Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Hehlentor

Nordwall 62-63, 29221 Celle, Germany

#2 of 29 hotels in Celle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 431 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    These older buildings always lack air conditioning. You give it up, for the character of the area. It was very hot on arrival, but we're we're given fans, and it cooled off nicely in the evening.

    The hotel is in a great location, with free parking. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with every detail attended to. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is beautiful and it is centrally located. We had asked for a quiet room and were given one with a window to a small courtyard which was very nice. The beds were very comfortable and the staff were lovely. Our dog even got some special treats.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is really nice: amazing breads, delicious homemade jams, fine german cheeses. A greater variety of season fruits would be appreciated, though.

    Very charming old house with a typical german style architecture strategically located in the heart of the beautiful old town. Very kind and attentive hosting team!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice stay in downtown Celle. Historical building close to the main places, as the castle, square, restaurants, etc. People working there, is really friendly and make you feel like being home. Breakfast in the morning is very complete.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was so friendly. We loved the courtyard. The room was comfortable and clean! We didn't have the breakfast but it looked wonderful. We enjoyed everything about this hotel! We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cozy hotel - with "home feeling". Very obvious the owner has done her? best to make the stay personal and comfortable. Clean Comfortable beds Good standard - good business hotel, good for couples on vacation in Celle, maybe not the best hotel for children. Good parking - on the other side of the street...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ground floor no stairs for old knees. Perfect bathroom. Although suite central, free Hotel parking right in front of the Hotel. Charming house.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low ceilings. I had to stoop in the shower.

    Comfortable hotel on the edge of the old town. Room was quiet, looking into a central courtyard. Very short walk to restaurants, shops, museums, etc. Breakfast was reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift, our room was not serviced after our first night of two night stay.

    good hotel ,excellent position, owner very friendly, private car parking opposite hotel buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm and friendly small hotel with a very much "home"-feeling. I felt like a very valued guest and I would gladly come back again, and next time for holiday!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi didn't work in our room on any of our devices.

    Great staff, extremely comfortable beds! Very nice backyard, we can see that the owners care very well for their place. Generally a very cozy place, we really enjoyed our short stay here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Parking is a challenge as it is an old and historic city built during a time, when cars and trucks where unknown. One day a policeman wanted to give us a ticket for parking right in front of the hotel (though we were just parking there 2-3 minutes for a pick-up). Finally we did not have to pay but "learnt" that we should not park there anymore in future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast could have some more, or let's say different choices. We stayed there for over one week and after a while we wished to have some changes.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Old and traditional building. Very central!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff who were very helpful, rooms were clean and bright and well equipped, lovely court yard, great to sit and relax at the end of the day and lovely for breakfast on a sunny day, parking across the road was great - highly recommended hotel - great value for money Travelling in a group of three, room was suitable for three and not just a double room with a sofa bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very, very nice place, with a very, very nice staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the city of Celle is magnificent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are nice and clean but old school. Refurbishment could be nice.

    Nice small hotel in the center of Celle. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar could have had a normal pilsner.

    Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Great family owned hotel with only a few rooms. Very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Will stay here again when in Celle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs

    Lovely big room and comfortable beds very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor coffee at breakfast.

    Good location. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were very helpful when we wanted to reduce our stay with one day. Although booking was done through booking.com.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Couple

    Surroundings: the centre of the historical old town with many beautiful old buildings House: family-run hotel in charming historical building, comfortably and sensitively renovated and well kept. Room: cosy and warm with everything you need when you arrive tired and cold. Breakfast buffet: fantastically large choice in very good quality - including freshly fried eggs when you arrive for breakfast - we felt like royalty!! :)) Fast and fantastic service even with late arrival: owner herself called immediately when we requested contact through internet booking and stayed up to meet us and show the parking lot when we were delayed due to weather and road conditions. Possibility to park even higher than normal cars in the hotel parking (at least off-season). Very reasonable price for fantastic service and beautiful place to stay at! We intend to come back to Celle and Hotel am Hehlentor!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would help to have more details on parking which can be difficult unless know of nearby car park

    Very good value hotel in excellent location and helpful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no lift and car parking was a bit complicated.Our room was close to the main road and therefore noisy.

    The owner was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room with a great location for touring the city. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning with a large number of choices, all well prepared. We ate at the hotel restaurant the first night. The food was good and very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet and comfortable room in a nice and pretty town. Concierge recommended a nice Italian restaurant nearby. Free parking space was just across the street.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Frau Hohmann is very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is very well-maintained and the rooms are large and kept very clean. The breakfast room is bright and cheerful and there is a good range of food on offer.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rough immigrant neighbourhood, very loud street including traffic (and music from cars), house across the street som sort of youth hangout, occasionally hostile youths in the street, rich in graffiti and ill-maintained buildings. Wi-Fi was skecthy at best and there was no AC.

    Central position, city core is easily reachable just a few blocks away.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a reasonable size

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no bad experience

    The homely atmosphere and the location near the centre of the town

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet would not always connect

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No working wifi No AC

    Nice staff Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything really

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35