Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Königstraße 9, 24837 Schleswig, Germany

#15 of 28 hotels in Schleswig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 887 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were really friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not liked that there were cigarettes at the windowbank from the guest before. When i booked i asked for a vegan breakfast. They replyed that it is no problem for them. I also remind them when i arrved in the evening. Next morning i needed to wait for 45 minutes because they forget to buy something for this breakfast and one of the staff went to the supermarket. In the end they made a lunchbox, but when i checked it later i saw that the food was not vegan. I called them to complain, because i mean in the end i could have had breakfast while i waited for 45 minutes. They explained to me that its definitly vegan cheese. I could not believe so i checked it on the intranet and these typ of cheese is not available in a vegan version. Really not nice! They need to improve this. Sorry guys, the rest was ok.

    The staff were really friendly. I also liked the free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    There are (older) rooms in the main building and (two year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception and hotel is closed between 21.00 and 07.00, which can be a problem for late arrival or early departure. As stated by other visitors, the presence of a large window between the bathroom and bedroom creates problems when one person turns on the light for a night visit to the toilet, and wakes the other person in bed. It does not help to use the blind curtain provided for the window. The floor in the shower is made of slippery plastic.

    There are (older) rooms in the main building and (two year old) rooms in the annex, where we stayed. A rather large room and bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient for a short stay or stopover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The table plus chairs in the room were uncomfortable to watch TV or work with a notebook.

    Quality of bedding, soundproof windows and the nice theme oriented (boating, sailing) interior design of rooms and building. Very polite service at breakfast and good quality. Proximity to the waterfront, parks, church and fish restaurants!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    nothing to write home about
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the new part of the hotel is actually in a different building that smells like paint. Hardly any of the staff spoke English and they were not super friendly. The guy who greets you at the breakfast was very good. It was refreshing to see someone smiling.

    the room was specious and the breakfast is decent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    Loved this hotel! Rooms are in a separate bldg from "castle" picture on the website, which is their restaurant. Nautical theme in hotel and excellently done. Clean and spacious. Shout out to Restaurant Roma where we had a real Italian pizza as hotel restaurant closed. NOTE: if you are arriving on a Sunday get there by 6 or contact hotel to arrange where rm keys will be.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Historic building
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where warm, opening the window in the front wasn't a good option because it let in a lot of mosquitoes.

    Great rooms, a good choice at the breakfast buffet. The staff is very friendly and the service is quick.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Well located hotel, good food and nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be a bit noisy, however faily quiet between 2200 and 0600, and thereafter with door closed bearable but with door closed

    Room and bathroom very well laid out with great comfort, the bed was a bit firm. Parking very easy and close to rooms. Breakfast was well over expectation, and service from staff very friendly with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    8.8
    As visitors to a cultural event the hotel let us feel sort of "arrived" or better "grounded".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seemed not to be informed that we had booked a comford double bedroom instead of a standard one, a problem of communication between Booking.Com and the hotel. After a discussion we finally got the correct comfort room.

    One of the best breakfast buffets, we saw in the last years!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.5
    Great hotel with lovely rooms (annex)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family staying in main building got a non-renovated/older room. Not sure if they all like this.... However, rooms in annex/new building were lovely. A lot of the time it's the other way around...

    Lovely new rooms in annex/new building with large bathrooms! Big plus with wooden floor instead of carpet, like in many German hotels. Really pretty/atmospheric main building. Great personel and yummy breakfast. Shame that the restaurant was full since we would have liked to have tried the food. Book ahead!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.5
    good breakefast, good and modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in an annex, not really in the the hotel. Reception didn`t read the extra note, we wrote with the booking, as a resoult of that we had to waite 20 min, for them to make up the to extra beds. And they didn`t seem to be familiar the rules of booking.com (this is offen the case everywhere else)

    good breakefast, good and modern room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    A hotel to be recommended in Slesvig
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing considering the price

    Everything was very satisfactory, the hotel is well situated in the town of Slesvig near to all facilities and attractions. The staff was very polite and helpful, the room was very nice with tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceiling had a few smashed bugs not cleaned up, and we found a few hairs in the bed that did not belong to us. Otherwise ok.

    Modern room. Close to town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice and quiet and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived late and did not know that there was a keybox on the outside. Got the impression that we were lucky someone in the reseption heard us knocking.

    Great breakfast. Quiet and nice for our small family.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.1
    Entirely remodeled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning. Nowhere to put your toiletries in the bathroom (no shelf). No connecting rooms even though we had asked for them several months before. However the receptionist finally found two rooms close together.

    Entirely remodeled. With all commodities for disabled people. Candy on the beds. Very large bathrooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Great position and quiet, food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfy breakfast great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean room, looked brand new nice staff, friendly and helpful good breakfast good location, easy to walk to lake/inlet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult time checking out due to front desk hours.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in main property were slightly outdated.

    Location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    very nice hotel and a good location for visiting Schslewig
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wiev from the room

    The room , The Beeds , The nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Good room. Good view. Good breakfast. Very satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    It was just what we needed to break a long journey and if it...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just what we needed to break a long journey and if it worked out we would choose to go there agaian

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    everything was as expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no bathtub in the bathroom

    Nice old Building redecorated into a Hotel. breakfast was good. great old train Pictures everywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too cold, because the heating was not properly working.

    The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Helpful and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful and kind staff. Great location in the middle of Schleswig. Great rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Good overnight Hotel to stay while on tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy

    Clean and in a lovely town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Something like ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of fashion colors furniture and all over looks in the room. Bathroom a little worn out

    Awesome breakfast, central point, clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel with a good breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Good value for money, clean comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent room, very good choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    The hotel had not registered my reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had not registered my reservation. Probably it is booking.com Who had failed. Luckily they had one room back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.5
    good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good service, good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    Nice central hotel, clean and tidy, there is a restaurant in the hotel and good parking facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work in the room but downstairs in the dinningroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff were so welcoming, polite and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It would add a little extra comfort to be able to heat water for an early cup of morning tea in tea room, but the room was very good as it was.

    The staff were so welcoming, polite and friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.3
    Beautiful building and great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wi-fi didn't reach my room properly and I gave up on trying to use it. No tables available at the restaurant

    Beautiful building and great rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.5
    + Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - building site in front of hotel - overworked staff - rather basic facilities

    + Location excellent + friendly staff altogether + good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    Old building repurposed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old building repurposed

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    A very comfortable, old charming building in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately WiFi connection was not up to the expected level.

    A very comfortable, old charming building in the center of city of Schleswig.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast W-lan

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Great breakfast with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very slow WiFi

    Great breakfast with good service

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.5
    I stayed for one night enroute to Sweden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed for one night enroute to Sweden. The hotel is in a good location, a few minutes walk away from the local harbour and marina.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and friendly staff. .

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is situated quite close the the Dome, Holm houses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite complicated to get on the Wifi system.

    The hotel is situated quite close the the Dome, Holm houses and a marina.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: