Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Heidelberg Exzellenz Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Rohrbacher Str. 29, 69115 Heidelberg, Germany

#13 of 77 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1506 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    8.8
    A nice touch was the availability of tea, coffee, water,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lift not available to all rooms.

    A nice touch was the availability of tea, coffee, water, fruit and pastries in the foyer for quests. A good breakfast with plenty of choices. Excellent location not too far from the railway and very handy to old town & castle which you must see in Heidelberg.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.8
    We would certainly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast scrambled eggs could have been less industrial and a selection of pillows in the room would have been appreciated.

    Location was convenient to walk wherever we wanted to go and quiet, more so than I expected. We appreciated the ability to make espresso or other coffees at breakfast. Parking available across the street was very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant hotel. Lovely breakfast, good location, secure parking, well priced. We've stayed in other hotels in Heidelberg before, and this is by far the best.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Decent, clean accommodations in a good location. Just average overall though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of an issue. Book ahead if you need a spot otherwise you need a permit and have to find a spot in some zoned areas around the hotel. Front desk staff not the most engaging or helpful.

    Location is pretty central to the main shopping and pedestrian area. Hotel is clean and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    It was very cosy, nice hotel in a nice neighbourhood, many cafes and restaurants within 5-min walk
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would prefer to have an air conditioner in the room, although at the time we traveled, September, it was not too hot.

    The breakfast was very good, the staff was friendly, we traveled with my child who is using wheelchair most of the time, and the hotel facilities were quite friendly for us. The room was big with all the necessary amenities. I would definitely recommend this hotel both for business and leisure travelers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel - shame about noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing bad. Woken at 4am by noise in adjoining bathroom. Staff seemed to know there is a problem with that room

    The room was newly refurbished and the bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Very clean, lot of space in the room, close to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To some rooms you should carry your luggage since the elevator wont take you to your floor. Parking is close by but it is true that if you have a big car you might find it a bit tight.

    Very clean, lot of space in the room, close to the city center, amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value, good location, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air conditioning in bedrooms - although there was a fan.

    Pleasantly surprised by the breakfast which included bacon and eggs and take away coffee cups as an option. Rooms newly decorated and very clean. Was great that you could help yourself to complimentary water, tea and coffee in the foyer (plus croissants in the morning).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Modern city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good if they emailed you directions to the car park ahead of time so you didn't have to find somewhere to pull in so you can run in and ask.

    Close to the centre of town. Spacious and comfortable room with modern furnishings. Free tea and coffee. Free gummi bears.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and quiet place to stay when visiting Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was extremely hard on our back, and the pillows were too low, which caused both me and my girlfriend back pain after a couple of days. This was the weakest link in a (otherwise) very pleasant experience. Apart from this, I would strongly recommend the hotel.

    The best things in the hotel were the staff and the breakfast. The staff was very professional throughout the entire process. The entrance desk personnel was attentive and effective and the rooms were very clean. The breakfast had good quality and decent choice, which was a positive surprise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Great for a few days stay to see Heidelberg. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Older style building but modern inside. Room was huge, clean and comfortable. There was a huge powerful fan in the room which was very welcome as it was 39C. It did the trick and kept us cool. There was a lift and parking was available in a secure car park across the road although £10.00 per day (but worth it). Otherwise, you would have to park on the streets and feed meters. The underground parking area may only be suitable for smaller cars as turning into it tight. Breakfast buffet good and it appeared you could access free coffee all day in the lobby.10-15 mins walk into old town- Shuttle to Frankfurt airport only 5 mins walk - can be picked up at Crowne Plaza Hotel (if not travelling by car)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Beautifully decorated building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too hot in our rooms. I read that Heidelberg is the hottest city in Germany due to its topography therefore a small room fan is insufficient in summer. Our experience would have been so much more enjoyable if the rooms were air conditioned.

    Beautifully decorated building. Staff efficient. Location good. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far from the city center, but just a 10 min bus ride away. Bismarckplatz is about 5 min walk from the hotel, from where you can catch the bus. Also- the size of the key chain is huge ! Not sure why they have added such a bulky key chain, but it was quite inconvenient to carry it around.

    The staff was excellent. Catered to all requirements, even putting an extra fan in the room given how hot it was (of course, after checking availability-they don't keep extra fans for requests such as mine). The room was spacious, and spotlessly clean. All the required amenities were covered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Hot visit in a beautyful historical city
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were there during a heatwave, we had 30 degrees inside the room and at night it went down to 27. This was not nice and the reason we left one day early.

    Spacious, clean, modern. Close to the shops, connections to everywhere in Heidelberg close by. Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you walk in you stand in the breakfast room, lobby feels a bit cold. Breakfast is ok. The chair in my room was not as comfortable.

    Nice hotel in a location within walking distance to the old town. THe rooms are nice and modern. Fancy lighting in the room, modern design.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has some high tech features in the room - All BUT air conditioning. 85F+ and the room was very warm. Lots of bugs outside so had to keep windows closed. Desk staff was kind of grumpy and somewhat uninformed.

    Beautiful room. Great view. Hotel was on a corner and a very short walk from the old town. Beds were super comfortable. Towels and sheets were soft and fluffy. Reserve a parking spot in advance or you will have a very hard time finding one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Unkind and unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was unhelpful and unkind. Finding parking space was very hard and stressful. If you have a car, you should be very caredful for booking this hotel.

    Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt like the fact that they dont have kitchen service in the afternoon, in case you want tea or something is not available. One of the staff was very unfriendly - he seemed to busy or it seemed like he was in a hurry to get rid of us.

    I enjoy the location and that the room despite of the fact that the street was too loud . we did not hear anything. Breakfast and staff ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    A Tale of Two Breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Monday morning breakfast was definitely the famine after Sunday's feast. None of Sunday's nice muesli or breads, no fresh fruit, other items very restricted.

    Large, clean room. Spotlessly clean bathroom, tho' it's small. Quiet. Secure parking nearby (must reserve in advance). Great Sunday morning breakfast, though the dining room was packed with a couple of tours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the property so the room got a bit warm but the large fan provided solved the problem.... the pillows could be a bit larger and softer....

    Very clean and comfortable hotel.... even though it is marked as a three star, it easily gives the comfort, environment and look of no less than a four star.... very friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast layout for a very reasonable price, very comfortable room...we had a triple room which was very roomy..... even gave us a small kitchenette counter and accessories !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Attractive hotel with helpful staff and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very pretty hotel with a comfortable room/bed in an excellent location with good German breakfast and good coffee machines. Good to have parking available. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Welcoming, smaller hotel in a great location.
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely and welcoming lobby with friendly staff. Breakfast in the lobby was delicious and affordable at €9. The room was spotless, good sized with kitchen facilities nicely appointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean hotel, nicely located outside the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit complicated (if you have a big car, find another parking). Staff didn't explain about the city (what's to see, recommendations)

    Clean hotel, nicely located outside the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very well located and the room was very big and well cleaned.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the stuff that was at the check in. They were very quiet, not a great welcome.

    I liked the breakfast, with fruits and a lot of jams.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded all expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious, comfortable and super clean. The staff was very friendly! Breakfast was also amazing and we loved the complimentary coffee, tea and croissants that were available at any time of the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Modern boutique hotel with good parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though it is within easy walking distance of the town, the old town and the castle are at the far end, so it is quite a hike along to there.

    Modern hotel with excellent parking. Great wine bar close by called Hugos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    I need an early check in and the stuff was so helpful they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I need an early check in and the stuff was so helpful they let me in 2 hours in advance which was very helpful. The room was clean and nice . I enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel . I definitely recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    We would chose this hotel again when we are
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine.

    A very nice breakfast. The location of the hotel is very central. A large comfortable room. Just a 19 minutes walk to the city. Very. Ice restaurants close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Good, but not good enough for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was pretty bad. The pillows were lumpy and flat at the same time. The heat in the room wouldn't turn off, and it was a pretty warm few days we were there.

    The location was great! It was a five minute walk to the city center. That was perfect in my opinion, as we were not too far away, but not right in the middle of all the busy people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Big, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow entrance in the parking lot. Water leaking from the bathtub. Breakfast area includes the reception and main entrance - so that is quite inconvenient for guests.

    Big, clean room. New interior. Available parking for a fee. Free drinks in the lobby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    It is very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no restaurant nor fitness studio.

    It is very clean and modern. The rooms are big and comfortable. The breakfast is great. Value for money and it is near to the Altstadt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Everything was good about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.if I still have to choose 1 thing, I would say modernizing the individual room keys would be great as we dont have to move around with bulky manual keys.

    Everything was good about the hotel. Nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast. It was an excellent 1 night stay for us at this property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    The room and bed were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower glass door did not work properly and the water splash to the outside. The wardrobe was a bit small.

    The room and bed were comfortable. Since we had a studio room we had a good kitchen. The hotel was really close to bus and tram stations that can take you from the main station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff member who was very helpful and told us to go to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff member who was very helpful and told us to go to the most wonderful place to eat, and would have never found without him! Staff also gave us a room that we especially requested. We greatly appreciated that. Complimentary tea and pastries were very thoughtful and yummy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice, new rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was for the most part unwelcoming and unfriendly. We didn’t see a smile until we checked out. The bathrooms are cramped with tiny sinks but it’s workable.

    Nice, new rooms. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    A hotel true to its name - truly excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast was very good, but expensive - Huge and elegant room - Big bathroom with high-quality soap and shampoo provided - 10 minutes walk from the city center and the train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable room, pleasant staff, good breakfast close to the Alstadt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were unable to adjust the air conditioning in our room which remained at 20 degrees. This was too cold.

    The bedrooms were comfortable and furnished in a quirky modern style. Although there were no drink making facilities in the bedroom, there was 24 hour available tea and coffee available in the lobby. The breakfast was varied and of good quality. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. There was a car park across the road available for off street parking. This should have been booked in advance but we were able to use it anyway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in Heidelberg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels were small, but soft. No conditioner for hair, however, the shampoo was mild and didn't frizz one's hair, so ok. Be careful with slippery shower floor, stepping out of shower. Be careful of wood surround getting in and out of bed, not a huge problem, but just be aware.

    This hotel lived up to its name, excellent! The room was large. Lovely window aspects. The heating was great. The bed was firm but comfy. Pillows good. Location fantastic! Close to main transport hub. Great breakfast, good value!! Lovely, fresh food. Coffee and tea and snacks/fruit available 24/7. On main road, however not noisy. Staff really lovely and helpful!!! Close to Old Town. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only slight negative was that our room was on an in-between floor, so there wasn't direct elevator access. This means we had to pull our suitcases up and down the half-flight of stairs. Not a huge deal, but could be important to note if you have accessibility issues.

    Super friendly staff, wonderful room, beautiful building, very walkable neighborhood, and delicious breakfast (well worth the $10). In my opinion, the best place to stay in Heidelberg -- we won't even look at another place next time we visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dusty at the room, especially on the floor.

    Perfect Breakfast! You get everything you can imagine and they even served soymilk after asking for it. Café, tea and little snacks all day for free. Moreover, exceptional friendly staff and big, new rooms. Location is little out of the old town but quite near to the beginning of the shopping street which directly leads to the old town and the castle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice, clean hotel with very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a window on the upper part of the wall between the bathroom and bedroom. When someone was in the bathroom the light would wake you in the bedroom.

    Hotel was in a great location with access to Old Town. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful time and will definitely come back to Hotel Exzellenz Heidelberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two extremely minor points. We asked for some ice cubes. The front desk also had none available. The room guest information book offered bathrobes if desired. The front desk said they don't offer that service.

    Very nice 24-hour coffee bar in the lobby. Staff was friendly, helpful, and outgoing. Quiet neighborhood about a 10-minute easy walk to Altstadt and all the main things on the recommended To-Do list. The information book in the room was very helpful and written in both German and English!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have booked for longer. So much to see and do in Heidleburg.

    Modern,clean,efficient, friendly, damn near perfect. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of fruit to select from A very fair price for a quality small hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful room, large and comfortable with a very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful room, large and comfortable with a very well equipped bathroom and fantastic bed. Staff were really pleasant and the parking was easy and secure. Location wise great as well, just a short walk to the altstadt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the hotel building ,our room was this side,has no elevator.This is a big problem for us!There is no information at the internet site!Our room was looking dark backyard.Dont like these..

    Average hotel,breakfast was good an extra charge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel, but not right in centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heidelberg is not as small as I thought it was, so the only point of criticism is the location, which is fine, but not right in the centre.

    Lovely decorated room, lots of space, location is okay, not right in the centre, but 5 mins walk from bus that takes you to the castle funicular and 5 mins walk to the start of the main shopping street. Easy parking nearby at 10Euro per night. Didn't have breakfast, but the hotel offers doughnuts and other sweets as well as water, tea, coffee throughout the day in the reception area which is a lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location and cost performance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be better if there is a fridge or a water boiler in the room. The staff of the reception desk is somehow a little cold.

    Good location---just a few minutes by walking to Bismarckplatz, where you can take buses to almost everywhere. Also it is close to the bus stop of airport shuttle at Crown Plaza Hotel. The room is clean and comfortable---worth the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice but too hot in the room NO Airconditioning!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed during a very hot summer spell, the rooms have no airconditioning, we had to sleep with the windows open, but the noise of the street kept us awake all night, very disappointing, staff at checkout was very unfriendly and shrugged her shoulder instead trying to be understanding, no I will not stay here again.

    The room is nice and modern, bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and helpful staff. Our luggage failed to arrive with us on the plane and the desk was helpful in calling the airline and following up on the status of their delivery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was only a few bus or tram stops from the hauptbahnhof, and then a short walk of 80 m. The room was very nice. The facilities were excellent. A short walk to the old town, shops and restaurants. Buffet breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    We would stay there again for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As with comments read before travelling, the biggest downside was no air conditioning. On a lesser basis the bath towels were too small and the breakfast was basic but adequate for a short stay.

    The hotel was conveniently located for the centre of Heidelberg, i.e. shops, public transport and sightseeing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, great small hotel in a beautiful neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows need changing, too bumpy.

    The shower/wc area was always very clean with modern/new fittings. The mattress was very comfy and since the neighborhood is overall residential, sleeping was a delight! The breakfast selection was superb, fresh and very tasty. The staff was always very kind, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely city accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with accommodation. Nicely decorated rooms and very clean. Found a park very close to hotel and they organised a parking card for us for a very low price. Very easy to walk to city highlights from here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic breakfast, comfortable bed, very clean, parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking, next to shopping district- the old town is about 25 minute walk away so not the most idyllic of locations.

    Fantastic breakfast, comfortable bed, very clean, parking available if booked in advance, fan provided for a very hot room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in Heidelberg, perfect for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing we had a great time.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. Parking was in a secure lot around the corner. The wifi worked well and breakfast was excellent. The place was very clean too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Spacious room that is conveniently located to Heidelberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator available to my room and needed to carry all my luggage up multiple stairs. A little noisy off the side street.

    Spacious room that is conveniently located to Heidelberg

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    The location, the hotel is decorated with so much attention,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, the hotel is decorated with so much attention, everything is wonderful, except for there is no a/c, when you open the windows, the noise from the street is so high, we could not sleep at all. The night was a disaster.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Modern, clean and comfortable in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning (I believe only heating was offered, but the heat made it a little difficult to sleep)

    Very modern, clean and homely. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Overall good, but to be avoided in summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner missing and rooms were boiling on June (29ºC inside the room at night!!! Even with open windows, whereas outside there were fewer degrees). You have to deal with some stairs steps in the entrance, so I would not recommend it if you travel with a baby carriage. Our last receptionist was not very friendly, as she didn't want to do her job and hear the clients complaints (about the air conditioner mainly).

    Good location, friendly neighborhood. Big, quiet, modern, clean, well illuminated rooms with parquet floors. Overall friendly staff. Also good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very nice and friendly upon our arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel is about half way between the train station and the old town.

    The staff was very nice and friendly upon our arrival. Clear information about the area was given with a coloured map. They have free bites next to the reception, including cakes, bread, fruit, bottle water, hot water, coffee, assorted Eilles tea bags. The room was spacious and elegantly decorated. There is a big fan in the room which is very important because it was higher than 30 degree when we visited. The breakfast has great variety with hot dishes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    good location and a clean new hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    only downside is there is no air-conditioning however you are provided with a large and efficient fan which kept us cool enough during the night.

    Great location, friendly staff and helpful staff, clean new rooms. Rooms are generous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.2
    Fell way short of expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was very good, receptionist was very helpful. After that staff were very disappointing, did not get eye contact, and was not helpful. Drinks station in reception area started off well, but by day 2 supplies had run very low and had to keep asking for cups, milk etc. By evening of day 2 no water left and we were advised nothing would be available until the next day. Paid for breakfast and at nearly 10E was certainly not value for money. Choice limited on day one, day two choice reduced and bacon and eggs were cold. Day 3 again choice very limited. If it had been complimentary breakfast, it would only just be acceptable. Our room was very large but felt basic, our friends who stayed in the next room had a lovely decorated room, one of the rooms displayed on website. Sadly not all rooms are of these standard. Room did get very hot, no air con but fan available. Bed was very hard. So overall did not meet our expectations based on previous reviews. Pity as the hotel has excellent potential, staff need to be retrained in customer service skills!

    Hotel main areas were decorated to an excellent standard, rooms were large and the hotel was very clean. Bathroom was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and location. Shame about lack of air con.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning in the rooms and when we were staying it was 34 degrees. It was very difficult to be comfortable. On cooler days it was fine.

    Great location. Lovely rooms. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is smaller then I thought.

    The family room has a mini kitchen which very helpful. And it is also large enough to a family of three. I also booked a single room, which is much smaller yet still enough if you don't have too many things with you. Front desk is very helpful and helped arranging a parking space outside the hotel since I forgot to reserve a parking space (for 3 EURO, you can get a parking permit for your stay on the streets that have a P sign on them).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    3.3
    Stay elsewhere
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room above us was loud from 11 to 1 am. Night manager did nothing. Hotel has zero sound deadening and wooden floors. So, we were up because they were having a dance party (or moving furniture or playing marbles. Who knows). Night manager did nothing despite our complaints. He was still there in the morning when I complained to the day a manager (I was up til 1am, so I had plenty of time to write bad yelp and google reviews). They gave us $50 off the room. I considered that minimal, but acceptable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.5
    For old people not recommended as the shower is slippery, the rest is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room too small. People need to take care of the shower, it is slippery, my partner fell down.

    The best was the breakfast, even if it costs 10 euro per day, which looks expensive, it is worthy. It was well ubicated, you need 10 minutes walking to the center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice and quiet hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A littel hard to access to our room because of the hotel's structure. Our room was on the 3rd floor.

    10 minuites from Heidelberg station by tram. 5 minuites walk from Seegarten tram station and 8 minuites walk to Bismarck Platz. Braekfast is nice. Easy to access to the old town. Many touists are clouded in the old town but no tourists in the street near the hotel, so very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Luckily I stayed at 2/F

    The hotel is very clean and nice. Our room is big and the wifi works perfectly. Also, you can just park your car outside the hotel and it costs only 3 euro per day. All the places are in the walkable distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    pillows were poor quality and needed to be changed no ice available

    location very close to main bus terminus at BismarkPlatz and close (150m) to the Frankfurt Airport Shuttle Bus stop at the Crowne Plaza hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at Exzellenz Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking location was initially difficult to find. I didn't realize it was shared with another hotel.

    Bilingual staff. No issues with check-in. Parking is shared with another hotel. Limited number of spots available. Room was exceptionally clean. No issues with water pressure or hot water in the morning. Breakfast had more variety than then standard German breakfast. Location is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.6
    One of the beat Hotels in Hidelberg to stay in!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing.

    I really liked everything. From the good smile on the faces of the staff and they great way of communication with m. To the very clean place also the good room I got and the fast wifi connection. I really enjoyed staying in that hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 223 (corner room) for one night. We were awaken at 4 am by the sound of people walking in the room above us. Our room shaked and rattled for 30 minutes with each step. Probably a good solution to get a thick carpet on certain floors.

    Big room for 3, fantastic window view to Rohrbacher St.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was not working properly. The hotel staff said they changed the provider recently and since then they are having the problem. They are trying to solve it as soon as possible.

    Very comfortable bed. Good light condition in the room. Bathroom big enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi gets disconnected once in a while

    Good location to explore Heidelberg old city. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was very quiet/clean/spacey. The parking we reserved is just a opposite side of the road, very safe/easy to access. The breakfast was also great value for the price. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they would upgrade from BIG HEAVY KEY which you leave at reception on door card it would be great! Simply because you can take card with you. And of course what is missing is deposit box for laptop. These two are only difference between big hotel chain like Hilton and this stylish hotel.

    It's a very high standard. Building is old but it's nicely refurbished without killing spirit of old hotel. Also there is very helpful staff and overall it's fine place to stay. Really like it!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: