Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Schelztor This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Schelztorstraße 5, 73728 Esslingen, Germany

#5 of 16 hotels in Esslingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 244 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location close to the train station and sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only stayed the night but overall I thought the location was superb (near the train station), the bed was comfortable, the room was of a good size. Check-in and check-out went smoothly and complimentary bottled water was provided, which is always great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    Good for your bussiness trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price to high.

    Nice hotel in the middle of Esslingen. Good for your bussiness trip down town. A little bit to expensive for the comfort, but hey, its down town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Happiness is knowing your memories are shared by others who work to maintain a tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an excellent example of a mid-century pension. It took me back to my childhood traveling europe with my parents and little sister in the 1960-1970's. The location could not be more ideal in the center of this medieval town overlooking a school yard. It was a short drive to the Mercedes Benz Museum in Stuttgart but is a world away from that industrial city. We stayed for the Christmas Market that snakes through the streets of the old town. The antique hand powered childrens rides, streets light by torches and bonfires, and handmade christmas decorations made for a memorable visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Recommended to any who wish to explore the beautiful town of Esslingen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a varied breakfast, everyday was same items.

    Daily buffet breakfast in a lovely room on ground level. Excellent walking area, close to old town, shops and many restaurants. Limited Parking available behind hotel for eight cars. Rooms are very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Did what we wanted!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinning options - we eat well in the nearby Osteria, but if you were there for longer the choice was limited

    Practical, dealt well with my late arrival (and my poor German).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in a great location in a delightful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives. We always hope for an electric jug and coffee, but this is not a practice in European hotels ... that would have made this hotel exceptionally good!

    The hotel is perfectly placed and not too far to walk with luggage from the train station. The room was excellent and very clean, breakfast was great, and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lift, always a blessing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    They couldn't find my booking on arrival (yet it had been duly confirmed on booking.com).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My main concern is that the hotel had no trace of my booking that I had done through booking.com. Something like this has never happened to me before, and yet I use booking.com quite a lot. Fortunately, they had a free room left, otherwise it could have been a disaster. Also, I must mention that some of my friends complained about their things being stolen from their rooms.

    For those visiting Esslingen this is one of the best placed hotels. Rather good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    The location was excellent.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was excellent. Close to the Old town, public transport and the train station. Staff was very polite and helpful. A good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel on all counts!
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bath were lovely, but a bit small for someone with long legs!. It's difficult to know the size when choosing a single room. Next time I will reserve a double.

    Perfect location next to a lovely park, square, shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff was friendly, efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Central location in a very nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location in a very nice town. Clean, quiet room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice position, freindly stuff, breakfast room small but good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hi price for not so moden hotel

    Nice position next to downton and parking available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    We felt right at home there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management went out their way to help us. Breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    It was very quiet and the location convenient.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    It was very quiet and the location convenient. In the very hot weather, the air conditioning was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel with nice staff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel with nice staff. We arrived late, so the hotel has a Maschine for the keys...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    An average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife forgot a hair dryer in the room—it was not returned.

    Located close to the city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.9
    Esslingen a city that is a must see
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was right in town all the sights easy to reach. Staff super friendly and the room very comfortable. Good value!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    8.8
    Central location, recently renovated, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although very new I found the mattress too hard for me and the pillow and it's filling was irritating (shape wise)

    Central location, recently renovated, friendly staff, good breakfast - what more does one want!

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    7.1
    Christmas market and meal at Markt restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Strange phone call to say key in dispenser by front door. No staff in hotel till breakfast . Why so expensive with so little staff?

    Christmas market and meal at Markt restaurant. So good Nice lady served breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    5.4
    The location was good enought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I did not like the staff, she was old and she couldn't speak English. It was confusion with rooms and its numbers, they did not offer me a WiFi voucher, they did not explain that at night when you go out to enter the hotel you need a key to open the main sore first, at night there is no staff and security at all.

    The location was good enought. The bathroom was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    4.2
    The location of the hotel is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had poor staff experience, asked for a late check-out but was still knocked at 8:00am by the cleaning staff. No "Please do not disturb" signs Basic TV, not international channels Breakfast extra

    The location of the hotel is very good.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no mini-refrigerator or phone in the room. No once replaced soap in the bathroom. The breakfast was not to our liking.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The area was perfect for sightseeing. It was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    The location was very close to the wine walk we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - great hotel.

    The location was very close to the wine walk we did. It was in a very nice area. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.1
    Good location if visiting Esslingen, fine breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little pricy for provided comfort (basic room, breakfast not included in price)

    Good location if visiting Esslingen, fine breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    6.7
    I like the location of the hotel , fast check in and check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no tea making in the room

    I like the location of the hotel , fast check in and check out , also the staff was so kind

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking a bit tight at the hotel but public parking close at 8 EUR a night

    Location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: