Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alster-Hof This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Esplanade 12, Hamburg Neustadt, 20354 Hamburg, Germany

#64 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2758 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel has a very professional staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet signal was poor in the room. This is the only negative point that I can mention.

    The Hotel has a very professional staff. The room was very clean and quite. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in the centre of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Wifi wasn't working very well - missing plugs near the bed

    - A nice hotel in a great area of the city. - Small room, but clean and with everything you need. - Friendly staff, reception open 24/7

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Without A/C in the room. I guess it's rarely needed but this August, we lived in a heat wave.

    Very clean and comfortable room, with nice view! Location, breakfast, staff: excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    A well run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities. There were no UK TV channels available.

    Breakfast was excellent and well staffed. I was given a room that I did not book - a depressing room onto the central courtyard and a twin - but was moved to a delightful room the next day. Reception staff were excellent - informative and made various bookings for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in a lovely city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have snack bar for a light lunch or evening meal

    We thought the hotel was a high standard for a three star hotel. Excellent location, just around the corner from the lake and within walking distance of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was well with property but realistically Germany needs to input air condition in the rooms... too hot to sleep.

    The experience was very positive... good vibes.... staff was helpful, place is nice, clean, comfortable....location is superb, 14 mins scenic route walk to central station. Breakfast included, good way to start your morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel with a great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very hot (in the summer). No air conditioning or fan in the room.

    Very good breakfast. Comfortable room. Nice bathroom. Well located relative to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean & comfortable in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that there is no air conditioning in the rooms - we were very hot in Hamburg's heatwave !!!!

    Clean , comfortable hotel in a great location not far from the main railway station and only 20 minutes from the airport - just round the corner from the Alster Lakes . Variety of restaurants and shops nearby . Historic Centre and Planten & Blomen ( botanical gardens ) within walking distance . Lovely continental breakfast with lots of choice .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much . There was no full length mirror in the room I had.

    The staff was professional and friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Close to S bahn and U bahn stations but was central enough for me to walk to most places centrally located. Just around the corner from the restaurant street Colonaden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Start exploring vivid Hamburg from here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night the room was very warm, 30 degrees Celsius. Staff apologized but could only suggest opening the window.

    The hotel looked a little outdated but the room was very modern. Enough space to hang your clothes. Very nice bathroom. Friendly staff at front desk and breakfast room. Good central location with free parking at 10 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Sadly there's no air-conditioning in the hotel - that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly there's no air-conditioning in the hotel - that wouldn't be a problem if you could open the windows, but if it's hot I'd strongly advise asking for a room that doesn't look out over the road - it's very noisy late into the night. It would be a good idea for the hotel to provide fans for each room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    The Hotel is located in a very good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1 – There is no ventilation system, just need open the window, but at night sometimes it is noisy and a little bit cold. If you close the window - stuffy at once 2 – There were no kettle and cutlery in the room 3 – I had a problem with basin in the bathroom. I guess it was clogged, because the water passed really slow through siphon.

    The Hotel is located in a very good place. You can find Binnenalster, Kunsthalle and Hauptbahnhof near. There are many restaurants, pharmacies, bakeries and shops around. A little walk down the beautiful Colonnaden street and you are at the Rathaus square. Good breakfast, not big variety though. I found that wi-fi is working well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very well located with bus and train links on...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C and we just happened to be staying during the hottest heat wave in over 30 years.

    The hotel is very well located with bus and train links on the doorstep. Parks and the alster lake are just a short walk with a number of good resteraunts near by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    IRONMAN HAMBURG
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air contition units in the room but i guess it doesn't get many days in the year as it was while i was there last weekend.

    Very clean rooms and the location of the hotel as it was close to city center within walking distance!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning or tea/coffee-making facilities in the room. No view. Otherwise okay.

    Excellent location - quite easy to find and within walking distance of underground station and restaurants / shops etc. Breakfast was very good. Room a nice size and comfortable with a good shower. Liked the check-in and check-out times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    i recommend - choose this hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The mattress should be stiffer breakfast could be more diverse between mornings

    everything was great. I got very fast answeres to questions i had priour to traveling, location is great, staff is wonderful- very polite, easy going, wiilingly helping. The room was very nice, very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Super traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was traditional in style and very comfortable. My room and bathroom was spotless; the bed was comfy and the shower was excellent. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. The breakfast was very good. The bar was pleasant. The location is superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, old decor and facilities, think twice if you want to stay there during summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. No air-condition. 2. We were given a spacious room facing the busy noisy Esplanade. We had to close the windows before we could sleep. Only learned much later that we have to ask the reception before we would be given a fan. The average daily temperature was 18 to 27 degrees during our stay in late June 2018.

    1. Excellent location, just 1 minute from the Subway station Stenfansplatz. 2. Very near to the beautiful Lake Alster. 3. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful - and take a pair of running shoes and enjoy a quick run/walk around the lake!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is unusual - the single bed is like a cot and looks very uncomfortable - but sleeping in it was fine. It would be a problem for anyone needing an extra length bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    i will come back !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is dificult to get a free room because they are often booked out. I was in Hamburg from the 26-29 of april and tryied month in advance to get a roopm in this Hotel and it was not posible. I was very happy when i could get a reservation on my second stay.

    Every thing, Breakfast was wonderfull room confortable and very clean , Location could not be better 1 minute to the Alster lake , 5 minutes walk to the center. Personal was very frendly i do not remeber all the names but mrs. Darcon was very helpfull. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy place near the center
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not assign full points because I have chosen the hotel also for sauna – and yes, there is nice sauna place, however, boy was it cold! What is sauna for if it's 50 degrees? Street is a bit noisy, and in hot weather you'll have no choice than to leave the windows open. Speaking about wifi, come on, web login page on wifi in the 21st century?

    Small but comfy room, safe on room, meticulously clean bathroom. Exactly what I've expected for work trip. Breakfast not splurge, but with very nice selections – and sour fish was a nice touch for example. Nice and willing personnel adds to the equation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice for a short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. The temperature of the rooms was really too warm.

    Nice room, well equipped. Good bed. Bathroom with good average equipment. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Recommended for Solo travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location , close to public transport and some pedestrian streets. Hotel has all essential amenities with also a good variety in breakfast . One of the best of its kind in Hamburg. Would come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A fine place to stay in Hamburg Centro
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Silent the ventilation in the bathroom, it disturbed the relaxation in the room. Kindly the reception offered another room.

    We had a cozy stay at Alster-Hof. Staff were humorous and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    2nd visit here. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing -but I would appreciate coffee making facilities in the room.

    Friendly and obliging staff. Has been refurbished and modernised in the last 2 years to a very high standard. Rooms are spotlessly clean and modern with showpiece bathrooms. Great buffet breakfast included in the price. Super location 200 mts from Stevensplatz U-Bahn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows!!! There were large pillows which seemed to have no filling and collapsed when lent upon/used and so very limited sleep. To be fair to the hotel I didn't complain and I suspect the hotel may have found a solution if I had. No kettle for tea/coffee (usual in Germany).

    The location is very near the water and makes the centre very walkable but also only a couple of minutes to the U-Bahn (Underground). Breakfast was also very good and the staff all extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and found the hotel very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very good, nearest U-bahn station is just behind the corner and Alster just next to the hotel. We found the staff very friendly and eager to help. Our room was spacious and very clean and breakfast was very good too :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi connection and cigarette smile in hallway.

    Comfy and clean room, comfy bed. Good location: near shops , restaurants and station. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in the beautiful city of Hamburg,meeting an old friend,watching football,drinking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - everything fantastic

    Excellent helpful staff,always friendly.We arrived three hours before our check in time and just wanted to drop our luggage off really,but our room was already available! We'll see you all again next year!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.4
    Not very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First time in my life I go to a hotel and do not have beds made, they leave you at the foot of the bed the quilt for you to make the bed yourself (worse than in a hostel). On the other hand, I booked a single room but I wanted a big bed and I had to pay extra money for it. Finally, I paid the extra money and they moved me to a room with a double bed but the bedspread was for a single bed (it did not cover the entire bed).The beds also do not have regular pillows, only cushions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin, surprising for Europe. Hence, neighbors talking, coughing, watching TV all is heard. Cleaning staff is polite but loud, it starts around 6:30 setting up their carts, Wakes you up.

    Location for my purposes, Cleanliness, nice front desk staff. Decent breakfast. Considering the lay out do not expect a nice view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is old and the silicone sealing moldy. I'm also not a great fan of wooden floors in bathrooms.

    Excellent breakfast altough I was a bit shocked that they actually carried all food a way at 10.30, when most hotels mean that you can arrive until 10.30. Perfect location if you need the opera house clise by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    The staff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We surprisingly got a smoker's room and the smell was disgusting. No view from the window, which faced a small plain inner yard surrounded by anonymous looking building walls. The room was dark and unappealing.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was abundant and good. The location was perfect - right in the middle of Hamburg with lots of sights within walking distance - Hamburg State Opera just 2 minutes by foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Most comfortable stay as you living in your own home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is really the best place to be . Location is fantastic as it is with Dammtor as well as central station. I simply love its people and all other services

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is close to the train station Dammtor and in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room towards the main street which was a bit noisy at times from the traffic

    The hotel is close to the train station Dammtor and in walking distance to the main shopping streets. The room was clean and well organized. I particularly liked that you could use the sauna from the hotel next door - a fairly new and very clean sauna area. Staff was great and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel in an excellent location. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance, as well a some of the hallways to the rooms, have some steps. This makes the hotel less comfortable for people who have difficulties climbing stairs, despite the fact that the hotel has an elevator. To me (I like old buildings) some of the atmosphere and the grandeur of the building, which still can be seen in the breakfast room, were lost in recent renovations. Breakfast is good, although choice is a bit limited for vegans and vegetarians. I would welcome it very much if rooms could be booked without breakfast (I normally don’t eat breakfast), but that is not an option in this hotel.

    Very nice hotel which has been renovated not too long ago (and rooms are still being renovated). Very well and beautifully done, although some of the atmosphere of the historic building the hotel is in was lost. Very friendly personnel. Very good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Ok stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned 1970's style decor a bit tired. Thin towels in the bathroom. Not a double bed - 2 singles together with gap in middle. We found the rooms to be noisey - first from other rooms and then after we moved room from the lift and street. No English language TV stations.

    A good breakfast and this was available until 11 on Sunday. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room old fashioned but clean. The hotel is well located being close to the U-bahn and just a short walk to lake. There are some good bars nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Like everybody said - the breakfast is great and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel feels a bit old and worn down. My daughter is allergic to cats/dogs and for some reason, she started sneezing everytime we entered our room. There was a lot of noise on the street outside our window from very early on.

    Like everybody said - the breakfast is great and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    I was very satisfied with the size of the room, which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I could say something I didn’t like would be the size of shower. But it was ok.

    I was very satisfied with the size of the room, which was bigger than other hotels I have been before nearby Hamburg. Furthermore the bathroom was quite big, only thing I could complain would be the size of the shower, little too tight. Breakfast was very well served and diverse. The staff was very kind, and I would like to thank again for the pack they kept for me until my arrival. The hotel is very well located, with underground on the corner and busses as well. My options of restaurants in the neighbourhood from the hotel, and if other people come to stay in this hotel it is a must to try the restaurant called Green Papaya just around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    There was a constant air flow noise - at 6th-floor room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a constant air flow noise - at 6th-floor room. Also, sometimes Internet was disappearing. Also, there were no changes in breakfast menu for 4 days in a row - a bit boring.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location, close to Stephansplatz U-bahn station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done without the noisy road sweeper that seemed to spend ages outside my window at an early hour.

    Good location, close to Stephansplatz U-bahn station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is ideally situated for shopping and for sight seeing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind .

    There was a good selection to choose from at the breakfast buffet. The staff were very helpful and the tables were very clean .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Very good location, close to the shopping area and to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather dark and the bathroom ventilation was too loud.

    Very good location, close to the shopping area and to the main station, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value quiet single room in comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying a weekend solo it was good to find a single room - good size and good value Quiet room General decor etc all in good condition Overall very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say it was clean. Pretty much dusty in rooms. Even spider webs in halls. No such things as kettle or coffee. Also if you want a view, it has no any. You will be seeing walls or other windows. But usefulness of staff beats it.

    Location was good. All attraction are in pretty walking distance. Also the Stephansplatz U-bahn is just near, so you can you that. Price is not too high too. Staff is very useful and polite. Breakfast was good enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Clean, smart hotel, quite central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all fine.

    Clean, efficient hotel near Alster lake and a collonaded street with lots of eats. About 5 minutes' pleasant walk to Metro. Good breakfast for the money. Had (cheaper) single rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    A very nice stay in Hamburg, where makes feel at home
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there would have been an exit to the behind of this hotel, it could have been easier to access to the Binnenalster in 3 minutes on foot, otherwise to take a wide turn... If there would have been a supermarket near the hotel open on the weekend, I didn't need to go to the railway station to buy small things...

    Super location, friendly reception and services (both breakfast and room service), pet friendly and a great offer on the breakfast! When I forgot my room key inside of the room, the reception lady coordinated quickly. At the same time I went back to the room, the room service came up too and opened the door. So it took altogether 3 minutes just with smile without anger!! My single room was not this big but comfortable enough. Not luxury and decorative but simple and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.0
    Breakfast was very satisfactory, staff very pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom didn't have any view at all , we looked out onto a wall on both sides , made it feel quite like a cell!

    Breakfast was very satisfactory, staff very pleasant and helpful. Location is central to everything, walking distance

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Great range of goods in open-buffet breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is rather small, single bed. There is no A/C.

    Great range of goods in open-buffet breakfast! Walking distance to main attractions! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was unfortunatley booked into a smoking room , I had arrived quite late so it wasn't possible to change straight away. They changed me straight away the next day

    Bargain hotel in a good position in Hamburg with a good buffet breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff. Near a mainline train station and a the central shopping area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful reception and house-keeping staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful reception and house-keeping staff. Nice traditional pubs and restaurants almost next door to the hotel. Short walk to lake and shopping streets. Great that this hotel allows dogs, even had a water bowl at the main entrance :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.2
    big disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was a big disappointment - very dated furniture, brusque staff and very un exciting breakfast. I requested a non-smoking room but got a room that stank of cigarettes. It was stuffy and far too warm. The hotel and room lacked any character. I would not recommend it at all.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    i'm sure i will be back to the hotel at the next visit to hamburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the single room was a little bit small.

    very very close to the city center and right in front of the beautiful esplanade casino and dammtor station in hamburg. only 2 stops to the central station from u-bahn which is been 20 meter from the hotel. the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Very well equiped hotel in a good position that we would definitely recommend and go back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were only on the first floor so close to street level with a restaurant nearby and some businesses. They liked to put their bins out around midnight on what seemed like each day and they were collected very early morning,so we found it was too noisy to sleep with the windows open and since there is no air con this made the room very hot during the night.

    This hotel is in a great location, a very short walk from Alster Lake and the train station. It is right near the up market shopping area which has a good selection of restaurants for meals. Breakfast was very relaxing with plenty of choice and well stocked. Staff very friendly. Room was huge with a massive bathroom and very well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel for the price. Very clean with a huge variety of food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Actually nothing.

    Everything about this hotel was excellent. Super breakfast, location close to public transport, friendless of staff really great, very clean, great internet access. In my opinion great value for money. A very happy customer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great location, pleasant staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quiet room

    My room was fine but overlooked the street and the noise of cars and police sirens unbelievable, even with the window closed and blinds drawn.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is within walking distance from trains/buses,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The towels were not changed the three nights I stayed.

    The hotel is within walking distance from trains/buses, restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Close to the city centre, quite good breakfast (a plus for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for no AC, the room was OK.

    Close to the city centre, quite good breakfast (a plus for serving gluten free bread) and really helpful and kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel for quality and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location with town centre, Alster, Jungfernstieg and restaurants all within a 5-10 minute walk. Two minutes from underground so very easy to access rest of city. All staff extremely friendly and very helpful. Good quality breakfast in pleasant dining room. Good bathroom which was exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Very good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain of. Only a suggestion: a couple of plug sockets more would make the rooms perfect.

    The room was sufficiently large, the bathroom quite small, but the glass door made it more comfortable as it didn't take much space away. Very clean, very good breakfast (above all with fresh fruits and real fruite juice!) The location makes it one of the best choices, not only because it's in the city centre, near the Alster, but also because it is easy to reach (U1 Stephansplatz, train station Dammtor, lots of bus lines). Most sightsseings reachable by foot. The price, considering all this, is fair.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Best location, price and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked it all, so I have no reason to complain.

    Great choice of food, friendly staff, nice breakfast area, very helpful staff. Excellent location, quiet, easy to get around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't get my wifi working very well.

    Great place to stay. Staff was super helpful and I got all the information I needed. Room was clean and simple, just the way I want it. Location is good and all the great shopping places was in a walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    very good for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was very good, walking distance to center and exhibition area, a traditional bier hall next door.The comfort was fair and breakfast with many options.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    No restaurant facilities in the evening.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant facilities in the evening. Had to find somewhere to eat but apart from that, everything else was absolutely fine (Breakfast was good :) )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous room, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accessing by car was a little tricky and had to use a public car park which was also tricking accessing, having said that cost of parking was very reasonable for a city centre location

    Beautiful room with a double sink (his and hers taps!!) Nice breakfast buffet with good selection and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for short trips to Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little bit old, but it was actually no problem.

    I had a single room in the 6th floor. It was perfect for the short trip to Hamburg (2 nights). Excellent location, close to an U-Bahn station. Pretty decent wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff gave excellent service - efficient, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is within 15 mins walk of the Hbf or you can get the U Bahn to StStephens Platz which is about 100 meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Big spacious room. Hotel in centrally located area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything to not like about this hotel.

    Everything. The big spacious clean room including big toilet/shower. We liked the warm welcoming staff at the restaurant, reception and in particular the elderly gentleman at the bar who was entertaining my son and me. I strongly recommend staying in the hotel. It is very centrally located and close to restaurants and public transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Best location and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and cozy. The staff extremely helpful. The U metro stop is 1 min walk and city hall 10 min. walk. By airport 30 min max with public transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in terms of price/quality.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in terms of price/quality. Located very centrally, in the heart of Hamburg. Most attractions are in the walking distance. Personnel is nice and responsive. During the breakfast 2 (two!) attendents (within probably 5 min that I was in the room in total for my breakfast) offered me fresh coffee. I was given room 309 with windows to an internal yard - which was splendid indeed! - there was no single noise during the two nights I have spent there. Check-in and check-out was fast. Bed was comfortable. Towels and the room were quite clean. I was quite satisfied and would certainly recommend it for stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    A good option, but without a car.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was disaster. The hotel instructed to park opposite a small park with free parking places. There was never space and we tryed to find place almost an hour. Finally we got parking for very expensive parking garage (25 €) a few minutes walk from hotel. If the hotel advertises parking is available so it may not be so difficult.

    Location pretty good, breakfast and a good hotel room. Wifi worked perfectly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Great value for location & amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were definitely a bit on the small side and even the beds felt smaller than a twin-sized.

    The staff was incredible and knew all the preferences I added through the booking service. The room had all the amenities necessary and I even found the shower to be larger than most in Germany. The location was super - right by the beautiful part of the Alster and close to HafenCity, museums, restaurants and gorgeous parks. The breakfast was very solid and well prepped.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    Caution - Sauna limited working hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel due to the sauna area but only to find it was open only think afternoons 16.00 or 18.00 hours + which was no use to us as we arrived at midnight and wanted to use it in the morning after breakfast. Friend not really friendly anywhere and in general overprized we think as well as our friends staying in another and smaller room. Also re parking - a shame there is no closer parking than the public expensive one your staff sent us to. Not possible to change we know - but better to note in advance/homepage/details please.

    Our room was nice and big and free of charge welcoming water bottles.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Definitely coming again when back in Hamburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi could work in rooms as well. It only worked in the lobby, but there it worked REALLY well. ( about 50/70 mbps - extreme speed for a free wifi)

    Very good value for money, great location, good facilities and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Great Location. highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -location, just some minutes walk to Junfernstieg -friendly and helpful staff -Sauna -big and clean bathroom -big room which accommodates four adults easily

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alster-Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: