Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Ludwigsplatz This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ludwigsplatz 8, 35390 Gießen, Germany

#8 of 15 hotels in Gießen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Giessen. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not too much parking adjacent to the hotel. They had a lot across the street though.

    Very comfortable rooms with convenient location. The breakfast was top notch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Big room and very polite stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with internet which makes work impossible. The hotel is pretty old and doesn't remember any renovation in the rooms.

    Big room and very polite stuff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.2
    Friendly staff made stay acceptable, which would have been otherwise total failure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very dated. Furniture bed and all soft furnishings are still from the late 80ies, bed not very comfy. Got the smallest room to the main road. Small shower with shower curtain sticking to your wet body...

    Friendly receptionist in the morning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Extremely comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That our stay was limited to one night.

    Breakfast was fresh and very tasty. Great selections on offer. The staff were constantly refilling the trays and therefore everything was constantly available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, very good included breakfast, friendly and efficient staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free WiFi kept dropping out, as soon as I left the iPad for a few minutes; and needed to join again.

    There was a double booking of my room, but the staff dealt with it very efficiently and kindly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.0
    Good that the have family rooms with 4 beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located at a street with traffic which could be heard in the room the whole night. We stayed in the room on the 4th floor and the elevator only run to the 3rd floor and as we had many bags it was a lot to carry. It was very warm in the room with no air condition.

    Good that the have family rooms with 4 beds. The room was quite big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value, comfortable and friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was good. Breakfast could be improved with toast-making facilities.

    Excellent value for money. Perfect central location within walking distance of amenities in central Gießen. Pleasant and helpful staff. Very good breakfast selection. Double room has plenty of space and storage. Bathroom is basic but with a very good shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Large rooms. Friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I come to Germany, I always meet up with my family on the first night, usually in a restaurant. Not having stayed here before, I called the hotel prior to arrival, to find out whether I could bring my dog into the restaurant located at the hotel. I was told by the lady who answered the phone ´definitely not, nor in the breakfast room ´ so we made plans to meet at another restaurant, pity because it would have been easier for me. Come to find out, when I arrived, that the restaurant owner, who has been there for many years has always allowed dogs in his restaurant. Perhaps staff should be informed that just because dogs are not allowed in the Breakfast room it does not apply to the restaurant (which is NOT owned by the hotel). It would have saved me a lot of bother.

    Breakfast was very good, plenty to choose from. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Staff at Hotel Ludwigsplatz are wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I rarely do reviews -- but have to write one about the staff at the Hotel Ludwigplatz! They were incredible. We arrived from Canada - and were greeted by the friendly welcoming host. We actually arrived with an extra guest (unexpectedly) and late in the evening. The staff went above and beyond to assist us and make us welcome -- making a difficult situation so much easier for us. The room was great -- larger than the photos (the room included two bathrooms and a large sitting room). Breakfast was delicious - lots of selection. The location is very central - short walk to a large market, lots of shopping and restaurants. The street is busy in front of the hotel, but we didn't have any safety concerns. Close to the train station as well. We were so pleased with our stay - we didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    4.6
    Stay here only if you can't find anything better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Black mold all over the bathroom window - Lots of mold in the grooves of the shower sliding doors. It was so bad to look at that I decided not to use the shower at all. - Sort of a depressing atmosphere overall in the hotel due to outdated decor - Too expensive for what we got

    - Great breakfast buffet with lots of choice - Friendly lady at front desk

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was fine, but I got a ticket so that ruined by stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking....horrible only 3 spots for hotel parking. Have to pay city of Giessen for parking somewhere and I got a ticket parked in front of the hotel. I want go back since I have other nice hotels and parking is not an issue. The last thing I need to be worried about is where I park my car at the hotel.

    Has breakfast and restaurant close by and staff spoke English at the reception desk.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Our stay in Giessen was all the more memorable due to your Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely bright room, nicely decorated and good sized bathroom. Breakfast room attractively decorated and the very wide choice of food was beautifully laid out on the buffet table. All the staff extremely welcoming and helpful. We have told all our local German friends to recommend the Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the locality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    High price - value ratio. Friendlly stuff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no Aircondition in the room, and since it was a hot day I needed to open the windows, and unfortunately it was a bit noisy. However it is not a big flaw.

    I liked very pleasant and friendly stuff. Also cleanness was on high level and room was comfortable. Breakfast as well was good and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Expensive and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over expensive considering the city

    Clean spacious room, basic decoration

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Reasonable stay for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not super clean.

    Nothing bad, nothing good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast very good, staffs are nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much dust on the bed

    The breakfast very good, staffs are nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    the wifi was not very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wifi was not very good. I lost signal very frequently.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location and good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was too weak.

    Location, staff, value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, need rooms renovation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnitures and bathroom

    Great breakfast, good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay good rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new improved internet is a lot worse than the previous one

    Nice place to stay good rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They charged me more that they supposed to.

    breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directly on the busy main street.

    Near the centre, great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff nice big airy rooms adequate breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff nice big airy rooms adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    The location was good and it had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    N/A

    The location was good and it had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful with any queries we had

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast and they gave us bottled water wen we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast and they gave us bottled water wen we checked out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Visiting the university - the place to stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, near the University was perfect and also the breakfast was delicous!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Breakfast is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.5
    Stay in Gießen
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was very good

    Perfect location, next to a nice cafe and next to the university

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Great location, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast selection. Lots of coffee and teas

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    We enjoyed every minute
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast was really nice with many things to chose on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs an update

    Breakfast was really nice with many things to chose on

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    The bed was fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was fantastic.very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    7.5
    Spacious room and within walking distance from town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 comfy chair in the room, so the other person has to sit on the bed.

    Spacious room and within walking distance from town center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Delightful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ROAD NOISE ON A HOT NIGHT WITH WINDOWS OPEN (BUT PREFER OPEN WINDOWS TO AIR CONDITIONING)

    BREAKFAST SPECTACULAR STAFF VERY HELPFUL

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.8
    Wifi not reliable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not reliable. Very hot inside, but noisy when I opened the window.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.6
    good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet hotel, walking distance to center, good breakfast, qualified staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    Central position, very quiet, very good breakfast, big room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Moquette full of stains, front receptionist not very interested in our stay and our comfort but not unpolite.

    Central position, very quiet, very good breakfast, big room with two windows and an other one in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    10
    I loved the really kind staff, the space in my room and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the really kind staff, the space in my room and the breakfast, which was good in quality and variety.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.3
    The breakfast had very good variety and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast had very good variety and quality.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    10
    Bad signal of the wifi conection,
    • Solo traveller

    Bad signal of the wifi conection,

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: