Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alt Nürnberg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Steintorweg 15, St. Georg, 20099 Hamburg, Germany

#19 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 871 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a place that was more a guest house than a hotel, it was quite pricey.; possibly because it was Pentecost weekend. Would have preferred a walk in shower to a bath, but my wife would disagree!

    Excellent location close to station, but not on a busy road. Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Good breakfast for such a small hotel..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift or air-con, didn’t bother us but may be a problem for some

    Ideal location right near the station. Slightly quirky, very comfortable bed. Lovely welcome, advice on what to do for our evening. Good value for a city centre overnight stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Firtunately we were on the second floor. There were 3 floors above

    Very quaint - has its own embossed crockery. Quiet and very close to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator I choose the fourth floor Only this!

    The room is big and bright have two window And the bad is comfortable all are good I like very much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, kind staff, cozy rooms and spacious bathroom. We got enough tea, coffee and sparkling water in our room. Overall, we had an amazing stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No laptop workspace - needed to improvise for work. But it was possible.

    A selection of soft and hard pillows to chose from. Good quality bed, modern spacy bathroom. Replenished gratuite mineral water. Penny-Supermarket in 100 mtr distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly adequate hotel offering affordable accommodation for a short stay in Hamburg. Hotel is situated close to the main train station, offering convenience, even if the surrounding area is a little grimy. Room was clean, there was a complementary bottle of water and I was able to get a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you aren't mobile and have heavy luggage then the stairs may bother you. It's a little noisy at night but this is a the reality of a big city and good location. Although spotlessly clean, and not shabby at all, furnishing is a little dated if these things are important to you.

    Great location for nearby attractions in this part of town and very close to the main train station for any thing else you need to see further afield. Friendly staff and very clean. The room although small (which I knew when I booked at the time), had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. We did initally think the area was a bit seedy (don't go around the adjacent back streets) but after seeing some other areas of Hamburg it seemed relatively fine!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's really close to the train station, which is both good for practical purposes, but also makes the area a little sketchy, as all areas around train stations are. No big deal, but you won't be doing any sightseeing around the hotel. A lift would be nice, since climbing up 4 floors with all the bags can be uncomfortable, but they do warn you about it during the booking, so it's just an observation.

    The hotel is really well kept and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff is really friendly and helpful, and you can tell they take pride in their work. Breakfast was plentiful, but repetitive, as both days I was there they served the same things. Awesome WiFi, great for work.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful and typical hotel with a perfect location next to the main train station and with easy access to the city center. The traditional style decoration and furniture of the room was perfect. Large and clean bathroom with bath. We were welcomed warmly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are thin, so you can hear your neighbors slamming the doors.

    The location is very convenient and the area is safe. The hotel is cute and the staff id friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The luck of an elevator but I do not mind it after all. It was a change to exercise myself.

    the bed was very comfortable. the room was very cosy and the temperature was warm. Cleanliness was excellent. Personnel was very hospitable and helpful. The area was just 1minute walking to the central station. Excellent. I would visit it again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The mattress was a bit too soft for my taste. The curtains didn't block out the light completly, not good if you need total darkness to sleep. No elevator.

    Comfortable room, just the right size for a couple. Cute décor, with a good mix of traditional and modern. All the staff was super nice and welcoming. Good wifi. The hot water kettle and complementary coffee, tea and water were a nice touch. The location was convenient, very close to the main train station. We didn't have breakfast, but it looked delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower over the bath would be easier to use if there was a curtain or screen.

    Clean, quiet, comfortable, genuinely friendly staff, very good breakfast, excellent location. The hotel is an old property, but sensitively maintained to a very high standard, retaining the character of the building. It feels more like being at home than being in a hotel. Although reception closes at about 19:00h, a short phone call to the hotel was all that was needed to get self check-in information, so later arrival wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The style of the hotel, the typical furniture. It is conveniently located next to the main train station. The airport is only 30min away by public transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed not as comfy as I would have liked. Not everyone likes sparkling water...

    The room was pretty. It had double doors, so it was very quiet. The bathroom was super nice and it was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This question

    Location of the hotel is accessible to station. Staffs are very friendly, pleasing nature. Rooms are well maintained with good ambience. Overall completely satisfied.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to find a negative it would be the stairs to our room on the top floor- But we can't really complain - it was well advertised that was what we had booked and accepted- so no surprises! And the owners have thoughtfully placed a chair on each level to sit and take a little rest (if needed) on your way up. Much more thoughtful that any other hotel I've stayed in with high floors!!!

    We were overjoyed with this hotel. What a find!!! Close proximity to the station (barely 5 mins walk), near to all amenities and a great selection of bars & restaurants in immediate vicinity. Ideally placed to explore the whole of Hamburg with ease. Spotlessly clean, spacious room with comfortable beds and pillows- the best nights sleep I've had in years! Large bathroom, fabulously powerful shower. Toiletries provided daily too. Glad that we could select the room temperature ourselves and windows opened too. Nice to find a small German hotel with a kettle and tea/coffee supplies and a daily bottle of sparkling water a real bonus. The breakfast was ample and varied- plently of cereal and yoghurt - a platter of cooked meats and cheeses (which varied each day) along with a basket of bread and eggs cooked to your choice on request and endless tea!!! Well worth the money despite the station and all of its eateries close by. The staff ensured that no-one went hungry!! Especially the FABULOUS Wolfgang- King of Breakfasts!! Never have I had a more pleasant and welcoming start to each day. He really made our stay! In fact all of the staff, including owner Elizabeth couldn't do enough for their guests. From a warm welcome on arrival, tourist advice, maps and even sparkling wine and donuts for each guest on New Years Eve- extra water over New Year (a god send) and a New Year pastry gift before we left. It has a real family feel to this hotel and before you leave you'll actually feel like one of the family!!! Apologies for the length of this review but there are so many good things to say!!! Will definitely recommend this hotel to all!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was good!

    The staff of this hotel is superfriendly, caring and helpful. They definitely made our stay more memorable. Our room was bright and clean and large enough for two people. It's a cozy little hotell with a personal touch! The hotel is close the city center and since it's located next to the train station it's supereasy to take the S-bahn or U-bahn to other parts of the city in just a couple of minutes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small refrigerator in the room would be good, but everything else was perfect.

    We had a wonderful stay! The hotel was very centrally located right next to the Haubtbarnhof. The room was clean an cozy and the bathroom big and clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely be staying here again 😀😀!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came by train so the hotel was perfect only 5 min from the station. We had a code as the reception was closed and everything work perfect. The room was small but perfect with a table and 2 chairs so we could eat as we came late. Lovely beds with ”bolster” and a fine clean bathroom. Fridge! And a shoehorn!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lift, so that could be a problem for some people.

    Lovely place - old German style downstairs, with modern, crisp decoration in bedroom. Thoughtfully furnished.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff does not speak english. Had to play mimic with them and ask another guest for help to be understood. At their website, only one room has a "no lift" warning. I stayed at the highest floor and was not warned. Near the hotel door I was approached by a prostitute. Worst place I've ever stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a solo female traveller I was a little uncomfortable in the neighbourhood. There were a lot of people loitering across the street and although I had no problems I was not comfortable to be out after dark.

    The hotel is inly 1 block from the Hauptbahnhof and the main shopping mall. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of its proximity to station, area quite seedy. No lift! Bathroom towels very thin and small, need replacing. No fridge or minibar in room.

    Location to station about 4 minutes. Hotel and room decor beautiful and thoughtful. Cleanliness and housekeeping first class. Breakfast available. Hotel staff at reception helpful and charming. Well priced

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated. But wasn't bothered really. And room was warm at night. But a fantastic stay!

    The staff where brilliant! Very helpful. Lovely people We really enjoyed our stay! They helped us with any questions we had and helped us navigate the city.close to the station, and buses, friendly people made this stay brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. While the location is convenient for travelers with connecting trains, the neighborhood (like many by train stations) is a bit seedy...

    Nice clean hotel decorated in Bavarian style. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Good wifi. Very close to central train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, close to train station and restaurants. Helpful staff. The shower had the best pressure of our entire 50 day trip! Was safe to leave windows open so there was plenty of fresh air in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the 3rd floor with no lift, but we did appreciate the on-site manager using the stair trolley to take our cases up three flights of stairs.

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. Thought 11 Euros per person a little expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was close to the train station, but be cautious about which direction you walk in to explore because not too far from the hotel feels a bit shady. The hotel itself felt safe. Bathroom was very small, and the shower was a little bit awkward.

    The room was charming and cozy. The receptionists were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    A small family run hotel, very close to the main city railway station. They made me feel extremely welcome. I had a very nice experience in this little hotel and will choose it again if it is available on my next visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Economy
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was at the ground floor beside the reception and was tiny, therefore I felt it was little bit too expensive.

    The location, the staffs, cosy atomosphere in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift/elevator and we stayed at the 4th floor - good excercise though :-).

    Very nice and autenthic german hotel, extremely friendly and helpfull staff. Hotel style is super bavarian style - and right in the Middle of Hamburg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy, central yet quiet, close to transports, shops and attractions. Huge bathroom, rich breakfast. "Bavarian Loft" fusion deco. Warm and charming place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room High Floor (No Lift)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator, so if you bring a lot of luggage be prepared to carry it upstairs.

    The breakfast was wonderful and well prepared, the owner was really helpful for nom-German speakers and the individually decorated rooms were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Economy
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is pretty minuscule. I got a room on the ground floor, and I could hear loud and clear everybody going through the main door throughout the night.

    very well located just in front of hauptbahnhof

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible soundproofing. You can hear what's going on outside the room, and they can probably also hear you. Twice housekeeping just opened the door without knocking while we were asleep.

    Location is probably the best you can get in Hamburg! Staff is really nice, and the place just feels so quaint and comfortable :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get informed via check-in that the invoice will be send via post. Would have been nice if the receptionist asks their guests how they would like to pay or if there is only one possibility that the guest gets informed.

    Nice Bavarian interior. Very cozy! Liked the room with high ceiling. Very friendly and helpful how to get my keys when checking in late. Water for free. Good location to take public transport to Elbphilharmonie. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the train from Prague realized we had to check in by 7. We called the property gentleman said he would wait until we got there was very accommodating we arrived he helped us carry our luggage both into hotel and to our room. Excellent stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is excellent. Very caring and with good tips to tour around the city. Our room was newly refurbished and was superb. Very modern and stylish!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked some tea and coffee facilities in the room. A personal choice.

    Very big comfy room and bed. Good location right by Hauptbanhoff, transport links and walking distance to some interesting areas.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on the fourth floor are a bit of a challenge for those with any physical problems or very heavy luggage. Street outside can be noisy late at night Light fitting above the bed was quite low and easy to hit with one's head Bathroom could be a bit bigger but shower stall was good.

    This is a really family boutique property with only 12 rooms. It feels more like staying in someone's well-run home than a hotel. Very comfortable bed with good quality bed linen. Good sized working desk Extremely friendly front desk staff who even offered to iron my trousers for me Extremely close to the main station and Metro Lots of good bars and restaurants in the parallel street next to the station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is closed at night but we got all the information to open the main door and to take the keys of our room.

    The hotel is really close to the main train station. The room was comfortable with a big bathroom. The room was very quite thanks to a double windows system. The breakfast was very good and served at the table.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price could be a bit cheaper, but when you consider the location its a fair quality-price ratio. Also in the bathroom there is no shower curtain, this could be changed.

    Lovely staff. Lovely ambiance. A piece of Bavaria smack in the middle of Hamburg. Great location right next to Hbf but still very quiet and tranquil.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable beds, great bath and shower. Friendly staff and good continental breakfast. Close by Hamburg main station so centrally located. Good choice of restaurants nearby. Free wifi with good service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly, helpful, wonderful hosts! Clean, comfortable, charming room! VERY close to restaurants, main train station, and bus ZOB. Excellent breakfast! We will definitely return to the Hotel Alt Nürnberg!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was hard to regulate the temperature of the room and the bathtub needs a shower curtain.

    The staff was kind and very friendly. The room was unique and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could do with some more modern showers. Beware of Hansaplatz.

    Truly friendly staff, doing everything to accommodate you and to make you feel at home. Located next to the Hauptbahnhof, but unfortunately also close to the Hansaplatz, where you don't want to go. Very nice restaurants in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    A 3-minute walk from train station, U and S Bahn which is very convenient. The block it is on seems a little sleezy, but that is the case pretty much anywhere near the station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Among the most pleasant hotels we have ever used - clean, helpful, excellent location, cozy breakfast room with plenty of delicious food - including soft boiled eggs done to perfection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was like a snake on crack which made it hard to shower without flooding the tiny bathroom. Sound-proof is also not the best feature. You hear all voices and noise from inside the hotel and from the street.

    The location is perfect and the staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be great if it has an elevator.

    A friendly and warm welcome. A comfortable, clean and well decorated room. A perfect breakfast and service. Very good Location, very close to Hamburg Hbf. In the walking distance to Rathaus and shopping streets. Many thanks to Elisabeth and Walter Kindt couple for their wonderful hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to find something, I suggest to improve Maybe the TV offer, a lot of channels were without signal. There isn't the lift but because it's an old house and they can't have it.

    Everything good! Nice place, close to central station, owners very friendly. I suggest this hotel to every kind of people!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very warm, welcoming staff-as if they were inviting you into their own home Just around the corner from the main station Nice breakfast served in a cozy breakfast room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Economy
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in a nondescript street on the edge of a run-down, grungy area of the city, but within easy walking distance of the station and the city centre.

    A delightful small hotel, very conveniently situated for the central railway station and very close to two of Hamburg's top museums (Kunsthalle and Kunst & Gewerbe). Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, quality bathroom fittings, and a delicious German breakfast with nice variety and nothing pre-packaged. And very warm and helpful service throughout.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a mirror in the bedroom.

    Staff very helpful. Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Bathroom clean. Couple of problems to start with ie safe wouldn't work but these were soon resolved.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in time is due to 7pm, the hotel lady gave me the pin code to get in hotel and leave the keys for me. When I got in hotel around 8pm, the hotel lady still in office waiting for my arrival. I feel warm in my heart, what a kindness lady!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the 4th floor without lift. Hotel location is next to the central station; convenient but surroundings has not secured.

    Hospitality of the staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that i experienced. Just a note, there are no elevators in the hotel. This wasn't a problem for me personally. However, old age people or people with heavy luggage may face issues.

    This is a very comfortable family run hotel. It has its own wonderful ambiance. My check-in was quick and easy. the receptionist was very helpful in getting me acquainted. The hotel is only a few meters (5 mins easy walk) away from the central station. Room was clean and the bed was lovely. The bathroom too was clean and spacious. The shower, tub, toilet and the taps all were in perfect condition and fully functional. Breakfast was the main highlight of my stay. The restaurant is a little area on the ground floor, it offers a traditional German ambience. Cutlery is unique and tradition so are the table, chairs and chandlers. Breakfast was delicious and to the requirement. The best coffee i have ever had. Bottled water was available in ample quantity. I have summarized my stay with the below aspects and rating, hope it helps you. Ambience: 9/10 Comfort: 8/10 Cleanliness: 10/10 Service: 10/10 Food quality: 10/10 Food variety: 9/10 Location: 10/10 Staff: 10/10

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming old world hotel. Very close to train station. Wonderful staff - even though we arrived late and were given instructions on how to get in, there was someone to greet us and show us around and answer questions. Wifi worked well and the double windows insulated the street noise. Bed was very comfy. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. I contacted them in advance about a late check in and they gave me detailed instructions to help but then suprised me with a warm welcome as they were still open when I arrived at the hotel. The room was gorgeous and unique, I didn't want to leave!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi stopped working at 9:30pm one night and kept me from completing some work. There is no one at the front desk past 6 or 8pm so you cannot get any help if you need it (I was unaware of this when I booked).

    Incredible location if you're arriving from the train station late at night (but be warned that a lot of interesting characters also surround the street late at night). Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Economy
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didnt have mini bar. The bathroom should have a curtain. The noise from street annoyed me so that I had to put ear plug when I wanted to sleep.

    The location was great. The staff was so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite small but I think we booked a cheaper room. No view of anything from the room. Lots of stairs and no lifts will be a negative for some guests.

    Very nice staff and atmosphere, great location. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly, breakfast was very generous and deliciously satisfying and the location was great - museums, restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The neighborhood can be a bit intimidating, nothing that would stop me from rebooking the hotel, just don’t be surprised

    Good breakfast Friendly staff Large room and a large bathroom Very close to main train station without noise of trains Many restaurants in the area 10 minutes walk from rathaus

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were welcomed in the kindest fashion and found the staff very helpful and accommodating. A great place where the "Gast ist König". Absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Single Room Economy
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Sometimes a little noisy in the middle of the night; the noise coming from people on the road outside the hotel. Price of room should include breakfast.

    Excellent and friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable room. Excellent location just 2 minutes walk from the main train station in Hamburg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can recall.

    Great location less than 5min walk from station. Clean and nice decorated classic room. Staff was great as there was a problem in my credit card and a quick call before a late checkin solved it all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, service and staff was perfect and I wished that I was spending more time in Hamburg, but I unfortunately had to go the next day. I'll definitely come back for another visit. The location was also great and just a 2 minute walk to the main station and relatively close to the main street as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be a bit warm in room without fan in the summer and can't really open windows due to street noise when sleeping. The area is a bit shady just like most area around train stations in Europe.

    Its proximity to the train station, very approachable, friendly staff. Very nice breakfast. Comfy soft bed. Fast wifi connection. Doubled-pane Windows help reduced street noise which is great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift as not a modern hotel, so request lower floor if stairs a problem, there are 4 floors, tho had help with our bags

    Lovely old fashioned hotel which has been upgraded, rooms light and spacious, bathrooms too, only 3 rooms on our floor so didn't even know anyone else was staying. Hotel owner very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, even tho his English was limited. Ideal location for the station, 5 mins walk, city tour buses & underground 5 mins too, plus a few eating places very close. Was nice to use a normal room key instead of the usual keycards that are now the norm:)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had a lift!

    Great boutique hotel close to central Hamburg. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing! Very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need an elevator.

    Attention from staff. Old-school hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alt Nürnberg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: