Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Am Pach 4 stars

Untere Bachgasse 9, 93047 Regensburg, Germany

#17 of 111 hotels in Regensburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 855 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our windows faced the street and the restaurant noises, music plus foot traffick noise did not allow us to sleep Pillows were not comfortable at all , the bed was very small. There are other rooms with bigger beds. I suggest you ask for them.

    It is a lovely little hotel with very pleasant and helpful service. It is excellently located and very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No disappointments.

    Great location! Walking distance to the small shops and restuarants. Very friendly staff. We wish we could have spent more time in the downtown area. We will be sure to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent variety of food at breakfast and the friendliness of the lady that checked us in and showed us the map with all the Advent Market locations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location for the Centre of town. Added bonus was that the Christmas markets had just started! Room was spotlessly clean, staff very helpful! Would highly recommend for anyone visiting Regensburg!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negatives were a water leak on the carpet. they immediately offered us another room and began repairs with many apologies. Also, the hotel is located on one of the narrow alleys in Regensburg and a couple times celebrating people got loud under our windows, but it was really minor

    We were fortunate to be upgraded to a larger room and it was great. The location was good and the people were wonderful. Breakfast offered many options .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't appreciate the plastic mattress covers - For the price of the hotel I would have expected proper mattresses and mattress protectors under sheets, but instead the mattresses were like the ones found in youth hostels - thick noisy plastic covered things. I also didn't appreciate the two mattresses put together acting as a 'double bed' or the two individual duvet covers either, very unromantic. I had requested a quiet room and was given instead a room facing onto the street which was very noisy over the weekend - I appreciate that they may not have had any other rooms but I had booked the room in advance and requested a quiet room so I would ave appreciated if they had written to me beforehand to let me know a quiet room was not possible - or told me when I had arrived. Admittedly, they did offer me a small price reduction on the total price but is was after some lengthy arguing - The hotel one the whole is quite ok and if you don't mind feeling completely separated from your partner in a 'double room' - I think it is alright - but I personally didn't feel the 304€ for two nights discounted to 288€ - was really worth the plastic mattresses or the noisy weekend room location.

    The location perfect, the rooms are very clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a hand shower - in - bathtub configuration that challenged one's ability to contain the water!

    Our room was very large, comfortable & quiet. The breakfast was superb and the location a lovely walk to the three river confluence!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking but we knew we were in an old town so universal problem there. We coped fine

    Beautiful building in old town. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Perfect English spoken.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled to work the TV in the room. Not easy to access by car, so best if you can manage to carry your luggage.

    Excellent location in the heart of the old town. Pleasant atmosphere. Restaurants on the doorstep and little street noise.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was above a loud bar and the window could not be opened until before morning. The parking at a nearby Parkhaus is for an additional charge and about 5 minutes walk - not good if you travel with more luggage.

    The hotel is perfectly located in the utmost centre of the old town in a historical building, the service was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the easiest with a car but worth the effort.

    Location was great in the heart of the historic old town, just round the corner from the Bishopshof Restaurant and the old bridge. Slight downside was we had to park in a multi storey about fifteen minutes walk from the hotel. It was however well worth the walk and the car park was E8.50 when paid at the hotel rather than the normal price of E11.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    About the only improvement would be to have a safe in the room. Many hotels in Germany & France have them now. It's nice to be able to secure the bulk of your cash and your travel documents in the room, before you go out to enjoy the town.

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. They gave us just the type of room we requested. The room was updated, and very clean. The hotel was in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good breakfasts. Nice clean room with comfy bed. The staff was the best part - very helpful, speak German, English and French. Beautiful decor in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No international tv channels (BBC)

    Everything was good, very nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was good and location is fantastic. It is a traditional building, good internet connection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff. Good location in the citycenter, very good breakfast. Large, clean and very comfortable room. We strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a non smoking room but people smoked at the hotel outside my window so it was still smoky

    The breakfast was lovely and fresh. The staff worked hard to help you out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Non-professional, non-supporting personal that didn't inform us about 10-30 departure time but took our belongings from the room without our knowledge

    Great location - downtown

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel in the perfect location, with a rich and delicious breakfast. Personnel is extremely kind, professional and thoughtful. Wi-fi is not only free, but fast !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit unconfortable

    Nice staff, breakfast, room size good, nice bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a great unusual selection

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keys are old school

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got put into room 301, and was blown way by how nice it was. Will stay again next time I am in the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious and clean and the staff were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows

    The room was roomy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow/low signal wi-fi

    Friendly staff; good bed; a reasonable choice of the meals for the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb! Wil stay again the next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style modern.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, great staff, excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on quaint street with lots of action going on. Very convenient to all the sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy street in front of hotel.

    Nice, spacious, clean room. Great breakfast! Very nice staff! Safe storage for bikes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff, very nice view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Cosy comfortable hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location right in the centre of Regensburg.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the old part of the city, which we liked. Ready to go there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly. Competent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was excellent and responsive to all requests. The location was excellent. Great value for the price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I liked it all

    The building itself was awesome and the people lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to stay longer.

    Staff was very pleasant. Location was the best. Room was superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English TV channels.

    Friendliest staff in Germany.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in old town excellent. Large room. Friendly very helpful staff. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi for the second floor

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, good service.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everyone speaks english that there was no problem even you dont understand german. also stuffs were really nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all perfect, nothing to complain

    very good location in the middle of the old town centre, authentic historic building, very good and rich breakfast, friendly staff and perfect service. Clean and comfortable rooms. Perfect for bike travellers ( you safely store your bike inhouse) but also great for business travellers

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the best places we have ever stayed. Wonderful staff, beautiful room, great location and delicious breakfast for a fantastic price. Definitely a place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, it was December and Christmas and we weren't too far from the German Alps but sadly no snow! Can't blame the hotel for that-the staff were just as miserable that there was no sign of the white stuff at this time of year.

    Location could not be better, in the heart of the old town. Easy to find and easily walk able from the station (15 minutes). All staff (including the cleaning staff) were very competent and welcoming and the standard of cleanliness was excellent. The hotel is a very old building (13th/15th century?) but internally it is comfortably and warmly furnished and the room sizes are generous. The buffet breakfast was good and varied, including a hot option of bacon and scrambled egg. WiFi was fine in the room.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was fine.

    Very charming interiors of lobby. Room was very spacious. Owner was extremely helpful and friendly. Good selections for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were wonderful very attentive and friendly.very willing to assist with directions and recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Location is great. I got to train station and realised I still had room key in my pocket, sent it back to motel by taxi - hope it arrived safely.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is a little gem; if it had (still had) a restaurant, it would deserve something close to a 10. The rooms were elegant and stylish, the staff delightful and the location both beautifully quiet and convenient for everything.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is about as good as you can get in the old city. Be aware that exterior rooms, as opposed to atrium rooms, are subject to street and party noise and the like, especially on Friday and Saturday. Closing the windows eliminates all noise issues. Like almost all hotels in the area, their is no air conditioning. The rooms are completely modern in decor, so there is no particular sense of being in a historic structure.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit hard to drive in to unload luggage as there are so many very narrow one way streets in the area. The downside of being in the middle of things!

    Located in the centre of the paedestrian only old town

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi could use many more access points that repeat the signal throughout the hotel.

    The building is great - an old building in great condition. The breakfast is also really good. And the location is superb.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The outside temperature was in the low to mid-thirties during my stay and the lackof air conditioning was a problem

    Absolutely brilliant location in the heart of the old town

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free WiFi was very flakey and we had to go out into the corridor or even down to the reception area to pick up a strong signal.

    The hotel was very centrally situated, there was a secure room in which to store our bikes and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delightful spacious room, welcoming water in the fridge but no mini-bar bottles at silly prices - just use our fridge for what you fancy - friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Very helpful with on-line check in for return journey- and helping us through a German rail strike! We would certainly stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no coffee machine in room. no mug in room, no temperature control in room, very hard bed and small comforter. breakfast starts late (7am) with very little variety.

    bathroom is fully renovated. excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was a bit on the soft side, but the room was comfortable, clean, and spacious.

    Great breakfast selection, fresh and delicious.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were nice and spacious and clean. The location was great and the staff really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very clean facility and wonderful staff. One of the best hotels I have stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect!!!! Every staff was really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Creative design of building, lots of information on history of the city, very friendly staff, comfortable and clean room, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful staff! Beautiful view from deluxe room. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in the old town on a very picturesque street. Staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Couple

    The location is perfect and stuff are friendly and the fashion of the hotel is nice

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast and lovely location in the middle of the city

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all good

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My third time in Regensburg and always stay at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Really in the center, nice and comfy.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a little stuffy, but that did not deter us.

    Excellent staff at counter, Breakfast good value and staff so friendly Close to everything

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking except public. Hard to get to. The bathroom was upstairs in the room. Very unusual. For old folks like us, not practical.

    Large room.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Best location in all of Regensdurg.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Courteous, friendly staff, excellent location, clean room-efficient housekeeping, excellent breakfast.

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Altstadthotel Am Pach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: