Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Augsburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kapuzinergasse 6, 86150 Augsburg, Germany

#43 of 58 hotels in Augsburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 465 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money. The staff was super flexible, friendly and accommodating, providing me with things I needed like a water kettle during my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room in the 3rd floor was very hot (since below the roof). The 'qualiy' of the breakfast was definitely not worth the money (9EUR per person) and the staff in the breakfast foom was very unfriendly!

    The location near to the old city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little low on the floor. Room 309 was very hot...no WiFi.

    Breakfast was as expected. Coffee good. Cherry vanilla jam was deelish! The front desk called a taxi service for us and allowed us to hang out in the lobby after we checked out. Front desk staff super nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel equipment (in rooms) looks little bit worn, it remember better times, but all is clean an works OK NO CLIMA (no problem in my case, becourse weather was cold, but can be problem during hot days)

    Nice place, hotel just in center of city, old building, family look, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    May 2018. I stayed 3 nights. The walls do not block sound. Got woken up by drunken youth shouting 3 nights in the row. (The windows have to be kept open since the rooms are overheated). No shower gel and shampoo were given (little bags) on the 2nd and 3rd night. 2nd night I asked for some, 3rd night I used the liquid hand soap.

    Location is great. 20m from the main street and close to many historical sites. Not far from public transportation. The personal was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were far too soft; like two mattresses on top of each other. Wifi didn't work in our room. I was offered underground parking a few roads away without being told it cost €9.50 extra. Limited breakfast options. Small room, generally overpriced compared to everywhere else we stayed in Bavaria.

    Good location for old town. Staff were friendly and gave good advice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbearable heat during summer. No air con. Ventilator not strong enough. Guest gather outside as they cant sleep Too expensive for being Augsburg

    Location Old vintage house. Interior

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no nightly Check-in and I was not informed by the hotel, neither by phone or email, therefore when I came the doors were closed. I left a message in the mailbox and was not called back the day after. Of course I have been charged for the forced no-show, I am extremely disapointed and will not come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about...it was fine for the 1 night we stayed there

    Very nice hotel with secure parking for our motorbikes. Nice and close to a lot of restaurants and bars. The rooms were spacious and the shower/toilets were very good too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning because the building is historic. Parking away and pricy. Not very friendly ladies on the morning shift reception ( check out time ) on 19th of July.

    Central location . Ideal for exploring Old Augsburg . Friendly lady on check in day time on 18th July

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting could have been better in the corridors and stairs.

    Rooms clean, bright and comfortable. Central location for bars, restaurants and sightseeing. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-condition in rooms. Fridge in my room was broken - all drinks inside were warm.

    Central location in Augsburg with an easy access by car. Many good restaurants, bars, shops within a walking distance. Dedicated parking places for hotel guests (for a fee of 9,00 €). Very competent and firendly Staff. Nice breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a small room with no real bed (just mattresses)

    Central, friendly staff, quiet. My room even had access to a nice backyard balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not good wifi connection

    Near to the center and to the exhibition, good position! Tipically and traditionally buildings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very small. Beds comfortable but very low. No mirror at all in the room just one over sink in bathroom

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 305 had one free power point and no wifi signal!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Organization - personel was not prepared for such number of visitors during the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been nearer

    Good position to all tourist spots.Great Greek restaurant round the corner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was bad. Fell out all the time. Parkingspace is tight.

    Close to city center. Good room. Thumbs up to staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant and most helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little cozy hotel in the hard of Augsburg.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was weak, had to move rooms, bed was box springs and mattress on the floor

    room was warm, water hot on a bitterly cold day

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just break-fast...

    Reasonable price, good location(near the station).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is a bit too small and breakfast is too simple

    Hotel staff are really nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable room and bed. Great location in old town. Nice to have onsite parking. Very good breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Fans and internet was appallling

    Staff were great funny and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an old building, with a lot of history. However, rather than making the most of the history, the rooms are fitted out with somewhat dated modern furniture.

    Location was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I think an employee break area is in a courtyard right in line with the hotel room windows. Really loud at night. Basic hotel, we were just there for one night.

    Walking distance to restaurants and bars. Hotel staff were nice

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows very flat, I had to use three. There was quite a lot of noise from the carpark at night, both from cars coming in or smokers outside.

    Very central location. Friendly staff and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room was located to the front of the building and the noise from a bar and people standing outside of the building kept us up for hours. However, they moved us the next night and we faced the courtyard and it was quiet

    Nice personnel, good rooms and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the elevator is out of service after 22:00 Clock - for handicapped people a problem !

    not a big hotel with personal service located in the old center

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly staff Central location

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly. Rooms very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking lot is a bit of a walk and not too convenient with luggage

    Central location

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cleen reasonable

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location just off Maximillianstrasse with an enjoyable walk into the town centre.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely old building quiet Street close to old city centre.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, close to downtown, walking distance to train station.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slightly noisy in courtyard room

    loaction was perfect

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast a little limited

    Convenience and quiet of room.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: