Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Arch This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Haidplatz 4, 93047 Regensburg, Germany

#82 of 111 hotels in Regensburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was GREAT, the location was perfect and the hotel was very comfortable and cozy. It was really nice. That is definitely the hotel i will recomend to everyone staying in regensberg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emailed hotel afterwards about an item my small daughter left behind and got no response.

    Fantastic location in historic centre. Fantastic breakfast. Lots of character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention. I will definitely come back again

    Everything was great. Perfect for a short stay. Breakfast was awesome, room wonderful. The house itself very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, the double bed really small, we could hardly fit into the shower, breakfast was kind of dull.

    The design in the hotel was nice, and the lication very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would like a excirse facility, and pool .guess not practical in middle of old town.

    good location in the middle of old town bigger room than expected ,lovely walks runs along the banks of river , nice old cobbled streets and unique shops and old buildings to view, very safe at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet under roof beams so could not use it standing up. Banged head several times until lesson learned! Limited selection of hot food at breakfast - i.e. no full English but what was on offer was superbly cooked.

    A quaint single room in the attic. Beautiful furniture, beams and ambience. Very filling breakfast in great surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel is well maintained and the rooms are clean and comfortable. A plus is the very rich and good quality breakfast. The hotel is right in the centre but 5 minutes walk from the parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arriverd, only possibility for parking was public parking, but it was full, so we had wait about 30-40 minutes in th evening, for finding place for our car. Very small room. Very cold. Althoug I asked in request for warm room. Central heating was off and room was really cold till next day morning. Our window was covered with plastic, so we dinť have any view. Absolutly disproportion between such high price for one night and holtel quality!

    Breakfast was very good. Very good location, in historic centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking at the hotel as advertised and given the location the closest parking garage is a ten minute walk from the hotel.

    The location of the hotel was close to an excellent selection of bars, restaurants and sightseeing opportunities. The breakfast buffet was delicious with an excellent selection. Room was spacious and more than accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spend the worst night during the whole holidays in the Arch hotel not because of the watermarks on the ceiling and remaining bits of tore down fittings in the bathroom. My family (including 2 young kids) spend our worst night in this 4 star hotel because non of us had the chance to get some sleep before the nearby nightclub stopped beating (at 2:30 am) and the last guests left shouting the scene at about 3am. Obviously, one could close windows, however, closed windows become extremely uncomfortable at more than 30degC room temperature without any air con. We spend more than €150 (-10% because of complains) for a night(mare) in a beautiful historical building which has seen much better times, at least as a hotel. I visited this place various times before with very good experiences. Most probably, the management must have changed)

    Leaving the next day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a bit confusing. The Bismarck Parkplatz is new, near, well-lighted, and clean, but knowing to go there and then getting to it was a bit confusing. Not an issue, but could have been explained better on the reservation.

    Very nice mix of the old buildings and modern conveniences to preserve the history, but address modern expectations. Excellent breakfast and very attentive serving staff. There were families, a wedding party, and tourist couples all enjoying the hotel. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready (though we arrived late evening) Room was extremely hot and stuffy - no-one had thought to open windows adter dark to let cool air in Room was VERY noisy till at least 2am

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the square outside which is beyond the hotel's ability to change. It's the price you pay for such a central location.

    Great location in centre of old town. Good breakfast in lovely room A special word for Saskia, the receptionist - she dealt with a number of issues in a calm and very efficient manner and always with a smile - hotel manager take note that she is a very great asset to your hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No really, nothing to complain about!

    Exellent location regarding sightseeing and walking around in the beautiful old town. Lively sorroundings and a very special and well driven hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mobile Network and also the Wi-Fi connection is a bit poor,but I think this is because is an Old Building. But Enjoy Your Stay,cause its a Great Historic Hotel.

    Perfect Breakfast!Nice and Clean Rooms.Comfortable Bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking , off site parking cost 17 Euro , right next to a student halls , incredibly noisy , unfortunately only found the ear plugs in the morning ! Shouldn't really need ear plugs anyway

    Very central to restaurants and town and close to the factory .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was nothing that I really disliked about the hotel.

    A lovely old building with plenty of character, situated right in the heart of Regensburg Altstadt. Friendly and helpful staff, plus an excellent breakfast each morning, included in the price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely loud during the night. There were lots of young people out and about until quite late at night (around 3 a.m. and even later) and they were extremely loud, lots of screaming and lout laughter.

    It was central and perfectly located. Everything was reachable on foot. We really liked the location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking a fair walk away, rooms at front a little noisy and wifi not brilliant in rooms

    The location is great for walking round town and going out to eat, ice cream shops open till late!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and not very spacious.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too dark. Not enough lighting. Not so practical. Shower and bathroom very small.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was poor in my room but fair in other parts of the hotel

    Great location, very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dehumidifier is a little bit noisy.

    Located on the center of old town. Easy to approach historic sites and restaurants in good atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we can think of.

    Great value for the money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking place is 15 minutes walk, other then the site suggested!

    Big + nice room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, warm, staff a little stiff, they charged me more than they were supposed to.

    Right in the centre. Building of historic character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar/cafe closed at 10:00 which seemed a little early.

    Location was great! Front desk was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, rooms, stairs, stairs, stairs, noise from orher rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quirky old hotel which has been beautfully modernised. Well situated in old town. Lovely bar area which is not expensive.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is a little bit too distant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room, especially barthroom was very small and furnitures pretty old.

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit rambling as a labirynth

    central location, many shops nearby

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is a little narrow

    Clean and in the central of old city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in the old town. Very convenient for sightseeing and walking along the banks of the Danube.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    slow wifi

    very good breakfast with friendly waitresses, good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third bed

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laut die str

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well positioned in an entertaining town. Our bedroom was odd with two single beds head to toe in a long thin room. However, plenty of space and otherwise comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Couple

    There was no parking and although there were car parks near by with a discounted fee, this was not what I expected from the website. Also accessing the hotel by car was difficult through the pedestrian zone and indeed, when we left this was closed off so we had to walk..... The lift did not go all the way to the top floor, so we had to lug our cases around and up and down small stairs, no offer of help was made. The pillows where terrible. I had to sleep on the flat as the lumps of foam were just too much. A decent napkin at breakfast would have been good, not just the cheapest thing one can get!

    It was right in the town centre. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Lovely beds, but terrible pillows. There was a nice bar downstairs. The price included breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con, no mini bar/fridge. Noise from square at front of hotel, very loud and very late. In early morning, delivery trucks also very loud.

    Lovely hotel in centre of old town. Friendly staff, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Because the weather had been hot and the innenstadt is noisy, air conditioning would have been a real plus. The windows are very sound proof but we needed them open to cool the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was on the side facing the square and that seemed to be busy both night and day. With the window shut the noise was tolerable but because of the very hot weather it needed to be open. So very noisy.

    The hotel is well built, well maintained and the room was reasonably comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Its central position made walking anywhere in the altstadt very easy.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Because our stay coincided with jazz festival and our room looked out on main square, it was extremely noisy at night & hard to fall asleep. A/C in the room would have really helped!

    Spacious quiet room. Hotel had wonderful location & ambience (very old building completely modernized)

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The advertised WiFi did not work at all during our two-night stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Situation, in the heart of the old city. The hotel itself is wonderful. Breakfast perfect. Overall opinion very positiv

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great hotel with a lot of space in a central location. Halls are a maze like the city streets. Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was a bit small for the price

    Staff very nice and helpful. Breakfast very good and hotel very clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No a/c?

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location in old town.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was difficult and expensive.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The courtyard outside our room was noisy.

    We were there only a short time but the staff were courteous.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mein Zimmer war wahnsinnig laut, man hörte jede Bewegung der Nachbarn. WiFi war ziemlich schwach.

    Service ist sehr nett. Gute Lage

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Helpfulness of staff.Location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some outside noise due to hot weather and windows open

    Location in city centre

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to report

    we had everything we needed for a short stay

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor wifi in room

    location, cleanliness

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Altstadthotel Arch traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: