Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altera Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Mottenstraße 13 / Im Herbartgang 23, 26122 Oldenburg, Germany

#10 of 24 hotels in Oldenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 647 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing hotel and great location from which to enjoy Oldenburg city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We could have done with a small fridge in our room to keep our drinks cold.

    The rooms were large and comfortable, especially the beds. Big TV! Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Help with car park which was difficult to access due to works on square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.8
    The room in the hotel itself (for Mr. Rik Kempers) was too poor ....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 2 loft rooms were excellent ! No complaints ! the room in the hotel itself was poor ( my collegue had to sleep with the lights on because otherwise the ventilator was shut down too). Because of no airco he had to sleep with the ventilator on. and therefore with the lights on.....!

    The 2 loftrooms. Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice comfy place in Oldenburg
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to cross the mall and find the separate entrance to reach our "loft Rooms" was, at first, somewhat strange! But once we found it, it was brilliant!

    We stayed in the Loft rooms of the hotel, in another building than the hotel itself. It has a separate entrance, and we found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean and modern. We enjoyed the very central location of the hotel and would definitely choose to go there again if we had the occasion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice design. Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a first floor room with window to the street. We stayed there on s Saturday night, The whole night through there was a lot of noise from people coming from the nightclubs. The sound insulation eas so poor that it felt like the people were in the room with you. If you want to sleep, choose another hotel.

    Design and space of the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    All in all, nice place to stay for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound system was not working and a lamp in the room. We stayed on Saturday and it was quite loud due to the drunken people coming from the bar street

    Sweets at the reception, comfy bed, TV at the bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Neat hotel directly in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some noise coming from the bar across the street all night, which is only a problem if you want to keep the window open.

    Nice hidden hotel directly in the city center. Modern but cozy furniture, well equipped rooms. Friendly staff, parking right across the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and high standard accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could give more information e.g. how to access the annexe when the gate was shut. Website could include info on car park. Breakfast staff were struggling to keep up e.g. refill dishes, juice, glasses. The pillows were very soft and flat! There is no minibar or safe.

    We were in a Loft room so had to walk to the main building for breakfast but it wasn't a problem. Good breakfast buffet. Room was huge and bathroom especially shower was excellent. It was very quiet, our room overlooked roof and fire escape. The car park is almost opposite the hotel and cheap. It was closed on Sunday but the hotel have special keycard access. Location right in centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    5.8
    The devices in the fitness center were in a bad state, not...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The devices in the fitness center were in a bad state, not safe, not clean. The showers spread water everywhere, the sink was blocked. Very small elevators. One couldn't access the roof area despite it was announced as a hotel feature.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    5.4
    Great location and good room for non-adult size person who do not care dirty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room was dirty - It is not possible to stand straight in the shower and neither one of us is not even 2m tall - No air conditioning in the room - During the breakfast the manager was loudly complaining problems in the breakfast room to the staff member in front of customers

    + Location is superb + Friendly staff at the front desk

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    Great modern hotel 5 minutes from centre of Oldenburg & very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little noisy as it was above a side alleyway used by shop workers but didn't affect sleep

    Staff were friendly and very helpful; great location and modern hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    It is worthwhile visiting Oldenburg and the best recommendation is to stay at the Altera hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in the center of Oldenburg and it is conveniently located to walk through the pedestrian center. All shops and restaurants are within this area. Oldenburg has the oldest pedestrian center in Germany. I can highly recommend the hotel and a visit!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Modern hotel, and very large room, bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel, and very large room, bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for a city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loft room was very nice. Breakfast was impeccable. Lounge was really nice. Location perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    I hate a great time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wifi staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    No Bar
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bar Did not get the room type I booked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom and the stuff

    the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.2
    Great restaurant and wine bar, cosy studio room, welcoming...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Studio room was in another building, no elevator.

    Great restaurant and wine bar, cosy studio room, welcoming lounge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to access through Gate at night a new card was needed on four out of five nights

    Lounge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great Place to spend a Day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sad only a few old places to visit.....

    Great room... Great location... Really great staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    We will be back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our room and location! Breakfast was fabulous and their restaurant and bar was lovely to enjoy and evening glass of wine!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice location in centre of Oldenburg, comfy beds and big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could maybe do with a little TLC

    Nice location in centre of Oldenburg, comfy beds and big selection at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    8.8
    The rooms were very spacious and well-equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    On our second night we were woken to very loud music at 1am in the morning. I called reception and was advised that if this is the party mile this is legal. If the hotel are aware of this they should soundproof the windows. In the end we were provided with earplugs at 2am but it was already too late and we already had broken sleep.

    The rooms were very spacious and well-equipped. The buffet breakfast was very nice and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    7.5
    It was easy to get to and in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We barely got any sleep. It is a very VERY loud hotel between hearing anything and everything outside (you can hear someone play a piano in the piano store across the street through a closed locked window) neighbors talking, and on the last day construction.

    It was easy to get to and in a good location. Our room was very big and the staff were all very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location in Oldenburg, close to the hospital,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location in Oldenburg, close to the hospital, close to shops and restaurants, quiet location. Free sweets everywhere, so be careful, if you're staying longer might add to your weight ;-)

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.2
    Best thing is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Rooms are not in the same building with the reception, lobby, and breakfast area. الغرف موجودة في عماره منفصله عن منطقة الفطور و الخدمات و اللوبي تبع الفندق

    Best thing is the location. As it is located in the heart of the city. Services, restaurants and shopping shops are all around. أفضل شيء هو الموقع. الفندق قريب من المطاعم و الخدمات ومحلات التسوق

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff. great fresh design. Good combination of fantastic meeting rooms, brasserie etc.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    7.9
    The dvd movies
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The dvd movies

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    8.3
    THE Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    WLAN

    THE Friendly staff

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Altera Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: