Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Am Theater

Bahnhofstr. 57, 03046 Cottbus, Germany

#9 of 20 hotels in Cottbus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1050 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly host! The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. Excellent breakfast. We stay in this hotel repeatedly and we are always absolutely satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t crazy about having a shower that required constant pressing on the faucet to keep it running. It was hot and clean, and did the trick but timed water consumption was a bit of a surprise.

    Pretty older style building. Great room size, and a Fabulous breakfast and breakfast room. The lady who checked us in was a huge help for recommending places to eat nearby and very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Really a small bathroom - A bit outside the centre (7 min walk) - Crappy TV offer (a list of 600 channels, where half do not work).

    - Free parking - Great breakfast - Real & comfy double bed - Tee, coffee and kettle in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection was unusually slow. The breakfast selection was alright but rather basic.

    The location could not be any better, especially for people who are planning to attend a theatre performance in the evening. The room was rather small but comfortable. The staff members were helpful and showed a quirky sense of humour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located nearby city centre, have a on site car park and they provide kitchenette, kettle and coffee, tea bags in family room that really helpful during family holiday. There a pizza corner that open at night to satisfy hungry stomach while watching many various tv channels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I stayed at this hotel now for the fourth time. Beautiful interior, very tasty and diverse breakfast, incredibly comfortable bed, very quiet room, free parking behind the hotel, free and very good Wi-Fi. The personnel are very benevolent. The room is very clean, ceilings are very high. An arrangement of hotel is fine - it is possible to reach the downtown on foot in 7 minutes, the train station - in 15 minutes, bus stops - 5 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit dark in the room, no lift access.

    Cute little hotel with great customer service in a lovely building in the centre of Cottbus. Great parking just behind the building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of elevator (we stayed on the third floor) made the arrival and departure with many suitcases quite strenuous. Secondly, the Wi-Fi was very poor and almost non-existent which in our experience is typical to Germany. It was quite annoying trying to do easy online activities such as checking emails etc, and having to wait for ages before getting access.

    The location of the hotel is very favourable, situated just a few minutes away from the pedestrian areas of the old town. If one is arriving by car one can park at a parking space just behind the hotel. We booked an apartment and were met with a large, spacious room with a sitting area, and a quite smaller room with two beds. Both rooms and bathrooms were very clean, although the bathrooms were quite dated. The beds were very comfortable. There is no air condition available, but our room had many windows making the stay quite cool and pleasant nevertheless. The breakfast was a nice surprise with a great variety of warm dishes (including some very delicious pancakes) and many choices of cold cuts. The staff were friendly and eager to help

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift and while that was no problem for us, it could be for some people. Staff did offer to carry our luggage up to our room.

    We arrived early but were given a room which allowed us to freshen up and unpack our car. Very close to the old town and Theatre an an excellent coffee and cake shop. Town was only 5 min walk on flat ground. Staff very happy and obliging. Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of foods and drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not horrible, but I suggest patrons travel with their perferred pillow from home. Also, the breakfast was pleasant, but it did not possess enough flair to keep us from going elsewhere.

    The staff was extra friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is from 7 to 10. I came at 9 and it was almost nothing left to eat.

    Very good location. Fine system of late check-in: hotel sends you a message with code from safebox on the entrance, you arrive, take the envelope with greetings and all the instructions and just enter and check yourself in :) Great! Many TV channels!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at this hotel now for the third time. Beautiful interior, very tasty and diverse breakfast, incredibly comfortable bed, very quiet room, free parking behind the hotel, free Wi-Fi. The personnel are very benevolent. An arrangement of hotel is fine - it is possible to reach the downtown on foot in 7 minutes, the train station - in 15 minutes, bus stops - 5 minutes. I forgot about DST, but the restaurant staff was very attentive and I could comfortably have breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ilka was so welcoming, friendly and helpful, she kept my bags the day I checked out till I came back to get them. Breakfast was lovely. Lovely hotel, would recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed a room wirh no or just a few steps. Their rooms were on the first floor, so they gave me an apartement on the ground floor at the same price. Good! It was a very quiet room with good beds and we had a good night's sleep. The breakfast at a restaurant nearby tasted deliously. We had good help from the landlady, who told us much about Cottbus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    central location meant plenty of traffic noise. bar and restaurant were closed but old town centre only a short walk

    Central location with free parking round the corner. large room with comfortable bed and clean bathroom

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, great location (close to main station, city center)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and the room at 3rd floor

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything Was OK. Room was nice, and personel was very pleasant. Breakfast was very tasty. I can recommend that hotel if You go to Cottbus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, good location and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to BTU, walking distance to the central station. Good value for the price. Quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture, the location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good Location. Free parking. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant staff...helpful....close to everywhere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Elke great with local information and trying to get wifi. Branitz Schloss and park was amazing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The woman at the front desk gave us wonderful suggestions for places to see and things to do. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator, but it was only one floor up, so not a big deal. No physical reception after 8:00 pm, but they called us and arranged everything to get the key delivered.

    Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was a little bit to small.

    Lady from the reception was very warm and polite. Even if she said first on the phone that she speaks english a little bit, her english was perfect. Good WiFi connection. Breakfest very good. The room was very clean and cosy. Hotel location is perfect just 5 min away from the old city.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bathroom floor tiles cracked & moving, needs some finishing touches in coridor - where fresh plastering is visible and not been painted - really spoils the whole impression..otherwise everything else wonderfull.

    Location amazing! Room amazing. Breakfast yummy with good selection - very happy. Bed was so large that all three of us (with our 4yrs old) slept comfortably in one bed.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A refrigerator would've been nice. Maybe a bit more English.

    We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. The lady at the reception desk was very helpful and friendly, although she could only speak German. However this wasn't a problem for us, as I can speak German. However, even if I weren't able to speak German, I doubt it would've been a problem, because she was very active and thorough during the conversation we had. The room was wonderful - lots of space and very quiet. We got a king-sized bed and a rolled-out couch-bed. Our room was in the corner of the hotel on the second floor looking into the intersection, very nice to be able to observe daily German traffic. Wifi speed and connection was good, although having to log in every hour was a little annoying. Breakfast was splendid. There was a nice lady who served us coffee. She didn't speak English, however she was friendly. The only member of the staff who spoke English with us was the man at the check-out. All in all Cottbus is a nice place to stay. I recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows too soft (my opinion, my husband liked them); would have been nice with an option. Shame that the restaurant/bar is only used for breakfast.

    Our room was very clean and that was the overall opinion that we had about the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Dog friendly. Good location within walking distance to the old town. Off street parking directly next to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would prefer to have an inhouse restaurant instead og the very good one around the corner

    Size of the apartment Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -

    Big room, great breakfast, kind people at the reception

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lift!!!!! We were on the first floor with very heavy bags..

    Staff were very friendly. Room was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Its a little bit cold in the bathroom

    I'm happy the administration is super!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room on main street, breakfast not included

    good value hotel, good location very close to Staatstheater and Altstadt, free wi-fi, free parking

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel. Very nice room, old world charm. Handy location in town. Friendly staff and a nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nOTHING

    LOCATION, ROOMYINLESS OF APT., FREE PARKING AND THE EXTREME HELPFULNESS OF THE MANAGER

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were very nice. She helped us a lot :-) Our convenient was really important for her.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite old furniture and no elevator

    Staff was very helpful and wait for us till last minute.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully located, possibility for late check in. Great for a one night stop.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great place right in the centre of town. We got a really nice welcome from the reception

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice quiet bedroom, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in one of the apartments. It was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was really excellent!

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room was very very small.

    The room was bright and clean and the reception was friendly. The room and hotel was clean and attractive.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Smart clean hotel with friendly helpful staff, short walk to the shops and old town

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was tidy, clean and very well located. Staff was very nice, and really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not enough room in the bathroom to put staff

    big apartment Good parking very easy to find

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No, nothing.

    Probably around 15 mins easy walk from station and same again to Altstadt,if that. Breakfast was excellent. Friendly welcome.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lousy bed and noisy

    Classic hotel with friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no elevator in the building.

    Breakfast in the cafe-bar was fine. The location is very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    breakfast looks much better on pictures than in reality

    a nice system to let guests in when nobody from personel is on the spot.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Altstadthotel Am Theater traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: