Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altenberg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schartenbergstr. 6, 76534 Baden-Baden, Germany

#17 of 51 hotels in Baden-Baden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed rather hard and uncomfortable. Wifi unpredictable and did not work well in room.

    Clean and spacious room with balcony. Bathroom well presented and well stocked. Breakfast had a wide range of items of good quality. Dining are was lovely as caught the early morning sun. Fine location for Baden Baden so long as you have a satnav.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor issue with the shower and the shower screen

    Location was great and the staff were very welcoming and accommodated our lack of German very well. Accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The thing that the hotel can improve in is the range of the Wi-Fi. This is because from the back room the Wi-Fi is very slow and one cannot use Mobile Data as there is low reception.

    The stay at the hotel was Excellent. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly, helpful and all the staff speaks English. The breakfast was very good even the evening food was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That our visit at this hotel was too short and that the sauna/spa facilities are not within the same premises.

    The style of the hotel and its rooms, reflected also in the pride the staff has of their country/culture/etc. A typical example is the staff's traditional costume. The food (during dinner and also during breakfast) was also very good, and we were appreciative for the staff's attention for our gluten free requirements.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely nothing.

    this was our second visit to the hotel, we arrived soaking wet and the staff took our wet gear as we came in, dried everything and returned it to our room in the morning, superb service! We were upgraded to a huge suite, very plush, included a fridge and coffee maker. Wonderful! Food in the restaurant was wonderful and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unfriendly staff (female owner). I was a little later then expected, and she told me I had to call. She make me feel like a small baby. Won't go there no more!

    Clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A coffee making facility would have made our stay even better.

    A friendly hotel with plenty of good parking. Did not find much to walk to nearby in the evening but a short drive to the spa town of Baden-Baden in the car was well worthwhile. However, only used for an overnight stay on our way to Italy. We had a good breakfast on the terrace with a large choice, including hot food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No facility to get a drink in the room, either mini bar or tea /coffee making facilities, and downstairs locked up with nobody around (9pm on a Sat eve)

    Breakfast, lovely with a wide variety of choice. Very helpful and friendly staff. (may have been the owners).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Superb food both in the restaurant at night and at breakfast. Clean, spacious, comfortable and homely room. The room was a generous size. The bathroom was recently renovated and was luxurious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and kind. I traveled with my adult kids and the room we selected had very comfortable beds. The room was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was awesome. The hotel was in a very quiet and beautiful location. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not impressed with the owner's gesture. Though they were extremely polite but not very considerate. One incident where they refused to open a new pack of juice (shouldn't cost more than an euro) to refill the juice when there was still 20 minutes to end of breakfast time (8:00 to 10:00) doesn't give a good feeling.

    I was very impressed when I entered the room. It was very nicely made with a nice smell which shows that the hotel has a very nice sense of aesthetics. The room was spacious and extremely clean. Wifi connection was very good. We had our dinner there and it was awesome and very tasty. Somehow, the mattress was very soft and bouncy which I didn't like (others may like it).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size with a sofa & a table with chairs. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and gave us directions to get to downtown Baden-Baden on the back roads.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    We had a wonderfully large room which was easy to access and with a balcony. The shower was en-suite and so clean! The beds were very comfortable and we even had a table and chairs in the room. My only beef was that we could bot get the tv to work but we were not that bothered as there was so good to walk around. Recommend the staff highly...they were so helpful and both receptionist ad waitress wore the national dirndl and looked fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a gorgeous small hotel very comfortable and cosy. The rooms are spacious and properly equipped with all amenities. The restaurant is delightful and serves local mouth-watering dishes. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly even with the kids. Would highly recommend it to families for trips in the Black Forest region.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious with a lovely view towards the vineyards. Cosy chalet feel to the room, very clean and comfortable. There was a coffee machine and a bottle of water. The breakfast was a lovely selection and the host so friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situation of the hotel was nice but not close enough to the town if your visit was for that reason. Steps up to the hotel were quite steep so beware if you have heavy luggage. Shame the restaurant was closed the night we stayed.

    We had a super room with balcony and the beds were really comfortable. bathroom was lovely too with super towels. Breakfast was excellent. Very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection is not the greatest in our room. Not many channels to choose from on the TV.

    Nice quite location with a restaurant attached and our waitress was simply wonderful! Nice staff and clean rooms. Breakfast was very nice. Overall very pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    Friendly. Very comfortable. Wonderful breakfasts. The lady at the reception was very welcoming and helpful. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow and bedding were were just ok. Location does not have much within walking distance.

    Restaurant was delicious. Staff were very friendly. Rooms were welcoming. Bathroom very modern and clean. The information provided was very helpful for us to plan our spa day. Parking was convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved this Hotel, with beautiful traditional hotel, comfy bed, nicely renovated, lovely grounds, quiet location, easy parking. Nice restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very spotty and was rarely able to connect.

    Nice place to stay particularly if you don't want to be in a tourist area. Friendly and helpful staff. The food at the restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was challenging the first night for our Apple products, though they tried to help us and said that happens occasionally. The second night we connected like a champ.

    . It was wonderful to be out of the chaos of Baden-Baden for sleeping and for breakfast and even for dinner. Rm 16 was large – almost a 3 or 4 person! There was a little living area plus a sleeper sofa. And the softest bedding we found in Germany (also a plus). The bathroom was VERY nicely appointed, and large. There was lots of room for luggage and quite a bit of closet space. The room had a working lockbox. Breakfast included fresh, fresh fruit (whole fruit, too) and the nicest tea service. Many jams and jellies plus croissants and several pastries (cookie-like) such as a German take on French palmier. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from family in next to rooms, children running up and down corridor.

    Lovely hotel and location. We used the hotel as an overnight stop on our way to Italy. Great breakfast, massive choice. Baden Baden just a few miles away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was awesome. The owner was exceptionally nice and helpful. Atmosphere and location are perfect. Surely we will return to this hotel on our next visit at the Black Forest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is extremely nice in a very peaceful area, perfect to stop by while driving through the Black Forest. The restaurant was also nice and the food very good. The staff was super, very kind and helpful. The parking was free, the rooms clean and comfortable with a very nice terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better pillows!!

    The food, drink and service were very good and the setting for the hotel is very nice. The outside patio is a lovely place to spend an evening eating and drinking and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast buffet is superb and the kids loved the pancakes. Try the different salamis too!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional drain smells.

    The selection for breakfast was fabulous, lots of seeds, fresh fruit, pancakes and various other items. The hotel was spotless and the room modern. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We loved it so much that we decided to stay another night. Definitely a little gem! Thanks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with wash hand basin in toilet in our room.

    Welcome was very friendly and breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Set in lovely wine region

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, helpful owner, good evening meal would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners so so helpful and friendly . Good and variety of breakfast , very clean and a quite place to stay also good WiFi .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Home cooked evening meal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from Baden center

    Quite, clean, good staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel / Furniture No referigerator No soundproof

    Variety of food provided in breakfast Parking Quiet area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and dinner menu with local specialities. Quiet village location.Staff are very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and excellent local cuisine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Incredibly friendly staff, lovely rooms and balconies, extremely good food. Close to bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,quite place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet location, good sized clean comfortable room. Good choices at breakfast and for evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole atmosphere and the staff was very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were excellent and food was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food was so so.

    The beds are comfy. The bigger room can accommodate 4 people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed there before so it was time to call in again on our way home mm

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed

    Breakfast end hospitality

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    delicious breakfast, good WIFI,the room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC fort standard room & temp arond 33 C

    Staff are very nice Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good good location staff very helpful was passing through so all what we needed, everywhere was spotlessly clean great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & good view the owners were welcoming & pleasant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking a bit tight.

    Quiet location and good food with friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just a beautiful location with excellent hosts

    The breakfast was magnificent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kindness of the owner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It is a quiet place though so don't expect nightlife!

    Greta for an overnight. Good breakfast and evening meal on the terrace

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine hotel, nice rooms, great breakfast buffet. Very good Wifi.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very lovely and helpful particularly with translation of restaurant menu. Would stay again and fully recommend.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good!

    The room was very comfortable and had plenty of room for two grandparents traveling with a teenage grandson. The location was great. The breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor signage to the hotel reception. All TV channels are in Germans. The only BBC channel was not working - hotel staff replied: "We are only a 3 star hotel, the reception of BBC is such we can't do anything about it though we tried." Hotel was so empty that it looks like we are the only customer.

    Bread fast.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Everithing. we were on vacation in schwarzwald for 10 days and this hotel was the best, we came back for another night. the staff is very nice and helpful, the room is very clean.good wi fi. the best breakfast we had in schwarzwald .

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room with an amazing view, comfortable bed, very clean, rich breakfast. We had a delicious evening meal in the restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff. 15-20 min drive to the Casino parking (close to everything in the city center) through the green road.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't much to do in the immediate area, but that added to the charm of the small town. We had to get a taxi to get there from the airport, since we arrived on a weekend and the buses only go back and forth a couple time then.

    The staff spoke great English, offered an excellent dinner (the best out of the 3 B&Bs we've stayed in so far while in Germany), and had the best breakfast also. I loved the tiny town it was situated in and the look of the hotel. I wish we could have stayed longer. It was the perfect place for a half day visit and a place to sleep.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only minor issue, hotel sign is also on the house at the entrance to the car park (opposite side to hotel). You come to this first and it is slightly confusing.

    Lovely hotel, very welcoming staff, large comfortable room, good parking, lovely food in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were late arriving at the hotel because of an over-turned lorry on the motorway. The hotel stopped serving dinner at 21.00 but when we arrived at 21.15 they offered a limited choice from the menu and nothing was too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, right under the vineyards, and the restaurant, probably the best one of our 15 days trip thru the Bavarian region, are the surprising highlights of this place. The local wine from the vineyards nearby was super. Rooms are simple but spotless clean, nothing fancy but with a good smell of cleanliness. The waitress in the restaurant was so nice as to translate 9 pages of the menu from German into English. Exceptional value for price in the expensive Baden- Baden region; the city center is just a 10 minutes pleasant drive away. If back to the area we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The owners were very nice to deal with. We were there in a heat wave 30 degrees etc. They even found a fan as I suffer from the heat. Large comfortable rooms with modern bathrooms. Would return again. Many thanks to you for a great time.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Hotel Altenberg is located a short drive from Baden Baden and is an oasis of peace after the bustle of the town. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was superb - as was breakfast. I was sorry to leave after 1 night.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only down point was that the restaurant was closed when we stayed, so people should know that its closed Wednesday and Thursdays, so we will alter our travel arrangements for our next stay.

    We always stay around the baden-baden area. The hotel was first class and the owner,could not have been more attentative. We have never had a breakfast off that choice and quality, we will break a rule off not staying at a hotel twice and stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff is fabulous,especially (who we took to be) one of the owners. She was front desk and also helped out in the restaurant. She explained the whole menu in English for us. She attended to us the whole evening. The patio was fantastic for dinner and relaxing. Next morning the breakfast was great and the owner was back in traditional dress, tending to the breakfast. Nice hotel, nice room and free parking lot..Perfect place to stay with a car, highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no bad experience, room was comfortable, breakfast was very pleasent and owner/manager was very helpful. Recommended. Wi Fi a little tedious!

    Friendly staff/owner, help us with luggage very clean, quiet location; happy!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm slightly disabled and this facility would not suit anyone worse than me

    The staff and restaurant where excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - hardly any vegan options for breakfast

    - very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV was not working properly.

    Great breakfast with very friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners and staff were lovelly

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: