Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant Am Paulusbogen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rindermarkt 2, 94032 Passau, Germany

#19 of 31 hotels in Passau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 545 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Very adequate as I wasn't paying top prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation passages dark and unfriendly. My room overlooked the cobbled road on the town side which was horrifyingly noisy.

    The price. This hotel was excellent value for money and well located. Good garden restaurant overlooking Danube. Really pretty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    we had a very convenient and pleasant 2 night stay, have already recommended to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was fairy small and sparsely furnished, noisy at night (not their fault)

    the situation right on the Danube and on the edge of the Old town was fantastic. The staff were good and it was everything we needed for our 2 nigth stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast we tasty, and the View across the river was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The split levels were a little confusing and the google location was miss-leading. The bike parking is a long trip round from the reception and staff were slow to open the garage.

    Breakfast we tasty, and the View across the river was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Wifi was a disaster no matter where connection was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a disaster no matter where connection was eventually made. Good if it lasted five minutes and as oftened happened no connection at all. Reception appeared unable or unwilling to resolve the matter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Best Value Bed & Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV has only around 30 channels.

    Great value for money! Incredible breakfast (Apfelstrudel with raspberries was unbelieveable good) that you can even enjoy in the sun and on their terracce with view to the river. Parking was for free and nearby. The rooms are a little bit old-fashioned, but this is something we liked in particular. It was a great experience staying at this small jewel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    A nice location hotel with a very good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay at the room just a floor upper on the kitchen , so our room was smelly with kitchen smell. Try to a exhauster at the lift tower or stairway.

    You should try the add on dinner provided on the same restaurant on the hotel, taste was nice and valued for you paid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    We will choose again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking and we should park the car in the shopping center far from the hotel

    The room was perfect and the staff very friendly. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    The Hotel is in a great location which made it very easy to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a thing, we enjoyed it all.

    The view from our room across the Danube. Comfy bed, crisp white sheets and huge bath towels. The Restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Lovely walk along the river to the junction of the 3 Rivers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    staff, advice and providing excellent service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    complicated parking (free on site from 6pm but at 6:10pm we found a very last spot)

    staff, advice and providing excellent service; location; breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    A welcoming hotel after a long motorway journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well located, over looking the river and right in the town centre. Pleasant restuarant with a good, varied menu. Good breakfast with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location in the middle of Passau
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful reception desk clerk explained where and how we could park by the hotel's back entrance. Once there, we could easily walk to all of the old city attractions. The hotel's breakfast buffet was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff was friendly and the location amazing, exactly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed matress was very old and uncomfortable. Breakfast was not so rich as mentioned in the previous reviews.

    The staff was friendly and the location amazing, exactly next to the old city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel! Great restaurant! Great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the internet worked, it was great, but it seemed "challenged" between 10am and 2pm, 2 out of 3 of the days we were there.

    Fantastic breakfast buffet! And....we also ate lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant. They offered a delicious, affordable "menu del dia." Our very comfortable room overlooked the Danube. The location was perfect to both the old town and the new town. Every place is walkable, but there's also a City Bus if you're feeling a little tired.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.3
    friendliness on phone, key availability even after 23h,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very bad smell / stench in the room 408, all the clothes took over that and we could not sleep (sewerage or from somewhere) we were not provided with wifi code due to our late arrival.

    friendliness on phone, key availability even after 23h, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    4.6
    Brekfast was in order, location -very good, room poor, 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at some 23.00 and the hotel was closed! Thanks god the reception lady ( she did not speak any word in English) was just about to start her car to leave home, and she saw us knocking on the door , so she let us in and gave the keys. 5 min later we' d be condemned to sleep in the car... Al finished well, we entered our room...

    Brekfast was in order, location -very good, room poor, 2 stars max

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in the rooms.

    Breakfast was great. Good selection of cereals, cold cuts and attentive restaurant staff. The place performs better as a restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    10
    Helpful staff, great location, comfort and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff members were very welcoming and helpful - even holding our luggage on our departure day so we could stroll around town and arranging a shuttle for our next destination. Our room was spacious, had a great view and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and had tasty variety.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    Re-charging our batteries :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well positioned in the old part of the city, close to the Christmas Market. Breakfast was very nice. We had an issue with the heating - when asked for help, they fixed in 5 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.3
    Hotel in need of a facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was pretty basic for price. Very small indeed. Felt rather tired. Food was so-so. Hotel felt more like rooms above a restaurant, which it is! Nowhere to sit at all, except on covered terrace, for hotel guests on rainy days.

    Terrace restaurant is a great location. Staff were fairly helpful, though often overworked and busy. It is very central for walking round Passau.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent place,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift is small and you have to carry the bags to the first level.

    The location is excellent. Exotic view from the room balcony. Restaurant is good with a wide variety of food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great value for money and the staff were lovely and you felt very welcome. The property was also very modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location to visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very warm due to the hot weather as it was in the top floor.

    Location of the Hotel was excellent and breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    I would stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location and friendly staff. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    The Hackelberg's beer !
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking places for free....

    The Hackelberg's beer !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the beginning WiFi did not work, but then it was fixed.

    Clean room, helpful staff, good breakfast, central location, restaurant inside the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Coffe in the morning was very bad.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffe in the morning was very bad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    The view of the Danube during breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in room 406 !!!

    The view of the Danube during breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    A nicely located, clean, value for money Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been topped up. Lots of empty plates and juices 45 mins before the end of Breakfast.

    View from the room across the Danube.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    free breakfast for university students whose visitors stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free breakfast for university students whose visitors stay in this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Nothing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.0
    the location is very nice
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot in our room

    the location is very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Good food, geared towards a healthy meal and not the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food, geared towards a healthy meal and not the traditional omelette with sausages.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains at all.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food at the restaurant was of excellent quality. Will visit again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal was very poor.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. Location is very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice location, restaurant OK, good breakfast, rooms are fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Charming place in a Charming town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge

    The staff was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not excellent

    the view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    The location is great We had a real taste of local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Resturant serves good food but there is a minimum $ to sit at a table to view the Danube river.

    The location is great We had a real taste of local hospitality. I wish we had more time to stay in Passsu.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location, great staff, super clean and spacious room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinner at the restaurant was very average - could have done better elsewhere.

    Perfect location, great staff, super clean and spacious room, and the breakfast was excellent..

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.3
    1. The location of the hotel is very good, from the window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    1. The WIFI connection is not good; 2. It would be better if the hotel could provide a kettle and some tea or coffee in the room during winter.

    1. The location of the hotel is very good, from the window of the hotel room, we can see the scenery of the river; 2. The breakfast provided by the hotel is quite nice; 3. The owner of the hotel is very kind to allow me to park my car in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    7.5
    Located right in the middle of oldtown, which was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was not available at the hotel, so we had to walk a bit, but the gentleman at reception told us about the cheaper parking lot. The windows kept out the street noise, but we heard a quite a bit of noise from other rooms.

    Located right in the middle of oldtown, which was nice.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    The view from the hotel room was absolutely fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We were given rooms on the first floor which had good views but nothing as good as the ones on the third or fourth floor. There was no hot water for showering on the last day of our stay but as the staff had promised, the issue was fixed within the hour.

    The view from the hotel room was absolutely fantastic. The windows are soundproof so you don't hear the traffic noise at all. The rooms are very clean and tidy. The staff are really nice and friendly, always willing to guide and help.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    We had a nice, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint was the confusing layout - reception is on the same floor as the restaurant (3rd floor) and was hard to find (you have to walk through restaurant).

    We had a nice, large room. The hotel overlooks the Danube and the river cruise dock sites, and is near many shops and cafes. The restaurant food was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    6.3
    Staff was pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reception desk is in the middle of the crowded restaurant and guests need to walk through the restaurant to get to their rooms. Our room (203) smelled like dirty socks after the Febreeze wore off.

    Staff was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The luggage storage is not secure. There should be a receipt system. I missed two trains because I had to wait for my bag which had been mistakenly transferred to another hotel.

    The location is perfect. It is very close to the Danube and the terrace restaurant has a superb view.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.8
    - excellent service, at the reception and at the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - confort was ok even if the bed was less confortable - you need to use remote parking in the area and walk a bit to the hotel.

    - excellent service, at the reception and at the restaurant for the breakfast - good location down town - good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Both dinner and breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor disappointment only: we were the unlucky to get the view of the church wall couple meters away, but hey, the room is for sleeping only anyway. Wifi got always disconnected, but at least we cared for each other. So no worries.

    Both dinner and breakfast was excellent. There is no better way to start your day then a nice breakfast on a beautiful terrace overlooking the Danube. We've tried 2 dishes for dinner both of them was fantastic! Service was always very kind and efficient. You can not say this for other places. We had huge disappointment in other place so dont look further, this place is perfect! Unlike those big hotel chains who only care for their spoiled, but still never satisfied platinum and gold members, here every guest is treated the same!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    7.9
    location, breakfast, good wifi, helpful reception staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not appreciate staff having loud conversations about work, co workers, schedule few meters away from guest trying to quietly eat breakfast at 7am. I believe staff should not discuss those things when guest can hear them not mentioning some quiet time in the morning would be nice. No bottled water in the room, small shower.

    location, breakfast, good wifi, helpful reception staff

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    6.3
    Location and breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Size of room.

    Location and breakfast options.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.5
    Locality, wiev,parking, brakefast, service, kichen, beer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Locality, wiev,parking, brakefast, service, kichen, beer

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    7.9
    breakfast was very good and we were vert well welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking wasn't private, it was public and we need to leave before 9am.

    breakfast was very good and we were vert well welcome

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.8
    Location is perfect, staff is really nice, food in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff exepct receptionist doesnt speak english

    Location is perfect, staff is really nice, food in the morning was great

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Location was perfect for strolling along the Danube and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect for strolling along the Danube and the breakfast was amazing!!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Great location and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and restaurant

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast table view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC. It was very hot in our room.

    Breakfast table view.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    5.8
    Very very noisy from traffic below.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very very noisy from traffic below. No air circulation in room even with windows wide open.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    8.8
    Air condition hiánya
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air condition hiánya

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location, very good wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdated furniture, found small pieces of chocolate under the desk

    Excellent location, very good wifi

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: