Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Schlosspark This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Ziegelberg 1, 38855 Wernigerode, Germany

#21 of 25 hotels in Wernigerode

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 14

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To encourage visitors for longer stays I wonder if a flat fee for dog per visit would be more appropriate? Or max charge per stay. I'd love to visit again but cost for dog one of more expensive for hotels we've visited.

    Fantastic location, ample parking and so nice and quiet. Able to access room by side door with dog which was good. Quick response from hotel regarding cost for dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located on the edge of town a good 25/30 minutes walk from the centre of Wernigerode but if you are a keen rambler it will not bother you. The car-parking area in front of the hotel becomes a bit muddy when it rains.

    The breakfast is simple, but satisfying with tasty meats and cheese and good bread. The choice is limited but more than adequate. The cleaning staff are thorough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were not overly helpful. We arrived at 20.30 and were told that the restaurant had closed for the night and that no other facilities were available at all in the town (?!). There was apparently a McDonalds, but they could not give directions & we never found it. Also, some of the facilities advertised were not available - sauna only operational in winter.

    The breakfast was good but nothing outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs a good painting outside. Very little to do when it's raining all day (as it unfortunately was most of the time we were there)

    Located nicely at the beginning of the historical forest, about 10 min drive from the city. The hotel was nice and modern German style. Very nice breakfast. We only eat once in the restaurant (Wienerschnitzel) and it was very good (and plenty).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival their was apparently no record of our bookings which had all been confirmed by Booking.com. Due to the language barrier we did not find out if this was a hotel problem or a booking site problem. Fortunately, after a longish discussion three suitable rooms were found.

    Staff were very friendly, particularly the night lady who managed to resolve the booking problem noted later despite a language barrier. She then proceeded to produce a superb bowl of soup despite the kitchen being closed by the time we arrived and got things sorted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs a bit of TLC. The facade is a bit dirty and needs a fresh coat of paint or, at the very least, be exposed to the wonder that is called pressure washing. On the inside the one thing that stood out to me is the very old and stained carpeting on the stairs. It's light yellow - or, well, it used to be. Frankly, that just needs to be replaced and the hotel will look a whole lot more appealing. There is nothing modern here - so don't expect that. It's more on the rustic side which you either find appealing, appalling, or simply okay. I can live with it for a night or two....it's not my living room after all.

    When traveling to popular tourist towns, one often faces a dilemma: Either you chose a hotel in the thick of things and will struggle to find parking, or you chose a hotel a bit outside the hustle and bustle and have parking when and where you need it. Paired with the prospect of a quiet night in the woods, I found having parking at the hotel to be the perfect combination. After all, parking in town is plentiful and affordable - and it only takes about five minutes to drive there. My room was on the top floor - very quiet. Breakfast was typical German breakfast fare. Exactly what you'd expect. Only issue I noticed was the very water-down version of "juice" they offered. No bueno!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Beautiful location a little bit outside of the city of Wernigerode. Very calm and relaxing. Good breakfast. Very friendly staff. Ideal for hiking trips to the Harz

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worth taking a taxi from the station if you are arriving by train. It is s bit of a way from the station and it is mostly uphill.

    The property felt immediately comfortable. It is in the middle of the countryside, you really feel away from it all.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Continuous noise in the bathroom - Location: difficult ro reach without car

    - Comfortable bed - Well-regulated temperature

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable rooms. Good restaurant, Friendly staff. Quiet hotel location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard.

    The breakfast was very good, the staff reasonable good, the location mice and quite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was weak and intermittent in the room and very expensive for what you got.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    i am disabled and asked for a ground floor room, which I know they have. I got one on third floor and there is no lift. further I wanted two beds, ie a twin room, the room was a double ie one bed. this was sorted eventually but it shouldn't have had to be.

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful surroundings, perfect for hikes. Friendly staff.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 14

Browse Hotel am Schlosspark traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: