Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altstadt Spandau This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Wasserstr. 4+8, Spandau, 13597 Berlin, Germany

#569 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelling of the sink in the bath room. Towels were old and broken. Very low standard. Maybe good value for money for Berlin. But actually still quite far outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures of the hotel were nothing like the actual hotel. This was a bait and switch and we were quite angry when we arrived - had it not been 10 pm at night we would have never stayed there but it was late and we were exhausted from traveling. The hotel was actually two buildings and one was completed closed off with boards over the windows. The second building was open and we were directed there for check in. We walked through a tiny hallway with linoleum floors that were peeling and plaster that was falling off the walls. The whole building smelled bad. Our room was horrible. The windows were cracked and the bathroom window wouldn't even open. The floor was linoleum, peeling and sticky. I never took my shoes off. The bathroom was disgusting. The tub was dirty, there was no soap and there were several tiles missing from the floor. Getting into and out of the the tub was actually dangerous because it was so high. The room had no air conditioning so we had to have the windows open. At 4:30 am the hotel staff began taking the trash out - right underneath our window. Thanks for that. We went downstairs and the breakfast was just a pitiful little display of cheese and Tang Orange Juice. We checked out that morning and moved to another hotel.

    Leaving - we enjoyed checking out of this horrible hotel. I doubt we will ever use booking.com again if this is the type of hotel provided. It was the most disgusting hotel we've ever seen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, quiet location but 2 min. walk to pedestrian zone with shopping and restaurants, playground and river with green space just 1 min. walk away. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paint of the windows came off. The floor wasn't cleaned properly. The furniture was old and looked used.

    The dining room was full of pretty pictures of Berlin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I and my husband spent 2 days & one night there. Room was ok, clean, big & comfortable Breakfast was standard but still OK Location was perfect, near to the public transportation, shops and restaurants Wifi was good Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    School kids were on a trip there and very noisy screaming teenage girls running up and down the stairs..but it is a hostel as well.. The breakfast could have abit more variety and fresh fruit...

    Perfect location..the guy who booked us in was pleasant and funny....room was basic but clean..could do with a few more pictures on walls room was plain and basic needed abit more colour.. Overall good..... will be going back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The counter at the breakfast room is a bit inconvenient (located in a corner, so not many people can get their breakfast at the same time), so better do not have breakfast when most others do (it's cramped)

    The location is very convenient, just a hundred meters from Spandau old town (Altstadt)- breakfast choices included some unusual stuff, but for the less adventurous guests, all the "normal" ingredients were there too. While the place was noisy when we arrived, it was perfectly quiet at nightime.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location in a quiet area close to the river and city center which made our stay very pleasant. Not too far from Berlin center where you can get very easily with two main stations in 5 min walk. Staff very friendly and the place was very clean. It offered a nice breakfast with a variety to choose from. Our five year old got a sudden fever when all the Pharmacies where close near by and the reception lady was very kind to offer help and find us the medicine which they brought it to us very fast. Overall great value for money. We will go back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For the offered price level nothing should be added. Staff and owners doing their best in order to maintain attractive price for stay.

    Very clean, rationally equipped. Tasteful breakfast and very handsome staff. Attractive price and good transportation connections.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom very basic, but, warm & clean. Water hot, & one slept well. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is empty, just bed and small tv.

    Loved breakfast and the location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really this place sucks

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's was indeed a wonderful stay at the property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there is no lift in the house

    Helpful staff, delicious breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress need re newing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception's short opening hours. (not 24/7)

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much lol

    Nearly everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    relatively expensive due to the Berlin marathon

    good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception service can be 24 hours.We were waiting about 2 hours till 7am in the car.

    Everything was superb.Breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not receive wifi from our room.

    Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed smell in the room, bathroom equipment broken, towels not clean.

    Good wi fi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice staff, quiet and clean and good price

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse Hotel Altstadt Spandau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: