Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Am Rosengarten

Dr.-Haupt-Weg 4, 56377 Nassau, Germany

#3 of 5 hotels in Nassau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.4
    Adequate for a brief overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small. The elderly gentleman running the hotel appeared to be doing it singlehandedly. He was polite but not very forethcoming or friendly.

    Location was good for cyclists on Lahn river route.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Am Rosengarten definitely rose to the occasion
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was completely satisfied with the hotel. I would have walked to it instead of taking a cab but for my age (senior citizen) and having hauled my luggage on the train on a very hot, rainy day. But you can't blame that on the property or host. Maybe a light weight blanket or sheet instead of just the comforter, but I had a large scarf I used instead due to the muggy heat. Unfortunately 80% of the city was devastated in WWII but I was able to experience the feel of the town none the less. I was hoping for more from pre-WWI as that was my ancestor's era. I did have a hard time finding authentic German food the way my great grandfather used to cook it. And although I bought Pop's favorite tobacco I couldn't find anyone with a pipe to smoke some for me! I wanted to re-create the olfactory memory of my great grandfather from my childhood while exploring his heritage. But that's a bit personal an not something the normal travel would be looking for.

    I was on a genealogical search/exploration. The hotel was walking distance to everything I needed, including the train station and a large grocery market. The host spoke little English and was alone; I think his wife was out of town. I read in an earlier posting the host seemed a bit gruff at first, but I disagree. We managed to communicate quite a bit even with the language barrier. I'm not a dog person (cat!) but his dog was unobtrusive. I only saw one other couple there when I stayed (the host gave me my pick of rooms--same price--when I arrived but I took the smallest by choice), although I believe there may have been others due to the vehichles. The view was beautiful with the castle on the mountain across the river; most people visit for the nature not the town which is quite small. Breakfast came with the room which made the overall price unbelievably good in comparison to my other hotels in Amsterdam and Paris. Cash is expected. This was even a very good value when compared to Koblintz. This was a great place to stay as long as you aren't looking for super-modern. If I'd had a car the parking is included. Don't miss the cemetery which is just up the block; unusual to recommend but beautiful and I spoke with people there who gave me local insight, as did the city archivist, Julia, who was wonderful. (Thanks to the city mayor who linked us up by e-mail before my trip). Although the town is small I found interesting things I didn't expect such as a small commemorative in the sidewalk before the location of the home where a holocaust victim had lived.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Another excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, comfortable and relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    It was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    excellent, varied breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent, varied breakfast; quiet location near downtown Nassau

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Perfect if you want to stay outside the big city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All is good! Free parking and amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Excellent place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location. Very cosy and comfortable room with TV. Free bag of Haribo on my pillow too :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    6.7
    Old style hotel and room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old style hotel and room. OK to stay one night if you have to but does not deserve its rating. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Clean place and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned rooms and bathroom Super old TV

    Clean place and very friendly staff Very good choice and service during breakfast Fantastic view from the braekfast room Bikes in the garage

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Very comfortable place and Best breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi dosen't work perfekt

    Very comfortable place and Best breakfast.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: