Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambassador Potsdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lessingstrasse 35, 14482 Potsdam, Germany

#27 of 31 hotels in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location if visiting Potsdam Conference Museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although check in times were noted at 3-9 pm, we had a note from Booking.com saying that all guests had to arrive by six pm or contact the property in advance. It worked out ok, but required me to call the property long distance on my phone twice, as we did not know exactly what time we would arrive. For a hotel in a major city, it seems strange to limit arrival times so severely.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Overall, a nice place to stay. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much too hot. An electric fan or air conditioning would have been welcome.

    Very friendly staff: quiet residential location, easy on-street parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    5.8
    an okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited service over the new year ... the lobby and elevator were locked off a lot of the time ... one unfriendly interaction with a staff person who acted bothered that I asked to go in via the main doors of the hotel.

    It was generally a cozy hotel in a quiet location at the end of the tram line.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was very bed!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very bed! There was nearly nothing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Ideal for our purposes - stopping off for a comfortable night's sleep after a long drive from London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went for a great run in the snow down to the Lake

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    satisfactory. Price OK for 3-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast stanard, rolls seemed to have been bake ready

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Nice evening, easy area as in description!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken out crosses on chess figures. Was IT muslim vandalism?

    I was glad to see Holly Buble in night capboard.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Very serviceminded!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very serviceminded! We forget something at the hotel and they sent it to us. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    If you arrive late, there is no one in the reception,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you arrive late, there is no one in the reception, however, if you call the number they provide, you can find a way to enter to your room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    good breakfast, decent hotel, friendly helpfull staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast, decent hotel, friendly helpfull staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    5.8
    Having travelled extensively over the past 50 years I can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I had already informed reception that we would be leaving early on the Saturday and when we arrived back at 8.55 on the Friday as I wanted to request and pay for breakfast for my son and grandson who were coming to pick us up, I was told that no-one would be there until 8 am and that we couldn't have breakfast! No offering, nothing. When we went to leave the lift was switched off and we had to carry suitcases down the stairs and let ourselves out through the side door and wend our way back to the front via the garden. There was no letter box so I then had to unlock the back door and go back up to our room to leave the key. No-one was amused and I can say on this alone I would never recommend this hotel. It is also at the end of the tramline so a bit distant from Potsdam centre.

    Having travelled extensively over the past 50 years I can honestly say this was the weirdest hotel I have ever stayed in. The doors were locked at 9 pm and one had to go up the garden path and unlock and let oneself in so we found that hilarious albeit at the hotel's expense,

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.9
    Staff was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find (in a residential area). Street parking is unnerving and not guaranteed. Bedding was dusty, and made the nights rest less than enjoyable.

    Staff was wonderful! Gave us directions, left key in lock box for late arrival. Even offered to deliver food and beer to the room after we arrived late.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    asked a male desk person how to use I pad to check email and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    asked a male desk person how to use I pad to check email and he didn't bother to reply same dude when asked if where to catch a bus acted like he didn't know what a bus was

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    9.2
    A small hotel in the old part of Potsdam (not in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    A small hotel in the old part of Potsdam (not in the downtown). Good location if somebody travel by car. Breakfast was fine, not too difficult.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.5
    Quiet location in residential area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet location in residential area. Historic charm.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    Nice and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice and friendly. Small and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    8.3
    They can rent a bike for reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    They can rent a bike for reasonable price. You can explore the beauty of the nature around hotel aree by bike

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was great!

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: