Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maxhotel

Giebelbachstr. 1, 88131 Lindau, Germany

#31 of 42 hotels in Lindau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel very nice but TV had no english channels, it also would have been nice to have a kettle in room.

    Fab Breakfast every morning, great choices available, lovely setting to relax and have breakfast in the morning in the enclosed patio area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had some miscommunication regarding late check-in. Make sure you get it right with them. The walk to the island can take 10 minutes, or 20 minutes if you are unlucky at the railway crossing (the one time we were in a hurry, we had to wait 10+ minutes for 5 or 6 trains to pass).

    Nice decor, friendly staff. Have a look, they have sauna and other facilities. Really good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked to have coffee in the room.

    Spacious and very comfortable room with a sunny balcony. Bathroom is also very spacious. Staff is very nice and food was great. Parking at the location was perfect. Hotel is only 5 mins walk from the lake and from there a beautiful 10 min walk to the old town. We loved this place. The building looks all modern and gray from the outside which I didnt like in the pictures but the hotel's facility, comfort, staff and location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not inside the island of Lindau, is just outside it and you have to cross a bridge to get there. This bridge has no lights at all, and walking there during the night is not nice! Something should improve. Anyway, takes 15 minutes and you get to the city center. The room we asked was with a big bed, but they gave us 2 single beds that we had to put together and it wasn't comfortable. Not nice for a couple!

    Staff is nice and breakfast is very good. Is easy to park near the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is wonderfully comfortable. It is decorated very modern, with vibrant colors. Their breakfast buffet was one of the best we've seen. The staff was super helpful with directions into town for sightseeing and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was very disappointed because the hotel promises wi-fi in all rooms, while our room (n. 27) did not have it, and that was a big problem for us considering we were travelling for business and we needed it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location very close to the lake and the old town of Lindau. Parking was at extra cost even if it was supposed to be free. They have only a few places for free and are located in a restricted parking zone. The garage has a low ceiling. Otherwise everything was fine and the rooms were small,but very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location over the railroad tracks can be a bit difficult to find at first. Parking on the streets is free for 2h from 8-20, but that was enough for our stay.

    The breakfast buffet was simply amazing! Very helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was awesome.

    This was the best hotel we stayed at our entire trip through Germany. Amazing breakfast! The room is a bit small, but hopefully you're not staying in your room much. Easy walking to the island and such a great value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are toward the train line, no frequent noise, but if you are noise-sensitive and sleep with open window ask for room the other direction.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good location, close to the train station and Insel (all within walking distance, 10-15min). Nice, clean, modern rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't great. The tub leaked water, no big deal though.

    Great staff! We e-mailed to let them know we would have pets, and staff responded with info regarding pet fees, which is appropriate and to be expected. When we arrived we learned we had been moved, at no charge to an apartment which had been equipped with pet beds and bowls at no extra charge. Very thoughtful!! Breakfast was lovely and staff overall was friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and the bathroom smaller. Wifi was weak in rooms.

    The breakfast was excellent. Nice room, great service and variety. There was a good Italian restaurant nearby. Quiet location that was easy to find walking from the train.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator

    Located right beside the train but very quiet. It was a lovely 15 min stroll along the waterfront into town. Our room was very spacious and well equipped. Great breakfast spread

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast. Staff all pleasant and well informed about local events. Free parking and short scenic walk to the island of Lindau. Highly recommend hotel as a base to explore Lindau.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    European pillows!! Being very picky here, I'm used to a memory foam pillow. It wouldn't put me off staying again

    The best breakfast spread I've seen in Europe!! Short walk to Lindau island. Friendly staff. All important Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff allowed us to check in early. There was a great breakfast and a lovely outdoor patio where you could enjoy breakfast or a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, it has been a great deception, most particularly because of the incredible small size of our room. For the money we paid for the room (125euros/night), it is totally unacceptable. We travel quite often with my family and we always stay in hotels around the same amount and I have never had the experience of such a small room which was suffocating. I think it was only 9 square foot! And when I booked it, because we have a son of 2 years old, we were given the option of an extra bed in the room which I have no idea where they would put if I required? There is no central ventilation which is a problem in such a small room with a bathroom separated by a glass door from the rest of the room. Even in the bathroom there is no ventilation? I think our experience is more like being deceived since there are only the pictures of 2 different types of room in the booking.com for Hotel Max, one with sofa and the other without, obviously a smaller one. When I was making the reservation I did it for not a regular double room but, for a "Business King Room" (the name given for the room we stayed!) by paying some extra more. I thought why not since there was a deal they were offering. I believed that it would be the room with a sofa, but it wasnt. Anyways, yes the breakfast and the patio are nice. But again, nothing extraordinary. I think they should offer by the way, croissant and pain au raisin etc. since it is pretty much regular everywhere and not everyone eats toast and cheese.. Another important and interesting thing, there is no telephone in the room we stayed? We had to call reception for something at night. It was 2330hrs. No one in reception, closed. Then, in the booklet in our room, we found a number and called and, the responsible person arrived in 5 min. But, no telephone in te room and reception closed not acceptable. Finally, I am afraid that I can't recommend anyone Max Hotel. It is very deceiving for decent money they are charging.

    It is a relatively new hotel with a nice patio for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airconditioner in the room, it was too hot to sleep well. Parking is a hit and miss, if you come later in the day. I expected a bit more for the price. There is a sauna and workout room, but not operational. It would be nice to have massage services and make it operational too.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. Close to train.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit too small rooms ,and a very small bathroom. No elevator in the hotel, so you have to take your luggage up by hand. A clean hotel with very good staff, the owner was all day long in the hotel to look after all the needs of his guests.

    A great ,tasty , and wonderful breakfast. The best breakfast we eat in our 12 day journey in Europe.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly clean, very comfortable bed and a breakfast I never saw before.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Large and comfortable room, bathroom with bath tub, quiet and convenient location 10mn walk from the old town, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit disappointed by the gym.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Iron and board- No Eisen und Brett

    Late check in, Friendly staff , Parking and the weather...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, stylish and comfortable. Great Bfast buffet. Excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was really nice and tasty :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were rather small, bathroom cubicle a little off putting!

    Great location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was insanely wonderful, with many options.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast far exceeded a 3 star hotel. It was more like a 5 star selection. Great choice and everything fresh.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is not great, and the beds may be aged and in need of replacement

    Friendly and Helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast, clean room, Internet working very well, excellent staff. I will use the hotel next time again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly and the breakfast was excellent ( also catered to gluten free diet) .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stop, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast great, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a walk to the Lindau island A bit overpriced

    Great place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection poor. Train line nearby.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast selection. Just 10 min walk onto lindau island.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection was not ok. i had to connect every time i leave from my room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room seems to be a little bit small for the price. However, very clean and very nice. The spa is nice with the sauna and sport equipments. Nevertheless, I love hammam and they don't have.

    We like the location: next to the bicycle way of Lindau. Good staff, available, pleasant. Room very clean and beautifull. Breakfast very good concerning the meal and the place inside and outside. Bouda thematic very nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is quite close to railways but in our case we didn't notice much of a noise (room on the opposite side).

    Very friendly staff. We did come before the check-in time, the host tried to check us in earlier at no additional cost. Great variety of breakfast options. Free parking (although the number of places is limited).

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We upgraded to a room with its own garden - the grass hadn't been cut all year so looked scruffy. Decor not to everyone's taste - but don't let these two comments put you off. Overall it was a great experience.

    Excellent value for money in an expensive area. Easy walk into Lindau across causeway.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small and not much room for luggage. Felt claustrophobic in Bathroom. There was a record heat wave in Germany and no AC or fan in the room.We had the window open all night and the noise kept me up.Parking was a problem.

    The Hotel was within walking distance to the old town of Lindau im Bodensee. The walking path along the RR and the lake was for bicycles and people ( no cars) which was great.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lift would be helpful.

    Large and well-appointed room and bathroom. Quiet and peaceful despite the adjacent railway. Excellent breakfast and access to several restaurants within walking distance. Underground garage.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    our kids slept on the sofa "bed" and our small dog was content. there was not any noise and the hotel was full. breakfast was amazing for no charge!

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The nearby train was a small annoyance, especially when the guard rails dropped for an exorbitant amount of time. The trains were quiet in the hotel though. On the wifi, it worked great when you found the right server.

    Great design. Modern and hip with a 50s flair. Good sized room. Amazing huge breakfast buffet. Walking distance to the Lindau island. Free street side parking in a quiet neighborhood. Pet friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff. Superb breakfast. Great location - easy stroll across the causeway into the old town.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Great room, spacious and well designed. Breakfast could not be better. Great value hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My son loves trains so the location was good in that sense. The breakfast was fabulous, it was rather a brunch. Ok for one night.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very well run hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff gave us a big room far away from any loud noises, to avoid waking our baby at night. No stairs either :)

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms need air-conditioning

    Great location for driving travelers

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Sunny courtyard in which to eat breakfast. Breakfast was really lovely.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Group

    The staff was really nice and very helpfull. Had a beautifull room. Morningstaff and breakfast was topclas

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wi fi connection.

    We liked almost everything, good location, clean room,good breakfast, hospitality

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    seriously overpriced for a very small room

    good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little out of the town centre...about 15 minute walk.

    It was a very clean and modern hotel. Comfortable bed and good bathroom. Free parking.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: