Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altan Hotel

Beim Grünen Jäger 23, St. Pauli, 20359 Hamburg, Germany

#251 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 662 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of Elevator. Cushions.

    The internet didn’t make it up to the 4th floor. Maybe add another router. Wasn’t prepared for a walk up with no elevator but we survived. Loved the location. How about adding in some cozy cushions to the front benches?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little change of the breakfast offering would have been nice after three days but otherwise very sufficient and ok to get the day started.

    Perfect location to discover an authentic area of Hamburg. Very close to get to the center and harbour region as well. Room interior very very simple but bathroom newly renovated and enabled a relaxed overnight stay. The area around the hotel is really cool and offers a lot of choices to walk, shop, eat and drink. Staff was really friendly and gave good restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO functioning WIFI. Even though we switched rooms from the top floor, where the Router apparently got stolen(!) to the ground floor. The signal in our room was non existent. We ended up accepting the fact that we had to use our own net. That kinda sucked tbh.

    It was okay. Sweet staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The milk at breakfast.

    This hotel is near lots of cafes, restaurants and bars. Central for travelling around Hamburg as the tube network is just a 10 minute walk. The Hotel is basic, but it is warm clean and comfortable. The price is reasonable and I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were traveling in a group. To me the staff was very kind, but female colleagues commented that felt one staff member on the counter as dismissive and inattentive, I cannot judge personally, but I would keep it in mind.

    This hotel is very good price for money. Bars and restaurants are within walking distance. It is simple, nothing fancy, but in the context of Hamburg is very affordable. Breakfast was good. Bathroom and room in general were clean and functional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work properly in my room, so I had to use roaming data to work. The building is no-smoking but the cleaners smoke, so the room stank of cigarette fumes.

    The staff were friendly. The shower was powerful and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was private but not in our room. Room was really small. No elevator

    We didn't have breakfast. Had an early flight. They made coffee for us. That was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was at the fourth floor. It was pretty small, two beds next two the wall. It was a diagonal ceiling, so my friend (who is something like 1.90m) could barely walk straight up and had to watch his head. A little funny, but for a 100€ a night we expect better quality. Also the wifisignal is really lousy, most of the time it didnt work. Not that it's the most important thing on holiday, but if you advertise with it, it should be good.

    Breakfast was basis but more then enough, some sweet, some yoghurt, bread, etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night watch had outdoor meeting with friends outside of our window from 3 am to 7 am. Very noisy. Noisy street as well. Breakfast was "bring your own sandwiches" warm milk and we had to pay an additional amount for it, which we werent aware of to start with.

    Five beds in one room. Friendly receptionists during day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street at front of hotel. Area appeared a little down market. Too much light through window as no blackout.

    Good price. Reasonable breakfast. Close to bars and eating places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not too good. Once we went around 9.30 for breakfast and almost everything was missing (including buns, empty eggs basket). Also we recieved room which had bathroom on the outside. It was private - we had a key for it, but it is not comfortable. What follows is that room was very small.

    Great localization. Personel on check in was very helpful, helped us with everything, even with parking car, which was not obligatory. Good wifi signal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a basic hotel so don't expect any frills. But it was clean and in a good location.

    Location was very good; hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move rooms mid stay even though we booked weeks in advance and were not notified previously. Rooms were on the 3rd and 4th floor with no elevator. Wifi virtually not existent. Towels threadbare and under size. No glasses for even tap water, tiny bathrooms, no ventilation and floors frequently flooded. We're underwhelmed with all facilities.

    Comfortable beds, main female manager was friendly. All other staff have very minimal English, not a problem but just be aware. 700 meters in each direction to train station, great neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor sound isolation between rooms. Can hear what the neighbor watches on TV, and just about everything else he or she does. Almost like sleeping in a shared room

    The breakfast was OK

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sky light needs some form of blind. Couldn't sleep past 7:30 as it was bright aside day in the room, suppose it stopped me sleeping away my time in hamburg

    Young lady on reception was very nice and spoke perfect English. Beer was good and we'll priced and room was clean tidy and up to date. Would recommend

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one person in the reception and when I said there is not bread on the table, she lock the door of Hotel and after 5 minute with bread came back. In this time one of guest want enter to the Hotel but the door was lock. If in this time urgent case for one of guest happen, what should do???? This is not Hotel, Very, Very, Very bad with a bad smell in all of the places.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'free parking' claim is a little stretched, in the evening, the few spaces are often full, so be prepared to go hunting elsewhere or find yourself parked in.

    Location was really good, and it is probably best value for money in this area, considering location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of lift makes it slightly awkward if you have more than one piece of luggage to carry, however the stairs are fairly wide.

    Good location for access to the St Pauli area in Hamburg, and good value for money. Although a bit dated in decor the room was large, warm and with the right number of beds as requested during booking.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All as expected. (There are always some bites, we booked a 4beds room and it was ok)

    The location, close to the saint Paolis and harbour área. Easy to reach the mostró tpurist áreas.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd ground without elevator and dangerous stairs. Light in bathroom not working and when told to receptionist he answered "use the light of mirror". Shower still with curtain instead of box. Try to cheat money about brekfast. No registration and no invoice. Never again. Perhaps the worst hotel i ever booked.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room with single occupancy doesn't mean I have to get the smallest room available. I pay the same price as the others.

    Centrally located, recently renovated

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They employ a cleaning lady, but she does very little. I don't think the linens were changed while we stayed there (3 nights).

    Pretty good location for us. We met some family in Hamburg so it was pretty close to them. We walked most everywhere in the city however it might seem far for most people. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not clean, co room service, no hiss, no parking, small entrance place, not good walking area for kids, no good quality wifi.

    close to known places to visit

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was EXTREMELY small. Only room for the beds. No places to put our bags, clothes etc. At first glance the room looked nice and clean though, but when we looked UNDER the beds there was amounts of dust, hairbands, glitter and empty beerbottles. Not very delicate....

    The bathroom was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little rough. Lots of graffiti everywhere and the nightlife was pretty loud.

    Very nice staff. Nice and clean 5-person rooms with private bath.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is outdated the room was small, not soundfroof, musty, with a window overlooking a distant wall of one meter. (Ground floor room). The breakfast was disappointing in quality. the staff is pretty helpful though. So : In short a scandal considering the price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unsatisfactory wifi

    Clean and quiet room, safe hotel. unsatisfactory wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Language barrier with some staff and quite rude at times

    Close to city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic and cheap but very clean, excellent location and friendly staff. Better quality than I was expecting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is quite old

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location very good, rooms good, bathroom very modern and shower best ever! Very good price. Atmosphere excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was 4 empty beds in my room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No such thing.

    Friendly staffs and bargain price. Excellent location near station, supermarket and shopping mall with food court.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no high chair for babies.

    great value, great location, very casual times for breakfast and check-out. free luggage storage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great selection of drinks at hotel bar. No diet coke.

    Nice clean and comfortable room. Very modern, Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There where no poster of what to do in case og fire. And There where no fire exit. Because of that we couldnt Get much sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst place to stay in!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is average

    Great location, helpful staff, rooms are small but sufficient and equipped with a spacious bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know enough Swedish

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation

    Very nice place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Very clean basic accommodation. Great value and very good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi, no lift in hotel.

    nice reception staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad wifi signal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nearly unusable WIFI on 3. floor (but possible to use at reception.)

    Friendly staff, small room but clean and very good price/value rate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price. The location in St. Pauli.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom and toilet had to be shared, which was not indicated in the booking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was just a bit warm at night so possibly some air con or a fan would makes it better.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply perfect. We enjoyed the place, thanks for all.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect place in the neighborhood of St Pauli, bus and metro near to the hotel, many pubs, spacious and clean room and cordial employees!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 lads to a room. We were fgiven 3 singles and a double bed!

    price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find and open all night so excellent if you're out partying

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, no elevator,

    Good location , breakfast was ok, clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Micro size double room. Simple breakfast.

    Swift check in

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Busy road in front of the hotel

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some noise from the stairs at night, crying children in the next door room - very thin walls!

    small but cosy room, just what we needed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking was not very near hotel. The penthouse suite was a bit hot in the night.

    Staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm room and when you open the window rhere is a lot of noise

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is limited in front of the hotel, and due to the proximity of the hotel to many local bars, if you don't get to the hotel early on the weekend street parking is difficult to find.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The price is a bit high for what is offered but still within what you expect to pay for a night. The surrounding buildings are a bit dirty, the wifi speed is super slow and there is no elevator.

    The breakfast is good enough, the place is very clean and well located.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The neighbourhood is a bit strange with the buildings a bit degradated with graffitis and so. We had no tv control, it is not a real big problem...still... It was a bit expensive for what it offered

    The location is good, the place is clean and relatively modern and the breakfast has all the basics.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They are very inflexible regarding payment. I had a 14 days free cancellation policy and 13 days before the trip I kindly asked them to cancel one of the rooms (I booked 2 rooms for a bachelor party) because we were fewer than initially estimate, and they didn't want to do that. The could have rented the room 10 times in 13 days, but they chose to be rude. I would recommend to stay away, as they would also try make you pay for some empty coffee glasses (though in the room there was 1 glass for 5 people).

    -

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, all perfect.

    The newly renovated bathroom and clean breakfast. When the bread was finished a few minutes before breakfast-closingtime, they went out and got us fresh bread. Lovely people.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Couple

    The room was not so clean, the English of the staff was acceptable but not good. Also, the pictures of the room in the website are a little bit different from the real.

    The localization of the hotel is very good, it is near to two stations, it is very easy to go to any place in Hamburg.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very dusty under the bed Smallest room I've ever seen, probably a former closet under the stairs Just 30 TV channel, all in german

    Good Wi-Fi coverage Complete breakfast Nice neighborhood

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although I had asked specifically for a room with 3 beds (we were three friends), we got a room with a single bed and a double bed. The room was so tiny we couldn't move, not to mention the bathroom. Impossible to stay for even one night. We complained and they gave us another room, bigger, with 3 beds and a decent bathroom. Personal doesn't speak English, be aware.

    Location: perfect. Very close to Susannestrasse, with a lot of nightlife.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and functional room, private bathroom, helpful staff, nice breakfast. Bus from a stop behind the corner takes to DESY in 15 min. few minutes to U3 and ~10 min to S-Bahn

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were not welcoming. They gave us a room on the ground floor which did not have any window. It was a big shock for us but after we refuse they gave a room on top floor.

    Breakfast , cleanliness and good location.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we got there we had twin beds, asked to change to a room with a double bed and it was immediately arranged. Clean, good shower, good bed, breakfast is basic but all you need. Loved the neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We've used hundreds of rooms worldwide, and this stay (in a great location) was easily the worse overall experience. The staff was rude and made 'optional' services compulsory. Clearly a business strapped for cash flow. Old town is lively as can be, but we didn't expect the proprietor's son (apparent family member - employee) to be entertaining friends/drunks downstairs in hotel lobby until ~0500. We were four floors upstairs, and up all night listening to the hotel staff carry on with buddies on a Saturday night. We booked the family/luxury 'suite' which wasn't so much... it was two small rooms with a bathroom between in the hallway. Parking is a challenge.

    location in old town was great

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No reason to moan

    Went on a stag, clean basic hotel which is in a brilliant location. Staff at the end patient with my broken German. Would recommend to anyone on a budget or with a larger group.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NO Lift If you above 5ft do not stay on 4th floor. Drainage smell on stairway.

    Free parking. Interesting area. Great choice of local restaurants'.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Staff (Not Manager, Manager was great) were pretty poor in dealing with concern and issues.

    - Manager was very friendly and helpful at resolving issue with booking.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: