Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alte Lohnhalle Kultur- und Tagungshotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rotthauser Str. 40, Kray, 45309 Essen, Germany

#26 of 68 hotels in Essen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 298 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Unique experience in a lovely building but not recommandable for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the building is a unique location and they are right in maintaining it as original as possible, it was not very practical to drag a heavy suitcase up several stairs and through different hallways / doors ... the room was small but the bathroom was just tiny, one could barely move. The purpose of the curtains went passed me as the windows were larger than the curtains were ... The WiFi was not strong enough to work on.

    The staff was super friendly ! From the person checking me in, tru dinner / breakfast & check out. The hotel has a small restaurant, but the cook served a lovely meal - excellent value for money. Breakfast was maybe not the biggest buffet, but offered every single thing you needed including a fresh, homemade fruit salad which was delicious and unseen in many of the bigger chain hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Historic Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Since the building is historic property, the door of the building would be locked after 22:00. It is clearly mentioned and how to open the door with the key is explained in the hotel directory in German. Having understood the note, I had a little difficulty in opening the door and had to ask for help of the employee at night shift over the phone. 2. It would have been nice if shampoo and conditioner was provided in the bathroom.

    Staffs were very friendly and helpful even via email prior to check-in. I have asked them if it was possible to have the Germany-England football match ticket delivered to the hotel instead of have it sent to Japan, which was readily accepted. They notified me of the receipt of the ticket as well. The hotel is located within a couple of minutes from the nearest bus stop "Kellinghausstrasse". Despite the bus stop is on the busy street, it was very quiet around the hotel in the morning and evening. Upon check-in, free ticket for local bus, tram and Deutsche Bahn local trains (2nd class) valid during your entire period of stay is given. It was a huge advantage for me and I fully utilised it for getting around the area. I went Essen, Gelsenkirchen, Dortmund and the UNESCO world heritage "Zollverein Coal Mine Industry Complex" with the ticket. The hotel is designated as historic property. Probably for that reason there is no lift equipped. So you have to either carry your luggage to upstairs or ask employee to do so. The double room I stayed was spartan but spacious for one person, with a large desk and a sofa the interior comfort was well satisfactory. Luminance was good enough for European hotel with ceiling, 2 bedside lamps and 1 tall standing lamp beside the sofa. It was still quite cold at night, yet heating in the room and bathroom was functioning properly. I had dinner on the arrival day and breakfast twice at the hotel restaurant "Ueber Tage". The ceiling was high and the large window lets plenty of sunshine in the morning. Decoration was rather simple but clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was a pleasant surprise. With a variety of breads, cold cuts and smoke salmon, boiled egg, vegetable salad, serials and yoghurt you can have a good start for the day ahead. If you return to the hotel after midnight, you can take NE03 (NE stands for Night-Express) bus from Essen Main Station to "Kellinghausstrasse".

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    A disappountment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To hot in the room. Nog fresh air.

    Location was oke

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional atmosphere of former Lohnhalle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional atmosphere of former Lohnhalle. Spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    great, bright bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    garage and many cars in direct surrounding

    great, bright bedroom. Wine hall as a neighbour !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    stijlvol gebouw met prachtige orginele inrichting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Perfect stylish room, spacious. Perfect breakfast, good kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.1
    Strange experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange room orientation , reminded me of Alfred Hitchcock movies . Old not very clean bathroom.

    Big spacious rooms , adequate parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.1
    The smallest Tv ever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smallest Tv ever.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    9.2
    Fascinating nice, old historical building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Fascinating nice, old historical building. Very nice and helpful staff. Forgot my batery recharger, and I got one free from them ! Lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Lovely building, very friendly staff and no problem with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a bad experience but we did have a little difficulty with the language, as the menu was all in German, most hotels have an English menu as well. However, we managed very well.

    Lovely building, very friendly staff and no problem with the dog

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location. Nice restaurant at the opposite of the hotel. Really nice and helpfull staff.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: