Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Designhotel am Stadtgarten 4 stars

Karlstraße 12, 79104 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#14 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1294 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The old fashioned air conditioning unit above the bed did not work so we passed an uncomfortable night Price of breakfast seemed very high - we got fresh supplies from the market

    Location was very good for visiting the Altstadt Underground parking at the hotel ( extra charge) was very useful Welcome drink was a nice surprise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit basic and therefore not particularly good value for money unless you factor in its good location. I wouldn't want to stay longer than one night unless it was the only place available at the time.

    Location is close to the centre of town but in a reasonably quiet road. It was good for one night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Room clean but very old style; 2) Hotel personnel very unfriendly and impolite 3) I was assigned with a room with the bathroom for handicap, that was very unconfortable. I have asked to change the room and the hotel personnel did not do any effort to change it and was extremely impolite. Value for money hotel zero!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly family hotel; professional and customer oriented - we arrived with an extra guest during a booked out period and they accommodated us in a flexible and friendly manner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, just good for one night

    We received a room upgrade to a bigger room (thanks!). New, modern, very friendly staff, good breakfast, close to city but still quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've stayed at the hotel before which is why we came back. I rang ahead as we thought we would arrive before the official check in time. The person we spoke to was extremely helpful and asked housekeeping to prepare our room early. We arrived early, were buzzed into the underground car park and our room was ready. I wish I had taken the name of this very helpful lady as she deserves a mention. This is a lovely hotel, all the staff are helpful and friendly and the pride themselves on a high level of customer care. The location is great and very convenient. Given the choice we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Freiburg.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad price/value ratio. The hotel is fairly overpriced. The room is small, there is no balcony and no view. There is no minibar/ fridge in the room. There is no even sign "don't disturb". The wifi is not working. My husband and I were not able to connect due to security issues of the provided connection. The stuff has just answered that they don't know why we cannot connect and this was it.

    The only thing which was great is the location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A bigger variety in the menu would be great.

    Quality bed, large comfortable and clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet yet central location. I can highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very nice. The rooms are very small but clean. There is a lot of parking for cars in front of the hotel. You should go to the edge of the lake. excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms without air condition :((( Had not slept more than 4 hours, was way too hot. Window must remain open and we were awaken by light and noise from the street.

    Overall look of the hotel is great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Superior location, great hotel, 100% value for the money. Great and helpful staff! Very decent breakfast and clean and cozy rooms with good isolation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wificonnection: you have to log in again and again each time you go from the lobby to your room or vice versa.

    Friendly staff, free welcome drink, service in the bar, really nice room! Everything about this hotel was great, I can really recommend it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not find a parking spot when checking in and had to park in a distant garage. Hotel required full payment on check- in before we even saw the room which left a security/quality concern of the establishment. Double bedroom space is limited when occupied by 2 persons.

    The location is in walking distance to the center of the city. Modern furnished .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great. Did not try breakfast, seemed pricey at 14 euro, but maybe very good

    Lovely hotel, 15 mins from station, near a tram station. Super friendly staff, free WiFi. Lovely large room with sofa. We did get a free upgrade so maybe that was why. Nice bar and restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm in the rooms though.

    Comfortable bed, quiet rooms. Very good location close to the main shopping/eating areas. Helpful staff gave us names of good restaurants etc

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better and the rooms would benefit from air conditioning and a fridge/mini-bar as it was very hot when we were there in early July.

    Secure parking on site, great welcome from the staff and good location for walking into the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All more than good enough for us.

    Great location close to city and outdoor spaces. Nice hotel, good breakfast. Really nice, helpful staff. Comfortable bar and outdoor areas.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to fill in passport information for both travellers.

    We were geven an upgrade on arrival. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    love the location great hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit expensive

    Staff, overall room quality, 2mins walk from city center, very accessible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good with lots of choices and a second room for those wanting to dine in a more indulgent setting.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good danke

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The food and the beer in this hotel are to a very good standard. It is handy for the main square and the staff couldnt be more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location

    There is no AC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great breakfast and breakfast room, super nice staff, I always start here when I come.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No film option in the room (this seems to be the case in most hotels)

    Very welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located perfectly to visit the historic center of Freiburg. Very helpful and friedly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we couldnt stay longer

    The staff made us feel at home and were very helpful with everything;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The hotel staff was really friendly and the hotel was near city centre. The terrace was nice. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and very clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Conviently locate do for a short stroll into town. Pleasant helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the most modern room equipment and a modest breakfast

    Cozy, small and stylish hotel, near the city center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional cost for parking: EUR 14 per day

    Very friendly staff Great cheese plate

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning. No english-speaking TV channels

    Good location. Clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms with no view other than onto buildings very close by.

    Great location on edge of town and near the gardens.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no car park

    The location is good but I wish if they have car park facility as well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprisingly there was no fridge or minibar in our room

    Staff was friendly, the room was large as we had booked, very comfortable, good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good position - short walk to the Cathedral - and very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night porter was very inexperienced and made us lose a lot of time at 1 am before giving us the key.

    Comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, lovely staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We loved the location. It is a clean and pleasant hotel with a nice feel about it. Staff were efficient and friendly and we enjoyed our welcome drink!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room has no mini-bar or a/c, which seems odd considering it's an expensive hotel. I have to say that I didn't find the mattress very comfortable, but I guess it's a matter of taste. I liked the hotel but I still think it's a bit too expensive for what it offers (breakfast isn't even included).

    The location is perhaps the strongest point of this hotel, very close to the Altstadt but not so much it gets noisy. The room was clean and good-sized, the bathroom was modern, the shower was great. The staff was always very friendly. The breakfast was good (they actually had freshly cut fruit, which you can't always find), but not amazing.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff at this hotel was very friendly, the room was nice and comfortable and very clean. Very good breakfast and the hotel is in a great location to explore Freiburg City Centre. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Everything was alright

    Very well located in a quiet area. Very good breakfast and friendly and professional staff. Welcome drink is included after check-in process. Good parking right in the building, which is better for non-very big sized cars.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we only stayed one night and didn't check in till 23.00 and left at 11.30 the following morning the only comment I can make is that the staff were friendly and efficient . The room was clean and very comfortable . I didn't have breakfast but my partner did and she said it was very good. The location is great and you are s five minute walk to the center . We will be back .

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you don't book parking, streets are full and parking is only free after 19:00 till 09:00, after which it is quiet costly.

    Very central. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast, central, cable TV and room service.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only thing that we didn't like was that we had to instruct the housekeeping staff to clean glasses or re-stock mini-bar items and soap in the toilet. otherwise they wouldn't do it!

    the design and coziness of the hotel, as well as the size of the rooms compared to the other hotels in Europe in general, we loved that the wi-fi was free and was extremely fast as opposed to other free wi-fi in other hotels. we were worried about the location, but we were surprised that the hotel was extremely close to the old city, and a few minutes walking from the closest tram station. the hotel didn't have a gym, but they can give you a ticket to visit the local (Fitness First) gym for a small deposit fee, which is a plus for whoever wants to keep fit while staying here.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very convenient for the city centre and walking on the Schlossberg. It was a pleasant place to relax in the evening and the staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    6 nights at expensive 4 star with no a/c and it was hot while there. Found bathroom dirty and they didn't clean the floor well and forgot clean towels once. Staff was not friendly towards kids and made us feel unwelcome at 1st breakfast to the point that we thought about moving to another hotel.

    Good location and big room.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air-condition can not be used in per-season even when it is 30 degrees outside.

    Very close to the city where all the bars and restaurants are. Parking under the hotel in the garage is excellent, even great when you are traveling with a motorcycle.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No airco, no minibar, no bath in the very small bathroom, no breakfast included, you have to pay the full amount directly at arrival, only 1 lift that takes ages to wait for, a baby crib cost EUR 8,- per night and also the very low quality matras of the sofa bank cost EUR 8,- per night. In total we paid more than EUR 200,- per night for the superior room, but the only thing that was superior about this room was the price. A max of EUR 90,- would have been fair for this room with little facilities; each Euro more is a rip off.

    Location and the size of the superior room

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The WIFI connection broke down one morning, and it took the hotel almost two days to fix it! A major inconvenience, and quite surprising that it took so long to get it working again.

    Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Trams that did not work influenced accessibility. Would be nice if breakfast were included.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was comfortable.The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is really good, near of the center of city.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good breakfast choice

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    design of room

    staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking underneath hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    pulizia, design, gentilezza staff

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very easy to go to city and university

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing there's no fridge in the room

    Everything in this hotel was nice

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff, very comfortable room, great parking, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Every things

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located very close to the city center Nice and clean facilities

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great rooms Friendly & helpful stuff Clean and big rooms Comfy Great location

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff helped us enjoy our stay and answered all our questions with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    Central location .. Very very friendly staff.. Amazing breakfast buffet .. Very well equipped for a wheelchair .. Had a lovely experience

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice clean rooms, and close to the center of town.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Room size, clean, good location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    make sure you pre book on site parking

    location staff

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    See above

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cannot think of anything

    breakfast was heaven and the spaciousness of the hotel, the terrace along the street very cosy too.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peaceful, rooms with space, very good internet, wonderful breakfast, nice terrace

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was immaculate and the staff were wonderful and helpful. The shower was awesome with the quality of the breakfast not far behind.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room and helpful staff

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: