Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel 38 This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Oranienburger Str. 38, Mitte, 10117 Berlin, Germany

#118 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3116 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities and when we asked at reception we were directed next door to their restaurant- we just wanted a coffee in our room!

    Clean, freshly decorated and in good order. Breakfast was decent and staff were friendly. Shower in room was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    at reception . as i tryed to check in, the staff , gave me the cold shoulder ,and allowed a German customer to move ahead of myself and my wife, even doe i was ahead in the queue and when i objected to this action, the German customer then ask the receptionist in german if i was a bad mannered English person. and i expect the receptionist to be provisional and keep all customers identity private do the germans still think thy are superior to us, and refused my request to speak to managerment

    bed good and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really, everything is good.

    This is my second stay at Hotel 38 in Berlin and I think this alone says a lot. It's a very nice boutique hotel right in the middle of "Mitte", within walking distance to some of the major attractions, or a subway stop or two away. The neighbourhood is great for a variety of good restaurants of different cuisines and some nice bars and cafes with personalities. The breakfast buffet is really good; the rooms very clean, comfortable and efficient. Good value for money, perfect for exploring Berlin with minimal transport time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are not sound proof - you can hear your neighbours. We found hair on bedsheet - I believe it was cleaner hair.

    We took a standard double bedroom (room number 205), bathroom was absolutely amazing and clean. In our room was everythig what we really need - our double bed was made from two single beds however they were very comfy and big. Windows were very good, they stopped all the noise from the street- room was quiet - however you can hear the neighbours when they are speaking loudly by phone (not really nice experiance at 6.30 am). Breakfast is absolutely great and lady who is cleaning after guest is very quick and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Liked everything !

    The room was clean, comfortable and quiet - slept like a log every night ! Breakfast was great, excellent choice and very plentiful. The hotel is situated in a really good area for eating, going out and about and it's near the main tourist sights but off the main routes so quieter at night. Staff are friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi is very bad. I had to connect from my cell phone's 3G. Room design is bad. there is no cattle in the room. there is no air-condition in the room. bathroom design is bad, cause when you get shower, all the toilet floor gets wet. hotel owner has to fix this.

    Location is good, close to Berlin Catedral and centre of the Mitte. Staff is helpful. So close to Orenienburger metro station. Breakfast is fine. Breakfast lounge is good, has a little sweet garden. Breakfast staff is helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and helpful staff, great breakfast which was a fab way to start the day. Room was a lot larger than I expected with a big power shower in the bathroom too which was a pleasant surprise. The hotel was also open 24/7 so I didn’t have to worry about timings or a code to get in and out of the building and Could come and go as I pleased with a key to my own room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was a little bit small, with no view .... but not really a problem , all the fixtures and fittings in the bedroom were very good.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, very clean, perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    *The room I had was toward the street and was noicy due to traffic and trams, the doors to the balcony (french style so no outdoor seating) was very poorly insulated so a lot of noice from the outside, earplugs a must for good sleep, this needs improvement, also hard to close,

    * Very good location, close to many sights and to S and U bahn * Friendly staff * Good breakfast * That my room had an A/C, it was hot in Berlin this weekend and road facing room. * Room was clean and bed comfy, ample size for one person, decent value considering location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area is very busy and you have to share a big table with others. Staff is not fluent in English.

    The hotel is very well located and has a great design. Its really close to Alexander Platz and just 5 mins. walk from Hackescher Markt stop and there is a direct line from/to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lady receptionist was very rude when we were confused about payment. The room was grubby and completely different from the photos online. Always difficult to ask someone for help.

    The gentleman at reception who helped us get a taxi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found our fourth floor room rather small. The wi-fi was not very good - always slow and at times almost non-existent. We were disappointed that there was no kettle in the room. The hotel aims for a minimalist style but really ends up just being basic. Bundles of dry sticks in tall pots, even if they're painted bright orange, are always a sign that the design lacks imagination and any real style.

    The staff were generally friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good - apart from the coffee. I resented having to pay for an espresso. The location was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single beds are a tad narrow and in cooler weather I would like two duvet covers - I'm over 6ft and one isn't really big enough for me. The bathroom drain can get smelly - a Berlin problem

    Excellent staff. Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. Simple, modern, efficient rooms. My first choice in Berlin - see previous reviews

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed for four nights which meant breakfasts were becoming a little boring as exactly the same food was served every day in exactly the same way. I appreciate that if you were staying for 1 or 2 nights this probably would not be an issue.

    The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was lovely with an excellent and roomy shower. It was quiet and we were able to walk to wherever we wanted to visit. it was very handy for the station also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor was rather gaudy for my taste. The one elevator is inadequate for the number of rooms and it wasn’t clear how to find the stairs. Late at night the corner outside is a gathering place for prostitutes, although it’s a safe neighborhood.

    Nice location in a lively neighborhood, but room was also very quiet. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is slow and we seemed to have to wait quite a while for it to arrive.

    Excellent shower!! Hot with good pressure. Really great location with excellent transport links. Breakfast was delicious. Lovely access to courtyard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfeast the employees were really unfriendly! No tea pot in the room!no safe. Very Good , relaxed and delicious restaurant belongs together.stuff very friendly!

    Atmosphere was Feeling nice ,homy!in the building and in the area! Calm, no noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was a bit small and the pillows too flat

    the breakfast was very nice and varied. The location was excellent and I got very good directions from the airport to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please get rid of the individually packaged butter, soap and toiletries - you could do something here about social responsibility.

    Nice small hotel close to the S-Bahn and Hackescher. Modern style and medium sized rooms. Staff is friendly and the stay was really good. The value for money is ok but a little overpriced if you compare to other modern 3-4 star hotels in Berlin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had a really good time ,the breakfast was very nice ,the room was very nice and clean,the staff was very good I will like to come to this hotel again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in breakfast included I was expecting to find coffee and cappuccinos included but you have to pay extra for it. anyway again, not bad €2.50 for a cappuccino is still very honest price.

    Really enjoyed. I stayed in room 102 and was ok for a single person, clean and all furniture in perfect condition. not a great view from window but it does not matter! My friend in room 105 though had his room smaller and less attractive than mine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and it was uncomfortable for relaxing after busy days in Berlin. No idea where we could sit in comfort to watch TV even if we wanted to. I would stay again but pay more for a bigger room.

    Great location and relatively quiet for a capital city. Staff very helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast provided wide choice for meat-eaters. But not so good for vegetarians and not sure how vegans would manage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm and cold water is quite not stable, taking shower is a little bit nervous.

    Here living is so convenient! Near the Hackescher Markt, so much the best coffee Roasters or shop, fashion shops, tasty restaurants, even the jazz music live clubs is nearby. The staffs are so friendly and kind, It’s always a pleasure to say hello or having breakfast. The room is quite warm decoration, and it’s although for one person but it has enough space to walk around. The bed is awesome for this price, I had a nice sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel! Great location. All tourist attractions are walkable from the hotel, albeit walking to East Side Gallery was a bit far in cold weather. Room was just fine, a bit cramped maybe, but definitely would stay there again if ever in Berlin. Arrived by train, took a taxi from there, 10 minutes and around 8 euros. Were able to leave our bags in a locker at hotel on the day of departure, so could still sightsee in the city after check-out. Highly recommend Hotel 38!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel 38 was superb a great location to access Berlin from very easy to navigate from and to get back to esp Airport. Staff where great and very friendly will definitely stay here again.

    Great modern and stylish tucked away in a quiet street in a great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was just two single beds pushed together, with two single sets of bedding, so not very comfy to share with your partner... also the headboard had plastic lights in that creaked every few seconds when the lights warmed up, and again when it cooled down, loud enough to keep me awake. Our room was nothing like the more unique rooms in the pictures, more like a standard travelodge room, perhaps this was our mistake.

    The location is excellent, just down the road from the museum island. The concieges spoke good english, and the breakfast had a good variety of food. The room was made up every day (perhaps needlessly). We found some really nice bars very close to the hotel too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities could have been better, only bin we had was in the bathroom and for breakfast another savoury vegetarian option would be nice.

    Hotel is in a very central location and is easily accessible via metro or Tram, the hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even better if there were some board games/magazines/books to look at within the eating areas for the afternoons and if there were tea/coffee in rooms.

    Continental style breakfast was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was very little hanging and storage space for clothes and what there was inadequate and inappropriate. It might be ok for an overnight stay where you don't want to unpack, but it is frustrating for a longer stay. There was no place to work at a desk or table. The set of drawers provided, had one for each letter of the alphabet, but even the biggest of them was small, deep and difficult to use. The space occupied could be better utilised another way.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small ( but lovely big toilet/shower room. Not much of a wardrobe for clothea

    Fantastic breakfast and atmosphere, anything u need extra for your room just ask and they will accommodate

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a bed in a bathroom, the worst hotel I ever been in my life. Probably I stayed in the most horrible room of all. Not fair the Hotel put avaliable such a awful room compare to other - and the pictures that they put on their website

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was marvelous, the hotel quiet and clean, the beds comfortable. I could not have hoped for a better location -- it was an easy walking distance to everything I wanted to see, but tucked into a calm pocket just off busy Friedrichstrasse. Public transport was (as in most of Germany) close and easy. Also... the shower. Holy cow. I have a google search looking for new showerheads on another tab. Amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small pillow and not very comfortable. not many cakes for breakfast.

    very clean, bright, modern and welcoming room. very spacious shower. Friendly and polite staff. excellent location, close to the metro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location next to S Bahn. Peaceful room to rear of hotel very spacious and comfortable. Mini bar and tea/coffee making facilities. Large walk in wet room/bathroom. Breakfast excellent with lots of choice. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was amazing. It was spacious and clean. The bathroom was delightfully large. The breakfast was delicious and healthy. The hotel is extremely well located close to interesting sights and tram stops. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sound proof at all! Other than that, no complaints.

    Amazing location, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast each morning. Right near public transport, Museum Island and within walking distance of plenty of places to eat and drink.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty getting much help as staff didn't have best English and breakfast wasn't as great as reviews stated

    Great location, room was lovely for price and facilities were there if needed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise came through a bit in our room - trams etc. Ask for a back room. Minor plumbing issue with our toilet which kept making regular funny noises throughout the day and night. Went away the next day which was good.

    Loved the location and its proximity to awesome bars, restaurants and public transport. Breakfast was pretty good as well.Comfortable affordable accomodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the. Beginning they gave me another room smaller with 2beds and I have booked double bed . After they change when I was in reception ,bathrum was. Very small but new

    Some people who work very kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to say here.

    - A very comfortable room. - Breakfast was wealthy and healthy. - Staff is very friendly especially Mr. Nicole available in evening shift. He guided very well to see Berlin with very special points to see and points to eat. Much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at this hotel several times as I have friends in Berlin-Mitte but like my independence. The location is simply fantastic, the rooms have a particular charm and the bed is very comfortable, the breakfast buffet is fantastic, the staff is very friendly and effective. This is my favorite place to stay when I visit Berlin. And the price is hard to beat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been even better if a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities were provided in the room. The first evening, one of the staff did give me a thermos flask and mug and milk to make tea.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great location, easy to access public transport and lots of restaurants and cafes near by. Easy to walk to major sights. Clean, warm hotel. Clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Comfortable beds. Great breakfast with wide choice and plenty of food available. Very handy for restaurant 38 next door. Great set up for families with children - we had a double room and a triple room very near to each other and could telephone between rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would include more “sweet” food to the breakfast, like croissants or other pastries

    Super good location in Mitte, next to U and S train stations, clean and modern, staff was really helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to my room required using a few steps in addition to the lift. This was not convenient with luggage.

    Easy access to everything I needed in the hotel and to transportation and attractions outside.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location for most of the main attractions either on foot or by short u bahn journey. Helpful staff and a quiet hotel. High quality breakfast with plenty to choose from. Very clean room and excellent shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location for accessing all the sights, only five minutes from the river where you've got a promenade that goes to the Reichstag and behond and the other way to HackescherMarkt and Nikolaiviertal . Excellent bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel. Very comfortable hotel with extremely friendly and efficient staff. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we had no German speaking with staff was difficult, hence asking questions re getting to and from tourist attractions was difficult and using public transport was difficult. No kettle in room to make a cuppa when you get back at night.

    Great breakfast buffet, very close to public transport, premises warm, clean and comfortable. Access to PC to print off boarding passes FOC.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We came 4 pairs. The other 3 got rooms with normal size. But our one was really small and not comfortable. So when you order this hotel ask for big room

    The hotel is very nice and very good location. The staff was very nice and helpful. Very taste breakfast and excellent restaurant next door. The room design is unique and beautiful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet connection was very inconsistent but mostly not usable (on several devices). Customer service is not adequate: Staff tends to be nice unless you have a special request (like paying items from the minibar by credit card together with the room charge - not possible, no solution presented).

    Our room was super-clean and came with good beds and a nice modern bathroom; especially the shower was great. Occasional noise from the corridor, otherwise very calm. Breakfast is good, but lacking something special. The location close to the Museumsinsel is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They were renovating a room near ours and the noise started at 8am which wasn't ideal. The room was facing the main road which wasn't a big problem for us but other travellers should request a room away from the road if you are a light sleeper. The door was quite heavy and the handle a bit stiff but I'm just nitpicking now.

    This is a gem of a hotel. It is set amongst a good selection of bars and restaurant and is only a short walk to a lot of big attractions and has good public transport links. The room was clean, spacious and had everything you could possibly need with a cool design. The staff are very efficient. The breakfast was really great with a fantastic selection and helpful staff, they even put out a small selection for our early flight. The wifi speed is also really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I borrowed a kettle and cup from reception so I could make tea for myself at night. The cleaner kept taking the cup away when she cleaned. I put my teabags in it one morning, thinking that would make it clear I wanted to keep the cup, but they took they cup and threw out the teabags. A minor thing, but annoying all the same. I would have thought that if a patron had borrowed a kettle, they would like to keep the cup too.

    Hotel is in a great location. Right beside tube station and tram stop, a15 minute walk to Alexanderplatz. For places to eat, nearby Hackescher Markt is full of restaurants. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The room was nice and warm, which was lovely after a day in the December chill.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds themselves are comfortable but the single extra large pillow was not great and the double bed was two singles pushed together

    Breakfast was really good, plenty of variety and all high quality. Fantastic location, really central and accessible via public transport. Good bathroom and shower

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive for the size of the room.

    Nice small family Hotel near S-bahn, Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt. Adjacent restaurant with good food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room, but I think this was mentioned on line so wasn’t a show stopper .. lots of cafes in the area to make up for it

    Easy to get to from the airport, perfect for a base to sightseeing. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast. Rooms clean, lovely shower. Was a little outdoor noise during the day but no street noise at night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise, sometimes. Perhaps due to some construction or renovations going on.

    Great value for money. Lovely decoration and really central and confortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going up and down only via elevator

    Stylish hotel. Very clean rooms with different interiors. Nice surprise in which theme your room will be in. Excellent breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the first time in my life I got to sleep in a bathtub (literally). The room was very modern and clean, the breakfast (included, even at the very low price of the room) was fantastic with lots of choice. The location was also great (near the best restaurant/bar in Berlin, the Deponie, under the arches of the station on Friedrichsstrasse).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel in the Mitte area, perfect for exploring Berlin, good public transport near and easy to walk to the sights. Good selection of bars and restaurants near. Hotel and staff all excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was uncomfortable because the middle was very soft or the duckboard was too weak to support the mattress.

    The staff was very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridor carpet was outdated with stains. Rooms were small. Bed was small. It was very cold, because heating was turned at 0 (pay attention to this). After it was up regulated, it was comfortable.

    Breakfast were great. Rooms really clean and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special

    Very good hotel with responsive staff. Clean, newly refurbished. Very close to public transport. Short walking distance from Museum Island, Hackescher Markt and Alexanderplatz. Probably the best place for Russian-speaking guests, because all staff speaks Russian.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything at Hotel 38 was very good! Beds were very comfy, room perfectly clean every day, the breakfast was very nice and complete and the idea of sharing the table with other guests was great! I would definitely choose this hotel if back to Berlin!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was not aware of our booking when we arrived. It was sorted but not sure where the break in communication happened.

    Excellent room and breakfast. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    nothing

    totally nice staff, excellent location in a real neighborhood. This hotel is in an old building but has a modern interior. Excllent breakfast, with an omlet each day extensive coldcuts and cheese. Big family style table for breakfast. Our room faced a court yard no view but was large by most European standards, tall ceilings, roomy bath with large shower. S ban up the street, along with a bus and tram. Uban 2 blocks away. MANY restaurants and bars nearby but found the place quiet I would return here, no questions asked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been great to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Staff were friendly, rooms were clean, breakfast was lovely especially the coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can leave your suitcase at the hotel after check-out free-of-charge if you wish to spend a few more hours in the city - which is great. However, you have to carry it down the stairs to the storage room yourself. I had no issue with that, as I was traveling very light, but it may not be ideal for someone who has a big suitcase.

    Very good breakfast with lots of choices. Staff was always extremely helpful and friendly. Single room rather spacious for a two-night stay with a small luggage. Excellent location with both tram and subway just in front.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Continental breakfast was a amazing spread of many choices. Room nicely decorated, comfortable bed. Staff was very friendly. Requests granted and 24 hour safe atmosphere. Close to historical sites, transportation right out the front door, S-bahn down the side walk and M1 and M5 in the street. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Refer to above .

    Triple room bathroom very small and cupboard space small. Our single relative stayed separately in a room which appeared more comfortable and refurbished, which ours wasn't. Strange small ledges over bed heads. Overall however, we were pleased with the hotel. Breakfasts good and staff accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame there wasn't a kettle in the room. Would have been a nice touch.

    The choice for breakfast was excellent. The hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike although we did find accommodation to be expensive in Berlin.

    Breakfast was excellent: there was a very good choice available. The hotel was very well sited for sightseeing: we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see although superb transport links were available if required. It was also close to decent bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Awesome breakfast, friendly staff and great location at this recently renovated hotel. My single person room was a bit small, but otherwise great option to stay while exploring Berlin. Great value for your money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous hotel great location.Staff were very helpful, all speak English ( as nearly everyone in Berlin) nothing was too much for them to help you. 2 min walk to subway. Some where to eat in every direction from the hotel. Can not fault anything about the hotel or the location. Would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold, we had to ask twice to turn on the hitting, the rooms are small. The hotel is nice but not more... I don't think it worth how much they charge per night...

    The area is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls rather thin

    Excellent location and spotless rooms and dining room with good breakfast choices. Not sure of his name - but the evening receptionist was particularly helpful, pleasant, and accommodating. Good restaurants and shopping around in an interesting neighbourhood. Public transportation very close by for all major tourist attractions and many within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not that comfortable to stay for more than 2 days. Unfortunately no baths.

    Very correct and hospitable hostess, clean rooms, nice breakfast and breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel 38 traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: