Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Theater This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Am Waisenhausplatz 12, 75172 Pforzheim, Germany

#23 of 24 hotels in Pforzheim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.4

  • Comfort

    4.4

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    4.2

  • Staff

    6

  • Value for money

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient and basic, adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Curtains are little more than nets, not sufficient to keep out the light. On room facing the main road, decision has to be made between avoiding traffic noise by keeping double-glazed windows closed or having any ventilation. In hotter weather, this would have been a painful choice. Room itself was clean, but there's a noticeable smell of cigarettes in the hallway, probably sucked up from the spielhalle below. Not bad, but worth mentioning for those sensitive to such matters.

    Second time here. It's very basic, but convenient for the opera across the street. Staff are friendly. The free wifi works well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    Do to location getting around was very easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleanliness of the room, floors were dusty and dirty, furniture was dusty.

    Location was central, close to all local transportation. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.5
    I am glad I only booked 1 night because even that 1 night was too long.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire experience was unsatisfactory.

    The facility was rundown and although I submitted a request for special dietary needs, they didn't have any breakfast for me and the owner was rude and reeked of alcohol.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    It's OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's very spartan. I had flashbacks to hotels in which I stayed in North Africa 40 years ago. One light switch/electrical socket had a broken cover (see photo). I guess it was safe, but I wouldn't want to be fumbling around for it in the dark. Wifi was intermittent. There was a fug of stale smoke in the reception-cum-slot-machine-area. I paid in cash and got no receipt.

    Good location directly across the street from the theatre, which was the purpose of my visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    3.3
    DO NOT STAY HERE - DIRTY AND SMELLY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom/shower filthy: previous guests' hairs everywhere. My room(supposedly non-smoking) and the whole hotel reeked of stale tobacco smoke which permeated everything: opening windows had no effect: bedding,curtains were long impregnated. Whoever was in charge of breakfast had totally forgotten that the hotel had guests and had to rush out to the nearest shop to buy rolls etc. Cheese was dry, meat suspect! The last time I stayed at this hotel I thought it was good! NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL NOW!!

    NOTHING! This was the worst hotel in Germany in which I have stayed!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    5.8
    For smokers only!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not eat the breakfast, which was included in the price, because the reception/breakfast area was so smoky. Half of the room is a gambling room and people are allowed to smoke there. The whole building, the corridors, the bed linen, everything smelt of cigarette smoke. It was unbearable to think about eating cigarette smoke tasting food... If you are not a smoker, avoid this place! The bed linen is very old, one of the duvet covers was shorter than the duvet...

    One of the receptionists (who speaks Hungarian) is very nice and helpful. The room and the bathroom are very clean. To our surprise towels were changed daily. Not typical in a 2 star hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    2.9
    AWFUL place, don't go
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were smoking everywhere even in the breakfast area next to you

    This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    3.8
    Location was good
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Man and lady at the reception desk didn’t speak english well, and also I lost 100€ in my room, so they could grabbed me

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is pretty run down, the bathroom needs renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is pretty run down, the bathroom needs renovation. But the staff were friendly and breakfast was good. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    2.9
    TV taken away from my room as soon as I payed.
    • Solo traveller

    TV taken away from my room as soon as I payed. Breakfast in the smoking area. Way to go!

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: