great hotel. Located in a quiet area. The room was big, very clean, very well equipped with new and modern things. Good breakfast. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.3
    Clean bed, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food poor. Pool out of order. Pictures shown are from years ago when we stayed before and not the same nowadays. One lady on reception so nice, unlike the manager. Sadly, the standard of this hotel has deteriorated so much.

    Clean bed, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.1
    A clean basic alpine style hotel, with pretty green...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel seems set up for bus tours, lots of them. Small rooms with heavy winter duvets on the bed even though it was mid summer and hot. Although we were greeted warmly by the person who checked us in, we were treated very rudely by restaurant manager and other staff had minimal customer service ethos. This is a hotel where you get what you paid for.

    A clean basic alpine style hotel, with pretty green surroundings, on the edge of town. Suited our needs very well in terms of convenience and budget price.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    4.6
    quiet room, pleasant view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    we did not get the apartment booked, had as a consequence no kitchen, the refrigerator in the room did not work and no effort was made to replace it, the pool was not open due to some malfunction which was not rectified while we were there, the staff sort to taunt my son because we asked for a second bucket of ice. The ice was needed because the refrigerator did not work. There were no facilities and the breakfast was probably the worst we have had for some time.

    quiet room, pleasant view

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    Perfectly located hotel in quiet area, near to Linderhof...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would expect that the sauna will be running from 4 pm as it was described, however we needed to ask the staff to switch it on at 5 pm when we were there. Staff was helpful and always available when needed, however it would be nice if they will be more hospitable and not tread us as an another payment for stay.

    Perfectly located hotel in quiet area, near to Linderhof Castle or to GaPa. Realy nice place to stay...offering sauna and swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed was a little uncomfortable but over all the room was nice.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed something. Over all great trip thanks to their help....

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    Great location, very nice rooms and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, very nice rooms and garden

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.8
    I really enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I really enjoyed my stay. The view was beautiful!

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor breakfast choices plus little for gluten free member to eat.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Great location in a small town/village with a very old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in a small town/village with a very old monastery. Great mountain view, very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Quiet location, big rooms, tasty breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet location, big rooms, tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very beautiful place among the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very beautiful place among the mountains! Tasty breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Very clean, big room, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean, big room, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    The rooms were very nice, the food was good, and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were very nice, the food was good, and the staff was welcoming and very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.3
    Nice, calm hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bed.

    Nice, calm hotel. Excellent for relaxing. Great sauna and pool.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff. So many facilities. breakfast.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: