Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Buchwald This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jakobstraße 57-59, 73734 Esslingen, Germany

#13 of 16 hotels in Esslingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.5

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice B&B Hotel. Very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't get sachets of shower gel or shampoo in my room for the second night. Didn't realise until I was in the shower. :-( A dispenser on the shower wall would be nice.

    It was during the Logimat trade show - everything was booked up, so this was an expensive stay for two nights, but understandable. Nothing to complain about. Was only there for Bed & Breakfast. Didn't try the sauna which apart from the bar and restaurant was the only facilities I am aware of. . Staff very friendly. No night reception though - and this caused me a little embarrassment as I left my key at the trade show booth and couldn't get in without calling the owner at around 11:00pm - despite waking him he uncomplainingly came out (living some distance from the hotel) to let me in. Travel to the airport and Stuttgart Messe was easy enough - about €35 each way by taxi and about 20 minutes each way. Would definitely stay again - and be more careful with my key!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Owner called us to explain how we could check ourselves in since we were arriving late, very nice. Check in was very easy with the key left to pick up with a code, the apartment was huge and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Frankly speaking, first day in Germany (landing in the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI is really sucks, fortunately we don't need wifi for our first day in Germany No restaurant around the area Price i think is the highest one during my 1 month traveling in Germany. By my experience, i would pay 78euro compared i paid 115 euro actually

    Frankly speaking, first day in Germany (landing in the morning) we did have good sleep during first night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    The hotel is not within walking distance of Esslingen, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not within walking distance of Esslingen, but there is a bus into town very close by. It is easy to reach from Stuttgart airport. It is situated within walking distance of woods and fields. The restaurant wasn't open when we were there but there is a nice little Gasthof about half a mile along the road. Rooms were spotless and breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    6.7
    Nice Hotel, conveniently located on an industrial area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures and name of the hotel imply something a bit more scenic than the industrial area it actually sits on. There's actually some kind of very small manufacturing facility right next door.

    Your standard German hotel I guess. Nothing special but decent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.0
    I eat for breakfast only muesli and their muesli was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and they do not have a retaurant

    I eat for breakfast only muesli and their muesli was good. Only 2 "small " Beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.3
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could/should be friendlier; WIFI was prehistorically slow

    Value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.0
    very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - location in the middle of industrial area (noise as of 6 AM) - aircraft noise - breakfast decent but not superb

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    6.3
    I visited in order to meet someone and did so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Overwhelming aircraft noise. No mustard for breakfast. Stinks everywhere.Outlook like in the 70'thies. Shades out of order. Floor made of ceramic tiles. Untasty scrambled eggs.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is not great but that would not stop me from going there again.

    Staff was fantastic. Gentleman at the reception prepared a map for us how to get into town - that was very helpful. Breakfast was fantastic, plentiful and very tasty.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    8.8
    - friendly, English speaking Staff,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - friendly, English speaking Staff, - large, comfortable room, - bathroom - clean, everything new; - buffet breakfast, - free local parking, - free Wi-Fi,

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    6.7
    restaurant closed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    restaurant closed

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: