Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of DORMERO Hotel Passau This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Kapuzinerstr. 32, 94032 Passau, Germany

#22 of 31 hotels in Passau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1109 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised by the river and views of the city and a beer garden terrace , you could see one building on a hill! Beer garden was at the side of a very busy road!!!! River was over the oppersit side of the road and far side of a car park with no means to get near it. NOT as advertised and disappointing!!! Nm

    The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would love tea/ coffee facilities in the room.

    I left my watch at the hotel after we left and the staff went above and beyond to locate it and arrange to send it back to the uk for me. I could not be more grateful. They also made us feel so welcome and helped with all our queries especially when we struggled with the language barrier. 10/10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, soap dispenser long way above sink. Made to feel like an ' inconvenience ' by one hotel reception staff member who was very rude and abrupt when we asked a question.

    Liked the room facilities with a balcony and bathroom. The screen TV was very large for the room but did actually watch a couple of free films, so was useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hot in the room through the night, but windows directly to the main road with ongoing traffic. Balcony shared with the other room.

    Good location 15 min from city centre, nice big rooms with comfortable big bad, extra-large TV screen, fresh & enjoyable hotel design.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite traffic on the street next to the hotel. On the first floor noise from the kitchen groundfloor can be heard.

    Nice hotel for reasonable price. Many extras for free (toilet accessoiries, extra big flat screen, free drinks, wellness) Close to the city enter in a quite quiet place. Very good restaurant. And tasty breakfast. Available parkplace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably due to wannabe green hotel lack of warm water is a bit minus (we had to leave early in the morning)

    Good location, kind staff, fancy and modern room/facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is an extra 10 €.

    Friendly staff welcomed us, the rooms are large, include balcony and a huge TV set. Breakfast was excellent including fruits, cold and warm dishes and good coffee. Restaurant is nice, too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The odour in thr reception was s little over powering.

    Knowing the final cost upfront. The free drinks. The way you brand your hotel. The bed. The free drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a bit of back ground heat in the bedroom.

    We always stay in Passau on route to Budapest. This hotel has changed dramatically during the years that we have been staying there. Once a rather conventional low key hotel serving the needs of your average traveler, it has re branded itself into a more expensive venue complete with exotically lit rooms. However it seems that the average traveler is still there and judging by their ages and appearances I am not sure what they made use of many of the exotic facilities! The big plus now is the fantastically comfortable and huge bed. Nice to have some free drinks and useful things in the bathroom, but as my wife said "it would have been better to have provided a shower cap, rather than a condom" Breakfast is fantastic if you can afford to dig a bit deeper into the pocket. All in all a nice place but a bit expensive now.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing the garbage trash No AC The front desk didn't change my room Room number 124

    The price clean big screen TV mode of lighting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff in restaurant service was slow as only one waitress working who was rushed off her feet.

    Nice clean modern hotel, good food in restaurant, great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to Dormero in Kelheim, the staff were not as friendly. They were helpful but a little too official.

    Room was spacious enough, meals were fine and breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    girl at the reception disoriented, balcony is shared with guests from next room

    room looks great: big flat tv, ambient lights, soft bed linen ; free drinks in the mini bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside of the building was old and falling apart, balcony was the same (not renovated). Very noisy both inside and outside the hotel Hotel gives off lot of contradictionary messages from a nice modern place to a brothel

    Rooms were refurbished and nice done. Staff was friendly (but very odd and awkwardly dressed)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not take the breakfast because it was too expensive. It would of been nice to have a chair on the balcony

    The hotel gave free wifi,free movies on the big screen tv , free drinks in fridge. The restaurant had a excellent staff,especially Michael who served us every night. We had a big balcony where you could see St Stephen church and the river Inn.The market was right next door and the bus stop was across the street. We just walked to Old Town because you were that close.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of a stay here has risen since new management and a re-vamp of the hotel. Breakfast at Euro 12 is a bit steep, although good.

    Very cosy room with excellent bed and dial up coloured lighting. Look out foir the extras in the bathroom!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's our own fault for booking last minute but we got stuck in this humungus suite with two amazing huge HD tvs but it cost A FORTUNE and we weren't there to watch TV.

    The breakfast was surprisingly OK given the place kind of felt like a rebooted cheap hotel. It's a bit of a walk with one slightly difficult road crossing to get to the old town, but not bad. We had to taxi to and from the train. But it was quiet and there was this awesome pool table nobody seemed to use. IDK I just really liked the place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent breakfast and very helpfull staff. We asked for a baby cot and the response was really fast . Close to Danube Beautifull views Reccomended! 5 star!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - terrible staff, really unfriendly - dirty room and room was not ready at 6 pm - non smoking hotel but guests are smoking everywhere (restaurant, room balcony) there were even ashtrays placed for them everywhere and the staff said they could not do anything about it - someone´s old food was left in the fridge - there was no shower gel and soap in the bathroom - we asked twice if could leave our room at 1 pm and the staff agreed but when we arrived back to our room at noon the room was emptied and was already cleaned for the next guest - the room was very hot because there is no AC therefore we opened the window but cigarette smoke came in even during the night because other guest were smoking - the balcony door was not working and the staff was not able to fix it during our stay, this was really uncomfortable for us because we found it pretty dangerous being there with 2 toddlers

    - nicely renovated room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Funny place, with sexual jokes while the clients were quite old :-))) The bed is comfortable (also for the babies) and it has a big screen in front of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable modern hotel. Has an extra large TV in the bedroom, pool/billiards table and table football (free), onsite restaurant (food good/OK)... It is 10-15 mins walking distance (along the river Inn) to the beautiful centre of Passau. There was no parking left at the hotel itself, but we could park across the road for a modest fee (1.20 € for half a day - only need to pay from 08.00 to 19.00 if I remember right)- crossing the road from that car park to the hotel is a bit tricky as it is a busy road and there is no pedestrian crossing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free minibar had not been topped up so this was not a benefit. Hotel is some way from the main town so not very convenient for trains or old town, but great for Donau bike hire. Beds use memory foam so feel very hot if you are not used to this, also no air con.

    Breakfast is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful although expect a delay at reception as systems are very slow. Decor is quite quirky so some may not like this but we found it quite funny.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception manager seems to be alone and at times a little bit overwealmed but he managed you just had to be patient .

    I liked the modern rooms with the huge TV and nice beds ..nice attention to detail in the decor . There was a parking under the hotel where we could park our motorbikes . Wifi was good breakfast was great . Staff were friendly .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast was very good with great selections of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    Very voodoo Breakfast and very nice rooms!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is good idea staff to worn you, that you have to pay in additional for parking and breakfast.

    All is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The design, the comfy bed, friendly helpful staff. Definitely will come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar is closed

    Big comfy bed, big flat tv, free drinks

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    feonul :)

    super smart TV

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredible breaktfast option and the cofee just what you need to start the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Room is very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located next to Super-market and the hotel is adjacent & next to a half-hourly bus service. Breakfast was vast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed at 11

    Big flat screen tv, big comfy bed, free films and free minibar, modern new furniture , big shower in bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very friendly staff at front desk

    Room was clean and absolutely sufficient for one night stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so close to the city centre

    Big, comfortable beds. Big screen with newest movies. Sauna. Nice wibe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a problem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike

    The staff very helpful and polite very modern furniture and very inviting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm happy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generous space and equipment (huge TV on the wall) and even the mini-bar is included into an acceptable price. We were very satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot, no fans and no AC

    Comfortable Beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DORMERO Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely no furniture on the balkony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more parking facility

    very good bed. breakfast really OK. staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely decoration and clean rooms. Friendly staff and very nice sense of humour on the hotel design elements.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was supposed to be for free, they have charged 10 Euros for it.

    The breakfast is excellent, but not very cheap

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is fabulous...😀😀

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very competent! Enjoyed my staying!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was really good , room was too good for the price , real value for money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Group
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rather expensive

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some sexual innuendo that may not be acceptable to all

    Lots of little freebies(movies, minibar, pool table)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, stylish modern, new interior. Spacious quiet room. 15 minute walk from the city. Lavish breakfast. Good parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff.,, Carolina was extremely helpful and generous . We had a late checkout on a cold rainy day. Thx Carolina.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clothes cabinet accessability.

    Adequate handicapped facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Simply perfect. Super-good breakfast, very clean rooms, lots of facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    scortesia alla reception

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient number of restaurant staff at peak hours

    Superb modern airy feel. Free minibar was a nice touch

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • DORMERO Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel fantastic breakfast. Just outside Passau but great for us as on the cycle route

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As under new management a few snags, which I think are being fixed.....biggest wall tv I have ever seen but not working so frustrating......furniture needed for the generous sized balconies so could sit and enjoy the view. Location is about a 10 minute walk to bridge but enjoyable along the river.

    Under new management and very helpful......breakfast was extra but very good and lots of variety. Pool table for after dinner....rooms had balconies so able to go out .

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was not that great and menu at hotel restaurant was limited . Two people in room and only one chair . Desk in room but no light over or close to the desk so couldn't use after dusk

    Lovely room , clean and comfortable . Close to market to buy supplies . Close to good Italian restaurant . Bathroom clean , nice shower and bath supplies . Good storage for bicycles .

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillows should be harder so as to be able to support the neck whilst sleeping The room did not have a kettle The curtains did not cover the windows enough Refurbishment during the stay

    The hearty, healthy, rustic Bavarian breakfast The staff attended to you at the right time Near the city centre and the supermarket

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No chair in the room, despite a table being there. Also I was charged twice. I was told that my card will be credited after two working days, but 11 days later this still hasn't been done.

    Beer is cheaper than coffee in the hotel bar.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ít wasn´t a big Problem but the floor we were in seemed to be under reconstruction and therefore slightly unfriendly

    The breakfast was excellent and everything else good or very good.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They are refurbishing, but still working on it, and it is not going to look better. They did not give us WiFi password, neither any info on breakfast or checkout times. Rooms are hard to access, you need strength to cut through 2-3 very heavy doors. Parking is miserable, there is very little space. If you take the breakfast, you'll have your worst coffee there I promise. Restaurant staff are not kind, they don't even say hello. It was cheap however, but even for that price it was far to worth it. Oh, and they were working on the hotel in the morning, sounded great.

    Decent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We understand that the hotel is being refurbished in an attempt to attract a more upmarket clientele. We had one of the new rooms which was nice and would have been even better if it had been 100% finished. Not sure that we liked the new rooms that much as they seem to be a bit clinical compared to the old ones. Breakfast is too expensive and the breakfast staff need to realise that the guest are paying their wages, and be more friendly. Evening food choice in the restaurant is not so good and has certainly deteriorated over the past year or so. A more upmarket clientele is going to, demand better than this!

    Location and value for money. Adjacent parking. Sometimes the underground car park has space which is great in the snow.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Super clean and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no chairs in the room

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Is a very good hotel! Tray it!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great 15 min. Walk along the river to downtown with awesome views. Passau is a gem. Breakfast was great, staff was very nice! Free parking up front!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    ....

    ...

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Functionalitate

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: