Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SORAT Hotel Ambassador This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Bayreuther Str. 42-43, Tempelhof-Schöneberg, 10787 Berlin, Germany

#331 of 579 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2041 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in my room were too small. I've never seen smaller in my life.

    I arrived into hotel even 3 hours prior to check in and the very nice girl at the reception let me check in as the room was ready for use. That was very nice of her.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, but very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very old, renovation is must, and not entry card, only keys. If you want leave lugage you must pay.

    Frendly staff, good location and clean hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Location - close to various restaurants, shops (including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    on moments not very reliable free Wi-Fi.

    Location - close to various restaurants, shops (including enormous department store KaDeWe - the second largest department store in Europe after Harrods in London), Berliner Zoo with panda bears (the oldest in Germany on over 30 hectares). It is also quite close (10 min walking) to S-Bahn station Zoologischer Gartenof S9 that goes directly to Schoenefeld Airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    10/15 minutes from the central Station, Easy to reach.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room at the very beginning had a very strong chemical smell which was not so pleasant.

    10/15 minutes from the central Station, Easy to reach. The location is simply perfect. 5 minutes from Gedächtniskirche and the subway. Easy to move around and enjoy all kind of entertainment, from Zoo to shopping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Shocked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like how every little thing was over charged. Example parking. Usually free for guests; not in Sorat 19€ per day. Bottle water 5 €. Old rooms extremely expensive. Understand it was athletics cup in Berlin and holiday weekend time but ibis budget just next door has better standard and is just 2 stars. They have non renovated rooms and simply call them standard but they do not match with 3 star standards anymore - our room also smelled horrible from the sink; we needed another room. And the renovated rooms are called comfort. The water then is free. Unclear to me. Old hotel in the middle of the west berlin city near the most expensive shopping mall KaDeWe but not up to the levels. Ibis next door is much better. Btw. All rooms not aircon. It is hot in summer

    I liked the staff. They have to work out something with the guests each time to overcome the long due short comings of the hotel management or owner. They get lots of complaint and yet still manage to make the guest as happy as they can. I appreciated that a lot when i was given a renovated room after complaining about the low standards.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.2
    There is no ventilation in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no ventilation in the bathroom. Also, with no aircon it gets very hot in the room during summer with no chance to cool it. If you leave the windows open during the night you here a lot of noise from the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    Visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot to sleep, the table fan is too small. One your staff open my room door without knocking, when she saw me inside , not even say sorry, just left. I found a small worm on my bed. Very disappointed for this hotel, will not come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All that glitters isn't gold! This statement is very true to Sorat Hotel. I travel often to Berlin and the hotel seemed from outside a top hotel. First impression of the hotel upon arrival was wow, even though it must have been about 25°C in the lobby - there was a heatwave in Germany at time! First alarm! I received two slips of paper for W-Lan access - one device a day! Second alarm! Our room was on the seventh floor - as I opened the door I was greeted with wall of heat - the room was so stuffy, we just opened the windows and fleed to a local bar. Third alarm! The ibis Budget was next door and had more comforts than Sorat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture is old .. Nuisance there is a building under construction ... There is no air conditioning ... When the shower Floats water ... Must open the room with a key and when leaving the room must be returned to the reception and return to take it is annoying

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Not my best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a street view -forget about good sleep. There is no air condition system in the room so you have to open the window. But! You couldn't sleep because of the yelling noise at the cafe in this street in front of the hotel sometimes till 3 a. m. They give you a week access code for WiFi but the sygnal is too weak to connect. If it is connected - its constantly interrupts. The price for bike rent is twice higher than everywhere (25 euro per day). Man at the reception gave us a wrong information about public transport ticket so we had to buy additional one. Chambermade forgotes to supply drinking water several times.

    Hotel has really great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Berlin Sorat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BreakfAst was expensive @ 13e per person. There was a charge for the water left in the room each day @ 10e per bottle . Wi-Fi was slow. No tea and coffee facilities in room

    Location was good near all transport systems. Very good shopping and nice restaurants in the area . Room cleaned daily

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C in the room but that was fine for me. You can open the window and enjoy the fresh air but with mosquitoes! Bed mattress “twin beds“ was too old and I felt not comfortable to sleep in it. But the other one was better. I stayed there for one week and no one changed the bed sheets.

    Nice area next to the train station “Wittenbergplatz”. Room was comfortable to stay in. Good selection of tea and coffee in the room. They gave me a key to a fridge downstairs to take water and drinks for free because I booked the “Comfort double room”. Breakfast was so tasty but not included and it cost 15€ per person and it’s worth it. They have a beautiful Terrace with a nice plants and colorful flowers outside. I recommend this place for families and couples.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean spacious rooms, good and quick elevator, located close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old outdated and basic rooms but clean, WiFi is terrible (but free) An old radio makes it very 80’s. And I think that’s the last renewal of the whole room. Expensive parking place

    Clean spacious rooms, good and quick elevator, located close to bakery, restaurants and Transportation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    An ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The furniture is quite old, there is a lot of noise from inside and outside the hotel, the pillows were really uncomfortable.

    The hotel is close to the underground and bus station with connections to all the important parts of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of amenities. There is no AC, fridge, kettle in the room. The hotel is bit old.

    Very good location. Close to station, shopping area, restaurants and supermarket. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, would highly recommend it to anyone
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too soft and I couldn't get a proper sleep

    The breakfast was very nice and run very very well. All staff were so attentive and I would highly recommend your hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location but poor facilities for visiting during summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was really hot in Berlin during our visit. However, there was no air-conditioner and mini bar to refresh ourselves after coming back to our room. ok, many stores and restaurants in Berlin dont have air-conditoner so that it is understandable of the fact that there is no air-conditioner at hotel. However, I wish there was a mini bar in the room at least....

    Hotel is just next to the metro staiton and near the shopping street. Also, there is a supermarket and bakery nearby. Therefore, the location was really great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location, clean room, but not geared for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Communication with Reception in English very difficult. No safe in the room.

    Spacious and clean room. Good location for access to trains and busses. Well priced restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location, poor wifi and noisy neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is so slow and there is no refrigerator inside the room. There is a construction opposite the hotel so every morning you will hear the noisy sound.

    The location is near the shopping area and really close to the train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice little place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little bit tired, and in some need of modernisation, but perfectly fine. It was super hot when we were there, so air conditioning or a fan would have been good!

    Great area, right by metro, free umbrellas, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    I've stayed at this hotel many times because of its...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi. You can only have one ticket per person and it's good only for one device.

    I've stayed at this hotel many times because of its central location and affordable price. The breakfast is good but it's very expensive. We opted to eat out every morning, which was not a problem as there are many places to eat around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The older rooms are still in dark wood and need renovation. The service was a bit short, but I guess with busloads of people for the long weekend, this is understandable. I also understand the concept of keeping the basic prices low and charging extra for additional services, but the bike hire price is too high compared to all the option near by.

    Great location and price/quality was ok, especially on a busy weekend in Berlin. The new rooms have a light and friendly decor and all rooms are of a decent size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Fine room, but nonsmokers can not be sure to avoid smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The single non-smoking rooms are paired (a door can open between them) and the other room can be a smoking allowed room. The smoke comes through the closed door and non-smoking rooms are suddenly filled with smoke. We fortunately got another room after two smokefilled nights, and the staff did help us with this. There is no aircondition, so in 24C we had to open the window, and the perfect location come at a cost :-) Wifi is not stable enough to work "from home". The parking is 18euro per day...

    The staff was helpful, and the rooms have what is needed. Apparantly some rooms are being renovated, we did not stay in one of those. It is a super location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Room was upgraded to an absolutely amazing room with Sauna!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant in the evening when I checked in, around 8:45pm. I had to go out. No fault of the hotel, was just too far away from the office.

    Room was upgraded to an absolutely amazing room with Sauna!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    excellent location: walking distance from the Berlin Zoo (~1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was clean, however there was black fungi on the bathroom walls between the tiles. also the bathroom is not well lit and not well ventilated.

    excellent location: walking distance from the Berlin Zoo (~1 km), shopping area (~200 m), on the route of bus no.100

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    One of the best locations in the West area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive than other bigger hotels, also for the price in Berlin.

    One of the best locations in the West area. 20mins by underground to all major monuments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    the district is very lively, the check in was good, we...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi is ok, but you receive only one voucher for one device, if you have more gadgets, you must pay 10 euro per device, it's nonsense. the cost for a small dog is realy high - 18 euro.

    the district is very lively, the check in was good, we received the room earlier, the parking is ok, the breakfast is really good, you can choose whatever you want.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Location was great walking distance from most attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well.. everything was charge even the kettle and other basic amenities. There was also no fridge in out room.

    Location was great walking distance from most attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Old, worn out rooms, no wifi, but nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and outdated. The room was very old and it didn’t matter to vacuum the carpet, as everything was stuck to it. Out of the many pictures on the website our room was there once, but they really made it look better and nicer than it was. WIFI is useless. It didn’t work at all. Staff wasn’t much help. You hear the noise from the street like the window is open and you stare right into a huge Bauhaus. Apparently they should have a new and nicer part of the hotel, but it definitly wasn’t where we were. I was honestly disappointed even though I’m normally not expecting a lot.

    Breakfast was nice, but you also pay a lot. Location is perfect, you’re just next to Ku’damm. You’re able to park your car safely underground (only small cars!) which is nice, but I think it’s €15-18 per day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room, hope can refurbish as soos as possible

    Good location, Very helpful staff, good facilities as they provide bus for ITB delegation during the event

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels I have visited, nice big rooms! The hotel is very clean and the stuff is very friendly. I lived very nice moments at this hotel abd will always come back to it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    The best location in Berlin West, friendly staff and a personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Being a repeater in Berlin and Ambassador since many years I know what I get and it is a hotel with a perfect location in west Berlin with fantastic public transport and KaDeWe a few steps away. Rooms are large and beds are good. The hotel is not brand new but they take care of it well and it has personality and very friendy abd correct staff. The cafe/bar in the lobby is a good place for a coffee or a beer. In the summer they have a backyard terrace which is very nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Great staff marred by hotel facilities and penny pinching.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The penny pinching. For example a bottle of water in the room cost 5 Euros when it is a fraction of the price in the supermarket round the corner. It costs money to store luggage. But worst was the internet which was guarded like Fort Knox. Each device needs a voucher from reception. The vouchers only give 24 hours of usage. The sign on is laborious and in the end the internet is both unreliable and slow. Surely, it does not need to be so complicated? The room was a little basic and the towels were small and basic as well.

    Very helpful staff and a was given a free 2 hour extension when I explained I had a late flight home. The location is ideal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    As on many previous visits, excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficulty in finding enough power sockets in the room to deal with multiple devices needing to be re-charged.

    Very comfortable place to stay and very convenient for business. Excellent very extensive breakfast. Helpful staff who were excellent in trying to help when my baggage was lost on the flight to Berlin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Was overall happy with the experience. Not the best choice for a business trip though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet policy (1 device and new vouchers have to be obtained every 24 hours) is ridiculous and not suitable for business trips: I could not connect my cell phone and laptop at the same time and had to go to the reception late at night to renew the voucher. To be fair, they do sell additional 24h vouchers for 10 Euros. Some of the appliances are very old. The hair dryer barely worked. No iron was provided, e.g., to flatten shirts.

    Spacious room with desk, clean, relatively quiet, and at an extremely convenient location right next to the KaDeWe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Close to underground station, shopping mall, restaurants,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the room...of old furniture. We kept the window open everyday, but you could still feel the "heavy" smell.

    Close to underground station, shopping mall, restaurants, coffee shop, drug store. Did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, but the food at the food court of the mall is AMAZING

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Thanks for the Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overrated room prices price during the Itb There must be a safe depositbox in the rooms (even with an extra charge)

    Thanks for the Reception staff for the kind asistance to search of my lost Handy in Taxi from airport. (even we could not find it ). Shuttle service to Itb , lunch box for Itb (very kind .. ) , and after long working hours in Itb , when we come back to Hotel ,the complimentary refreshment and small Snacks feels me wellcome home :) Very nice location Breakfast was very good but the price ??.. Opposite of the Hotel there is an Small " Bäckerei", there you can have very nice breakfast with reasonable prices..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location near public transport, KaDeWe, many other...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Perfect location near public transport, KaDeWe, many other shops and a supermarket. Good wi-fi. Perfect choice for a business traveler. I come back every year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.6
    Never Again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had to see three rooms before one was even vaguely acceptable. The first was old with a stained table, chipped wood, rusty pipes and taps that were still smeared from the last guest. The second had very dim lighting. None of the rooms had even basic amenities - no fridge, kettle or safe. The wifi stopped working most evenings and on the last morning. The corridors smelt musty and there were no sprinklers. Terrible!

    Friendly staff - but could not make up for awful room, smell in corridors and non-working wifi. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy, NO INTERNET in the rooms (occasionally poor wifi reception, but mostly No reception at all). Room was changed due to very laud elevator noises but for a room full with 3rd couch without willing to remove it)

    Good location. Good Breakfast. Specious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    The best thing about the hotel is the cleanness,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t have to eat breakfast at the property - don’t ! If you like cuddling with your partner, good luck, the beds are just pushed together so there is hole in between. The light switch is just above your head, if you move while sleeping, you turn the light on.

    The best thing about the hotel is the cleanness, housekeeping did a brilliant job.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for spending a week in Berlin, location very near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect for spending a week in Berlin, location very near public transportation. Plenty of coffee shops, restaurants and shops are 2 minutes away. Hotel room was big and very quiet. Employees were very polite. Would stay there again with the same room rate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is fine, the problem is the wi-fi service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wi-fi. The service was very bad. It only worked for a short while and then stopped working for hours. A big problem for someone on a business trip.

    The room was confortable and clean. The location quite good and close to a metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    I would suggest it for friends and families
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the elevators all day long and especially at night which didnt let me sleep well.

    Its location which is close to the Metro and also 1 minutes from the shopping street and facing a big Mall Ka De We

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    I keep coming back as it is just what I need
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I have nothing that I did not like.

    As a repeater I chose Ambassador again. The rooms are big, the quality of bathrooms and beds are good and even if the hotel isnt a new one they keep everything on a good level. Location is the best possible for Berlin West. I like the lobby cafe and the friendly service. This time I had to work so I appreciated the perfect wifi and the good workplace in my room on the fourth floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    My stay at Sorat Hotel was pretty good, the location can not...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel could be remodeled a bit, updated. There was only one power plug to recharge your mobile, computer etc... not convenient for nowadays.

    My stay at Sorat Hotel was pretty good, the location can not be better. Everything is nearby. The room was spacious, and staff was helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful week in Berlin and Sorat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our third time in Sorat, a wonderful retro hotel. A five-minute-walk to the Tegel bus, one minute to bus line 100 which goes to Alexanderplatz past many interesting sights. Our room was good and quiet, maybe a bit old fashioned but clean and was cleaned every day. Our room had a bath tub which we enjoyed very much. We had coffee making facilities and a free bottle of water every day, which were highly appreciated. Wifi worked well. The 13 euro breakfast is worth every cent but if you feel like eating a little less in the morning there are at least three cafes within a couple of minutes' walk. A grocery store around the corner. Sorat warmly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with great surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room

    The room was in great condition and looked great (like in pictures), and we had a big, beautiful, and comfortable bathroom. Reception working 24/7 which is great! Outside the hotel you will find a perfect bakery named "Schnell" that also sales coffee and tea (in my opinion, it's a good and cheap alternative to the hotel breakfast which we didn't try). You can also find a local pub, a supermarket that works until 00:00 and a metro station with three lines in less than 1 minute of walking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked if there was a kettle in the room prior to arrival and were told it was €5 a day We brought our own only to find our room already had a kettle Bit annoying as we had only brought hand luggage for a week and the travel kettle took up space unnecessarily

    Location to ubahn, nearness to restaurants, facilities and comfort of bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    I am a repeater at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was to my liking

    I am a repeater at this hotel. Perfect location in the middle of everything in West Berlin. Rooms are big and with big bathrooms and good beds. Everything osnt brand new but room 607 is tidy and well taken care of and has the comfort I need. Staff is always very friendly and the cafe by the reception serves great coffee and snacks or beer. Just three minutes from KaDeWe which for me is a great advantage but the hotel itself (even if it isnt the newest in the neighbourhood) is always welcoming and working well. Rooms may vary a little but the total impression is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Honestly didn't enjoy the stay☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms looked dated and felt as though they needed a refurbishment 20 years ago. The rooms furnishings were in poor condition and there was a shortage of simple things like power points for charging phones etc.

    Close to the U-bahn which opens up the rest of the city with ease. Also a short walk to local shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I had asked for 3 double rooms and were stuck with 2 single beds per room that couldn’t move. And that all the bars were further out than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    I satisfied to stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really did not understand a receptionist who received us. She asked to pay 100 euro and we paid it. As my understanding, it was debit for a key andwe able to reimburse it when we check-out. She did not give us any receipt and I thought this is the hotel rule. And the last day when we cheked out we asked to receive our 100 euro, but there was another reception and she told us that there no any register about 100 euro charged from us. She did not tell us the receptionist name who received us, and she said that two ladies worked on that day. And we were not able to receive our 100 euro. Therefore my understanding is the hotel staff in the reception taking money without any reason from the foreign guests.

    I satisfied to stay at the hotel. The location was perfect, close to everything. And the room cleaning was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.5
    Price/Value ratio was very good. Perfect Location. I definetely recommend you to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows are too small. Breakfast was a little bit expensive when it was compared to Café where is very close to hotel like Kamps.

    Location was quite good. Hotel is close to public transportation. Room was comfortable and staffs were friendly. They updated my room while it was not charged extra. They clean the room daily basis. Internet speed was very fast. You can connect very easily.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    It was perfect.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect.. location is perfect so you can go anywhere easily. There are many things to do around. There is a big market 7x24 hours open. room is so clean and nice. Staff is nice.. they put a bottle of water everyday. I like it as well. you feel like at home. I definetely stay here again..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Agreeable and quiet stay in Berlin
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms and infrastructure are getting old, but everything works and is clean. Though free water bottles are provided in the room, I would have preferred a watercooker to make coffee or tea (especially in the cold of Berlin's autumns and winters).

    Very friendly staff, great location (just off the Wittenbergplatz and near Kadewe and Ku'damm), great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    was first time in Berlin. was happy with our stay. would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    room was a little cool & bathroom had funky smell wifi was hit & miss no mini fridge

    staff was helpful great price hotel was close to subway station & good grocery store lots of tourist info available

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Good room, but bad internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is terrible. The conection is lost very often. Moreover, everyday the internet password expires and you have to ask for another login at the reception. Unfortunately, booking.com doesn't use the internet quality in the avaliation, so the hotel was well rated, despite my disapointment.

    Good location, confortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    -The hotel is clean, with professional staffs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - You can connect only one device to the hotel's WiFi! Choose: your mobile? or laptop? Once I connected my laptop, even when the laptop was turned off, I could not connect my mobile. It kept on saying that this password is already used on another device. - Another issue about WiFi: the password might expire during your stay. Then you have to get new one from reception. - Not a serious issue, but be careful that if you want to store your luggage for a few hours in the hotel after checkout, you have to pay 1.5 Euros per piece.

    -The hotel is clean, with professional staffs. -The area is nice and pleasant for walking. -Zoologicher Garten and Kurfürstendamm are in walking distance. -The underground station Bahnhof Wittenbergplatz is 3-minute walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.7
    It was ok, didn't stay at the hotel that much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included. I was told children under the age of six were free but they did not make it clear that it was free if one adult was paying. Found price for breakfast a bit expensive even though it was a buffet there was not that much on offer. Bottled water €5!!😱😱

    Friendly staff although initially some of them were serious but very helpful afterwards. Excellent location close to most places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.6
    Never again will I stay here.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was on a business trip, and they still charged the city tax. I paid the room upon arrival, but after the checkout they told me that I have to pay for my pet as well (no one told me this during the check in). To say that the rooms are outdated is understatement, overpriced services. Walls so thin I could hear neighbors cough.

    Close to attractions. I wish I could say more, but that's about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Stay was very good, rooms are nice clean and tidy, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff used to arrive quite early (8-9 am) but they were courteous to come later when asked to do so. We never got the towels in the room even when we had booked the room for a family of three and had to ask for the extra towel twice.

    The breakfast spread was great, rooms were cleaned on time and the restroom was very tidy. Location is superb with the bus station and metro only a few meters away from the hotel. It is also in a nice neighborhood with good restaurants and shopping centers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Very close to UBahn.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked a double bed for 2 adults I received confirmition and add my partner's name then I was informed that I will be charged more Very unprofessional No way to make a mistake of my choice no point to look for a double bed if I was going alone Very dissapointed Be very carefull when use booking.com

    Very close to UBahn.Super market close to the hotel opens until 11:00 pm at night. The staff informed us that the cost for city tax will be excluded from the total amount We were there for business.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    nice quiet good hotel for easy access to much of Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    my German is hopeless so had to use english and sometimes..just sometimes , the behind desk staff seemed a bit impatient with me..

    bed was clean and comfortable the room was particularly quiet good to have windows that opened

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible WiFi. One device only for free, coupons for access, it kind works only in the morning and and during the day - can't really use it in the evening (probably network is just too busy?)

    Value for money. Clean room. Great location: next to some restaurants, shopping centres, train and bus stations - all within just a few minutes walk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what was on offer. No safe in the room and charged to keep valuables in reception. Poor choice of TV channels. Room no cleaned properly on one of the days.

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    A bit dated but still OK. Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My "comfort" room was adjoining elevators. I could feel and hear every travel of the elevator. This is not my imagination of comfort for an extra charge. Reception staff is helpful but not overly friendly

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Rich breakfast tables and just a few steps near...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom with no separate toilet a no hotel bar/restaurant in service at evening

    Rich breakfast tables and just a few steps near U-Bahn/Bus/Tram stations... You reach the sights till 20 minutes generally :-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, clean, comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You could hear the noise / conversations from next door rooms and it became particularly noisy with the cleaners in the morning. The cleaning work started too early as well with one entering my room before 9am on a Sunday. Wi-Fi code has to be renewed every 24 hours at the reception and you only get one code per person so if you want to have more than one device connected - say phone and computer - you need to pay extra per night. No fridge in the room.

    Great location, clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Practical anf comfortable room, and a great brreakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stale and unpleasant smell in the room.

    The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Excellent breakfast- almost every possible breakfast item was offered, and everything I tried was of good quality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to Berlin for leisure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a three star hotel this was excellent. Staff were very helpful and efficient. Layout was good, room comfortable, breakfast excellent. U-bahn only a short walk away. It is a short taxi-ride to the Berlin Philharmonica where you will find the best orchestra in the world playing in an accoustically perfect hall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    A surprising real good stay !! the location is Top !! Public transport very near !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In some other hotels the luggage room is free . The Wifi available for 24 hours and than you have to go to the desk for another free card.

    The rooms were very big!!! The proximity to public transport and all the shops is great !!! The elevator is always fast available !! I can recommend this place to anyone. Best Location in Berlin !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    100% Perfect location and parking, breakfast as expected, room and bed OK, Internet slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI / internet was horrible slow and not connectable in the evening

    Breakfast was OK and of standard quality and great selection of hot and cold food/tea/coffee/juices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Central location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the bed was awful (mattress too soft/old: I was feeling the springs...); quite pricey (marathon WE)

    Central location, 200m from metro station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay while visiting Berlin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There were very few electrical outlets in the room - The bathroom was rather small - There was no safe inside the room and the door lock was not very robust - The mini-fridge was locked and we couldn't use it - The TV was very small - Parking was rather expensive

    - Breakfast was great - Room was spacious and had a big desk - There were bikes that we could rent directly from the hotel - There was a supermarket and a few restaurants really close by - The subway station was 5 mins walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse SORAT Hotel Ambassador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: