Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Stern

Bismarckstrasse 70, 45888 Gelsenkirchen, Germany

#4 of 5 B&Bs and Inns in Gelsenkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the beginning, I felt the location was far from Hbf. Then, I found the bus stop was right at the front of the hotel so I took the bus to go to Hbf. My problem is solved.

    The staff is helpful. The room is clean. The breakfast is unbelievable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had paid for a room with a double bed but ended up with two singles. Despite being "non-smoking", the room smelt smokey upon arrival and there was an ashtray in the room... The area isn't the most tourist-friendly, and the breakfast room was small given the number of guests (on our last day we had to forego breakfast as there was nowhere to sit).

    We stayed here for Spiel 2017 and it was by far the cheapest hotel available in the area. Breakfast for €5 was fine (continental only), and staff were polite and as helpful as possible despite not speaking English. Convenient location for public transport links (although 15-20 mins' walk from Gelsenkirchen station).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For 65€ I have absolutely no complaints.

    Great Value for Money. Breakfast 5€ - almost unheard of these days. Bed more comfortable than it looks. Double room was very spacious. Would stay again if I am ever in Gelsenkirchen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception was closed or rather nonexistent, to get to my room I had to make a phone call and then was guided to my room. Staff was unavailable most of the time - the only chance to find them was during breakfast. The lady I talked to at the hotel was really helpful but didn't speak english (I had to use my almost forgotten german). The credit card was charged three months (sic!) before my arrival and my emails to the property regarding that strange way of payment remained unanswered. Location is terrible, the whole city is dirty but I feel that hotel surrounding are still below the average.

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very simple and old. Lots of noise from the street. Surrounding a little unpleasant (but we felt safe, this part is fine), not too clean, nothing interesting around, no food, etc.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. It is relatively from Gelsenkirchen main station. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance between lavatory and wall was so narrow that you had sit contorted by 90°, the window shutters were not entirely closed therefore it was draughty and loud. The fire detector was missing from its mount, the bedside lamps were broken, the bathroom had only one working lamp with motion sensor and went out while taking a shower. The area was close to being a ghetto but the entire city is unbelievable ugly so this was not directly related to the hotel.

    The room was clean, the beds comfortable. The staff (although I just contacted them by phone) friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a little frayed around the edges in places but nothing major.

    3 mins walk to Kennedyplatz for tram to both Veltins Arena in one direction and main railway station in other. Hotel bed also very comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one to help with the bags to the room and out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything at that hotel.I will never get back there.

    Almost nothing. Only the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i like the surrondings here

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficulty in finding suitable parking nearby.

    Value for money breakfast! Pets stayed for free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not for single lady guest

    Low price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception, old spaces

    Cleaned place, friendly owner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was ok!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ventilation of the bar under is really disturbing during the night, all the smoke from the bar under is coming into the room, the sewage from bathrooms are noisy like a cascade ( I was scared that a pipe was broken !), the walls are thin so you can hear any discussions from other rooms, space inside room is really small ( room no. 5).

    The size and the quality of the bed was ok, clean sheets and towels, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Looking out of my room window just to see an incredible amount of trash and junk accumulated at the rear of the building. Parking was a drag!! Seedy neighborhood.

    The staff was friendly, there was a very nice breakfast served.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom in my room had an automatic sensitive light which kept turning itself off whilst I had a shower. Also there's a step to the shower to which one needs to be careful to not trip over, specially if it is dark when getting out from the shower to make the light turn on again.

    The location and price combined with the comfort and cleanliness of the room plus access to WiFi and staff friendliness make The Stern a great option in Gelsenkirshen.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Group

    This is not Germany, this is a turkey

    good breakfest

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Group

    neighborhood full of enemy groups from Turkey wifi nonfunctional

    good staff good breakfest

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loose doorhandle, loose window hinge (didn't dare open it).

    Very friendly staff (really!), breakfast for a reasonable price.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Hotel am Stern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: