Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alte Post

Marienplatz 19, 86956 Schongau, Germany

#3 of 4 hotels in Schongau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    On the market square next to the church
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    an old building so no lift although we didn't expect one. parking is on the street and the whole town is a pay zone if you're parked more than an hour and you need a ticket however long you are parked. Outside the hotel is a maximum 1 hour stay and the parking machines all have maps of the zones

    an old building with the most modern and well designed bathroom we've seen in a pleasant room an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    There is no elevator in the hotel, so that is not so easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no elevator in the hotel, so that is not so easy to carry the luggage on the upper floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    6.3
    Evening meal was good, as was the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was cold on arrival

    Evening meal was good, as was the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place to visit old town and a good staging post for visiting Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English language tv Parking a small irritant

    Helpful friendly staff Location in centre of old town Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is centrally located with helpful staff, and easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was little choise of restaurant or Taverns in the town almost all Itilian styled.

    The hotel is centrally located with helpful staff, and easy parking. The breakfast was very good and served from 6.30 am which is unusual.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.6
    I loved the location, as well as the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish there had been some type of private parking. Having to go and pay a terminal for parking every hour got a little annoying. We didn't stay too long during the day with our car parked, but when we got there at 3 pm and had to go out and pay the meter every hour. It wasn't expensive, just tedious.

    I loved the location, as well as the food. The owners spoke a little English, which was a relief. There isn't any air conditioning in the room, but we didn't mind because it was early October and we could keep the windows open all night.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Location by itself is great in a nice old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Church bells at 6:00 (nice melody) and then on untill 22:00. The hotel is located between 2 churches. No private parking, only public. No airconditioning. There was a noise in the room, we couldnt identify from above.

    Location by itself is great in a nice old town.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    8.3
    The cleaning staff left all doors to guest's rooms open...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaning staff left all doors to guest's rooms open while having a coffee break.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    10
    Very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.3
    Breakfasts were very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi shall not block any URLs.

    Breakfasts were very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    The hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: