Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt Hotel 3 stars

St. Anna Gasse 9, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#9 of 14 B&Bs and Inns in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late getting to the property and reception would have been closed, but with a quick email beforehand they gave us a code to get our key, which worked perfect for us! The room was also very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has no lift. This information is not provided to the guests before. I arrived with a suitcase with 16kg and had to climb the stairs to the 4th floor. The manager just said "no lift; very old building"- Impossible to leave the luggage on the last day. The manager was there until 12.30. This is not a hotel. Just a building with rooms to let.

    Room comfortable and very well located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Tea / coffee-making facilities would have been welcome. We bought a little travel kettle which solved that one.

    Although very central and conveniently located for public transport and the airport shuttle, the hotel and our room were very quiet (except for my grandchildren, 5 and 7!). The room was nicely furnished and decorated and had everything we needed for our stay. Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants / takeaways on the doorstep, and we even found a little launderette nearby (back of Crown Plaza hotel) with two lovely ladies who do your washing while you explore the many playgrounds and sights Heidelberg has to offer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Pictures do not represent the actual rooms. 2. Weak to no wifi. 3. No airco 4. Rude manager when asking roomservice. 5. Cleaning is not standard! You have to ask for it. 6. Small and old breakfast and only 2 hours open instead of 3 stated on the internet. 7. Sheets on the bed with big holes and stains on it. 8. Room smelled like their was a dead rat in the room. We left early due to the reasons above. Tip: NEVER GO THERE EVER!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 30 nights

    The lack of air conditioning is absolutely f-ing brutal. Air conditioning is mindbogglingly absent in parts of Germany for some reason, and I absolutely suffered for some of the worse weeks during my stay in the month of July. Even if the temperature doesn't look so bad on the weather report, Heidelberg will shock you with its clammy, unrelenting humidity. I worked primarily with researchers at the university who were born and raised in Greece, and they universally complained about the heat and lack of air conditioning in Heidelberg, if that says anything. In the summertime it only seems to cool down to a comfortable temperature as late as 9:30 PM, or on some days, 11 PM. On those evenings, there was no recourse for me but to sprawl in front of my little battery-powered fan and pray for it to end. I stayed at this hotel for 31 nights while I was on a research trip (originally booked thirty nights through this website, and extended by one night after I arrived), so knowing when to open and close the window became a science. My room faced onto a quite small internal courtyard, which protected me from street noise, but meant that I had essentially no privacy. That courtyard is shared by guests at this hotel as well as the neighbouring hotel, which also evidently does not have air conditioning. On hot nights, everyone has their window open just a couple of meters away from each other, which means if you're on the phone, everyone's on the phone. If you're listening to music, everyone's listening to music. Before I realized just how transparent the sound in my room was to everyone else, one night I dared to play some music not particularly loudly on my little travel speaker later than one guest would prefer, and I caught him on his balcony evidently filming me from across the little courtyard with his phone, probably to post an angry video on twitter or whatever. That was a terrifying experience, and I lived like a quiet little mouse from then on.

    The staff really makes a big difference here. There is one dark-haired lady who was constantly helpful and smiling and friendly, and it cheered me up every day and made my stay so much nicer. She noticed I was hang-drying my hand-washed clothes, and offered to help with laundry for €8 a load, which freed up a lot of my time. It was also even more economical than the local laundromat, while also providing superior service: washed, dried, folded, and deposited in my room on the same day. She always accommodated my particular needs, and was always very flexible. My room was also exceedingly spacious, with plenty of storage and well-located electrical outlets. The staff are very friendly but also completely non-intrusive, so it came to feel like it was my own little apartment. The room key also works as a key to the outside door, so if you come and go at hours when the staff have gone home for the night, it feels even more like coming home to one's own private apartment. The hotel is fairly small with not a very large number of rooms, so you also won't likely run into other guests very much. Many mornings I had the breakfast room to myself. As an introvert on a long-term stay for work purposes, I found the privacy very relaxing. The hotel is ideally located. I worked in the Altstadt (old city), but this hotel is also just one street over from the main bus station, a department store, a number of pharmacies and drug stores, and a shopping centre that includes a grocery store that is open until midnight (closed on Sundays though, like nearly everything else in Heidelberg), and an Asian grocery store, giving me good access to comfort food while I was on this long trip. A hotel deeper in the Altstadt would not afford such convenience, whereas a hotel in Bergheim (the new part of town) would certainly feel more sterile, perhaps be more expensive, and not have such an easy walk to work (or sightseeing, if you're a tourist) every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was horrible. The windows couldnt be opened as it was right on the street. If you open the windows, anyone can peep in, and one person did! Without the windows open the room lacked ventilation. The beds were very uncomfortable and skewed.

    The place is in a central location. Close to bus stop and all major attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to a great area, but forget sleeping on a weekend!.. we didnt fall asleep until 3-4am.. it was so loud, with people partying in the area, really hard beds, no ac, no fridge,..

    It was a good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like to be too critical, especially when. I am pleased with the overall experience while traveling. All of the staff of this hotel is very pleasant and a pleasure to be served by. However, there is one young lady on the reception desk who gives you a feeling to be not a customer to be treated with any sign of friendliness. I certainly would like to return to this hotel, however.

    Garmisch Partenkirchen is a great place to get this alpine experience if you happen to be in Munich and you do not have the time to venture deeper into the alpine regions . It is just about an hour's drive from Munich. The Post Atlas Hotel may not fulllfill everybody's expectation of modernity, however, it reflects the charme of this Bavarian area, the prices are reasonable, the restaurant offers a variety of local dishes and the rooms are very clean. The location is excellent - right at the center of town. Unfortunately the train station is about a 20 minute walk away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find. Light hanging between 2 buildings right outside window on all night..

    Close to old town with plenty of restaurants and shops. Within walking distance of major monuments

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception was closing at 20.00.

    Single room had a very big and comfortable bed and it was super spacious! The wifi service was pretty good! Although no elevator, the room was at the 2nd floor so I didnt mind. Very helpful staff! Perfect location (on the central touristic street with many shops around and 1min from Bismarckplatz which is a transportation hub)! Very quick check in and out! Very clean room! Totally recommended for both business and leisure purposes! Good value for money!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini fridge in the rooms, keeping drinks cold was basically impossible.

    The reception was a pleasant smiling face, and the room fit our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closing the shutters does not allow for circulation of air inside the room. A fan or aircon would help.

    The ability to close the shutters and block out all noise from the busy street outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for the size and facilities. We have been to very well known 4 star hotels in big capitals that did not cost as much per night. Small room, lighting was bad, bathroom light goes on only together with the fan, which is very noisy. The bathroom roof wall was contaminated with fresh green fungus, the towel meant for the feet at the shower was was not clean. It was by far the worst hotel experience for us in europe. The morning staff at check out were fine, the evening lady that received us on our check-in day was not that friendly. At night we could not fall asleep because of sounds of footsteps over us in the rooms (maybe with this last point we were simply unlucky). All in all I would not recommend it to anyone anyways

    Location is excellent and for being in the middle of the city relatively quiet. although our ground floor room had a big window directly showing to the main street, which meant we had the blinds down all the time, because the curtains were apparently only for decoration and we were not allowed to close them!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms don't have aircon , but it didn't affect our trip

    Superb location and very helpful staff who helped us with best place for parking etc Smashing breakfast included in rate which was a nice surprise

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfy. I arrived very late but could still get my key without staff being onsite. I easily got to my room, showered and asleep without confusion.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was quiet but the sound of other guests in the hallways was very loud, even though the guests were speaking normally. I booked a triple room expecting a double bed and a single bed, but got a double bed and a pull out couch. Note: the check in time provided by booking.com is incorrect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and the weather was hot. The bathroom clean but very small.

    I liked the staff. They were kind. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    4th floor without elevetor and heavy luggage, no WiFi at 4th floor too. Bad for my business. And more importantly, host is not so friendly.

    Breakfast is included, and variety too. Location is ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While understandable in an old European city, the sink/bathroom was small.

    Convenient to public transportation and the significant attractions with an enjoyable atmosphere and excellent breakfast. Top value leading to a memorable experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location was EXTREMELY loud. Street noise, alley noise. People shouting all hours of the night. I do not recommend this hotel due to this specific reason.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe the breakfast serving room a little small but not such a big problem. No parking, the parking from Darmstadter Hof ist just around the corner and costs 15,5 Euro for 24h, 1,7 euro/hour.

    Great location just in the middle of Altstadt. Breakfast was ok, diverse enough. Big room, quiet.....the street St Anna is not so crowded.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom without paper and shampoo/soap

    Internet connection and localization

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be useful if parking information was provided

    Comfortable and spacious room. Very central but quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cold room - central heating always switched off in october, no elevator, no fridge

    close to the bus stop, close to shuttle bus stop

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with kitchenette

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator and the room was in the 4th floor

    The kindness of the persons

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good: comfy beds, clean room, quiet side, baby cod.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great host and great location. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress and pillow were a bit too soft

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit old, but doesnt matter for the price.

    Bed was comfy and room was quiet. Shower very good. Great room for the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. Didn't have good signage but not a big deal

    Great price and location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the decoration is a little bit old.

    the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss

    Super friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    nothing

    food was extraordinary

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, a lot of room, clean, well situated

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no check-in person in the evening; bad, soft bed; difficult to access by car

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator to carry luggage

    Cleanness of room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee-making facility in the room

    Friendly staff, clean, well organized environment, comfortable bed, spacious room, splendid breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work in my room on the top level. No lift.

    Spacious room and modern bathroom. Exceptionally helpful hotel owner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air con

    Very clean hotel,friendly staff, right in the center of town. Excellant bus/travel facility.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor comfort (awful bed), tiny TV screen, morning personel very unfriendly. Price too high IMO.

    Location is fine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, bed very low to ground.

    Clean, new--location great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unsmiling, surly manager. Repeatedly acted as though ANY question or request was an imposition. Our triple was on the fourth floor, with the beds up another level (75 steps up from lobby).

    VERY good breakfast. Wide assortment of food; excellent quality

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The central heating wasn't overly powerful in the room and, at one point, it was even turned off by the maid in the morning leaving the room freezing for when we arrived back in the afternoon. Not a lot of English spoken which was unfortunate for my boyfriend who doesn't speak German. I was not allowed to use any bathroom in the hotel on the afternoon of our departure when collecting our luggage, which left me pretty gob-smacked! Especially given that we had been paying guests for 3 nights.

    Great location, spacious room, powerful shower, good breakfast buffet selection

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Reception times are not very convenient. We had two rooms and got the key for the first room from a code-box. We were supposed to find the key for the second room in the first room but it was nowhere to be found. When we called the hotel about this they were annoyed, almost angry and reluctantly came half an hour later to open the second room. (The key didn't turn up). With one exception, the staff was not very enthusiastic about helping.

    Very much in the city center, clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking in hotel and one-way road. Turn car and live place in front of hotel is horrible, one end ends in road for pedestrian. No lift.

    Hotel is in center of old town, clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basically the rooms are poorly arranged. The fitted sheets were not very clean. It is ok to stay for 1 night but definitely not more. Most of the times there was no one to attend and when i had to check out i needed to pay the money for breakfast for which there was no one on the counter. I had to leave without paying which was embarrassing to myself. Also the bathroom was sufficient only to fit half of me and rest have had to be squeezed in with quite a lot of effort. Overall, the place is just ok, not good.

    I only liked the location.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no free Wifi. reception not open 24 hours. if you arrive late then you need a code to open the door and release the key. this was not obvious from the booking. no facilities per se

    central location in Alt Stadt, close to Bismarkplatz transport hub

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restrooms available at the lobby. Once you've checked out, you can't use a bathroom anymore. We stored our luggage behind the reception since our onward flight left late in the evening. After a nice afternoon in the old city centre we couldn't use the restrooms as they simply don't have any facilities outside of the rooms.

    Friendly staff, clean room, good variety at the breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only drawback was lack of an elevator for a room on the 4th floor. Walk up was a bit much but if you are fit and don't mind all the stairs not an issue. If you aren't up for that trek, ask for a rom on the 2nd floor...or third. Also paid WiFi was not big expense...1,40 Euro a day but was unreliable in room and had to sit on stairs to use. Might be better on lower floors. Parking although convenient was 15,50 Euro per night...standard for area so to be expected. Just glad to find it so close by.

    Hotel was very convenient to Altstadt at the shopping end so quieter than the restaurant/bar end yet an easy walk to get there. Breakfast was very good and room was clean and confortable. Felt very secure and safe in the area.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed and bed clothes were more "hostel private room" than hotel. No kettle in room. Heating timer is not adjustable (we arrived after staffed reception hours and after heating hours and so the first night was a bit cold)

    City is great. Hotel location is good. Breakfast was very good. Good value laundry service.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No elevator in the building. Room is very small

    Proximity to old city . Staff at reception is very hardworking and helpful. Adequate breakfast. Back rooms are quiet.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No free wi-fi and only german channels on TV. Breakfast was packaged food, very weak.

    Good location. Clean and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel was very well located. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast time is too short.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor access. No parking. Too close to shopping centre. Very noisy at night. No lift. No aircon.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Was a little difficult to find.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ariving at late evening was no problem. Keys are availabe from an electronic locker with your booking Nr.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi nowadays should be free

    Very confortable and centrally located hotel

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet, not for those looking for night time entertainment.

    Picturesque town, easily accessible by foot.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    expensive

    good location

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very basic. A bit dated.

    Location, cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed.

    The morning hotel staff. She is cheerful, knowledgeable and puts out a very good breakfast with all the coffee you can drink.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI in the top floor didn't work very well.

    Its placement.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: