Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alt-Weimar This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Prellerstrasse 2, 99423 Weimar, Germany

#14 of 25 hotels in Weimar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 806 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Hello Moto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were in had a very musty odor to it, old DDR building presumably, had to open all the windows for fresh luft. This was in the adjacent building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    A charming relaxing hotel with the luxury of friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Bauhaus museum was closed and might not open in the next few months...

    The hotel is very well located and the staff is not only professionaly helpful, but kind. When I got there (2 hours before checking time), the lady got my room ready in 20 minutes, offered me a huge glass of water (in a heat wawe) and gave me a map and very important tips on restaurants and places of interest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is trying hard and mostly succeeding, but some things can't be helped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As was noted by others, breakfast is not included, which is not transparent when booking. It is a la carte, so when you have a group arriving in the breakfast room with you, it can take a very long time to get served. Best bet if you want to go ahead and see the town: have breakfast in one of the numerous cafes less than 10 minutes away. At check-out, some kind of "culture tax" is an unhappy last-moment surprise. (Street-side)-Parking is very much hit or miss and often far away.

    Location is outstanding, and staff are trying very hard to please - both ultimately make up for the flaws.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    A convenient place for a short stay in Weimar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no coffee machine or a simple electrical kettle in the room. The internet simply did not work. The stuff informed me that it was the problem of only second floor. I am not sure if this is true because I tried all available connection and neither worked. I was able to connect tot heir server all right, but it didn't provided the internet access. I went downstairs and in the restaurant I was able to connect to the internet but is was quite inconvenient. The parking arrangements were inconvenient because the actual parking is across the street and for getting access to your car you need to ask the receptionist for the key to the automatic gate.

    The location is superb, very close to the city center but quiet. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The door and lock gives the impression of real security.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall I would recommend staying at the Alt-Weimar Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed tea and coffee making facilities.

    It was a good bright room with a good a view to the street and was excellent in terms of location. It had a good breakfast as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean with full facilities
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are too soft for us. The location is ok but confused where is the entrance for check in. It would better if the hotel described how to get to hotel by bus in hotel information.

    Clean and modern with full of facilities you may need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Superb value for this price
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the day we arrived WiFi did not work and on the second day there were some problems as well. Bottled water in the room was nice, but for winter time kettle would be more appropriate (to make some tea).

    Clean and comfy room, very nice restaurant with big windows and tasty breakfast. Located close to opera theater and few more sightseen places.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    good value for money, improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suggested improvements: Hooks for coats near entrance; cleanliness, f.i. corners, more detailed; cushions on bed were clotted, bed stands with one side to the wall which makes it difficult for second person to get up without disturbing the one to the open side; lights on the bedside for reading was missing; space in bathroom for clothes and utilities missing; matt for wet shoes missing; better and more kitchen supplies wished

    Room is spacy, place to eat and cook and have guests. Bathroom modern, location excellent, price very good, check in and out flexible, very customer orientated and uncomplicated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Descent place to stay close to the city center
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift in the building next to the hotel where the apartment is located and the apartment is on the 3rd floor. Our luggage was not that big or heavy so we easily managed to get there (also with a help of the lady working in the hotel).

    Good and quiet location close to the old town. We had an apartment with separate bedroom and kitchen which was great and spacey

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    My go-to hotel for Weimar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably the first hotel I could not fault for anything. Excellent value.

    Pleasant helpful staff. Responded to booking requests by email and provided nice room with 2 big windows and garden view. Very good WIFI. A few blocks from everything. Wonderful restaurant on premises. Very good breakfast made to order and coffee. Lots of plugs and good lighting. Parking across the street in secure lot. Really nice fat soft pillows. Asked for and got a second one. Heated towel rack was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    This Hotel is on a quiet street with all the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel is on a quiet street with all the main attractions of Weimar within easy walking distance (5-10 minutes). If you go to Weimar to feel and breath the atmosphere of this wonderful classic town, then Alt-Weimar certainly puts you in the right mood. Dinner and breakfast were excellent as was their restaurant (Erbenhof) downtown. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    nice room. Weather was terrible, unfortunately.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It did not get a parking spot although I was asking for that two weeks before my arrival thru Booking.com. I saw that other guests were more lucky....

    Close to everything in Weimar. Price to quality ratio very decent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Weimar is a very beautiful and cultured town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not really anywhere to sit except the bar.

    Breakfast not included, but if I ate there I had the option of a "Kleines Fruestueck" of a couple of rolls instead of the usual over-the-top German buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    A Fine German Hotel in Wonderful Weimar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel does not have AC, so keeping the windows open is a must in the summer. Consequently, the sounds from the mostly residential neighborhood came into my room loud and clear, and I was on the top floor. I got enough sleep though! (There's also no elevator, but I didn't care about that, even though I was on the 4th floor and I'm 57. Good exercise! :0)

    A beautiful, older hotel in fine German style with a particularly good kitchen. Locals come to eat their exceptional German fare. The wonderful staff was thoughtful and efficient and worked easily with me and my limited German, always with a genuine smile. If you're interested in experiencing an authentic German hotel, this is the place. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Good quiet location with a few problems to sort out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet didn't work and the staff initially were not helpful in trying to resolve. A second request got them across the road to check it out - but to no avail. The induction hot plate didn't work. Paying for parking not good value here.

    Location very good with a short walk to the old town. Quiet location. The room was new in a property across the road from the main hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice place for visiting a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy road/junction. So take a room at the back.

    Location is great, and close to town. Easy access by car and parkingfacility is great. Room is big and clean. Beds are okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    An excellent base for a town steeped in history from the time of Goethe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom might have had more luxury items.

    The room supplied all basic needs. Breakfast and meals in the restaurant were very good indeed. The location a short walk from the centre of town was excellent. The owner was keen to preserve the historic character of the building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Reasonable prices with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Next time I shall stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    This is a lovely little hotel close to the town centre. It is excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    nice place to visit the citz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift

    nice place to visit the citz

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Easy walk to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awkward arrangement of bed in room. Only could access one side.

    Easy walk to town. We stayed in a new block of rooms adjacent to the older hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.3
    I found the staff receptionist to be unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the staff receptionist to be unfriendly. Not a good front of house manner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    If you are looking for a simple, cozy and friendly place - this is the right place to go to.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Big apartment, good location close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit expensive

    Big apartment, good location close to the center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    central location, everthing in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    central location, everthing in walking distance

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    It is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very clean and quiet. It's near the city center and very convinient.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy to find for those coming by car walking distance from the main points of interest of the city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    When you arrive, ask where you can park, we got parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you arrive, ask where you can park, we got parking ticket. And as for the breakfast, i would rather like swedish tables.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location and nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.6
    The muesli at the breakfast was awesome!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The muesli at the breakfast was awesome!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    Good staff attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wi-fi connection was poor to absent from our room. Street parking required some luck to get a space

    Good staff attitude

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.9
    The location of the hotel near the National Theatre and city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of elevator makes the hotel unsuitable for elderly people

    The location of the hotel near the National Theatre and city center

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33