Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altwernigeröder Apparthotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Marktstraße 14, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#15 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 940 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend staying here, wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Huge room with kitchenette, really clean and perfect location right in the centre of town. Great breakfasts, with friendly and very efficient staff, we got parking on site and couldn’t have asked for a better hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fantastic! Located in the heart of beautiful Wernigerode, super comfortable, cosy, clean and friendly! We spent a wonderful evening there and returned to a hotel which felt just like home. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, offering unseen variety (fish too!) and everyone was beyond helpful. The only regret we have is that we did not know about the restaurants before.. Something for the next time, as we will return for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Mostly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced back of hotel. Lots of noise both late and very early. Our stay coincided with bin collection at crack of dawn. Loads of noise as bins were pushed over cobbled car park yard. Bin cart revving up, hydraulic noises etc!!Also late night noise from bottle disposal.

    Very central situation, big rooms, good breakfast and secure parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    a lovely place to stay with great rooms in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sign-posting to the breakfast room- came across people 'lost' each morning.

    We had a big room with a large balcony- very comfortable and spacious. The location is excellent- so close to the town centre and everything within easy walking distance. Fantastic meals at the potato restaurant- great food, good sized serves and well priced. safe on-site parking was much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location just outside of the city square, and about...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are directly over cafe’s on the street, so be aware that it could be a little loud with the windows open.

    Great location just outside of the city square, and about 2km from the main train station. Huge rooms, with nice views of the surrounding city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, FANTASTIC breakfast - the beds are comfy but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that there was no iron in the room, so the staff had to iron my shirt. We have it to them at 8 and said we needed it not later than 9, and I didn't get it until 9:15 and had no time to change as now we were running late. Also HATE showers with only a shower curtain.

    Great location, FANTASTIC breakfast - the beds are comfy but I hate the German pillows, rooms are really big

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location in Wernigerode
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-condition, can be difficult to find a parking spot. Not the most modern or beautiful rooms, but good value.

    The location was perfect, right in the middle of the beautiful city. Lots of things to do just around the corner, both during daytime and in the evening. Great breakfast with something for everyone and very friendly staff. Rooms were very spacious, although they also looked and felt old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Central and homely stay in beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower quite small but adequate for average person.

    Picturesque and very central location. Lovely beds and large room for European standards. Continental breakfast variation good, loved the fresh bread selection!Exceptionally clean rooms and linen, daily serviced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.9
    A great Hotel with a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist seemed lost and couldn't gave proper information about the room number, when I called the hotel to let my aunt know I was coming. Later, when I arrived at the hotel I had the same problem. And that "Kuehling" and "Kühling" is the same should be pretty clear, especially to a german.

    My aunt specially liked, that she got picked up from the train station and even was returned there after her stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent - great variety. Location was very convenient, close to the old town, cafes, restaurants, bakeries etc. Spacious room, comfortable bed. Internet was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Location and spacious room with hotel parking close by
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and spacious room with hotel parking close by

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    position breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    welcome we wwere firdt told we were not booked in

    position breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic breakfast.
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Restaurant in Hotel, good breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking.

    Restaurant in Hotel, good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    9.2
    There was a slight problem with the room offered but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    There was a slight problem with the room offered but quickly and competently sorted. A 1930's bulding well located for the town centre but peaceful and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    This is a very nice hotel, located right in the middle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a very nice hotel, located right in the middle of the historic city centre. Our room was spacious and comfortable all the way. A stable and decent wifi was in the air at 3 Mbps download stream, fine for audio and video. The 2 restaurants in the house, a German 'kartoffelhaus' and a Spanish bodega serve fine, typical dishes in a cosy atmosphere. Personnel of both the hotel and its restaurants are quality servants.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    7.9
    The location is very good in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast-hall is too big and noisy.

    The location is very good in town. And there is a good restaurant direct in the Hotel. The beds are large and very comfortable. The rooms are quiete and very tidy.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.9
    2 person apartment with kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    2 single beds in a wooden frame. Had to ask for bigger cup/mug but 2 mugs arrived promptly. Sloping ceiling in bathroom made showering difficult for someone over 6 foot. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel - the Spanish restaurant is a no-no.. If you like meat and spuds in big portions go to the Potato restaurant which you might well want if you have been in the Harz Mountains all day.

    2 person apartment with kitchen. The 'potato restaurant' and the town

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast room exceptonal, quit, nice appartments and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bath and the shower was small so not ideal for those who are tall/big

    Breakfast room exceptonal, quit, nice appartments and helpful welcoming staff. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    5.4
    There are no saucepans in the apartment room, it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are no saucepans in the apartment room, it is necessary to ask the staff to bring them. The kitchen stove in our room didn't work: turning it on led to turning off the light in the room. One girl from the staff told us that they could fix it only in the morning (we wanted to cook a dinner)... She also told us that they have no other rooms in the hotel, however after some time another girl provided us a new room. The bed is uncomfortable. Coffee and juice at breakfast are not good. In general, there are many better places to stay in Wernigerode, even for less money.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Very comfortable, cozy, clean and quiet hotel in the center...
    • Couple

    limited number of parking spaces

    Very comfortable, cozy, clean and quiet hotel in the center of city

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly, clean, great breakfast, very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedframe broken. Beds a bit firm.

    Very friendly, clean, great breakfast, very central. All walkable.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    We liked the central location and that the rooms were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the central location and that the rooms were very spacious. Very good hotel for the price.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.5
    Location, breakfast, staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor internet

    Location, breakfast, staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    The hotel was perfect, we loved to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to stay longer there.

    The hotel was perfect, we loved to stay there. The location was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Location, close to city center and many attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, close to city center and many attractions. Perfect place to stay for Walpurgie's night and Brocken.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    10
    Breakfast was fantastic, no noise, perfect location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was without fault

    Breakfast was fantastic, no noise, perfect location and super friendly helpful staff.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: