Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Freischütz This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Innungstr./Zunftweg1, 50354 Hürth, Germany

#2 of 10 hotels in Hürth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1183 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No nice restaurant or tavern close-by. The bar could have an outside area to relax in the evening.

    No-nonsense good value for money in the otherwise expensive Cologne area. Quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only draw back is that it was located in an industrial area.

    Room was clean and the bathroom looked as if it had been remodeled with all with was included new fixtures and tile. It was very bright and clean. It could have used screens on the windows so you could have air flow. The breakfast had a good variety of choices and it was included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was hot the window had to be kept open, which meant the drinkers and smokers downstairs were quite rowdy till about 2230. They and I eventually fell asleep!

    Great hotel, with the customer service being brilliant. Appreciated the cold beer from the bar after a slight cock up with the payment system. Room 217 has a nice view over the fields which was good. Really nice breakfast room- you can see the hotel is having investment which is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV had only German channels, and no 24-hour news channel No 'Welcome Tray' of kettle, coffee and tea No decaffeinated coffee at breakfast or in the bar Pillow was too soft and gave no support Smokers gather to chat in a shelter outside the front door and under our bedroom window

    Breakfast - good choice and quality Bathroom - new, clean, spacious Parking - just outside, lots of spaces and free WiFi internet in all rooms Friendly, efficient staff in all departments - especially the front-of-house manager

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance area isn't at the same standard as the rooms are. So the first impression doesn't match the rooms.

    Room was perfectly clean, very big room (superior room), nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some building work in a property opposite my room, but they didn’t start until 10:00am so I was not disturbed.

    Very nice stay here in this modern hotel. Although only a single room, I was pleased with the quality of it and the facilities provided. As usual no tea and coffee provided, but I bring my own little camping stove to do this. A good breakfast is provided. I have very little to complain about here!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The checkin time till 10pm can be a problem for few guests. Arriving few mintues after 10pm, the lady was borderline rude. The breakfast was basic, but enough. Check out time by 10am on a Sunday is way too early. Wifi was useless.

    Clean large modern comfortable rooms. Nice large newly renovated bathrooms. Comfortable beds. Easy to find, large outdoor parking, not far from Phantasialand. Good, clean and comfortable rooms for overnight or short stay, the location is peaceful, sorrounded by fields, but nothing much round. Morning staff was kind & helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the accommodation was great

    The room were very clean, spacious and modern. We were on the top floor and the Wi-Fi was fast. The staff were all great especially the women who was on the desk at the evening she was everywhere not only checking people in but running the bar & cooking food she deserved a medal. Not far from Phantasialand.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They asked 2times payment,eventhough i have prepaid tgrough Booking.com by debit card,they forced to pay again in cash,so i showed my text message on my cellphone to pay already room fee, but the ignore my oppinion,pls make sure it's not deposit,money outon my account,also staffs are sll very unkind.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con would have been nice.

    Really helpful reception desk staff. Helped us to find the Park and Ride into Cologne with easy to follow instructions in great English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no control on the room temperature which decreases at night due to shutting down the heat at the evenings which made me cold and when I ask them about the heat at night they say it is the LAW to shut down the heat at nights !!!!! and after that they stopped understanding and speaking English !very uncomfortable and soft pillow which I only given one and not more . no toiletries in the room or bathroom . lack of enough working people , only one or two people in charge between 6:30 am and 10 pm and zero during the night time.the property is a hostel or motel , it is for sure not a hotel . no room service , if you needed a bottle of water or a coffee you should grab it during the working hours of the bar !

    good breakfast . friendly staff , nice big parking lot , quite neighborhood , good access to highways and cologne and Dusseldorf .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Used as stop over on way home from Austria to England. Return visit to this hotel as could not fault anything the last time we stayed and again we were 100% impressed with everything from room, comfort, breakfast and especially to hospitality of the staff. Will be using this hotel again - Many thanks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged more than quoted Justified the higher charge by stating the number of persons were misquoted although we booked 2 doubles and a single room

    Nice clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the wifi coverage, proxing and limited bandwidth prevented me from doing much work in the hotel. dropped connections, proxy preventing vpn access etc.

    everything was fine, except the wifi coverage was very poor and the proxying caused issues.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    * Very noisy environment in the early morning (trucks, aircraft) * complicated wifi access (for each device a separate "ticket" * no possibility to darken the room completely

    Spacious rooms with good beds

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow dissolved into nothing, so the option of additional pillows would have been beneficial.

    Good range of breakfast items, spacious room very clean with modern bathroom fittings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast hours were to early.

    Newly renovated with an elevator and free breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sad still no English TV news senders. Only German available.

    Good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean rooms, nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It needs renovation and it was confirmed by the staff. I was in a room not yet refurbished.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major issues.

    The lady at the reception was very helpful. She provided us with the addresses of two P+R nearby. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is really far from bus stop.

    The room was quite big and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family suite was perfect for our needs. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were nice and clean, staff was very friendly and the breakfast was good. The accomodation is near a very good steakhouse and near to Köln.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast hours 8am-10am, 1030am checkout on a Sunday

    Large room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO AC in the room

    Breakfast included and it was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad Internet = Wi Fi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet Very clean Breakfast Staff Extremely fast check in - out

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was useless

    Very clean and well appointed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Wi-Fi is a joke, no idea where the router is but you really can only get Wi-Fi in the front lobby. The staff was not helpful with the Wi-Fi issue. The pillows are feather and very thin, they only give you one per person so you might want to bring your own. The room doors are hollow and do not reach the floor so if anyone is in the hallway you will be able to hear them, we were lucky no one made any noise when we were sleeping but we didn't stay during the weekend so not a place for light sleepers.

    I like the décor of the rooms, very updated and clean looks. The breakfast was great, nice selection! The mattresses were firm which is great for some and not great for others.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!!!

    Free Parking, qualitative and varied breakfast (you won't need lunch after it), responsive and responsible staff, comfortable rooms and a stylish atmosphere of the hotel. Special thanks to the young man at the reception who saved my fish and put it in the refrigerator for the whole night. :-))))) We highly recommend this place!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Professional personel, very good breakfast, WI-FI ok, comfortable beds, and it is quite easy to get to Koln. I will recomend this hotel for my friends :-).

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Family with older children

    maybe the location, hard to find without GPS

    breakfast ! was really special ! one of the most great variety I ever eat... Liked how restaurant was designed, colours, the atmosphere...Very tasty everything...Spacious room,parking on site, nice staff, speaking English !

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    no complains what so ever!!!

    It was one of the best stays ever for us. Room comfortable and big, loved the shower room!!! All sparkly clean and just lovely. Breakfast was amazing too!!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed itself was just fine but the pillows were so soft our heads sank straight into the bed. Had to put towels underneath the pillows but it just made our sleep uncomfortable. I chose to sleep on my folded arms. Had cramps when I woke up :-(

    The morning receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was great, abundant and had lots of different delicious German "Broetchen". Quite spacious rooms, my 2 little ones were able to play and move freely.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very uncomfortable and so were the pillows. Instead of a double bed they put two single beds together and they also gave us two individual duvets. The curtains blocked no light at all and the clarity in the morning was terrible. The elevator didn't work at night.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would not stay here for longer or for the area.

    we used the hotel for 1 night when passing through to Phantasialand. Quiet, clean and friendly staff and close to highway.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room was dark, and NO MIRROR IN THE ROOM TO SEE THE ENTIRE BODY AND NOWERE IN THIS HOTEL IT IS IMPORTANT FOR ME AS A BUSINESS WOMAN

    the big space in the room and the bed was grate

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area is a bit flat and industrial, but for us it was a not an issue.

    The hotel is very clean, the furniture in the rooms is brand new, the bathrooms are simply beautiful and spotless. Personel is firendly, plenty of parking, easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    only a duvet, too short and I m not supertall. I asked the staff for an extra sheet to fix it to the bed so my feet wouldn t be cold and got it no problem. Still the duvet was very hot, a couple of blankets would have been handier.

    spacious, clean, parking in front of the door, quality breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The family room was really spacious and comfortable. Decent breakfast spread. Close to Phantasialand, so it's ideal for an overnight stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Incredibly helpful staff - very comfortable and conveniently located for our journey.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    A bit more choices for breakfast, but generaly OK. Check in only up to 22h, hotel bar only up to 22h.

    Big, clean and comfortable room, seems new :)

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Wifi

    Kind service, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very Bad Wifi connection.

    Cleaning,Breakfast and Staff

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel, friendly staff, clean room and perfect breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gets better each time we stay. The room & bathroom refurbishments are superb.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Couple

    Friendly staff, clean and comfortable stay for a night. Breakfast is great!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very bad location approachable from bus only and buses ply only once per hour

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was exceptionally hospitable and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    maybe some facilities need to be updated

    the breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite noicy during night because of the street's trafic.

    Nice room, nice breakfast, good price vs quality.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have no complaints.

    Everything. Clean, silent, tasty breakfast, super cool staff. Wunderbar!

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very low cost and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slow internet, no mirror in the room

    nice view on the fields large comfortable room, nice breakfest

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and modern. Breakfast was also good.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would not stay here if I had to visit cologne

    Proximity to the business location in Hurth.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No chocolate milk at breakfast, no WIFI in the room

    Big room, ecologic soap, close to touristic places (Küln, Phantasialand)

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no ambience - very plain looking rooms no automated corridor lights at night a bit off hand location

    price wonderful breakfast clean big rooms

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Hotel Am Freischütz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: