Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Badersee This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Am Badersee 1-5, 82491 Grainau, Germany

#6 of 15 hotels in Grainau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    This was our first stay in this hotel and we definitely plan...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our first stay in this hotel and we definitely plan to come back. The breakfast was amazing with a very rich selection, room very comfy, spa was amazing and being right next to the lake is the cherry on top. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Room with splendid lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no fridge in the room... The breakfast is not too good. Everything is basic..like it was bought from Kaufland..

    View from the view, with the lake and the mountains is splendid ! One should always ask for a room with lake view !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Super flexible when it comes to special diets
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked in advance whether they have vegan food for breakfast / dinner. I got the reply that they usually do not but they offered us a special 4-course vegan dinner and provided vegan bread and plant-based yogurt for breakfast. Really tasty! We had a wonderful stay without worrying about food! Rooms in the Seehaus building are really nice and contemporary. Loved the spa area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, well maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather cold and didn't heat up even when the temperature was put on max. also the rather thin blanket didn't help in this case. The dinner menu is rather heavy, a lot of cream sauces and not good for non-meatlovers and lactose-intolerant people.

    Excellent breakfast, less so the dinner menu. Beautiful location with view on the Zugspitze, walking distance to the slopes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful place and a very nice hotel (second visit, 2 consecutive years)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could last until later in the day, especially on the weekend.

    Beautiful landscape and very nice hotel, very relaxing. I came for the second time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Very spacious room (superior with lake view) with a warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to open the window during the night. AC in the rooms would be welcome for hot summer days.

    Very spacious room (superior with lake view) with a warm decoration mixing design and traditional items. Beautiful view from the balcony and even from the bed, where you have a direct view to the Zugspitze. Location is perfect if you have a car, close to the amazing Eibsee and GAP. Hotel decoration is 5* and breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    The view was unbelievable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal was very poor in the room also there were no one to take care of the luggage. The recipienest helped me to carry them to the room!!!!!!

    The view was unbelievable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Have a peace in Badersee ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing bad!

    I have been at Grainau 3rd time. This hotel was the best place i stayed at. Its very peaceful near to badersee lake. It is very quite and you feel so relax around lake. There is a path around lake so you can run if you like. Brekfast was awesome, Crew are friendly and helpful. If you cant be relax here you cant relax anywhere else :)))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    amazing pleasure stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all was perfect!

    Amazing hotel and amazing restaurant. We had a buffet in the evening and it was so delicious! Breakfast was also super tasty and a lot to choose. Room was amazing comfortable and bright. We had room with the view on the lake - it was worth to pay more for this amazing view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views of a minilake with snow capped peaks right behind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has thin walls and wooden floors in the rooms - this makes noise from outside and above very loud and we were unlucky to get this particularly early in the mornings (6-8 am). In addition compared with restaurants in the village we found the hotel restaurant to be expensive and did not end up eating there (so cannot comment on the quality). This hotel does not offer kettles or self serve coffee/tea in the rooms which is a real shame since it would be perfect to wake up in the morning and sit in the balcony with a hot coffee looking at the fantastic view.

    The view from the lake view rooms was stunning. This by itself made the hotel completely worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    A perfect winter getaway (if you have a vehicle).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet access was a little restrictive - we could only log on one at a time.

    The site was beautiful. The view of the mountain and the small lake alongside the hotel were postcard-perfect. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    Location can't be beat and staff go out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not the most confortable

    Location can't be beat and staff go out of their way to help. One of the cleanest hotels I've been in in Garmisch. Very modern rustic feel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    We had great time at this wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was the only thing I have to complain. on and off every half to 1 minute. Almost like a no connection at all.

    Great location, very clean facility, and super helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.9
    Nice place to unwind - quiet and scenic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C in the room and no fly screens on the balcony door. Not a problem for most of the year, but it was hot when I visited and a lot of small insects got in when I left the door open a little too long. Didn't sleep all that well as a result. Also, the room was on the small side, and the shower stall was only half enclosed so there was no way to avoid splashing water onto the floor. Finally, although WiFi was free, the reception was very poor in my room and kept dropping connections.

    I stayed in an inexpensive (non-luxury) room that had a small balcony. Friendly & helpful staff. Free breakfast with many options. Beautiful view of Alps from the dining room. Quiet location. Free parking. Reasonably priced vending machines in the hall instead of over-priced snack bar & fridge in the room (good idea!). I was glad to be in a clean room at a resort at a discounted Booking.com price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.5
    Gorgeous views, phononmenal location, and exquisite lagoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was not functioning and we had the duplex suite on a hot day with a loft that needed AC. Staff was not very responsive until we became too aggravated to care for etiquette. The service was good thereafter, including an offer for a fan, another room (but only the suites had AC), and a discount. Wish the attitude/service started that way.

    Gorgeous views, phononmenal location, and exquisite lagoon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.2
    It was amazing view and loved the mountine bike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No variouty for breakfast always the same. No boiler or refrigerator which is in most hotels. No AC and there wasn't a need for it. Can't stay at the balcony at night many insects and a lot of spider nets.

    The view and location is amazing and people so friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful location although a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit disorganized and we were told to just "try to find a place". Not great in the pouring rain.

    Had a room with a balcony and lake and mountain view. Gorgeous even though the mountains were shrouded in clouds a lot of the time. Very peaceful. Dinner and breakfast buffets were awesome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The location is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit quite, so your voice will be loud compared to the other.

    The location is very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Location, accessibility, spa / wellness area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing negative

    Location, accessibility, spa / wellness area, friendliness of staff, the lake!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    The view is amazing.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or water boiler or coffee machine in the room.

    The view is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC's at the room and also No real room service

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Spectacular view from Lake view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    View of the lake from our room was lovely. Bed was comfy. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    The view of the lake very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view of the lake very good. The room is large. The staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Good location in grainau village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location in grainau village. Easy access by car. Greet food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.8
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not good

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent in everything particularly surroundings, net needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi is not good, most time no net when it rains

    surroundings, quite, clean,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Everything is perfect,only poor internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet

    Udobnost fantasticna Pogled,tisina,lokacija.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Absolutely great hotel in an amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel, beautiful location and one of the best views ever from the balcony - the lake, the forest and the mountains behind.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.2
    I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked the quit invironment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    No help with luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with luggage

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    8.8
    We booked and stayed at a mountain view room, big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    We booked and stayed at a mountain view room, big and comfortable. Buffet breakfast choices are just right. The location is a bit remote not suitable for traveler without a car, but it is just right for me - quiet and relax.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.3
    Gorgeous view overlooking the lake and mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls a little thin (or perhaps amorous neighbors just really loud); shower door didn't have rubber seal so had glass on glass clanging together. English signage in spa occasionally lacking, leading to awkward misunderstandings.

    Gorgeous view overlooking the lake and mountains. Huge room comfortably equipped. Excellent, though not inexpensive, buffet at both breakfast and dinner (and this coming from not a buffet fan). Lovely spa facilities included in room cost. Infrequent but reliable public transportation at entrance to hotel made staying a little out of town without a car entirely feasible.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    The staff were polite and efficient, and easy to communicate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at the evening bar seemed a little unfriendly. The good thing is that they pushed us to get into town to explore evening spots instead. However it would have been nice if the bar was as friendly as the rest of the hotel.

    The staff were polite and efficient, and easy to communicate with. The facilities are wonderful and the location is fantastic for a little getaway. The lake and forest are great for walks and the nearby towns are easily accessible by bus or foot. Additionally, everything was extremely dog friendly, from the hotel itself to the town restaurants and stores. Great spot for a calm, relaxed vacation!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    Simply gordeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No complaints at all.

    Simply gordeous! A rustic alpine feel amidst these luxury hotel accommodations. Literally at the base of the tallest mountain in Germany (Zugspitze).

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.2
    The superb view from the room made our whole journey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room itself is a bit old.

    The superb view from the room made our whole journey unforgettable. Strongly recommend to stay 2 nights here to relax yourself.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    9.2
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel was pretty spendy, so if I stayed in Grainau again, I'd go for one of the numerous cheaper, cuter, and more traditional German hotels in the area. The hotel is also roughly a mile away from the center of town, so be prepared to walk if you want to eat out. The only BAD thing? Lunch. Especially the mushy shrimp dish. Bad.

    Loved the location. The hotel is beautiful and the view absolutely stunning; you can see a small, crystal-clear pond and the lower Alps right outside the dining room which has glass walls and ceiling, so no craning your neck. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially with all our questions regarding bus schedules!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    9.2
    superb breakfast and dinner buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    superb breakfast and dinner buffet very nice and helpful staff wonderful view of small lake and mountains

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.6
    Beauty of the landscape, perfect interior design, great sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only difficulty was getting there without a car, otherwise ultimate experience!

    Beauty of the landscape, perfect interior design, great sauna

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.5
    Very nice design, good staff, nice restaurant and perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only disadvantage - sound isolation between room is poor

    Very nice design, good staff, nice restaurant and perfect sauna

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: