Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Molitor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Obere Mühlbrücke 2-4, 96049 Bamberg, Germany

#12 of 36 hotels in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in requires precision. Works till 1900 hrs.

    Very nice inside. Kids liked to stay in old style room but clean and upgraded at the same time. It was indeed very different old style design. Worth seeing. Breakfast was good at a reasonable price. Location perfect. Parking just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    very comfortable B&B in good location but remember to arrive early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception closed at7pm. When travelling a distance it is not always possible to accurately predict a time of arrival. We were given a code to let ourselves into the hotel but there was no personal contact and no one to provide local information most especially as to the location of parking

    the room was lovely and spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent and a substantial buffet breakfast was served. The location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in the old part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Characterful hotel beautifully integrated into an old mill building. Room was cool enough despite the extreme heat outside. Staff were very helpful, particularly with the interesting hotel parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot during our stay and there was not even a fan in a room situated right under the roof with only small windows. Ended up being extremely hot. The fact that no personnel is available after 7pm made asking for a fan (or two) impossible (whether or not fans were available). Also, while the beds were confortable, the sheets had holes and the pillows were made of fold up material (could not figure what).

    The size of the room, the wooden beams in the room : quite a nice room (but for the heat). The hotel is extremely well located in what is a small town. Haven't tried the breakfast as we had it across the street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel at excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid parking available at hotel but narrow entry. Reception desk unmanned after 19h

    Very nice authentic room Hotel located near waterfront Friendly and helpful reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming Bamberg hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a four bed room and one of the beds was very soft.

    Very charming place that was really fresh. The breakfast for 7 euro per day and person was amazing for that price. Location was super central as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in the heart of Bamberg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for a stay in Bamberg - clean, bright rooms & friendly staff. Good value for the price. Parking garage (at cost) a short walk away. Location makes all of the old town accessible - breweries, cafes, restaurants, etc. Would stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. A little tough to find at first but easy once we knew the streets better. Very polite hosts, nice rooms, good breakfast. Worth the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, nice room with a view, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no fridge in the room

    Perfect location, nice room with a view, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Riverside location within historic town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Riverside location within historic town centre. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    location, atmosphere, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, atmosphere, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Loud hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin. I could hear other guests snore, sing and talk. There was also no tea cattle.

    Location very central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Vfm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine

    Ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Highly recommended. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Great location in the Old Town, and the hotel has a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I did not like was the pillow - so mushy that I had a very sore and stiff neck the next morning. But that is far outweighed by everything else.

    Great location in the Old Town, and the hotel has a lot of charm and character. My room was clean and comfortable, good wifi. Staff was very nice and helpful too. Very happy with this choice to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.1
    Great breakfast, with lovely self-made cake!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are a bit outdated and oldfashioned, Wifi was bad, while I needed it for work. You get what you pay for and nothing more.

    Great breakfast, with lovely self-made cake! No fresh orange juice. Good rooms, especially the bathroom. Tea available in the room. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good location. To find the hotel: the entrance is a wooden door.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    10
    Easy access to nice places to see, plenty of restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy at night, but not the hotel's fault. Just lots of happy pub folks walking home

    Easy access to nice places to see, plenty of restaurants walking distance. The place is really nice, breakfast is good,mans not overwhelming.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    Quaint rooms with historic split timber construction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are a bit over-decorated (but that's just my taste), might be better to go with less floral prints and fewer bright colors (bring out the simple historic charm of the building).

    Quaint rooms with historic split timber construction. Right in the center of the old town. Good brewery across the street. Kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    5.0
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think Booking.com is misleading customers with the pictures of the rooms offered at this hotel. It looks like Booking.com shows the suites and "better" rooms of this hotel, but the simple "double room" I received was pretty poor. More like a motel/pension, with almost no amenities. The room seemed to have been prepared only for one person, even though I noted I was traveling with my wife. This felt like sleeping at a cheap hostel. Also, the front desk closes early in the evening, but I was never notified of that. WiFi didn't work. A poor value for the money, I would not return.

    Location is fantastic. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.3
    It was a really nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We confirmed a late checkin. About 9. They said it was okay. We spend nearly 2 hours finding this place - very hard to find (very pretty though) and when we finally got there - they had closed! Panicking (I'm a traveller so i had no phone) I was asking EVERYWHERE if they knew anything. No one could help. I was completely stranded and would have to find another hotel and make a booking there. I noticed a phone number on the door. But i had no phone, luckily, another hotel nearby had an unattended reception desk. I was so scared and panicked, that i just went behind the counter, picked up the phone and dialled. A woman answered and told me the pin to type in to get inside! Like this was completely normal! This was NEVER communicated to me EVER! All they said was, yes, our checkin closes and 11pm! and they were closed when I arrived at 8. SO lucky to have been able to get inside, and inside? Their reception opening hours. Until 11 pm. but they just decided to close hours early and tell no one. This is quite big oversight. Such a shame as this was a really nice place to stay. And I actually would stay again. But it was such frustrating time. Just make sure you check in EARLY!

    It was a really nice place. Big comfortable warm room. Private bathroom. Lovely continental breakfast with polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Absolutely fantastic stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great! No complaints :)

    Absolutely fantastic stay! A charming little B&B with an immensely helpful and friendly staff. Located in a wonderful quiet part of town and a stone's throw from an outstanding brewery (Klosterbräu) and a top-notch restaurant (Eckerts) Will definitely be back!!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work inside our room. I had to go to the hallway to get on the internet. The matras was pretty hard, but you get used to it after the first night.

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable and spacious room. Awesome breakfast buffet. Very good price quality ratio.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    10
    The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the choice at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing that we didn't like.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the choice at breakfast was excellent, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms warm and relaxing after a long day out in the cold. They even allowed us to have our breakfast early when we had to catch an early train.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.8
    Great staff, nice breakfast, great location, quiet room,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great staff, nice breakfast, great location, quiet room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom. And drinks for 1€ from the "night fridge" are awesome!

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was excellent. We had the biggest room on the top floor with a loft for the children and a giant winch. The kids loved it. The room was big and well decorated with plenty of light, and it was comfortable and clean. The staff was helpful and nice, breakfast was good, and the location was excellent. We look forward to another visit!

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Bamberg itself is an amazing city and the hotel was just...
    • Family with young children

    we only stayed one night :-)

    Bamberg itself is an amazing city and the hotel was just amazing. Small, cosy, welcoming. We had the most beautiful room. I keep the room number and when we come back to Bamberg we definitely come back. The guy at the reception was absolutly great, friendly, helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! ( well a bit hard to find especially due to roadworks but isn't travelling about a challenge?)

    Staff were very helpful. And breakfast lady gorgeous. She presents the breakfast really nicely. The position... View over river and walking distance to everything.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.8
    Central location in a touristy town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is quite hard to find especially when roads are closed, nevertheless, once found, parking is a huge problem for cars larger than Trabants. The hotel garage is an experience - I'll let you find out!!!

    Central location in a touristy town. Helpful staff.The room was wonderful but a little Hansel & Gretel. No restaurant but good one next door.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.5
    Good location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The garage was fully booked, so we had to park in a parking garage nearby which was easy to access from the hotel by walk, but a nightmare by car (a nearby street was closed for roadworks).

    Good location in the old town.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Location very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a niggle, but you need to use your own soap as the supplied shower gel/handwash wasn't good. Also charged 1 euro if we wanted the welcome bottle of water.

    Location very central. Staff friendly. Good and plentiful breakfast. Clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    The location in the middle of Unesco World Heritage city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location in the middle of Unesco World Heritage city Bamberg is great, just along the river (and with a very nice restaurant on the nearest bridge, by the way. A 20 metre walk).

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Fantastic hotel in Old Town of Bamberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hotel in Old Town of Bamberg. It locates in the building having 500 year's history! Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Very good bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    Positioned in the core of old town, perfect to visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning, curtains in the room did not filter the sunlight in early morning. Shower with tent, poor WiFi. They asked for immediate payment at our arrival (we had booked two nights).

    Positioned in the core of old town, perfect to visit the city. Nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Clean, nice outlook,full length mirror, nice breakfast, car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience.

    Clean, nice outlook,full length mirror, nice breakfast, car parking, english speaking chanel on tv, could walk everywhere. It even had a lift.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    The room we stayed in the first night was opposite a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only negative - the feather pillows are very flat.

    The room we stayed in the first night was opposite a restaurant and we found it noisy, also because of the cars going over the cobblestones - we were given a lovely room on the 3rd floor for the next night without any problems.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    romantic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the facilities are not state of the art anymore

    romantic room great location cheap beer in the stair way fridge very good breakfast helpful stuff very cheap car parking

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    Located centrally in the Altstadt close to restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located centrally in the Altstadt close to restaurants, bars and shops. Very clean well run place. Bamberg's oldest brewery is across the courtyard serving wonderful food and beer.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.8
    Central location, walking distance to all major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the hotel says it provides parking, it is limited to cars less than 1.5 m in height. Our car was too large and so we had to park it in the city parking garage. Be aware of that.

    Central location, walking distance to all major attractions.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.2
    It's no far away to the central, the stuff is very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no a bus that can directly get the hotel, you have to walk about five to ten minutes after getting off the bus. But it's no very hard to find it.

    It's no far away to the central, the stuff is very kind. And the breakfast is pretty good.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    10
    Staff is excellent - very welcoming and responsive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is excellent - very welcoming and responsive. Only few minutes from the main attractions. Breakfast is perfect.. Good sized room. Sleeping quality is excellent! And also very affordable in our view!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.2
    Nice and scenic place to stay in Bamberg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you have a car, make sure you reserve the only slot for a couple of euros. There are other nearby places as well

    Nice and scenic place to stay in Bamberg. Large rooms which are very pretty (watch your head for the wooden beams)

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    10
    great central place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great central place to stay

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    Very nice location in the old city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice location in the old city center. Perfect beds!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.6
    Location right in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location right in city center. Own parking garage. Very nicely decorated room with ceiling beams, creating an ancient atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking, stuff

    room size

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    8.8
    The mattresses were hard and very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The mattresses were hard and very uncomfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    simply perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    simply perfect!

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    8.3
    Large conformable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    20 minutes walk from the Railway station.

    Large conformable room. Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location in the old town.Very nice hotel,good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.6
    Was a very pleasant stay and grate personal.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Was a very pleasant stay and grate personal.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.9
    Heating and big bathroom with excellent English speaker at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating and big bathroom with excellent English speaker at front desk. Very warm and effective attitude

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious and comfortable. The interior decoration from the half-timber mill house was great. We enjoyed it!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Perfect position, lovely staff and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect position, lovely staff and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    I like drinking hot water but there is no such a heater in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like drinking hot water but there is no such a heater in the room. But the staff lent the one used in their kitchen to us at night.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.2
    The friendly staff and breakfast had a good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The friendly staff and breakfast had a good selection. The hotel was spotless. The location was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    The location is superb - right next to the river and 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is superb - right next to the river and 2 excellent restaurants. Friendly staff. A very enjoyable one-night stay!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    The duplex room we stayed in was very well done up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The duplex room we stayed in was very well done up Huge rooms Good view

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Loved the location so close to the main sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location so close to the main sites. Friendly service and paid parking is closeby and undercover.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location right in the heart of old Bamberg,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location right in the heart of old Bamberg, complete with a car park. Can't beat that!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful, looking after our bike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely helpful, looking after our bike. Breakfast was the best so far this trip (8 hotels)

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.3
    We could hear the river rushing through the sluices at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could hear the river rushing through the sluices at night. Otherwise, very quiet. Located in a centuries-old stone building.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.8
    Location, rooms and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no parking available after working hours

    Location, rooms and service

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    Giant winch in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Giant winch in room

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location,friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location,friendly staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Internet wasn't working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet wasn't working.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    Incredible location in the middle of all the interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad except maybe the weather was cooler than we had hoped for

    Incredible location in the middle of all the interesting action

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    9.6
    Comfort, near old town and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from train station.

    Comfort, near old town and staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.6
    This lovely hotel is located in resaturated old mill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This lovely hotel is located in resaturated old mill. Big rooms. Good service.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    8.8
    Our room was exceptionally spacious with a lovely view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room would be perfect with a tea/coffee tray

    Our room was exceptionally spacious with a lovely view of the millrace.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, very quiet and comfortable rooms, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, very quiet and comfortable rooms, nice big bathroom

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: