Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alte Wache 3 stars

Adenauerallee 25, St. Georg, 20097 Hamburg, Germany

#160 of 323 hotels in Hamburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly expensive but it is Germany, there are some people hanging around between the station and the hotel but no trouble and mostly gone by later at night

    Very conveniently located a few minures walk from the station. Good standard hotel, happy to store bags. breakfast good and not too expensive by hotel standards

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you book ask for a room in the rear of the building-we were on the street abd heard fire sirens and ralk and trucks all night, Front desk staff snippy and preoccupied

    Old world quality Hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room was extremely tiny , nothing like the kind of room they have shown on the website.

    The location is excellent , right next to the Hamburg Hbf . The breakfast buffet was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The room is very very small, much like business hotel in Hong Kong or Tokyo. very stressful to stay in the room 2. The pillow is too low and under-filled. Mattress is not comfortable 3. The hotel environment is not only traditional, but old. with a broken exterior light box. 4. Please at least add some hooks on the wall in the small bathroom for storage. 4. The huge shower tap is sticking out on the tiny shower room space, impossible to not hitting it with your elbow while showering 5. There is no tea bag or electrical kettle. 6. The mini bar fridge is fully stuffed, drinks are even placed in a big tray on the already small desk/TV bench, hardly have room to use for your own. 7.Free wifi but very slow.

    1.The breakfast is only $8 euro, very value for money with the variety and good quality.2.The staffs are helpful. 3. The hotel is clean. 4. Heater temperature is adjustable and quite warm. 5. strong hot water from the shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange thing with bottles of water on on the desk. They were technically not in the mini-bar, and in most hotels this means - they are complimentary (otherwise their price must be clearly indicated on them or near them). But they were not; and the hotel charged me for drinking this water... But may be I am just not very familiar with German hotels.

    The hotel is conveniently located at the central rail station; numerous buses and subway lines easily deliver you throughout Hamburg. Many shops and restaurants around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was just too small. I couldn't open my suitcase properly and I really wish hotels in Europe offered tea and coffee making facilities in the room. I had hoped that the Hotel Alte Wache with its older style and more mature clientele may have thought this would be an added bonus.

    The position was excellent with the main railway station close by, restaurants and hop on, hop off bus all a short walk away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Defintely over-priced but, in fairness, I was in Hamburg on a busy weekend. A small room and the breakfast wasn't great.

    A good location as, while near the busy train station, it was quiet. An excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was told by a resident of Hamburg that we are staying "on the wrong side of the railway" - I did feel unsafe at first but coming from South Africa, one knows to be careful and wide awake. I soon got used to all the characters on the street! What I did not like is the soft square pillows! There also was not English instructions for the safe in the room.

    We stayed at this hotel twice during June. The first night we were allocated a VERY spacious room, actually meant for 3 people. We loved all the space! The hotel has wide corridors, big windows and fast lifts and service. It has a lovely diningroom/restaurant and lounge. Our room was not noisy at all. The buffet breakfast (optional) was excellent. On our second stay, we had a double room which was still spacious, clean and bright. The best part of this hotel is its proximity to the Hauptbahnhof and ZOB (Central Bus Station. Our friends stayed at another hotel just opposite the station for which they paid double the rate that we paid - their poky room did not impress me in the least. If ever I have to stay over in Hamburg again arriving or leaving by bus or train, Hotel Alte Wache will be my first choice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smallish room, but adequate for an overnight stay.

    Great location for a train traveller like myself, less than 500 meters walking distance to Hamburg Haupbahnhof. Nice and convenient hotel, and at my age the elevator is a great bonus. I had to leave very early, too early to have anything to say about breakfast. Bed was good. WiFi worked very well and bathroom facilities were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather institutional feeling to bedrooms. Singles very small. Nothing can be done about the location on a busy road with a dodgy area behind it - but guests should cross over the main road and walk down to and from the station on the opposite side of the road, where at least the pavement is wide, even and well-lit, unlike the dreadful pavement on the hotel side. Quite expensive for what it offers.

    Lovely large welcoming lounge for guests, full of plants, pictures and comfortable furniture. Very helpful, cheerful and bilingual staff. Excellent breakfast with a huge choice of good things, served in an elegant room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection was clearly too weak for the number of guests using it.

    Classy but affordable hotel close to the Hauptbahnhof with good metro and other connections. Along a busy road but the rooms were at the back, so very quiet (and comfortable). Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet (wifi) was extremely slow - at all times (morning, daytime, evening, night). Bad if you need to do some work online beyond emails.

    Good room, in short walking distance to central station and subway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the bed were small. The hotel is just fine, but certainly not particularly comfortable. The area around the station is very shady

    Central location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a bit more money (10 or 15 €) there are better options in the area with higher quality services (wifi didn't work really well). The room was tiny, almost the size of the bed.

    It is really close to the train station and to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's credit/debit card reader "conveniently" did not work when an American Express card was offered. The same reader worked for all other debit/credit cards!!! American Express charges an increased transaction fee to merchants than other credit card companies/banks and merchants have to honour and accept this if they advertise American Express as a form of payment on their website

    Nothing that comes to mind now.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    BREAKFAST was good rooms were clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel to stay in during business trip. Friendly staff, parking for cars possible. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly atmosphere and excellent hospitality of the staffs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk from the train station went through a sketchy neighborhood.

    The excellent price made it worth it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    100 meters from hamburg central bus station. very good breakfast and very good service! clean and comfortable room and bed. high recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location very close to central station. An excellent breakfast with a very large variety of choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cramped rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location and Breakfast

    Small Room without Air Condition

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not one bit friendly and the hotel has no air conditioning which is ridiculous ..

    Very central

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    doors to rooms are thin /not sound proof (re. noise in hallways), and thin walls.

    friendly staff, secure, clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    reception staff should have smile which is missing and doesn't cost anything

    Central and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of note.

    The pillow was very poor but, that aside, the hotel was excellent. Friendly and helpful staff and a very convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was excellent. And it was very convenient to be located nearby Hamburg Hauptbahnhof.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room decor is now a little dated.

    Staff, breakfast, quiet rooms. location and well managed establishment.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Wifi is not great.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Old furniture. Had to leave at 11 am however the cleaning people knocked at my door before 9 already and woke me up before I had finished my sleep. Horrible especially after driving almost for 7 hours. Curtains too short, all light comes is at first sun shine. Too much money for value

    Clean, comfortable bed,fridge.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is quit but there is one thing which I paid attention (but the hotel cannot do anything for that); the building is just above the U-bahn (metro) tunnel; you can hear a train passing in every 5 min.

    Clean but a bit small room. Friendly statt. Quiet room in central place, just 300-400 metres to the central station. I appreciate especially that breakfest is available early. I use this hotel for staying overnight between trains. I took a train at 7:20 and I had good time to eat breakfeast which is good before taht.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The area around the hotel is not very pleasant (near the train station). No kettle in the room.

    The hotel is located near the Main train station, which was very handy for trips to the airport and day trips from Hamburg. Everything was clean and functional; internet speed was fine; there is a minibar in the room. I had good quality of sleep. The staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy, both from outside as well as inside.

    The staff is friendly, the breakfast is excellent (you gotta love those German bread rolls!), the bar serves perfect German beer. WiFi works excellent. Very clean, well equipped room and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location even though it's close to the city center, it's a bit awkward during night, you don't feel really safe.

    We asked for a double bed, we got 2 single ones, otherwise the breakfast was soo nice!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Strange people on the streets sometimes (possibly because the main railway station is not far from the place).

    Really good hotel! Nice and cozy room, perfect (really perfect) breakfast, comfortable service. Recommended :)

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location, close to Hauptbahnhof and public transportation. Small size of the room, but with all the necessary inside, very convenient for single travelers (for short time). One of the best choices for a city break.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small room, but I did not go to Hamburg to stay in a room, fine for 1-2 nights

    Location near main train station, value for money, nice breakfast buffet with large choice

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It was very noisy in the morning and you can not sleep more than 7 o'clock because of disturbance. The place of the hotel was closed to train station but in a not good and safe environment.

    The staffs were very polite and helpful. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable, I was completely comfortable during my 5 days resistance. The breakfasts were good and tasty but have not much variety.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    At times, you could hear the cleaners outside your room chatting so loudly. Also, the wireless connection keeps disconnecting

    The location is easily accessed by all means of transportation, friendly and helpful staff, and clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small and the bed could have been better. The area near the station is quite dirty and doesn't feel very safe late at night.

    The location near the railway station was good. The room was ok for a short stay. Bathroom was a big plus. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms could do with some updating and the breakfast service wasn't great. The breakfast was lovely but hot glasses for juice isn't pleasant and having to wave a waiter down to get some coffee isn't ideal. Plus we had to sit on a dirty table.

    After a horrendous journey, it was great that we didn't lose our reservation. We were 4 hours later due to public transport and arrived at 2am, but there was no issue.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overpriced. At this price I expect breakfast to be included. It is a stone throw from the central bus station and a tiny bit more from the u-bahna and hbf. But the block between the hbf and hotel is a bit dodgy with people loitering around and dirty streets

    Clean, comfortable and good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    a little expensive than you would expect, walking at night near hotel area is not ideal street for single traveler. But it is not a tough area or doggy but a bit dark and seems like run down buildings

    the location, staffs and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room haven't air conditioner. The mini-bar was off or it was not working.

    The location is excellent, near to the bus station and the central train station. The breakfast is very good with many items.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Eerly breakfast, I was taking a train at 07:30 - breakfest was available at 06:20 - I had plenty of time toe eat and even time to brush mey theet at room.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The neigborhood is not very nice.

    Good location (5-minute walk from the central station), friendly and helpful staff, clean room and really good breakfast with many choices.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    slow internet.

    location

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable bed. Spacious single room. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    even the back yard is not really silent.

    Perfectly located and serving a very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast, walking distance to pretty much every part of the city.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Even the back yard is not really silent.

    The breakfast definitely is above standard; a great variety of warm and cold dishes

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was comfortable and had quiet rooms being in a busy and central area. Comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could not feel the kind hospitality by hotel staff who gave a cold impression. Hotel room is not big enough considering the price.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff,clean room,lovely breakfast and the location is great,in walking distance from the train station and the bus terminal !

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff don't speak very much english

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    7.9
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near the train station, very clean and beatiful room... simply perfect!

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I found mini insect on the bed, on day of arrival otherwise it was clean

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi, room size

    location

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very polite stuff. Very clean and great location

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi really bad quality, basically useless

    quite, good location, and very friendly stuff

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Staff friendly, rooms clean , service very nice

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good relation price quality. Absolutely recommended. Good location, good breakfast, quite and clean.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    "Bad location, so far from landmarks/attractions" "feels like an office building was refurbished into a hotel"

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were too soft for our taste. Surpriced that you could hear trains running under the hotel around the clock - but not noisy.

    Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Hotel location and staff. Staff were very helpful and dos their best

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Comfortable single room, excellant breakfast, excellant location.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room was clean the staff is nice

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Persistent odour from shower drain.

    Staff. Location. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good breakfast.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: