Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt-Pension-Potsdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Charlottenstr. 89, 14467 Potsdam, Germany

#17 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the staff member unlocked our room and came in while we were sleeping and said something loudly like "oh somebody is in here!". I thought it was kind of unprofessional. Rude enough that he came back minutes before checkout time to ask us to leave... Considering that we are a family with a little baby i think he should get a lesson in hospitality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The colour of the bed liner and bed sheets, and the towels. it smells clean but It just need some light colour. Red and purple is not a clean colour. Some pastel colour may be better.

    Nice room , good price, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in was stressful, they wanted to me to check-in before 7PM, which due to a delay in my flight was impossible for me to achieve. However, when I called the property they did agree to send someone, which they did. The guy they sent however could speak little to no English, so everything was done with sign language. I was told that as a business traveller that I would not have to pay the 5% city tax, but had to pay this anyway as communicating this to the chap would not have been possible. But the biggest drawback is the noise from the tram. If you want a good night's sleep, you can forget about it. Peace and quiet is only available during the hours the tram does not run! They also didn't leave any checkout instructions, which is a big shortfall for a place with no reception. I had to call and message to find out how and where to leave the keys.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    When door was opend, we found another person in our room. AIt was necessary to find out who was right and who has the right to live in the apartments . Finaly there was no light in the bath. Is it expected that the guests will feel good in the dark?

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding and towels could perhaps be washed at higher temperature.

    Big room with tall ceiling and windows, very central location: walking distance to shops, restaurants, parks, and palaces.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bedding for baby bed Can be challenging to park near the property Floppy/thin pillow

    Spacious appartment for a good price Well equiped kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    street noise outside windows/ bus line running late at night. but once I fell asleep it was fine.

    location as great, although there were repairs on city sewers so some barricades on sidewalk, Apartment itself was well equipped. Bed was big and comfortable. plenty of room in fridge for my provisions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The cleaning proccess was almost non existent, in my two week stay. I also had to ask for towel change every three days. Also I only saw a personnel of the pension, in the first day, when I payed upfront all the sum.

    The room was satisfying, with two single beds. The heating was excellent and the bathroom was small but clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. I think these people have got a downright cheek being able to let this property. This is one of only a couple of times in the last 40 years I have worn 2 pairs of thermal socks for bed We had to telephone for 20 mins to get an answer from the landlord to let us in to the property after a 6 hour drive. He then said that he only had 1 room for us instead of the 2 we had booked. In fairness this was not the landlord, he had sent someone else to take the flak. The rooms hadn't been cleaned properly as a leftover piece of pizza was found stinking in the fridge. The quilt cover and sheets stuck to your legs with static electricity as they looked and felt as if they were made of cheap pink bri nylon! You may say cheap is as cheap gets but we are now in Weiner Neustadt Austria at the Winrooms apartments and there is a 200% improvement and at the same money. Sorry 18 Euros more expensive here. This man should not be allowed to let these apartments as he is not a fit and proper landlord.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late, so didn't see anyone, but email communication was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent location, clean and well appointed room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no microwave oven sharp edged toilet paper holder could cause injuries

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I suggest to change the curtains to increase the darkness during the night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed duvets needed cleaning or better replacement

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed is actually two single beds pushed together.

    Very responsive and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address on Booking.com was given inaccurately, but the staff were very friendly to help us out

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lot of traffic noise. Would have been better if the curtains stretched right across the window!

    Well-situated, comfortable, nice floorboards

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no reception service. I tried to warn I'd be arriving at 10 pm and there was no answer. No one was waiting for me; i had to spend the night in another hotel. When I did manage to get in, bedsheets were dirty. They had not been changed. And there was again no one to talk to or ask for clean bedsheets.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was sqeaky. Be prepared that there is no elevator and so the luggage has to be carried up. Parking around the property can be difficult. I did not realize that I needed to make arrangements for parking. The owner has parking passes to nearby parking structure for $6/day - that is quite good. The worst thing was getting in touch with host to arrange for keys. There is no voice mail and since she moves between two properties she is not easy to reach. She will leave keys for late arrivals and all worked out but I had some stressful days.

    The place is very convenient to the center of town and also to the train station and public transport.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything was cool. Just need to be prepared for cash payment only.

    I was ther one night only, it wa clean and neat, everything was nice and rather pleasant. I didnt check on time, therefore needed to call the lady to let me in, but this was no problem, so plus for their flexibility.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not noise free - neighbours and passing trams.

    Easy service, and flexible arrival time. Equipped kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice studio apartment in the town center

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    owners unpleasant appearance and not accepting creditcards despite announcing to do so. The hotel should be avoidet.

    location

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Couple

    no receptionist

    location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just one pillow each and a bed that rather sunk towards the middle

    Great location, helpful welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise of nearby trams Hall and stairs lights weren't working

    Secure bike parking

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Browse Altstadt-Pension-Potsdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: