Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alt Montjoie This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Stadtstrasse 18, 52156 Monschau, Germany

#6 of 14 hotels in Monschau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 608 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative was that the restaurant closed too early in the evening for those not wanting to go elsewhere

    Very comfortable and quiet room, great breakfast. Very close to everything and tourist office next door

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you book online you are supposed to get what it says on the the website, this is not the case here, I booked a room at 49 Euros, expecting to get a room with a TV & WC. I get to the hotel only to find that it is an online special rate to drawn in the customers, there is no TV & WC, in order to get this you have to pay in excess of 84 euros per night. There was no parking outside the hotel, you had to park across town, no good if you have allot of luggage. If you wanted to have a meal at night you had to have it before 7 pm as the kitchen & Bar Closes. How they got good reviews I will never know!!!

    Breakfast?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little basic Television in one room blew the electrics

    Staff were very friendly and location is perfect for the town. Room was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The opening hours are a little perplexing. In the village on a Saturday, most things were only open 12-18h00. Even the hotel check in and so when we were caught in traffic and were thirty minutes late, there was no one at the hotel to greet us. A phone call sufficed in the end but in the dark and German is not my first language, it was difficult.

    Other than getting in and parking, location is fantastic. The village is picturesque and is lovely to walk through.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience was not great as soon as we got there. It was a bank holiday as far as we were told and the hostel was completely shut. I had to ring a number on the door to get in. The woman took about 15 minutes to get to the hostel and open it for us. I thought this was pretty bad. The shared toilet was not ideal and it wasnt the cleanest. The pictures online do it more justice than reality. The restaurant was closed that night too. The breakfast wasn't that great either.

    The beds were so comfortable. The room was a bit small but the comfortable and clean bed made up for that. The woman was friendly when we checked in and the place was nice and quiet so i could sleep very easily. The price was not so bad, we did get a discount using booking.com. Right in the centre, good spot for location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can't park in Monschau centre itself and you have to pay for it, but there's not a lot he hotel can do about that. Should be made clearer when booking though. Also, the price at check-out was not the same as on booking.com.

    Nicely located and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom with shower was very tiny.

    Very comfortable room at the back of the hotel. Surprisingly quiet as there was a live - and very good - concert happening in the square on the second night! Breakfast was excellent as were the meals we had during our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to our motorbikes in the garage. The location so close to the centre of the town is fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they closed the bar very early which seemed a bit strange for a Saturday night

    stayed in the town before great location the beds were really comfortable and they had secure parking for the motorbike

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No parking on site - we bought a parking permit for the duration of our stay and parked in public car park - it wasn't very far away but leaving car out of sight not ideal. We booked a double room and the room give to us also included two bunk beds which meant the floor space was limited and we were admonished for putting our suitcases on the lower bunk. The other rooms that we saw when the doors were left open for cleaning were much larger. No lift to upper floors so a bit of a struggle with luggage. One of the members of staff did not seem not very polite when taking us to task over suitcases on bunk beds (was it really that much of a problem??) and closing bathroom door (although there were no signs or instructions telling us we must leave the door open). My husband who does not speak German at all felt like he was back at school.

    Monschau is an amazing place Walks in the nearby area were good. Location of hotel was central Breakfast - good range to choose from Most of the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As soon as we walked in the room, there a strong smell most likely coming from the carpet or curtains or both. It was pretty bad. The bathroom stayed damp the next day after our showers. It was super musty in the room. For the amount of money the room cost (not cheap) I expected more.

    The breakfast was delicious, those croissants were amazing. The location was perfect and right in the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints, but we did bring a few things that made our stay more comfortable. First, we brought our own pillows- because we are a little picky like that. Also, we travel with our own mini water kettle since we are early risers and enjoy a cup of tea first thing. Also, the property has no elevator, and the stairs are narrow, so lugging huge heavy luggage is not recommended. And one last thing- parking is a bit hard to find, so we recommend stopping in the back of the hotel, unloading and parking in nearby parking lot (300meters)

    We stayed 4 nights during Easter and we loved this place. We booked a double room (#302) and it was spacious enough for the two of us. The bed was super comfortable! Breakfast was included and it was simple but enough. Wifi on the third floor was intermittent, but we were able to Netflix in the evenings. The location was amazing and we were able to find terrific trails without getting in a car. Delicious coffee and pastries just outside our door steps! And the value was unbelievable- especially for holiday weekend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get WiFi code and when I asked they told me there is an open WiFi but I didn't had any signal. The bed was very comfortable but the blankets where two one person's blankets.

    We had a nice view from out room!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel which was in the centre of Monschau. There was a buffet breakfast which was very nice and there was a pub/restaurant where we ate in the evening. All very nice. We parked just down the road in the public car park with no problems.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, nice staff, 2 super cute dogs & most comfortable bed I have slept in! We will definitly come back in winter to enjoy the Weihnachtsmarkt :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wish they had a lift!

    This is a town centre location, and we were very well looked after by the staff. The room was comfortable and shower lovely. We stayed in this hotel once before, about 2002, and it has improved since then.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    This room was with a shared toilet but that wasn't really a great problem.

    Ideally placed almost in the centre of Monchau. Helpful and pleasant staff, small room (but, given the restrictions of Monschau buildings, quite acceptable). Parking about 400 yards away but bag drop possible. Good breakfast and good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to find the hotel when there is a camera on road you were supposed to go down

    Location was fantastic and food in evening and breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and helpful hosts - good parking opposite for the motorbikes - great little village

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound insulation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hosts were very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff to be extremely helpful and the hotel had a very friendly ambience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult. Make sure u buy a parkin ticket

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a slight damp smell but it is a very old character building. Didn't spoil stay.

    Perfect location, friendly hosts and good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barhroom small, especially shower was a bit mouldy, door was nor easy to open and close

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a lounge.

    Excellent food, brilliant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small and dark bathroom.

    Decent hotel, located in the middle of the city center. Clean, good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi connection was very intermittent and quite slow. Steep slippery stairs. Breakfast was a bit disappointing.

    Nice hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love it, natural, quiet, full of fairy tale world town, friendly people and boss, not too many tourists, that's really important

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little poor, especially since we are both vegetarians

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant was closed; the room was very cold, especially the bathroom!

    the location within the city was perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, clean rooms, good location in cozy Monschau

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work.

    Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft pillow

    Lovely and very friendly owners, great breakfast and large clean room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything ... especially the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closed for drinks 9.30pm on a Friday night. evan for guests who just wanted a coffee.

    Excelant location, parking. good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    spiral stairs.

    comfortable hotel, food good, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful place to visit with a lot of history. Lots of restaurants and bars and good walks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cute hotel in the centre of Monschau with friendly staff and excellent services.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast...I wouldn't actually call it breakfast

    Location, view from room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy from early in the morning, no extra pillows or blankets in the room, sharing toilet with other guests was slightly annoying.

    Perfect location, perfect for a budget stay, beautiful surroundings, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no heating at all, we were freezing, but of course one can survive! We had hot water which helped a lot! Nothing organised for the New Year's Eve. As for the meals, we prefered to eat somewhere else, there are many nice places to be checked. Little English, there were some misunderstandings...as our German was not that suitable...

    Very cosy place, clean room, welcoming town! Beautiful places to visit, amazing scenaries, fairytale atmosphere! Parking close to the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well located,although a 5 minute walk from easy parking.very welcoming,excellent breakfast.lovely town all to ourselves when the day trippers leave.A+

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -room was a little bit too small and no window, only a small roof window.

    - location -friendly staff - free wifi -full europen breakfast and nice dinner available

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Motorcyclists might choose to avoid the cobbled streets and adverse cambers, particularly in the wet - we parked overnight in the Museum of Roman Glass' car park - perfectly safe. - and walked down to the hotel, although garage facilities are available if you bring your bike down - steep access though!

    Warm welcome - friendly proprietors and staff - language barrier was not a problem. The food was very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a shortage of parking spaces in Monschau but this hotel is the closest to car park. Ideal for overnight stay. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra chair in room would have been nice.

    Friendly staff. Nice location in Monschau's main street. Helpful in offering storage for bicycles.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Basic rooms for the price

    Great location. Friendly staff. Massive Terrace.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location in the center of town,

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrific and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staffs. Interesting building

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, great location, good breakfast, excellent dinner

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent evening meal

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing bad at all

    Family run business who were very friendly helpful. Nice clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything in the city closes at 21:00 except one restaurant :(

    It was a great stay, our room was perfectly clean and the staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly welcome. Rooms are clean and cosy. Breakfast was good.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: