Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alte Laterne This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Gernsbacher Strasse 10-12, 76530 Baden-Baden, Germany

#29 of 51 hotels in Baden-Baden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 567 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    The location was fantastic, we were in one of the apartments...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this property at all!

    The location was fantastic, we were in one of the apartments over the road from the main hotel. The facilities excellent with everything you could possibly need including a kettle!!! Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Unique hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location couldn't be beat. Located on a main street adjacent to several restaurants, a beer garden, and a 5 minute walk from the bath house.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely old town location and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complimentary tea and coffee. All rooms should have this as that first hot drink when you wake up in the morning is so important.

    The evening meal and breakfast were excellent. Plenty of variety and good quality. The hotel was full so we had an apartment over the road which was top hotel standard and we appreciated the extra space. The restaurant was open until late so it wasn't a rush (after a long day travelling). In some other small towns we stayed at in Germany everything seemed to close at 9:00 pm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Due to early check out the staff prepared a bag of breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to early check out the staff prepared a bag of breakfast for us, not to leave with empty stomach, but with heavy heart for staying only one quick night at this small, friendly and epicly decorated boutique hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head wasnt working however we told them & they saw to it.

    Excellent location, very comfy beds, brilliant helpful staff who work very hard. Great german decor. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location, staff couldn't do enough to help. Nice place to sit in the evening and watch the world go by. Our room also had a balcony which was good. Food was excellent both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, great location in the middle of the old town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel, great location in the middle of the old town, delicious breakfast and has its own restaurant for lunches and dinners. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Bastion was very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bastion was very friendly and helpful! The place was very nice and clean. The location was wonderful, there were restaurants right as you walked out and the spa was very close too. We stayed in the suites and they were comfortable and clean!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Clean and tidy place, we had the three bedrooms apartment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is a bit far

    Clean and tidy place, we had the three bedrooms apartment and it was too enough for us. Open breakfast was good and staff very polite and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value for one night
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real hotel reception, we had to check in in the restaurant where we had a quite reserved welcome. Very clumsy and I guess untrained staff, they were quite rude. Without asking me, a waitress grabbed my suitcase and let my handbag falling to the ground, breaking my reusable water bottle. Very small breakfast niche where there can be a lot of traffic in the mornings. Breakfast was OK for people without dietetic restrictions (bread, ham, cheese, marmalade, cereal, fruit salad, eggs) but no vegan, sugar reduced or gluten free options available.

    Very cozy atmosphere, perfect location, public underground car park nearby, beautifully decorated rooms. It was surprisingly quiet despite facing an animated restaurant area, good noise cancelling windows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Sure, good value in Baden Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not bad but not very exciting neither.

    I have stayed many times at Alte Laterne. Rooms are nicely appointed and location central. I will return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not worth the price. No hotel reception, the restaurant's staff are the same hotel's staff!! No elevator. Squeaky hardwood floor, we couldn't sleep because of the resident who was walking in the upper apartment. Parking is not practical because you need to stop in front of the hotel each time to take the gate's key for the parking lot, also we reserved and paid for 2 days, we used only one day because someone else used it!! and when I asked the staff they said you can park anywhere for free because it is the weekend?!!

    Nice Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    You can’t get more center than this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. It’s an apartment building near the hotel and we had to go on the steps with our suitcases one floor up. No A/C. No dedicated staff, the staff who work in the restaurant are the same who check you in. Noisy till late at night and very early in the morning. No parking, you have to park somewhere else. No access by car to the hotel after 10 or so in the morning.

    You can’t get more center than this. The location was great, but you will not be bale to sleep before midnight because of the noise of the restaurants downstairs, and you’ll wake up as early as 7:30am because of the noise of the trucks on the narrow streets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    The welcome coffee and cake was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The combination of hotel and restaurant/cafe makes it complicated when I need to find the reception. The smell in the corridor or on the way to my room was to strong. The breakfast was not as good as I expected.

    The welcome coffee and cake was good. And there was a small living room with sofa which was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect room without condition air
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No condition air No teapot in a room

    Good location in the city center Pretty tasty breakfast- different kinds of cheese Delicious coffee with a cake And my own balcony with a lot of flowers around

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room incredibly small and overstuffed with furniture and knick-knacks. No luggage rack; even unpacking the basics was a chore. Would say it's overpriced but this is Baden-Baden. Glad we only st ayed the one night.

    Breakfast fine. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Quaint and cosy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, right in the heart of Baden Baden, we had a balcony that overlooked the cobbles streets and beautiful buildings. Beds comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Excellent buffet breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, the hotel was very attractive and the room was comfortable. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. We will definitely recommend Alte Laterne to friends and are looking forward to returning to Baden-Baden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Right in the heart of Baden-Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you'll come by car the hotel might suggest to you to drive in the pedestrian zone right in front of the hotel and then staff will bring you to the hotel parking. We tried this during a Saturday afternoon and gave up. We have been aggressed by bus and taxi drivers as well as by pedestrians. Finally we opted to park in one public parking nearby and we would recommend this to other drivers, too, particularly if not familiar with the town.

    The location is great, the hotel has its special charme and personality, a refreshing difference to the big hotel chains. Staff is really kind and helpful, the restaurant offers warm meals until late night, ideal for flexible time planning and after a concert.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Christmas trip was perfect staying in great location at Laterne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows . I like a really soft down pillow and like to have 2.

    It was a fantastic location and we liked the hotel very much. It is different than a regular hotel as it is spread out in connected buildings and has a unique decor. It was perfect for us in the midst of all the Christmas decorations . We had a large room on upper floor,#8, which was very quiet.breakfast was very generous and we enjoyed eating dinner outside on the terrace with heaters and fur lined seats

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is very charming, with a lot of details in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very charming, with a lot of details in the rooms and corridors. The location cannot be any better than this, there are buses to and from here all the time, the Christmas market is a street away and many shops and Caracalla spa are close by. The breakfast was very good, many fresh and dried fruits, cereals, hams and cheeses. The restaurant is also good and with the same style as the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    We had a very spacious room or rather a flatlet with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to tell the receptionist to clean on our second night. Otherwise it was prefect

    We had a very spacious room or rather a flatlet with beautiful views of the mountains and the lovely square :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    We've been here before and this anomaly of the dirt on the sheets won't stop us from returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were full of dust when we arrived ( lots of it ). It looked like someone placed dusty boxes on the beds and housekeeping didn't follow up afterwards. The first thing we did was find some adhesive and clean all the junk off of the sheets.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Really nice hotel conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to navigate to the hotel by car, parking was a little confusing. The staff person who led us to parking went far away to a full lot, then through a parking garage where we had to pay to get out, and finally to a closer spot to the hotel. We were confused as to why we didn’t go to the close lot first.

    Hotel with character! Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good, location excellent. Other than the parking confusion noted above, it was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice location for visiting the Spas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shopping area barely opens on Sunday.

    Nice location right in the middle of the pedestrian only shopping area with several restaurant options in the neighborhood. Very close to the baths.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful exterior and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many varied levels of stairs to get to our room which was challenging and a deterrent to coming and going often. The bedding was unusual, with only a terry cloth "sheet" and no cotton or other sheets which made is somewhat uncomfortable. We booked two nights and only stayed one.

    Very pretty from the outside, and interesting on the inside. The room was ok, our view was of a rooftop and many other windows; the room was very hot and we needed to use the small fan provided. There are no screens so unable to leave the windows open. The young lady who carried our bags to our room up and down many stairs was exceptional. She also rode with us to the lot to park our car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Authentic and wonderfully Bavarian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fantastic room with a traditional balcony adorned with flowers overlooking a fairytale courtyard - It was like stepping back in time. The hotel was traditional and quirky, and there were so many personal, creative touches, everywhere you looked offered more delights. Baden Baden itself is breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was quaint and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds set a little low, but generally were comfortable.

    The hotel was quaint and clean. There was a separate sitting area outside the rooms where guests could sit. This was great because my husband gets up before I do and he could get coffee from the restaurant downstairs and sit in this area while I slept in. Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel decor was unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to navigate getting to hotel but staff was very helpful. Lots of stairs to get to room but staff assisted with luggage getting to room but not coming down. Breakfast was okay but not as good as other places in Germany that we had visited

    The hotel decor was unique. Very quiet at night so nice for sleeping. Rooms were a good size and very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Good for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, wifi fiddly. Room No.7 has a very creaky bed, no view and noisy kitchen extraction fans. Poor ventilation in room which is not easily solved as opening a window brings even more fan noise inside. Dinner ok, typically German menu.

    Excellent location. Parking a little way away but fairly secure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value, exceptional location and Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a few stairs to climb with luggage but manageable. No a/c or fan, so the room was a bit warm and stuffy. Internet was on and off for 2 days.

    The location was perfect for 2 nights. Very close to everything. The restaurant was very good and the included breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Very quiet for sleeping. We used the discount card to get an extra 'free' hour at the Caracalla Thermal baths, which was the highlight of our time in Baden-Baden!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and very gracious hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only challenge was getting to and from the hotel. A great deal of this is because the hotel is in a pedestrian center and the amount of road construction blocking easy access. With that said...the Laterne would be my first recommendation to anyone wanting a true Bavarian experience. Two thumbs way up.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    May be the staff need to be more friendly and welcoming, although they were willing to help.

    Location and view from my room was lovely. Staff were willing to help in carrying our language. We were given a spacious apartment very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    A very welcoming and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very welcoming and helpful reception. We asked for an extra bed in our booking request and received a room for three as an extra bed cannot fit in the room they reserved for us. It was a good upgrade. The Romanian speaking team made us feel at home and always cared to ask if all is well. The hotel is in two connected buildings so the first time it seemed a bit of a labyrinth but indicators are well visible so no risk to get lost. The breakfast had sufficient variety, even for a vegan diet. The food was fresh.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Historic Hotel in very good form
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very hot weather, room notairconditioned. Noise from kitchen ventilator

    All food to a high standard, bed and room very a lot of steps but no problem, a very well decorated building inside and out, a very pleasant place to stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice room, great location but a bit noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night and there is no good way to keep the room dark in the morning. The staff was not very friendly!

    Very clean, good located. Room was spacious and lovely! The staff was very effective.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arm chairs in one apartment had white covers which were full of stains. Wifi was really bad. You needed to constantly log in. Parking is two blocks away which is not a real problem unless it rains which was our case...and every time you come back and want to park the car you need to trot over to the hotel and ask for the key to open the barrier.

    We booked a three bedroom family apartment but were given two smaller apartments instead. They were very spacious and comfortable. One had a washing machine which came in handy. The other apartment had an amazing kitchen. Fully equipped. We didn't use it at all but it looked great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.5
    I wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly ever a WiFi connection. Town WiFi was better, but I had to sit on a bench ( not most comfortable when it's raining). The cleaning lady usually turned up between 16.30 and 17.00h, I therefore couldn't rest in the afternoon and then she was cutting corners. Had to tell her what needed doing. Difficult as she mainly spoke Romanian.

    Accommodation was good, bed comfortable, but in the building opposite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    EXCELLENT ROMANTIC HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personally, stairs don't bother me, but guests should be aware that there is no elevator and, as a result, some rooms require climbing up one to three flights.

    Truly beautiful, romantic, old German building with renovated rooms and showers. Exceptional staff, friendly, professional, and extremely responsive to any problems. Great restaurant on the bottom floor. Breakfast costs extra but is worth every Euro. Complimentary drink and dessert is a nice touch. Wonderful experience overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel Latterne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The square outside the hotel was under repair, but they start work at 7 in the morning!!!!! Other than for this it is a great little hotel

    This is a beautiful quaint hotel in the middle of a local square close to all amenities. The staff are fantastic and the Resteraunt food is extremely good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in Baden-Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit tricky to find a reception. There is no clear sign, but this is a minor detail, the hotel is really good

    The place is great. Very cosy inside and beautiful outside. The personal checked-in us 2 hours earlier, which was perfect for us. Facilities are nice, we liked stay in the hotel a lot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    checkin seamed a bit of a hassle as it wasnt obvious were to go from the outside of the property (unless we missed the obvious) and could gernally of been a bit slicker - the lighting in the rooms was incredibly dim even once the energy saving lighting had warmed up (needs improving) - my room had a poor shower that just didnt go high enough - don't let these points put you off though as this place is cracker

    Great location right in the centre - big rooms - good food and outside seating area - no parking on site but they have a car park located just a minutes drive away - a member of staff takes you there and walks you back - superb bar opposite hotel - highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Great repeatable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main entrance to the hotel could have been a little more conspicuous.

    Everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. Located in a delightful pedestrian only area, with easy walking access to everything. The apartment was large, light and airy, spotless, very well appointed. It was in a separate building a couple of steps from the main hotel. It felt safe, private and we loved the quirky decorations on each level. Wifi excellent and always on. Restaurant meals delicious, with very generous portions. All staff made us feel so welcome. This was the only hotel where our bags were unloaded from the car and taken up to our apartment by friendly staff. Our laundry was delivered by a smiling and helpful lady. We were even accompanied to the off site safe parking area. All in all a hotel I would like to share with all my family and friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was very close already Baden- Baden is very small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the problem was the hotel outside on the street was very active (Trucks carrying goods all the bars on the street) the morning that there was a noise in the morning

    The hotel was very close already Baden- Baden is very small city but amazing city. Relax, peaceful, green, quietly...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Top floor Apartment--Hit or Miss?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room tucked away on the 3rd floor was listed as a 3 bedroom apartment. Full kitchen, one big bath and living room...a tiny alcove off the living room had a toddler bed...that was bedroom #1, and the 2nd bedroom was down a set of spiral stairs--which we found impossible to maneuver our oversized luggage down...so we kept our luggage in living room and slept downstairs. Couch bed in living room--3rd bedroom? No other egress/ingress to lower bedroom except for spiral stairs. Bath on main floor so at night was difficult maneuvering up spiral stairs to bath. Huge closet in the lower bedroom, but seemed odd since you could not get luggage down there. There was a big window with outside fire escape stairs for emergency. My sister ended up sleeping on the couch in living room...but there were no additional bed clothes. No elevator, so we hired kid from restaurant to lug bags up/down 3 flights of steps...also spiral and somewhat tilted so a bit treacherous for novices to tackle with heavy luggage. Ok I admit we packed too much ... but still. Overall, more plusses than minuses...but location of room was the biggest drawback.

    Location of property was excellent. Bier Garten on premises. Check in easy....friendly staff. Good ambiance. Our room was a 2 bedroom tucked away on the 3rd floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    You will not regret a stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is what I would think a traditional German hotel would look like. It is very unique and quite homey. The room had everything we needed from a large comfy bed, tv, mini fridge, large clean bathroom, a fan and thick curtains to keep the sunlight out. It is in the middle of a busy area with lots of shops, restaurants, and stuff to do. It is just a 2 minute walk to the Friedrichsbad which is why we initially booked it. We absolutely loved the area. It is also a short walk...maybe 3 minutes to a DM which was nice since we were traveling with a toddler and an infant. The staff was great, the hotel was clean, the included breakfast buffet was delicious. The coffee was amazing. I can not say a bad thing about the hotel. We absolutely loved and enjoyed our stay that we booked an extra day while there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Perfect Hotel in the Centre of Baden Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ***This didn't bother us at all, but I saw some people complained about parking. There are numerous public and private parking areas within walking distance. Don't let the parking situation stop you from staying here***

    Hotel Alte Lanterne is a great place to stay while visiting Baden Baden. It's wonderfully situated in the centre-ville; has charming rooms and interior, friendly and helpful staff; provides extra little treats (complimentary gateau and coffee) as well as discounts for various visits around the town (the spa)... As typical of Germany, the portion sizes are quite generous. The restaurant was nice and provided options for vegetarians. We have stayed there in the past will be visiting again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Very good location, extremely friendly staff and small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only disadvantage was two single beds moved in together instead of one big bed, which is uncomfortable for couples

    Very good location, extremely friendly staff and small bonuses like free cake with coffee and free bottle of water. The room was big and quite. Those arriving by car should first check in at the hotel in order to get an inexpensive parking space close to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    You won't regret staying here, I promise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't think of anything that we didn't like other than we wished that there was an iron.

    Best breakfast I've ever had from any hotel. The service was beyond wonderful. We loved every single thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    great location, great restaurant, friendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the parking is far from the hotel, however you don't need a car in baden baden so you just need to go there once

    great location, great restaurant, friendly personnel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaurant was being renovated which meant that check in/out was next door as well as the restaurant.

    This was the most adorable hotel I've ever stayed at! Incredibly clean, beautiful and centrally located.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful spot in Baden-Baden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal was spotty in the room. Had to ask the front desk for a password and then each time I wanted to access from my smartphone, I had to keep logging in --even if it had only been a few minutes.

    The decor inside the hotel was quite whimsical --captured the spirit of the Black forest. The bathrooms were brand new and quite lux. Breakfast provided in the morning had a lot of variety.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    Small comfortable hotel in the centre of Baden Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked the staff for the sauce to be separate and the sauce instead covered the whole dish. Ask for a small coca cola else you will get a big one by default.

    The decor was so cute! Breakfast was good - location and parking comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    The room was beautiful with plenty of space and a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hairdryer and coffee/tea making facilities in room would be useful.

    The room was beautiful with plenty of space and a fantastic view of the Christmas light show at the guest house across the street! The hotel is ideally located for exploring the city on foot .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    We were met with a welcome drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should have stayed longer

    We were met with a welcome drink... not usual. Bravo Laterne! The room was very very comfortable. The facilities in the room were more than expected. As we were leaving before breakfast, we were served with a packed breakfast in our room's mini bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Always a pleasure to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always a pleasure to stay in this hotel. The price is very reasonable for the quality of the room. I'm a repeat stayer at this hotel, when I'm in Baden Baden.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    Christmas market & spa vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking should be included in the price, even if it is located in a garage a few blocks away.

    The staff was very nice and friendly. Location was perfect....5 minutes walk to the mineral spa, and the Christmas market. We would definitely come back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No problems. I've said this before. It would be nice to have a lift. But the clerk helped us with some of the luggage.

    Location. We've stayed here several times and simply love the location. The facilities are more than adequate. Staff is friendly and speak English.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    6.3
    Address provided on website and confirmation letter is not accessible by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description should clearly state that Alte Latern is located on a pedestrian-only street and inaccessible by car. This caused me a great deal of confusion and stress using Google Maps for navigation... When I called contact number for clarification there was more confusion because the staff does not speak very good English.... I finally just parked my rental car in a no-parking zone - with flashers on - and took off on foot. I was, thankfully, only about 3 blocks away. But when I finally got to the restaurant - and Alte Latern is primarily a restaurant - none of the waiters were available to help me deal with the car. Finally, one of them walked with me to my car... Then got in the car and directed me to a remote parking lot - about 10 min. away. It all worked out OK. But I wasted about 90 min. dealing with finding the place and parking the car.

    The restaurant was excellent. Location is in the heart of historic district. Picturesque, charming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Baden-Baden is worth a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was served in the hotel, therefore we had to put our coats on as we were booked in the dependance. But this wasn't a big issue. Very close, not even a one minute walk.

    Very centrally located. We were able to explore the city by foot (Thermal bath, Theater, Casino, Trinkhalle, Festspielhaus). Would recommend to book a room in the dependance of the hotel. Spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    Central location, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was nice, but quite busy running the restaurant. Extra pillow would have been welcome. We should have booked a front-side room, the view over the backyard was not so inspiring.

    Rich and versatile breakfast, including fruit. Restaurant serves good meals. Picturesque building with funny decorations inside. Hotel located at the entrance to the Old Town and right off the city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Adorable hotel in great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to construction that started early in the mornings, it was a little noisy. Not hotel's fault!

    The location was perfect in the pedestrian old town area. Bus from train station goes within 5 minute walk to hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    In the midst of an historical area Hotel Alte Laterne was a great choice to visit the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some smaller portion options in the restaurant please. We don't all eat huge meals! Delicious as they were.

    A lovely old building in the heart of Baden Baden. Atmosphere and comfort. Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location in Baden-Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area was cramped. We prefer a proper double bed, not two singles put together.

    Very comfortable spacious room. The sweet loaf with raisins at breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Location, food service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    Location, food service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, centrally located and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money, centrally located and very spacious apartments

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the heart of Baden Baden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy early morning and sometimes late at night.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    A very nice place to stay would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very nice place to stay would return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing whatsoever

    Everything is just great, staff , comfort, food , location. everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, excellent staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice, friendly place in an great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Motorcycle parking was possible only in the street.

    Very friendly staff, superb location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great location in Baden-Baden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave...

    We had a spacious apartment in the building across the street—very nice. The location was perfect! Exceptional breakfast,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Most of Tv chains not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of Tv chains not available

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: