Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt 3 stars

Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 82490 Farchant, Germany

#6 of 9 hotels in Farchant

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast which was included in the price was very limited with no choice of eggs, no grilled sausages/ potatoes/tomatoes. There were no cakes or muffins and coffee and tea were too not good. Overall not worth the price we payed for one night.

    The location is good and scenic with big comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts at 8 a.m. At 7.55 a.m., 15 people were waiting in the lobby for the breakfast room to open. Not recommended if you like to start your day early...

    Large room, comfy bed. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay, just one stop to Garmisch. The public transport is well organized. Friendly staff, and a very good breakfast. Would recommend it without hesitation. I will be back. Britta

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no salmon & sparkling wine on Sunday with breakfast as advertised.

    It was clean and warm! The shower was very hot and water pressure amazing. It was close to downtown & offered a great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No balcony with a few of the Zugspitz this time.

    Stayed at hotel on several occasions. Would stay again, the restaurant downstairs is really good. Not to far from Garmisch or activities in the area. Bahnhof is a few meters away, great public transportation just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C or fans.

    Morning breakfast was super. The view from our balcony was perfect! Could see Zugspitze! The room was warm due to no air conditioning and because a herd of cows would walk down the street at 5:45 and the bakery opened at 6 a.m. there was a bit of noise. I found it enchanting; however, my college-age kids were not quite as impressed. There were perfect trails for early runs and it was only about 15 minutes to the train for Zugspitze.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were hard to find. Couldn't get coffee in the morning. Local restaurants indifferent.

    Nice accommodations, pretty and quiet setting. Cows brought in from fields in late afternoon through streets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice but walls were thin and loud guests, like usual, have to talk loud. Only one pillow in my single room but luckily I brought my own, too.

    The hotel was very nice and cozy and very close to everything that Garmisch has to offer. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and had a mix of both breakfast items and lunch. Provided me a whole large carafe of coffee which was unexpected but appreciated. Only three items on the menu, all schnitzel, but oh what a schnitzel! Receptionist and Martin the waiter both spoke good English. Only spent one night but I'd go back; value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only worked less than part time. Rugs in room were filthy. No soap in dispenser in shower. We were advised that breakfast was included and then charged on checkout

    Location to train. Scenery. Free tourist passes to the bus

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed overnight as a single traveller. Sizeable and very clean / comfy room. Good location for Zugspitze / Eibsee. Staff were friendly & helpful. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff laughed at me and said if I wanted breakfast included I shouldn't have used booking.com. Bathroom was dirty, hair from other people on wall, shower leaked. Stuffy. Balcony room overlooked busy street - with motorbikes, construction trucks and more. Extremely extremely noisy. No way to block out the light. Balcony views they show in the ad is over the street - and the view wasn't great as it is in the picture. Also next to a bakery (which was useful for breakfast) but at 0400 they were loading trucks with baked goods, it was very noisy. Worn carpet in room and hallway. No wireless in room, only in 'common areas' which translates to a very small waiting area at the front desk, which was attached to the kitchen. That area looked nice, if small, but with only three seats it was too small for being the only place with wireless. The kitchen made the whole hotel smell like fried food.

    They had a garage we could keep our bicycles in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one person at the reception desk was also working other things, so they may or may not be around. There are lots of questions to answer when staying at hotels in Germany; an English version of the form required by the German government would be nice, since I don't speak German and they don't speak good English. WIFI is in common areas only, not in your room.

    This hotel is in a good location. It's not far from Neuschwanstein Castle, Garmish, or anything fun in that area. The breakfast was stellar. The room was plenty big and had a great view of the Alps. Off-street parking was available. It was always fairly quiet at night, until cattle (?) walked by the hotel every morning around 5 a.m.. Their restaurant is DELICIOUS.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oops as I mentioned above , the old dated and stained carpet throughout . Changing this to wood or laminate ( anything but carpet) would brighten it up so much . We really loved the location !

    The property was very nice and plenty of room for all of us. The only recommendation I have would be replace the old stained carpet with some laminate or wood flooring as it would make the entire place feel so much cleaner . Loved the authenticity German resteraunt attached , absolutely delicious ! I would certainly stay there again !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a smell of cigarette smoke in the Lobby and up to the second floor. However, I did not smell it in the room.

    This is a beautiful Hotel with an Old German style about it. We had a corner room on the second floor with a balcony that overlooked a busy corner bakery as well as several restaurants. That corner was also the gathering spot each morning for some of the local dairymen as they herded their cows to pasture for the day. At 5:30 each evening, the cowbells signal the cows returning from the pasture and separating at this corner to go to their own barns. The breakfast was outstanding and the Hotel Restaurant's authentic German food was excellent as well as was filled by 6:00 to 6:30 each evening. The meals were really a fair price. There are other restaurants in the area, but we were pleased with this one. There is a train station for local travel about 150 yards from the Hotel as well as a tourist and travel stop. Parking is free, so is the WiFi, but only in the Lobby. The beauty of the homes, the yards and the flowers boxes was stunning. Garmisch, Mittenwald, Zugspitze, Neuschwanstein, Lindenhof, Oberramagau are all nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place reeked of stale cigarettes, could not leave balcony door open, even when it was hot inside the room, due to the allowance of the staff for patrons to smoke on the balconies. Staff smoked inside the reception area. Wifi was nonexistent in the room, had to go into hallway to go online.

    Had a nice breakfast, good location for hiking, biking, site seeing, and really close to Bahnhof. Good restaurant to eat at for dinner. If you want to sleep in on vacation, breakfast does not start until 0800hrs, for us, that is late. especially when you need to be on the trailhead early. Ample parking, within walking distances for biergartens, restaurants, and Garmisch is just a short train/bike/or car drive away.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t good in the rooms

    Extremely close to the station, very friendly staff, comfortable room, great food for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cowbells in the street under our balcony! Great rustic scene.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi doesn’t work in the rooms

    It’s in a very good location and the breakfast buffet was incredible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI wasn’t very good. And no WIFI in your room.

    Great service and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow internet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Straff in the Restaurant could have been friendlier.

    For passning through it was OK

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff is helpful. a cosy restaurant is located in the property. only a short drive to ski areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came back after a evening out, there was no parking due to a event at hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, dinner and breakfast. Great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi only available in reception area

    Excellent food and spacious public rooms and restaurant; relaxed slightly dated feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very kind and helpful staff. wonderful litle town and I loved to se the cow walk down the street and the bell klinging around their necks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    It was very cute

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast.

    The cows walking down main Street at 6 am going to get milked. I loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimal English speaking staff. A change to my reservation was not related to the hotel correctly which caused my room to change.

    Affordable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manageress was friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. Only one heater and was not warming up the room. Heater in the bathroom was not working. No Wi-Fi connection.

    Spacious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little mold/mildew in shower

    Clean, good breakfast, nice restaurant and bar. Clean bathroom, good English TV.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not free with rooms that have balconies!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All in all very nice, Freindly staff neat and tidy nice Breakfast and evening meals " Thumbs up"

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant personel during the dinner. Beds really bad.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift (for us "oldies")

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in very poor condition

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Martin was not so nice. We did not have dinner in restaurant due to him and went across the street to other hotel with better customer service.

    Lady Martina was so nice and full of customer service. The night guy Martin not so friendly. We decided not to eat dinner in restaurant because he was not so nice. Room rate was ok would have been perfect if it included breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location is great for ski resort of Garmisch-Partinkirchen. Breakfast is very good and more than enough to set you up for the day. Free wi-fi. Adjacent restaurant has good selection of local dishes and drinks.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything is fine. hotel is room was clean and big enough. liked this country style hotel. Garmish-Panterkirchen is very close to the countryside. there is free parking. Alps from the hotel window.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought I booked a double room for our honeymoon and we got there and it was a single bed. The room was tiny! Staff was rude. I thought I had booked a room with breakfast and she charged us both for breakfast, but my husband double the price I paid The shower leaked out of the bathroom onto the carpet

    Short drive to Garmisch

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff is very kind and friendly. I had supper in the restaurant's hotel and it was good and fresh, excellent value money wise. Great area for sightings.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was dreadful, unfriendly staff, beds were particularly uncomfortable

    Restaurant next door was great and the staff were so friendly! really helpful and fun!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would not recommend the hotel to anyone. The carpeting was worn & dirty. I removed the pillow cover to find a dirty pillow with blood stains. Wifi worked intermittently. Everything in the hotel reeked of stale smoke. Hairdryer was terrible, looked like a portable vaccume cleaner in refers, did not dry hair. Entire hotel needs an updating. no one was ever at the reception desk.

    The breakfast area, the restaurant and Biergarden were all very nice and the food was good.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator, tiny TV with no English stations

    Lovely personnel, delicious food in restaurant, free parking, nicely renovated bathroom, plenty of hot water for a shower.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Finding the hotel in the dark was challenging since the signage is not significant. When you check in, either go through the restaurant to reception or go to the side of the building and enter from there.

    Location of hotel is excellent; we had a double and a quadruple room which were excellent in size. We ate at the attached restaurant, which was really convenient. Parking in the rear of the building is free. Breakfast was good also. At first, the credit card machine wasn't working, and I had a panic attack. They got it fixed, however.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Close to the restarant is good.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not much to do in the area. Have to have a car to visit the surroundings.

    Restaurant was good but they close early.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    The host lady was super friendly and understanding.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was excellent! Pure German, pure Bavarian!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Super friendly and helpful staff, great dinner, rooms clean and comfortable, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loud singing until late in hotel beer garden

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1-Low quality breakfast 2-impolite recepition staff. 3-uncomfortable room 4-unavailable wifi

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view is nice and I like the balcony of the room.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel looks much better from the outside, inside is a bit dirty, especially carpets require cleaning.

    Good location. Easy to get.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were not many parking places.

    The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed my stay. The restaurant is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast too late

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sour smell of the air outside.

    The staff were all VERY nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant service took 2 hours to bring us a schnitzel! We were falling asleep at the table.

    Location was nice

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: