Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altora This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstr. 24-26, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#14 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1686 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nil

    My usual place to stay in Wernigerode. The hotel is ideally situated for those who are here for the Harz steam railway, you can watch the locomotives being prepared for use whilst having breakfast. The delivery of drinks and desserts by model steam train in the restaurant is a novelty(assuming you get a window table). The staff were helpful and courteous. There is a lift to the upper floors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. I have stayed in about 30 hotels these last 3 months and for sure this rates as one of the top and good value

    Great hotel situated right across the road from the Harz Railway steam loco depot so great for photographers such as myself

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Whilst the hotel's free wifi appears to work on I-phones it doesn't work on lap tops unless you still have the old Internet Explorer as your browser.

    This was our third stay at the Altora which we like as it is close to the railway station and just a few minutes walk into the Old Town. We were pleased that, this year, there were no bus tour groups staying there. The staff always try to be helpful and most speak some English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room overlooking the railway, the minus point is the busy main road at the front of the hotel even at night with lorries and emergency services passing by, as our 100 euros a night room had no air con and baked by the 28C sun during the day meant having the windows open hence a poor nights sleep.

    Ideal location for the Harz Railway just opposite the hotel. English speaking and polite efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very poor customer service from reception staff. There were problems with the room which should have been noticed by the household staff on room preparation. I went to reception to report the issues and was then made to wait over 30 minutes after reporting the issues to the two reception staff who then ignored me and went off doing other duties having told me they would resolve the issues. Another member of staff then came to deal with me. Unfortunately when this lady came to resolve the issues she could not resolve the issues as she brought an item which also did not work and she could not access the room safe as she had the wrong code. Obviously the management has a few issues to address with better staff training.

    Very handy for station as my trip was to travel the whole Harzbahn system.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was fantastic, welcoming , as we speak little German was helpful that their English was so good. Service and food was very good. A must for train enthusiasts , delivering drinks to the table on a model railway , was entertaining for young and old customers. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant rather stuffy (but excellent meal) Road fairly noisy.

    Proximity to steam railway! Easy walk into town. Great view of railway yard from our room. Beer delivered to seat in bar by model train!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel on a geat spot. Very nice historical town center and as a fan of trains, I would say beautiful view on a historical train steam trains. Cheers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff very helpful they even went to the trouble of translating the menu from German to English for us Very tasty food had evening meal in the restaurant Great base for the Harz steam Railway booked a room over looking the Station great will definitely be going back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee-making facilities in the bedrooms would have been welcome, but I appreciate that this is a British practice that hasn't found its way to the continent yet.

    Location excellent, within 6 minutes walk of railway station and bus terminal and from the HSB steam railway station. Also within 5 minutes walk of the beautiful town centre. For a steam railway lover, there cannot be a better hotel location than overlooking the locomotive preparation yard. Very atmospheric and authentic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    A great hotel near to the narrow gauge railway and the town. Great staff very helpful. Restaurant very good also even on busy nights. Its railway themed which is well done, and a good range of beer and wine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although there were two bottles of complimentary water in the room it would have been nice if tea/coffee making facilities were available either in the room or somewhere on site (vending machine?).

    We stayed in room number 10 which is a railway room and we had an excellant view of the steam locomotives. The room is on the ground floor and well placed for the restaurant etc. The parking was good and we were able to park safely on site. The restaurant menu was varied and the little steam train that delivered the drinks was a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe have better pillows. Just that!

    Nice breakfast.the food at the restaurant very good.we usually don't eat at The hotels we stay but this was good. The kids meal has also a small gift. My son loves the fact that our drinks were brought by train. (he loves trains and we went to wernikerode for his birthday. He had his best birthday ever. From the restaurant you see old lokomotives in their station.we took one that took us up to the mountains.) Staff in great and helpful.it is one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stated. Everything perfect!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in a nice town. Good architecture and interesting interior. Breakfast is excellent. Personnel is very accommodating. And small models of steam locomotives delivering by rails coffee to your table in the restaurant is so exiting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was somewhat slow.

    This is a fine hotel near the railway and bus stations. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, and the staff friendly. The dinner served in the hotel's restaurant was excellent. (Bonus for railway fans is that the drinks and the bill are brought to you by a model train, which also transports your payment away.) The breakfast was good, too. Highly recommendable place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room

    This is the best hotel we have stopped at in Germany and great for that Harz steam railway. Good very good. Good section of drinks. And I had a lovely room . Staff so helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We order fish code but it was so salty and could not finished it.

    During our dinner, We were surprised that out drinks came to the table by the little steam train.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the "railway room" but on arrival was given a downstairs room with a view of the bar tables (and associated umbrellas) outside the hotel, beyond which the railway could just about be seen. On pointing out the error I was given a room on the first floor, from whch the view was a lot better, but still obstructed a little. A room on the second floor would have been much better - but as the lift was out of orfer I settled for the compromise. They should not regard every room at the front of the hotel as a "railway room", whether it has a view or not!

    As I had come to the area to ride the Harz narrow gauge railway system this was the obvious hotel to stay in - opposite the steam train depot. I ate in the restaurant (book, especially if you want a window table, which I did). I so enjoyed having my drinks delivered by the (very good) scale model train that I am afraid I ordered rather more than I probably should have done! You're only old once... Other nights I found good eating places within a ten minute walk in the pretty old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing said that there was a busy main road right outside the front of the hotel between the hotel and the railway.

    Railway view and model railway delivery. Railwayana, pictures and posters.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar would have been better if it was a proper fridge. Didn't get anything cold enough. A kettle would have been nice. No soap provided for the bathtub or the hand basin but fixed to the wall in the walk-in shower. Hotel did provide sachets when asked for them.

    plenty of room in suite - nice view of the steam trains.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There weren't really enough plug sockets, if I remember rightly, and the pillows weren't very comfortable. They were those square ones which were much too soft. These are just minor quibbles though.

    We had a fantastic room with a great view of the steam railway shunting yard (not everyone's cup of tea, admittedly. But you probably come to the Hotel Altora for the trains anyway). You could smell the soot in the room (and this is a good thing). The breakfasts were lovely in a room overlooking the shunting yard so that you could watch the steam engines getting ready for their day's work. Gallons of delicious coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass bathroom/shower- not enough privacy Small room Noisy road with ambulance sirens all night Had to keep windows open at night- no a/c resulting in bugs in room Could have been cleaner No edge on slow draining shower resulted in flood! Expected more for $200 a night

    Historic district Able to accommodate four in one room Lift

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in the roof of the building with a very small hatch window with no view unless stood on the bed. We stayed in the 'loft', room 301 that's not even signposted and as though only an 'emergency room'. We requested a different room as it was small, on the side of the main road and noisey. According to the receptionist we couldn't change room as none were available, however, according to Booking.com, they were. It's not a bad hotel but for the money I paid (99 Euro) for one night, average overall.

    Breakfast was quite good and the hotel is close to the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff could be a better. On-site parking was limited.

    We stayed at the hotel purely for the location next to the old steam train station. We really enjoyed having breakfast while watching the trains come in and out, and for taking the train up the Brochen. Other than that the hotel was standard, and nothing overly special. Within walking distance to the old town centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel fronts a busy street and is near to a fire station as well. There was a constant noise of sirens, not only fire engines, but ambulances too. The breakfast was basic.

    Our Superior room was very good, clean and spacious. It was in an adjacent building and seemed very new. IThe ensuite was very good with a walk in shower. There was a drying rack too. Wifi was free and fast. Our view across to the refuelling yards for,the steam trains would would,provide endless entertainment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    l have nothing to complain about everything as stated .Was of good standard.

    Location was for my visit was very convenient . Staff very helpfull friendly. l am returning in September .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't know. Perhaps a jug in room so can make a cup of tea or coffee.

    Large room; separate toilet and shower each with own basin; big screen tv; excellent view of old locomotives - see them being filled with coal, etc.; near station, bus and centre of town; good breakfast with good variety; staff all pleasant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - I love it!

    This is my 5 stay at Altora and my only used hotel in Werningerode. It's Perfect for me. Sort way to HSB, has great restaurant. Bad cola to drink, but beer and diner is superb - Nice to get the driks by LGB-Train. Werningerode is a old town which is a must for Travelers, just as Brocken-Bahn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A larger blanket in the single room

    Friendly staff, who spoke little English but tried their best to accommodate. Excellent food at the restaurant and the model train was a fun addition. Close to the train station for easy accessibility

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved the restaurant drinks delivery by miniature steam train! Excellent views from the restaurant of the real things just across the road. Very close to the Old Town centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Incompetent staff.I was charged for a room that we did not need even though we told them on arrival. We were unable to get through before arrival. Only when leaving was payment demanded for this room. If we had been told we had to pay we could have used this room. Their excuse was the girl on reception was Russian & didn't understand English or German.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel overlooks the steam engine depot. Perfect scrambled eggs and good choice of meats at breakfast. Excellent evening meals. Unique delivery of drinks and desserts by model steam train.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An extra pillow in the room :-) but then again I could have asked for one and would have got it.

    Everything....cant fault the hotel or staff , absolute first class....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking can hold about 20 cars only, which is actually quite a lot! Easy in and out!

    Friendly staff. Great food in restaurant attached. Cleverly designed rooms, very clean and well maintained!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was a little limited; the selection of fruit was not so good and there was only the one flavour yoghurt (I only like plain). The rolls were good.

    The train which delivered the drinks in the bar. The food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel had a restaurant but now lounge which would have been auseful facility during the week's stay

    Location was convenient for station, hotel was clean and pleasant. Enjoyed the railway theme and view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were fantastic and so helpful. For steam train lovers it is a perfect location. Can watch working steam locos from hotel! Even drinks delivered to table by model train! Hotel was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the first floor rooms near the back entrance are noisy due to the rear door slamming. Parking can be tight when the hotel is full.

    A nice location, especially if you like trains. There is a steam train yard across the street and if you sit at the right table in the dining room, your drinks will be delivered by train also. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was surprisingly good and plentiful with more variety than we expected.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not work in our room, and staff were slow to come to check-in desk

    Great location very close to train station and overlooks the steam train yard. Only a few minutes walk to main town square and shops, clean and tidy facilities and the train theme is a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice, spacious bedroom with large bathroom. Modern style. Staff were very friendly with great service. Getting beer delivered to your table on a model railway was an interesting highlight.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are travelling alone, be prepared to be seated in the dark back room for breakfast. The nice breakfast room with a view of the Wernigerode curiosity, steam locmotive, is reserved for couples only.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A typical German Quisine was lacking, very large portions. Small meals poor quality.

    Location- room overlooking the Steam Rails made our visit special.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interesting smell in room, I believe it's new construction in the villas so it faded with a cracked window.

    Location next to steam engines was a bonus for the kids! Hotel staff were amazing and even set up high chair and kids silverware and cups for us at breakfast without us asking! Good German breakfast buffet was a nice free bonus! The local is excellent for walking downtown and if your taking a DB train. Not far from bahnhof.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving too late so I missed having a meal in the restaurant.

    The view from the window at breakfast - unfortunately I arrived late and I did not manage dinner. But your drinks can be delivered to your table by Model Train.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was very small. If I had been staying for more than one night, I would have asked to change rooms.

    The hotel has a railway-themed restaurant, overlooking the HSB and main line railways. It is an old building, well converted and extended. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to be careful not to bump head at toilet as ceiling sloped, but this is an old building and everything was clean and worked well

    Friendly staff. Located opposite steam trains which you can watch from terrace or dining room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The latest you could order a meal for was 8.00 pm The bar closed at 10.pm Morning staff sullen The old town was deserted in the evenings - I thought that the zombie holocaust had started!

    Proximity to the Harz Mountain Railway Evening staff pleasant The beer arrived by train! Food was good Clean comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk clerk spoke very little English. One of my friends was asked to pay the local taxes in cash after paying for the room with a credit card (though I was not asked this), which I thought was odd.

    Great location for rail travelers and train enthusiasts - close to the main train station and overlooking part of the yard of the HSB steam railway. Hotel is also steam railway-themed. Short walk from the heart of the town of Wernigerode with many restaurants. Room was quite sizable and clean. Loved the restaurant, especially the model train that carried drinks to tables!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe make the parkinglot a little bit bigger, but that's nitpicking from our side :-)

    Very friendly,nice, helpfull staff who speaks perfect English. Large room, perfect location, nice price ! (we will come back next year, because this year our holidays got interrupted because I needed emergency surgery)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Breakfast is fine and better than many other alternatives. And also dinner is served in variaty of selections. Staff is also helpful.

    The best for a train enthusiast. Really good rooms with full comfort and always live steam locomotive view. All the station operations can be viewed from rooms. And it is near to HSB station. A railway company which operates more than 10 steam (coal burning) locomotives per day. Great location great staff. You need to check restaurant at night for train shipment of drinks.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an awful lot of noise from fire engines and ambulances...

    Views of trains! Breakfast was good. So was dinner. Loved having drinks brought to table on model train!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location with Dining Room and bedroom overlooking steam railway yards. Large, very comfortable rooms, car park on site, easy walk to old town tourist area. Excellent breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I could have stayed much longer

    This is about thr 5th time I have stayed here. It so convienient for the steam railway. All facilities here are excellent including staff. Also the beer is sent to your table on a model railway .Look forward to next year.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 10 is on the ground floor and although it looks over the railway, it's very noisy because of the road, but worse than that was the smokers standing outside the window, the resulting smell was disgusting.

    Excellent location overlooking the steam railway opposite. Restaurant looks over the same view and the tables next to the window have their drinks delivered by model train! Food was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Larger car park would be handy. Traffic noise was a little intrusive.

    Drinks delivered to the table by miniature railway. View from bedroom overlooking railway depot.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check out system very slow, almost missed train as was a bit of a queue.

    Great selection at breakfast and great views of the steam trains getting ready for the duties. Lots of railway memorabilia / pictures and a little train to bring beers around the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room, hard to walk between bed and wall. No air conditioning and room windows directly above terrace, smokers and talking a nuisance with windows open.

    Located opposite steam train yard. Near station and bus station Large bathroom but no bath.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location for train buffs, across the road from the station. The town centre is a few minutes walk, but this hotel has its owm good restaurant with drinks delivered by LGB trains! (ask for a window table). Train tickets availble from reception.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small and had no view out of the window.

    The model train in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff too formal. Noisy traffic at times

    Good location. Lovely food. Character

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room should have air conditioning.

    Good location and parking. Room very modern and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow cases irritated my sensitive skin, will bring my own if I return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little away from the city center.

    Very good breakfast. Free parking behind the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, well presented hotel. Convenient for town and railway station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the cooking was not up to the standard of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of beer

    Connections with HSB network

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the dining room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Railway Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a little odd and certainly did not give ones neck enough support.

    Railway theme and location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much English spoken

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of guest seating/rest area close to the bar

    Good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Convenient for the station, friendly staff, beer (and other drinks) delivery train in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train bringing your beer

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location with a view across to the Harz railway site but very quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the restaurant train brings beer not to all of the tables))))

    Nice, clean place, very comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Altora traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: