Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Zoo This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Alfred-Brehm-Platz 6, Frankfurt City Centre (Old Town), 60316 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#180 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1159 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Didnt like this hotel at all. They are cheaters
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They really cheat me. I paid 200€ per night but no facilities. No hot water or electric kettle , no air conditioner , no wifi and internet , no refrigerator , .... nothing. It was really triple expensive compare to money i paid , i am not satisfied at all.... i request booking.com to pay back my money. They really cheat people

    Only location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good neighborhood and train station but paid wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So called free WIFI. It is just for name sake since it is practically unusable. It had only 2 to 5 kpbs speed which will not even load a page. For any practical purposes you have to buy a paid WIFI for 4 euros per day per device (you can use one connection only on one device). So you need to buy ( number of devices x number of days). But the paid wifi speed was decent enough. Expensive water in the hotel.

    Good location, underground station right in front of the hotel, lots of cafes and restaurants around and nice neighborhood. Also the Zoo at the door step. The overall hotel and rooms are otherwise basic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.4
    It was a quick choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Ac we had to borrow a fan from the front desk Small rooms with very basic amenities Still charged us for parking

    It was a quick choice Staff did their best and were really kind but the hotel is very old

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Steps away from the zoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we visited during the heat wave and found the room horribly hot. They did supply a fan but it barley helped.

    The hotel room was nice and well located. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately we visited during the heat wave and found the room horribly hot. They did supply a fan but it barley helped.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Stay in walking distance to everything!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free Wi-Fi is not very strong. Interiors are quite old-fashioned. Breakfast is very basic for 8 €. My advise: if you are a fan of really good breakfast, cross the street to get it in Bohne café.

    If you want to stay in walking distance to everything and don't have too much demands to the interior of your hotel, Am Zoo is for you. Location is great indeed. U-ban station Zoo is just under the hotel. Trams ## 11 and 14 can take you to great places on both sides of the river. Tourist hop on-hop off tram starts and terminates at Zoo as well. However, if you like to walk, you can spend several days in this hotel even without any use of public transport. Interiors looks quite old-fashioned. But - clean. I've stayed in a room with windows to the yard, so absence of air condition did not bother me - it was not hot in my room during evenings, nights and mornings. Bed was OK, but the pillow was vanishingly small )). Staff was very helpful, friendly and flexible in decision-making!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Very crapy and feel like they deceived us when we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Said breakfast was included, it wasn't, 8 euros extra, says they have parking,they don't tell you it was for 15 euros extra per day. Asked for a baby bed when we booked, none provided until we took a screaming infant to the lobby at 9:30 that night.every blanket and pillow they gave us fur our kids reeked of cigarette smoke. Nicer brought us clean ones. Very disappointed.

    I liked the location, right next to the zoo. Lots of little cafes and eateries close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Stay was good, no complaints at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason when we arrived our booking was not in the system. But staff solved the problem and gave us the room we wanted to begin with.

    Stay was good, no complaints at all. Staff is friendly and helpful! Lots of bars and restaurants and all that kind of stuff right outside the door. And there is a nice zoo that we didnt get to see this time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Hotel with nice position with space for improvements!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices during exhibition at Frankfurt Messe are extreemly high! Rooms should have air condition!

    Position of the Hotel almost at the end of the one of main shoping streets is great. Simple connection by underground ( station practically next to Hotel) makes your life easier!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.6
    - just next to the metro and tram (which is a little noisy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - extremely slow wifi - do you want more? ok, but pay extra 4 EUR / day - no ventilation in the bathroom - try to go to toilet and than stay in the room - very poor breakfast (especially for the extra money) - too soft bead - no wardrobe, just a few shelves

    - just next to the metro and tram (which is a little noisy in the night) - pleasant staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Small, Quiet and Central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is entrance of the popular street Zeil. 10 min to Romerberg by walk. The area of the hotel is silent. On the way from the hotel to Zeil, there are many Turkish Restaurants with Turkish Breakfast offers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Location is great, but not recommended at all to stay more than 1 night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-Very dusty, not so clean 2-Very noisy till past 10pm noise and loud talking in hallways, windows not well sealed 3- I had to change the room because they smell cigarette smoking!!! 4- Everything is old not renovated

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Moderately priced hotel in good location, easy access to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a bit dated and the lack of air conditioning would become an issue in the summer. We travelled in late April and it was already quite hot by then. We didn't have a hard time finding a parking place, but the amount is limited and would not be sufficient for all hotel guests at once if everybody was traveling by car.

    Moderately priced hotel in good location, easy access to trams and subway, within walking distance of shopping district. Personnel was helpful and always available, services were prompt. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    if what you care is a cheap stay (Frankfurt standards) and location is important i might consider
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free internet is unusable and this is unacceptable in the 21st century. The receptionist told me that for simple browsing the free internet is enough but for video streaming I need to pay "extra". This was a lie; the free internet connection is crap you cannot even browse! The bed mattress is quite hard and the pillows is like thin air.

    Location is the main good thing about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect for our trip to the zoo. It is a short walk through a beautiful square. Several cafes and convenience stores are right in the area. It was an easy “tram” (I would call it a street car) ride from the main train station. The picture I have included was taken of the zoo from our window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    The location turned out to be even better than I expected:...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location turned out to be even better than I expected: very quiet platz near the Zoo very close to the main shopping drag Zeil street which leads straight to the Opera and the main business district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor wasn't so clean, there was no fridge in the room and the WiFi signal was really poor ( you have to pay extra for a fast WiFi).

    The hallway was freshly painted, the size of the room and the bathroom was good enough. The location is awesome, within walking distance to zeil and on the way to the city center there are some really good cafeterias and a Greek cuisine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    The staff was polite and helpful, the wi-fi was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected better brakfast, more selections. Second morning I didnt have hot water in the bathroom.

    The staff was polite and helpful, the wi-fi was ok. U-bahn stop was some steps away, S-bahn stop also close (5-6 min).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wi-fi connection was very weak. Need to work upon. Also the Heater was not that good in the room.

    The rooms were very comfortable. The bed, cupboard was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly but hotel needs to be updated, bathroom...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly but hotel needs to be updated, bathroom and shower are old and there are no shampoo or soap in the there...and i didn't have soap with me. But in general from 1 to 10, I give 5.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    location,price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room and the bathroom were very small. there was air leakage from the window besides, the heating system didn't work properly.no free WIFI in the room

    location,price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location, Value for money, Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that much as for the price and location, no complaint.

    Location, nearby there is U-Bahn station, walking distance to S-Bahn. Not far walk to major shopping area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything - when checking in we were given the wrong information about the room location and breakfast time, the hotel is very outdated, one woman on the staff was very rude, the breakfast was bad value, the cleaning staff knock very loudly on the door when you are still asleep and then enter anyway, the room and bathroom were not cleaned well. Overall, just horrible and not good value for money. Don't gamble with Hotel am Zoo, just stay at a chain hotel!

    Nothing - this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and terrible value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Just the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Allocated rooms not as photos so we moved but atcan extra cost. 1st room smelt of smoke. 1 room not cleaned on 2nd day. Then without any notification it seems the bar shuts at the weekend. Night receptionist would not serve us a drink. Their own room information says bar service tues - sunday. Very hard mattresses. Only 1 pillow per person. No tea making facilities. Safes didnt work. All very dated and stained carpets. Radiators needed bleeding. And you had to payfor wifi.

    Just the breakfast!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.6
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No-frills, German style hotel (no amenities, very basic); WiFi not free; reception staff not really friendly; cleanliness doubtful (found hair in the sink); location must be what justifies the price, otherwise too expensive for what it offers.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    nicely positioned hotel on the square facing frankfurt zoo
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was on the small size, reflecting the price paid, but it slightly unusual to have the wash basin in the room itself rather than in the bathroom. Not really a hardship though

    Attractively positioned hotel in the square facing Frankfurt zoo, flanked by a variety of bars and restaurants. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the central areas of Frankfurt. Rooms are comfortable and clean and the wifi was good. I believe there was a restaurant on site but did not use it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    Needs modernizing but clean rooms and friendly service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The downsides are no fridge, wi-fi that is expensive and then doesn't work on a mac. This is not good enough in a business travelers hotel especially given the room rate.

    The staff were very helpful and always available. Bernhard who ran the night shift was especially cheery given the hours he kept! The access to the city and the transportation network is also very good. The room clean and the bed linen fresh every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and helpful, location was perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some renovation could not harm.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, location was perfect for me (tub station just opposite to the hotel). My room in the major house was quiet, but I heard about noise from other guests. Hotel in general somehow out-of-date furnished, but Wifi worked very well and was for free during the fair. No mini-bar in the room, but a central, well-equipped fridge at the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Small but affordable hotel a 10 minute walk East of the Romer in Frankfurt.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would prefer the 4euro charge per day be added to the cost of the room. The room was small and I found the beds a little too firm.

    Reception staff were courteous and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Basic hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated bathroom (30 years old according to style and substance) , shower curtains!, no single hand mixers in shower and sink, wifi Not free

    Top location, city center easily reachable by walking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.8
    The price you see is not the price you will pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was dishonest about their prices on Booking.com. Booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children. Got a room with 2 single beds + had to pay EXTRA for a 3rd bed (and the kids were forced to sleep on one bed).

    Location ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is a joke! The building and the rooms are dated, the last renovation must have been over 10 years ago, the walls are super thin (you can hear everything...!), the internet is €4 per night, and the value for money in general is terrible! I would avoid this at all cost; fair price is maybe €50 per night.

    The U-Bahn connection right outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel if you pay not too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blanket (it’s german size blanket which I didn’t like at all), pillows, very cold room and without heat on, the shower, too much essential design in room

    Location, clean enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    -Room looking at the parking area -Very Bad mattress (kingbed) -Very Bad pillow -No wifi, pay extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Room looking at the parking area -Very Bad mattress (kingbed) -Very Bad pillow -No wifi, you must pay extra -No handwash in the toilet -This is 2 stars maximum

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattresses were a little tough. Rooms are overlooking the street and can get busy and noisy. There is no air conditioned so we had to keep the windows open at night. Wifi is not included, extra charge.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful in explaining tips, what to visit and how to move around. Location was good. Right next to the Zoo and about a 20 min walk to the Old city and the shopping mile. Rooms were spacious and clean. We asked for a crib and they brought a very spacious and comfortable pack and play.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is way overpriced. it is very old (metal heavy key! old lift, old rooms) there is no sound insolation (you can hear your neighbours taking shower). no free wifi! (what century are we in?)

    location - it is a walking distance from the old town/shopping/eating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    2.5
    Stay away! Report to the police dept . and city officials. City fite code violations!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk female staff rude, refuses to email hotel bills. Emergency exit through another guest room. Dirty bathroom. Front desk female staff got caught stealing from a guest.

    Easy to leave

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was exceptional and very helpful with directions and information. Hotel was in a perfect location, close to the zoo, shopping district and public transportation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Terrible......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude Staff, extremely impolite, not friendly and unhelpful. Hotel is old, dirty and smelly.

    The only good thing about the hotel is the excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    3.3
    Near to city center- excellent location, but the property has much to do to be a 3 star hotel with decent conditions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has a lot to improve: the bathroom needs an imedialtly renovation, the matress is not so confortable, the sheets can be better. The breakfast was decent. All the property has a comunist look. It is rated like 3 stars, but unfortunatly the rooms, bathrooms and all the property is for 2 stars. Also, it is a must to improve the cleaning!

    The property has an excellent location. It is very close by centre, only 10-15 min by walk. It has private parking place which has a decent price: 12 euro/ day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location (right next to the metro station) and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room has seen better days, no air con, no free WiFi and breakfast was average.

    Excellent location (right next to the metro station) and the possibility to park on site (although that will cost you 12 Euro per day).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink of the toilet was inside the room which was very strange for me but not a big deal

    Was great location for my needs Staff was very helpful Clean place Good value Good shower. Small but good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Am zoo hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing the main street are noisy, might be a bit disturbing at night.

    Very nice hotel, great value for money, lots of parking, good breakfast, great location - just infront the zoo and 10 min walk to zeil shopping area. Above all, pleasant and helpful stuff. Warmly recommanded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Very near at metro station and Frankfurt Zoo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not free, you need to pay for it.

    Very near at metro station and Frankfurt Zoo. If you plan to go to the zoo plan your trip at weekdays, not weekend. Especially Sunday!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    check in staff was helpful and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not use the wifi because it was a paid service.. in today's world where internet is not a luxury anymore it shouldnt be charged.. most hotels across the world gives internet free. Even hostels offer these sevices free.

    check in staff was helpful and nice. clean room location was good as close to U bahn and Zeil (the main market area) was less than 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.8
    If you need only sleep somewhere then you can go to this hotel. otherwise I do not recommend anyone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid in advance for room and for breakfast (8 EUR). I knew a lit bit later that, for the wifi I should pay 4 EUR. I asked from them, to terminate breakfast and give me wifi code. They did it, but did not gave my rest 4 EUR amount back. The woman who was in reception was impolite and treated with people rude. She told me, I can not refund your breakfast payment. Next day I had business meeting. Whole night I required internet. Although I paid for wifi, I could not use internet. I approached them with my problem, they told me that, we are not programer, that is why we do not know how to connect to wifi. I used my own phone data. If you need only sleep somewhere then you can go to this hotel. otherwise I do not recommend anyone.

    in the vicinity of the hotel there are s-bahn, zoo, parks, cafes and other facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Very nice location - hotel needs some renovation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs to be renovated. (especially bathroom is old and outdated)

    Location is excellent, since the metro station is right in front of the hotel, and in general the neighborhood's atmosphere is relaxed. 15 minutes walking distance to Hauptwache in case someone wishes to walk instead of using the train.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    good location, nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the rooms we booked was actually set up for one person so we had to ask for extra towels, pillow, bed linen. Also, the lady at the reception made a mistake and didnt charge us the breakfast but of course we didnt know. so when we wanted to leave another lady accused us of not having paid the breakfast in not a very polite way.

    Good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In fairness the receptionist told me that because I was paying such a high rate for the room €200 she would wave the wifi charge of €4. Good job the wifi was hopeless couldn't stream too weak. The annex I stayed in was circa 1997. Shabby at this stage could do with a revamp. The receptionist gave a warm welcome and the breakfast lady was friendly

    Ok location a bit shabby certainly not worth €200 per night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.8
    Very bad and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to cancel our rooms after three days because there was any spare bed and sofa for child sleep and they charge us all money for five days

    We had booked 3 double rooms whit spare bed bed and sofa but there was two saprate bed stick to each other . I had to sleep on floor .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    4.2
    Stay during Prolight and Sound
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was in a bock to the side. Might have been part of another hotel at some point? But is in need of redecoration. There was also an annoying knocking sound like a ball being bounced every few minutes. I have stayed in better for less money would try another hotel before coming back here

    Location was good. Taxi and station just outside

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even though they said there's free wi-fi at hotel, when i asked for the password, they wanted 4€ for each guest

    Breakfast was ok. and the location was like 10 meters to the metro station. room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and the beds kept us warm!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look the room wasn't great, curtains didn't close properly, and the wifi that was paid for - which isn't too expensive (but usually free in most places) didn't have great reception in our room.

    Staff were friendly and the beds kept us warm!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.8
    Out with the Old
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for WiFi, and the dated decor are just a few of the issues. But it was the attitude of SOME of the safe that made me feel unwelcome.

    Location, close to the centre of the City and within walking distance of the historic core it is a good base.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.3
    Very sweet and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower didnt work properly, the pressure was very bad. The room was ice cold upon arrival. No free Wifi, I think it should be complimentary in 2017..

    Very sweet and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    2.5
    Rascist receptionist
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Racist receptionist, no manners no respect no courtesy do not stay there level of humanity zero

    I booked a room in the hotel am zoo for 1 night and possible more if it was a nice hotel i was met by a abusive receptionist i had paid for the room already and i asked about wifi and i was told it was 4.80 for 1 night i explained to the lady i had 4.50 in change and i would give her 30 cents tomorrow when i went to the atm as it was 11.30 in the night and i was with my child and nanny.I was then shouted at an met with racist comments i asked for my money back and looked for a hotel this was with a 1 year old child and ir was 12 in the night

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    5.4
    breakfast!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    far from airport and location not so suitable for tourists. there were no german food around and also not a single souvenir shop. not even a bottle of water and wifi had extra cost but network was not stable. room was away from main building and had to get drenched in the rain to reach room

    breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a long term issue, but we were cold first night as insufficient blankets. Sorted next day with helpful staff.

    Helpful staff. Good choice at breakfast. Excellent location, easy to walk to centre of town, either direct or along the river. Handy for metro too. Frankfurt is lovely Town!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.5
    Price/quality = Very good | Average hotel in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms are old and ourdated. Breakfast is really low quality.

    Very convenient location - directly to the entrance of Zoo station. The location is quiet but very close to Hauptwache. The hotel offers the basics, the staff is friendly, the price is very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    The hotel is perfectly located in a nice quiet part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is perfectly located in a nice quiet part of Frankfurt, and at the same time at walking distance from the central attractions. The staff was nice, and the single room was very clean and spacey. It is a certain match for much higher priced accommodations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Nice staff and good location.........
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the value I had paid there is nothing to comment about

    The hotel location is close to train station, shops and restaurant, rooms are clean good value for money, staff were extremely excellent and helpful especially Heike, Aidsa and Jens they will not hesitate to help whenever needed thanks to all.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    2.5
    No good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dear Booking.com I'm your online customer please make always attention.because they let you to lose lot of customers I was very surprised because we have the confidence on you. No free wifi (in the world no hotel without wifi) Very bed They give me onther room that I reserve. They asked me to pay more. And I was oblige to keep the room as The late chek in And the stupid stuff they don't now how to speak the customers

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    8.3
    The location is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi needs to charge. The neighborhood is noisy in the midnight. This is the first time that I saw the sink is in the sleeping room. The room doesn't have enough essentials you need. Not too much resterants nearby. The restaurant downstair is not very good, a bit expensive, but the food is too much. The beer is good.

    The location is not bad. You can take a subway to there. The subway station is only 1-2 minutes for walking in front of the hotel. The room is not small. The cleanliness is good. Check-in and check-out are fast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.4
    Staff is very kind!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They spent about 3 weeks from the date when I was in this hotel, and still not returned the deposit for reservation! Internet is very poor!

    Staff is very kind!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Amazing hotel for business or leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is very small but can manage if you are alone otherwise if you are group then go one by one

    Amazing location , friend staff , 10 steps walk to zoo station , nearby many restaurants , walking distance towards central area .. hotel rooms are too good , amazing breakfast ...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water wasn't working when we arrived, and no-one advised us.

    Staff were friendly. Location is close to public transport and a walk into the older part of Frankfurt.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.1
    Stayed here for 2 nights driving across Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room wasn't much to sing about. Curtains too small for the window, we had to hang a towel over the gap. Bathroom was quite smelly (drains) It is a shame as the staff were very good, but the building is old and in much need of a renovation.

    Stayed here for 2 nights driving across Europe. Staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, spoke good English and had good knowledge of the area. Close to zoo and underground train links. My girlfriend accidentally left her phone here and we didn't notice until we arrived in Cologne hours later and the receptionist emailed us letting us know the cleaners had found it. They arranged to send it to us which was very kind, and speaks volumes for the staff who work here. Thank you again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative for this stay.

    Fantastic value for money. The hotel is not a high-end place with extras, bells and whistles. It is also not new. It is, however, clean and well-maintained. No mold in the bathroom - which is the biggest problem for Italian hotels, - and my bed was clean and comfy. I did not have breakfast, but I was traveling by car so the availability of a private parking was a big plus for me (12 Euro per day). Overall 57 Euro in a very central location in Frankfurt is a pretty good bargain.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had to go during Messe times when you cannot get a room anywhere in Frankfurt and the cost for the room was therefore very high. The shower was small and the water pressure not great but overall I have no complaints.

    I only met staff at the reception which were all very friendly. I was there on urgent family business of a sombre nature as my mother had passed on and they were very understanding and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is sooo hot and no AC , they support with a fan but not enough in hot weather

    Reception people was so helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    bad is comfy ,location is great , breakfast was ok
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was terrible .. no connection at all even at lobby

    bad is comfy ,location is great , breakfast was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a double bed and I get two twin

    Good location, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Free internet is a joke, just there to promote premium...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free internet is a joke, just there to promote premium internet for EUR 5 per day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff but you almost are willing to pay for the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi was almost unusable.

    Friendly and helpful staff and The room was cleaned every day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    Very good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet nearly non-existent.

    Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Room and good place to relax beside the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and good place to relax beside the river

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel am Zoo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: